Tata Tigor (Kite-5) Compact Sedan Unveiled

Looks premium. Goes well with the exterior colour as well. Hope Tata plants the Nexon 1.5 diesel engine to the xz(O) later in the life span. I will surely be one of those booking it without a second thought.

Got Tigor delivery on 26th may from hyderabad & got few accessories done.
Door visors,side beading,body cover,mud flaps,chrome handles from showroom.
Got the Napa leather seats done from Crossovers,thirumalgherry,hyd.I feel they came out very well & gives the interiors much more premium look.Anyone interested can contact Shiva(9000199555) there.
Congrats...

Seat cover looks very sporty and goes with color of the car..

Test drove Tigor and Tiago back to back

I am a Zest owner sinch past 2 and half year and a very happy one. I was called by Progressive Motors (my Tata dealer) for a routine checkup camp for the car and they insisted to go and register any complain or interact. I did not have any complaint but still I went there. While they were checking the car, I was having a look at Tigor. A brand new copper Tigor just attracted me. I started inquiring about it. Since I have been their regular visitor for service etc, they knew me and asked to have a test drive. I accepted gladly. Drove about 7-8 Kms. The model was Tigor XZ (O) diesel (top varient). Since I was coming from Zest, the sitting dynamics is little different but rest of the things are very similar. Look of the cabin has changed though. I felt very smooth gear transition, light and responsive steering wheel and good acceleartion. My colleague was with me, he sat on the rear seat and was reporting me about space he felt, the jerks or lack of it he was feeling. He felt the suspension was great, and I too do agree with him. Ride was quite sedate with compared to my Revotron Zest. But after going on to highway, the car was pulling well. I did not feel much difference in the two modes , City and Eco, may be more testing is needed. Overall, I felt it as a very good car both for rear seat passenger and a driver. Driver will enjoy driving.
That day we couldnot have a look at Tiago but my colleague like the Tigor very much and he told to me next day that I liked the car and I am planning to buy it. When we discussed budget he said the Tiago would be in his reach rather than Tigor and then we planned another visit next day for Tiago.
Now driving wise both felt almost same, however there were minor differences. Diesel engines were really very calm and less noisy. The Tiago felt light and quite manuverable compared to Tigor and Zest. Its turning radius is really low, nice car for city traffic. Rear seat sitting space and comfort is quite similar in Tiago and Tigor.

My colleague loved it. Price negotiations are on[;)][;)]

Atindra

Re: Test drove Tigor and Tiago back to back

To me both felt different. I own Tiago Diesel, and had TD Tigor (both P and D).

Tigor Diesel vs Tiago Diesel

The turbo kicks in Tiago at roughly 2000 rpm all the way to 3000 rpm, and redlines at 4000 rpm. Though revving after 3000 rpm is useless.
The turbo kicks in Tigor at roughly 3000 rpm at goes till 4000 rpm. During TD I wasn't able to redline, but my guess is it will redline at 5000 rpm.
As far the TD goes, Tigor definitely felt heavier and lower to respond (rev wasn't climbing up like my Tiago), ride quality was too good.
My Tiago feels more peppier when compared to Tigor Diesel.

Tigor Petrol vs Tiago Petrol

I must say, Balance Shaft does makes a difference. I have almost same thoughts for this comparo too. Tigor felt lower to respond and I personally wasn't much excited. Except vibrations, Tiago trumps Tigor in driving experience. But again Tigor's ride quality was good with 15" alloys too.

Rear leg room and rear headrests were much better than Tiago. Though AC and ICE performance felt the same. I wasn't able to judge Tigor's projector headlights, so will leave it for owners, as far Tiago headlight performance goes it is mediocre to say the least. Though boot space is impressive but the appeture was disappointing. Will leave 'the way it looks', as its subjective, I personally wasn't much impressed by it.

Re: Test drove Tigor and Tiago back to back

@Atindra,
Is your colleague negotiating on Tiago or Tigor and which engine/variant? IMO Tigor variant breakup is messed up, they removed several good features of XZ and plugged into XZ-O.

Seems Tata has already increased Tigor price by 25k. Ex-showroom price in Mumbai was 4.7lac on launch, now it's 4.94lac

This is only going to further down the sales

Seems Tata has already increased Tigor price by 25k. Ex-showroom price in Mumbai was 4.7lac on launch, now it's 4.94lac

This is only going to further down the sales
Rs.4.7L was ex showroom Delhi, not Mumbai. Prices have not been increased as per my knowledge. Also, let's see about the sales part.

Got Tigor delivery on 26th may from hyderabad & got few accessories done.
Door visors,side beading,body cover,mud flaps,chrome handles from showroom.
Got the Napa leather seats done from Crossovers,thirumalgherry,hyd.I feel they came out very well & gives the interiors much more premium look.Anyone interested can contact Shiva(9000199555) there.
[:)]Congratulations on the purchase of your new car. The color of seat covers go well with the exterior color. It seems to give a more airy feel too.
Please do post more pictures of your car.

Tigor May 2017 sales stood at 2344 units.
Tata's overconfidence showing in drop in Tigor sales. They should have learnt from Maruti. Maruti priced Ignis just 10k above Wagon R. The new dzire is also placed on par with outgoing model.

This segment is price sensitive, and Tata doesn't have reputation to command premium.

Tata's overconfidence showing in drop in Tigor sales. They should have learnt from Maruti. Maruti priced Ignis just 10k above Wagon R. The new dzire is also placed on par with outgoing model.

This segment is price sensitive, and Tata doesn't have reputation to command premium.
Bang on.
And with the mediocre set of engines which spoil this package and makes it uninspiring, packed with TATA A.S.S. reputation.

I didn't get you ! Some variants of Ignis are closer to 10lakhs on road , dzire at 11+ I find them way too over priced ,yet Maruti could do it n find the sales, agreed .

Yeah no doubt Ingis and Dzire high end models are overpriced. But these cars are generating sales due to A.S.S. and engine refinement. I think Tata has got it totally wrong with Tigor Pricing. Tiago will generate around 4k monthly, but Tigor will do down below 2k mark for sure.