Tata Tigor Ownership Review

Thanks a lot. Well if WAV works its good enough for me. Thanks for testing. The issue is I did download infotainment manual from the TATA website and it was listing only mp3 and aac.
Meanwhile today got a call from Tata motors dealer, Will fix a test drive by tomorrow or maybe tuesday. Ours is an excellant place to TD any sort of vehicle. It is filled with steep climb and descents. Bad roads and a world class highway portion of Kerala state road project and add to that the 15 minutes always superJAM to cross the centre of our beloved Town. I think it is going to be fun I think. I'am planning to check it with four of our well built (read 80+kg) people and a child. Also we have 11 self-respecting bends just from our (Thrissur-Guruvayoor) HIghway junction to my home. All those turns come in just 700 meters too.
I tried a 50km per hour TD in a Baleno diesel in the same place two days back and it was struggling to cope up miserably, with a gear change in almost every corner (of course with my whole weighty family[roll] . Maruti even bought an Ignis alpha petrol, Even though I did not ask them for that one.After all We are their regular customer for at least 15-16 years with our Zen. That was fun , My wife liked it, But My son says he will never go to school in that box. lol !!. Even sixth standard kids are very much concerned about how the car looks.
From my side I always compare the TD with my zen Mpfi. I should say Ignis comes close. But looks[confused]. SO hoping Tigor will be a good compromise overall after reading so much.

Thread Starter #92

But My son says he will never go to school in that box. lol !!. Even sixth standard kids are very much concerned about how the car looks.
I feel like Mughal era person in front of today's children & teens when it comes to all this socio-techno knowledge. But yes, I'll respect your son's view as many of us too are of same opinion. Remember, Never underestimate the knowledge of a Kid![:D] You know, when I was in graduation a decade back, I use to feel embarrassed of commuting to my college in a 89' Premier Padmini and walk the last 500m or 1 km instead of stopping that car in front of college gate. But, today, after getting inside this field of automobiles, I really curse myself many times of not understanding the beauty of that car. By the time he grows up, Ignis would perhaps be on verge of getting phased out.

From my side I always compare the TD with my zen Mpfi. I should say Ignis comes close. But looks. SO hoping Tigor will be a good compromise overall after reading so much.
I wouldn't term it as a compromise bud rather I feel for the price point it is being sold (specially the top 2 variants) it definitely makes sense as a VFM product in Petrol version.

Well The TD never came, I asked for a tiago AMT, Tigor Petrol or nexon diesel. One lady called me a few times to ask for booking, also said about some GST benefits, But there is no news for TD and all.I'am still left with no experience of the Vehicle behind the wheel in flesh and blood I dont fully believe what youtube reviews says.
I think it is not going to work out, slowly the realization that after all we know this company thing is creeping into my mind. Well in the meantime wifey is hell bend on IGNIS [:)]. Well the ten year old genius showed me a video called unboxing ecosport on his tab, Well he even seems to have put my mob.no in ford website. They called today and asked when it will be convenient for me to TD their believe it Aspire and figo. I never thought about fords seriously so far. At least Maruti and Ford seems to be in contact now. Honda does not care if I even look at their cars anyway. So right now I'am slowly creating my own impressions of a world outside Maruti for first time, It was all Ambys, Padminis, Marutis a contessa and my brother in laws X3(which he simply left here in our home to drive. He will only take it for a month when he comes to India from France once in a year anyway. It is mostly in safe custody, Too big to drive and needs ten front-back movements to just turn around in our local court compound. So it is simply running as the vehicle to take family to marriage functions and housewarming parties anyway.

My experience has been that TATA sales personnel are least enthusiastic / aggressive to sell. I found Ford, Hyundai, Maruti calling regularly and seem eager to sell their product. Recently even NEXA personnel have also been regularly following up.

That is right, I found out both Hyundai and Nexa people are actually convassing very well. As far as my Wife is concerned the Nexa people has contacted her at least five or six times. They even demoes and Gave TD by taking an Ignis and Baleno to her college. Some of her colleagues are also interested now. The same is the case with Hyundai. They have Ladies staff to talk and give TD to ladies who enquire. My wife and other teachers in her college now seem to know Nexa and Hyundai women staff by name, OOps
TATA seems to be trying hard . But....I think the people there themselves are not sure how to get to customers. Well Maruti and Hyundai are selling more cars out of customer relations. I personally can say I know the service advisor, Manager and even the accountant at local MASS by name. Other manufacturers need to learn that !!. More than TATA I would say Volkswagen should tell it's staff not to treat everyone here as cavemen. After all we are used to quite a few cars from my Grandpa's dodge Plymouth time.

Agree. I wonder if the TATA sales people have any target at all? May be they want to sell less [:D] since they are losing money on every car being sold (except Indica). Some one should tell them selling more to reach the Break Even Point is the only way to come out of the quagmire.

Thread Starter #98

@Akash- any updates on your Tigor.
Buddy, its working well. So far the experience has been fill it and shut it[:D] Happy with my car so far. The car has driven around 2200 kms till now. I am just planning to laminate the rear bumper reflector and reverse lamp as to avoid hits and nudges by pebbles or 2-wheeler and similar idea I have for the swept back area of the headlamps. Apart from that its all good.

Thread Starter #100

Update

The car has run 2700+ Kms as of today and the F.E in City Mode with AC has gone up too. The car is driven with AC ON (fan speed 2-3) all times. The driving is 60% in City (Delhi-NCR) & 40% on Highways (NH8 & Mahamaya Expressway). So far so good! No Complaints with the car[:D]

20171110_115308.jpg

Guys please help. Yesterday the sales personnel from TATA motors called and mentioned that there is an offer on Tigor for insurance @ Rs. 1/- thereby lowering the on-road cost to about Rs. 6.6 lakhs for XZ[O] Petrol.

Can anyone confirm whether this offer is from TATA Motors or not. If this offer is from TATA Motors, then I can further negotiate with the dealer. If this offer is from dealer, then I don’t think he will negotiate any further.

I am targeting a price of Rs. 6.5 lakhs on road for XZ[O]-P and Rs. 3.8 lakhs for exchanging my Sep 15 make Wagon R VXi. Are the above price targets [for both Tigor & Wagon R] reasonable.

TAI experts please help.

Thread Starter #102

Guys please help. Yesterday the sales personnel from TATA motors called and mentioned that there is an offer on Tigor for insurance @ Rs. 1/- thereby lowering the on-road cost to about Rs. 6.6 lakhs for XZ[O] Petrol.

Can anyone confirm whether this offer is from TATA Motors or not. If this offer is from TATA Motors, then I can further negotiate with the dealer. If this offer is from dealer, then I don’t think he will negotiate any further.

I am targeting a price of Rs. 6.5 lakhs on road for XZ[O]-P and Rs. 3.8 lakhs for exchanging my Sep 15 make Wagon R VXi. Are the above price targets [for both Tigor & Wagon R] reasonable.

TAI experts please help.
Yes I also got an SMS of this insurance offer. The Validity is till 30 Nov-2017. In the SMS it said, the insurance is free with my dealer. So authenticity is proved. You can negotiate the price of Tigor Petrol surely where as 3.8 Lac for Wagon R seems fine but as per my experience with my dealer about the exchange, they'll begin with probably 3.2 Lacs or 3.3 Lacs. However, do not go any lower than 3.7 or 3.75 Lacs buddy.

TAI experts please help.
This offer is across all dealers of Tata Motors. I also got SMS about same offer here in Mumbai.
Best of Luck and do update us.

TAI experts please help.
OT, how much is your Wagon R odo reading?