Tata Tigor Ownership Review

Bud, it is working absolutely fine and is doing well. Crossed 1500 kms 2 days back. Time for 1st free service has come so will be getting it done either today or on Sunday. The FE in AC in City is coming 12 to 12.5 km/L and I am good with it. As for the ground clearance, so far, mostly there have been 2-3 pax in the car (including driver) so with 3 pax I have not had any issue with the ground clearance in-fact that is one good thing that I miss in my Ivtec City and 2nd thing is the capability of Tigor's ride, I am really impressed with the way it tackles the potholes and rough roads.

Hi Akash, a timely update, with the notorious NCR traffic this average is ok, and your Tigor engine is still in the infancy stage of breaking in, and after 3k km efficiency will improve.

Most Tata's cars are decent in the handling department, they do something good to get this ride quality, you will notice in the TASS, when you go for your services, hardly any cars are getting their suspensions looked into.

Which AMC did you opt for? Sorry if I missed it from an earlier post.

Thread Starter #77

Hi Akash,

Which AMC did you opt for? Sorry if I missed it from an earlier post.
Vinod Sir, I did not go in for any AMC and just accepted the standard warranty of the vehicle. Will decide if I need to buy any AMC for the car later on i.e after about 1.5 years or so. Meanwhile, got the 1st service done today. It had to be done between 1500-2000 kms.

1st Free Service Update

My experience

* Reached dealership and checked out 2 main things i.e Nexon XT Single tone shade and Nexon Petrol TD Car. Both available!

* Met the SA and then explained him all things in details before the service began. My list to him:

1) No use of water, dashboard polish or any shampoo and oil on the interiors.

2) No top-wash or engine bay wash. Simply wash the wheel wells. Engine bay to be cleaned only with air pressure.

3) No external polishing needed. Simply wipe the car with a moist clean cloth.

4) Interiors to be vacuumed and no wet cloth to be used inside.

5) No dealership sticker on the rear windshield.

6) No tools like screwdrivers etc to be used on any plastic panel unless informed to me or permitted by me.

Additions

Bumper corner protectors added after negotiating the price. Got them for Rs. 600/-. Accessory guy quoted 950, I tied my ponytail and negotiated it.

Jobs Done

All Fluids topped up properly.

Interiors Vacuumed nicely.

All Lights checked.

AC & Air Filter cleaned.

Wheel Wells and Tires properly washed.

Car Delivered well in time.

Expenses For Servicing: NIL / Sannata a.k.a Zero[:D]

Next Free Service: Before 16th January 2018. I am surprised why is Free Service interval calculated from date of purchase instead of date of 1st free service?

What I liked in Service

1) Properly covering the car seat and fender with covers. The magnet in the fender covers do not come in contact with the metal so no scratches[:)]

2) My driver kept an eye on the entire servicing process while I drove Petrol Nexon there.

3) No surprise scratches or stains thankfully.

What I did not like

1) Not allowing customer / owner to be with the car during servicing so I got the car parked in such a way that I can see what is going on.

2) Service Adviser Puneet did not inform my dad or me about the work in progress of my car. I have highlighted this issue in my feedback too. It is attached here as well. Suggest all Tata Motors customers to give back the feedback with utmost sincerity about the servicing of their cars. It is important for TML to improve their dealership and after sales service experience.

3) The accessory guy at the dealership leaves no chance of overcharging. One has to be really particular in negotiating the price. Never accept/pay the price which the accessory guy tells you because sometimes the price tag is not even there on the accessory packing.

Overall Experience: 8/10. I would say, in my first experience of TML ASC, I am not really disappointed. Yes, some minor rough edges are there but surely TML will take it very sincerely and improvise on it. All in all, people should not follow the popular conception that TML's ASC are as bad even now.

Will be taking the car tomorrow to Nexon Skill Arena Gurgaon!

20171006_115130.jpg

20171006_115151.jpg

20171006_115235.jpg

20171006_115250.jpg

20171006_120444.jpg

20171006_121548.jpg

20171006_132223.jpg

20171006_131941.jpg

1) Properly covering the car seat and fender with covers.
Even steering wheel should have been covered. Glad they atleast covered your seats and fenders, most ASCs don't bother to do these.

Never accept/pay the price which the accessory guy tells you because sometimes the price tag is not even there on the accessory packing.
Well said, I have experienced this twice: alloys and ORVM assembly. Neither of them had MRP label, they had ripped it off.

All in all, people should not follow the popular conception that TML's ASC are as bad even now.
Totally agreed, I can see a lot of improvements in their work over the past 1.5 years of service experience. They are only getting better. Looking forward to improvise further as sales numbers are bound to rise up with new launches.

Thread Starter #79

Even steering wheel should have been covered. Glad they atleast covered your seats and fenders, most ASCs don't bother to do these.
Will inform them next time I visit. Most ASCs if they cover the fender then the magnetic part often touches the metal and leads to scratches. My Esteem had such light scratches.

Well said, I have experienced this twice: alloys and ORVM assembly. Neither of them had MRP label, they had ripped it off.
Always negotiate that is the MANTRA. Yaar, we bargain even when we buy vegetable and fruits worth some 100 bucks so it is even more important to do so when buying such expensive stuff. He was cleaning his ear while talking to me so I got pissed off at that too and made sure not to give in to his said pricing[:D]

Totally agreed, I can see a lot of improvements in their work over the past 1.5 years of service experience. They are only getting better. Looking forward to improvise further as sales numbers are bound to rise up with new launches.
Indeed! Wishing TML the best for the future. Let me tell you and all that there is a lot of rush these days at the Noida dealer for the Tata cars and Nexon too. So, definitely their products are good and worthy but just a bit of tweaks are needed on the dealership/ASC fronts.

Should you guys not complain to TML and give bad feedback to Tata for selling accessories with MRP ripped off. They can sell at any price. I feel its plain cheating and money making and is hampering Tata ASS image. Is there anyway we can know the mrp. Can we buy genuine accessories/parts online?

Thread Starter #81

Should you guys not complain to TML and give bad feedback to Tata for selling accessories with MRP ripped off. They can sell at any price. I feel its plain cheating and money making and is hampering Tata ASS image. Is there anyway we can know the mrp. Can we buy genuine accessories/parts online?
I have been an intern with a car brand at their dealership during my MBA and over there what I got to know was the dealer earns only through spares/accessories and the servicing as margins on the sales of a car are very low. Considering that indeed the margins for Tiago and Tigor for Tata Motors was less, I guess the dealer is making money out of accessories. However, I don't know if it would help much to inform Tata about this as all accessories have Tata branding to make it look genuine. Today, I checked the packing for a good 10 minutes or so to find if the price was mentioned on any corner and I clearly remember the price column was blank. It I guess is upto all of us informed enthusiasts only to negotiate and not pay what the dealer asks us to pay as adhoc.

I agree. TML should be informed about this. MRP is clearly indicated on Maruti Accessories. These things lead to hamper confidence in brand.

I have been an intern with a car brand at their dealership during my MBA and over there what I got to know was the dealer earns only through spares/accessories and the servicing as margins on the sales of a car are very low. Considering that indeed the margins for Tiago and Tigor for Tata Motors was less, I guess the dealer is making money out of accessories. However, I don't know if it would help much to inform Tata about this as all accessories have Tata branding to make it look genuine. Today, I checked the packing for a good 10 minutes or so to find if the price was mentioned on any corner and I clearly remember the price column was blank. It I guess is upto all of us informed enthusiasts only to negotiate and not pay what the dealer asks us to pay as adhoc.

I don't think Dealer earns very little money from the sale of car. Its Tata who earns less on sale of car. Dealer money is to run the dealership. The sale of spares goes to the service center. Having no MRP means they can take for a ride. Atleast if we know the MRP then only we can bargain. Even with MRP the spares in India are badly overpriced and companies have been fined for that in the past. It still has huge profit. Dealer/SCs always cry earning less profit and they are big hypocrats. They want to show they earn less so that they can easily overcharge.

Thread Starter #84

I don't think Dealer earns very little money from the sale of car.....Having no MRP means they can take for a ride. Atleast if we know the MRP then only we can bargain. Even with MRP the spares in India are badly overpriced and companies have been fined for that in the past. It still has huge profit. Dealer/SCs always cry earning less profit and they are big hypocrats. They want to show they earn less so that they can easily overcharge.
That is true but Tata does have very low margins in Tiago and Tigor so by selling these 2 what ever margin is assigned to dealer per sale is also less. However, having less margin on car sale does not qualify overcharging on accessories in any manner. So, whether MRP is there or not, we should surely bargain and never give-in to the illogical pricing/demands of any dealer.

Hello Sir, Nice review Can you just tell me which formats does the Audio system supports in this car, I want to know about these formats. I have here links to two samples, They are home recording and may ot be high quality but can you just tell if they play or not. Also did not find any option to attach this, SO for the time being sharing from google drive

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0BzxugJ-0OdZdWW5YdFhnOVNCalE/view?usp=sharing
https://drive.google.com/file/d/0BzxugJ-0OdZdMTRqbnpTOWdwdkU/view?usp=sharing

That is true but Tata does have very low margins in Tiago and Tigor so by selling these 2 what ever margin is assigned to dealer per sale is also less. However, having less margin on car sale does not qualify overcharging on accessories in any manner. So, whether MRP is there or not, we should surely bargain and never give-in to the illogical pricing/demands of any dealer.
According to TATA Chairman, N Chandrasekaran, the company is losing money on every passenger car except Indica! Even in the electric Tigor deal, they will lose 3 lakhs per car. [surprise]
As TATA is losing money on every car sold, I suspect TATA car's dealer margins are low so TATA may be turning a blind eye to these malpractices by dealers. This is not good in the long run. Hope TATA reaches the Break Even Point to start making profit soon.

Thread Starter #87

Hello Sir, Nice review Can you just tell me which formats does the Audio system supports in this car, I want to know about these formats.
Buddy, so far I have only used MP3 format stored in pen-drives and my driver connected his phone via bluetooth to play the audio(s) in it. Apart from that I have not tested any other format of audio/video in it.

I was just requesting , PLease download those samples, Put it on a USB/SD or anything and just see if either is supported, Well the dealer here does not have any TD XZ(O) which model I'am looking for. Yours seem to be the one. So please see if those work. It will be of great help
Thanks in advance [:)]. One is the microsoft WAV (simply audio cd quality). Other is OGG. They do work with my JVC in ZEN. Well that car and it's stereo are 16 years old. Just wanted to know. I do have a huge collection of songs from old LPs, Tape ad Cassettes. Just dont want to have to convert all of that to mp3.

I was just requesting , PLease download those samples, Put it on a USB/SD or anything and just see if either is supported
@QuickBoy, Your WAV file was detected in my Tiago but OGG was not. It would be safe to assume Tigor HU will behave the same way too, but lets wait for Akash to try it out.

BTW @Akash, you owe me one in this thread [glasses].

Thread Starter #90

@QuickBoy, Your WAV file was detected in my Tiago but OGG was not. It would be safe to assume Tigor HU will behave the same way too, but lets wait for Akash to try it out.
I was just requesting , PLease download those samples, Put it on a USB/SD or anything and just see if either is supported, Well the dealer here does not have any TD XZ(O) which model I'am looking for. Yours seem to be the one. So please see if those work. It will be of great help
Thanks in advance
Buddy, The .WAV format works fine in the Tigor's ICE Unit. I checked it and made a small video of the sample shared by you.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qhrSlBgBknw