Tata Tiago Review & Pictures: Tata's Tiara

Yesterday I received my Tiago after 4 days' stay at TASC, and I am so glad that they gave proper attention to all my complaints and solved it.

What were the issues?
  1. Minor paint defect on right A pillar below windshield.
  2. 'Tick tick' sound from front both windows when glass is half open.
  3. Sound from the both rear doors when car hit potholes.
  4. Air filter body is of old design which rattles.

The paint defect was identified by my 6 months back and shown to TASC during 2nd service, they advised me in friendly manner that its not major and can be done later or before warranty ends. I was ok with that. When giving car for 3rd service I contacted warranty Manger and he immediately accepted and got the approval from Tata for this job under warranty.

My Tiago had 3rd service done few weeks back and TASC only identified that rear left window winder has to be replaced. Till that time I was not aware of such issue. But due part unavailability, they asked me to bring car back once it is received.

The 'tick tick' sound from front windows I mentioned in 3rd service but I received car without any resolution. I was not happy. I asked them to see this again when I bring back car to replace rear left window winder.

They also refused to replace Air filter body during 3rd service as mine was not giving much sound. Luckily when I took my again for above mentioned repairs, I asked SA to check it again and he opened bonnet and accelerated engine quickly and now that air filter body was giving clear rattling sounds SA immediately agreed for replacement. [clap]

So on monday I gave my car to TASC and discussed all the problems I mentioned above. They told me it will take around 3-4 days to complete jobs as removing windshield and refitting it is time consuming work. Also paint drying and windshield cement drying will take some time. I agreed.

Finally on Thursday I called CRM and he told me car ready. I went to TASC and checked what all work they did. I was really surprised to know that they replaced all 4 door's windows winder and air filter body too. The senior technician told me 'sir now you will not have any problem, we have changed everything'. I checked the paint work done on A pillar and fixing of windshield, I was really happy to see the quality of work. Took test drive and now not a single item was giving 'jhankar beats' (read sound). The car was cleaned properly.

I know many of the staff at this TASC and they were really very attentive to my complaints. They're also happy as this time they solve every single problem reported.

So far there is no 'tick tick' sound front windows, rear are also silent. I am a happy customer, at least at the time of writing this long post. [;)]

For those who don't know, my Tiago XZP is 13 months old and just crossed 9000 kms on ODO.

Note
The reason behind writing such long post is to get noticed by the people who usually say Tata is bad at service (this may be true at some workshop but not all). The TASC in my case is Rathod Motors, Vapi (Gujarat).

Attaching pictures of re-painted A pillar and new Air filter body.

Yesterday I received my Tiago after 4 days' stay at TASC, and I am so glad that they gave proper attention to all my complaints and solved it.
Great to know buddy that all your concerns were taken care of to your satisfaction. This type of eagerness to support the customer will surely be of great help to TML too as more and more customers will associate with them. Were you provided with a Feedback Form by Dealer at the end of service / prior to taking car's delivery?

Were you provided with a Feedback Form by Dealer at the end of service / prior to taking car's delivery?

Yes, they provided me a feedback form (printed in colour) at the end of service. Gave them full marks this time.

I even got a call from TASC next day about how car is performing. They are very concerned about customer's feedback on direct call from Tata.

Yes, they provided me a feedback form (printed in colour) at the end of service. Gave them full marks this time.

I even got a call from TASC next day about how car is performing. They are very concerned about customer's feedback on direct call from Tata.
Yes. I too have experienced the same w.r.t my car as well. Its nice to see such focused approach after all along with car's reliability, the next most important thing is the customer's satisfaction w.r.t services for any brand.

I always take a pic of the feedback form and post it here so that it does help the customers to know how is the experience at TML dealership. It does help a lot in making a positive point of view and most importantly we all are enthusiasts to the core, every info relating to our cars / bikes are utmost important.

Is it worth buying a 1year old Tiago which already has an insurance claim of 50k+? (Claim was done last year and insurance company gave 48k)

Right now I don't know what was the exact issue which was rectified.

This car has extended warranty and Gold AMC for 2 years.

Is it worth buying a 1year old Tiago which already has an insurance claim of 50k+? (Claim was done last year and insurance company gave 48k)

Right now I don't know what was the exact issue which was rectified.

This car has extended warranty and Gold AMC for 2 years.
Kindly check the Vehicle History if there is any accidental repair done and ask for the cause of repair. I believe there would be some major accidental repair to have been done in this case since if there was any component replacement that would be covered in Warranty / AMC.

The front right door and bumper was changed. Not sure if this would cause Airbags to deploy. If airbags had deployed then it would cost a lot to install airbags again.
Not sure if I should go ahead with this deal.

The front right door and bumper was changed. Not sure if this would cause Airbags to deploy. If airbags had deployed then it would cost a lot to install airbags again.
Not sure if I should go ahead with this deal.
If the bumper was replaced and the door was replaced I suppose the airbags must have been used too. Better would be to stay away from the deal because I don't think there is any way by which you'll be able to check if the airbags were used in the impact or not.

Deployment of airbag means replacement of the whole airbag unit (both) which cost around 1 lakh or more AFAIK. TASC will be able to provide the full service history of the vehicle since the questioned car is in warranty and I don't think Tata replacement airbags are available in after market.

Got a quote of 6.21L On road from concorde motors, Mumbai for Tiago XZA.
Includes 1 year zero dep insurance, floor mats, mud flaps, teflon coating (i have asked for a reverse camera instead of teflon coating). Waiting for them to provide quote for 2 year gold AMC.
Am i getting a good price? or is there any scope for further negotiation?

Waiting for them to provide quote for 2 year gold AMC.
Am i getting a good price? or is there any scope for further negotiation?
I would recommend Gold AMC for 3 years, if not P2P for 4yr/60K (or 45K) as per your usage. If you do not know what P2P is, please do a search on this thread, it was already discussed long back. You may also want to add extended warranty for additional 2 years and 1Lakh KM.

On further scope on your quote, you can ask an existing Tata car owner to refer you for additional Rs.2500 discount and he/she will get Rs3000 worth vouchers. This should happen before you pay any booking amount, else your dealer will easily bypass the referral program.

I would recommend Gold AMC for 3 years, if not P2P for 4yr/60K (or 45K) as per your usage. If you do not know what P2P is, please do a search on this thread, it was already discussed long back. You may also want to add extended warranty for additional 2 years and 1Lakh KM.

On further scope on your quote, you can ask an existing Tata car owner to refer you for additional Rs.2500 discount and he/she will get Rs3000 worth vouchers. This should happen before you pay any booking amount, else your dealer will easily bypass the referral program.
Already paid the booking amount, so that discount might not be possible now.
I'll try and get extended warranty along with p2p.