Tata Storme vs Mahindra XUV5OO - Which One To Choose?

Thread Starter #91
Re: Tata Storme vs Mahindra XUV500 - Which One To Choose?

All of you are seriously missing something is a simple common buyer(like my friend who bought XUV last week) who is not aware of/not interested in

1. 4x4, 4x2
2. BOF/Monocoque
3. 5 gears/ 6 gears( doesn't matter much for him)

But what he really looks at

1. The looks exterior/interior
2. Features list
3. A 2-DIN integrated system with MFD
4. A SUV feel(not a complete SUV with off-road capabilities)
5. Good space & comfort
6. 5+2 seater(either way)
7. Hardly think 120-130kmph occasionally as great speed in real time
8. Good pulling power
9. Finally most important "Kitna Deti hai"

Believe me there will be hardly 5 to 10% people who talk about 4x4, chasis type and other CC, RPM, gear ratios and other things

So I feel our discussion should be helpful to those rest of 80% very common simple buyers [:)]

Those 80% wont be here because they are not petrol heads[;)]. Anyways for those 80% people,the XUV wins,hands down.
Apart the valid points listed by you,some more I would like to add-
-Image and road presence.
-Pickup,does matter a lot.
-Brakes- well most of the XUV owners i know complain bout this
- Reliability and ASS- tata has a bad image here.
Now I would like to share some experiences of my cousins who bought a XUV-

First cousin(W8 Dolphin grey)
He thinks that he should have waited for some more time. Not satisfied and keeps on complaining about the cheap quality and often says that its still a mahindra. Which it is obviously. Although its got features and a good pickup too. But he now often trades his car with his friends and now is a fanboy of the Cruze. Does not make much sense to me. I am sure what many of the buyers thought when they bought the XUV. You really dont need an SUV or like driving one but you buy it to make sure that you are the boss. But not happy in the end.He is Planning to sell his car later and buy a Jetta or something.

Second cousin(W8 White)
he is happy. Infact loves it. He was a big fan of the scorpio and he really likes the mahindra brand. He likes to go offroad once a while. And he is also in love with cars[:)]
XUV is a great car,no hard feelings to anyone

Hi All

Here are my point by point observations regarding the two cars ie XUV and Storme

1.) Price Comparision: Below is the comparative analysis of the prices of both cars, Ex showroom and On Road Prices in Delhi.

Rate Comparo.png

a.) When we compare W6 to Lx than there is a clear winner and that is Storme Lx as it is 1.76L cheaper as Ex showroom and around 2.5L cheaper than OTR prices in Delhi. In 2.5L one can run his Storme for around 3 years (@ 2000 kms per month with a FE of 13 KMPL).

b.) When W6 is compared with EX than the difference comes down to 87 thousand Ex Showroom and around 1.05L for OTR. Winner in terms of Price is still Storme. In 1.05L one can run his storme for 14 months. But what it loose is 2 airbags and some other features (Which one might miss).

c.) If W6 is compared with Vx than W6 is around 71 thousand cheaper Ex showroom and around 80 thousand cheaper in terms of OTR. But what you will get in Vx as compared to W6 is nothing apart from the ride quality and good brakes and better road presence. So W6 owner can run his car for around 10 months and also enjoy some showoff features which are still missing in Vx like tyretronic, Multiledia Stereo system, etc.

d.) Things sway in favour of Vx when we compare it with W8 as it is around 80K and 94K cheaper than W8. Price wise storme is a winner as one can run storme for around for 12 months. But feature wise W8 has 6 airbags vs 4, Satnav with MM Stereo system vs single din with blutooth, steering rake and reach adjustments vs Rake only, apart from these two things rest are just ok in W8.

e.) Now clash of the Titans ie clash of 4x4 vehicles, W8 4x4 is around 60K and 70K costlier than Vx 4x4. Reason (1) to go for Storme Vx is LSD 4x4 system which is much more capable than part time 4x4 system of W8, and (2) Vx is around 70K cheaper, so you can run your vehicle for around 9 months in that money or put bull bars, amplifier and woofer, extra hella lights, etc.

So people this is the end of part one of comparision where Price is consider for comparo. It seems, most of the Auto Mags companies missed out this factor as they have compared it irrationally rather than cross variants. Like Storme Lx has almost everthing which a SUV (not luxury SUV) buyer needs, All disc brakes, Body coloured bumper, ABS, Stereo with Blutooth-AUX-USB+4 Spekers, 5 comfortable seats, 200mm ground angle, better approach, depareture and ramp break over angles, Paint Quality, Interior fit and finish with quality of better material used. Yes, Airbags and few gadgets are missing but you are paying 2.5L less than W6. Same is with EX here also you are paying 1L less than W6.

These observations are based on facts taken from their official website, all prices, octoroi and parking charges are Delhi based. Insurance has been calculated at modest 3% of the Ex showroom.

Will soon covered point no 2 for comparo (under construction)

Thread Starter #94

Those 80% wont be here because they are not petrol heads. Anyways for those 80% people,the XUV wins,hands down.
Apart the valid points listed by you,some more I would like to add-
-Image and road presence.
-Pickup,does matter a lot.
-Brakes- well most of the XUV owners i know complain bout this
- Reliability and ASS- tata has a bad image here.
Now I would like to share some experiences of my cousins who bought a XUV-

First cousin(W8 Dolphin grey)
He thinks that he should have waited for some more time. Not satisfied and keeps on complaining about the cheap quality and often says that its still a mahindra. Which it is obviously. Although its got features and a good pickup too. But he now often trades his car with his friends and now is a fanboy of the Cruze. Does not make much sense to me. I am sure what many of the buyers thought when they bought the XUV. You really dont need an SUV or like driving one but you buy it to make sure that you are the boss. But not happy in the end.He is Planning to sell his car later and buy a Jetta or something.

Second cousin(W8 White)
he is happy. Infact loves it. He was a big fan of the scorpio and he really likes the mahindra brand. He likes to go offroad once a while. And he is also in love with cars[:)]
XUV is a great car,no hard feelings to anyone
+100 you are right !!

Yes, There was a real mad love towards XUV 500 as it looks huge and with a good price, because if you look at SUV market leaving scorpio,safari people always used to look at those pajero,endeavor,tuskon,captiva as real SUV's but they are not affordable by them, so when XUV 500 launched it made them mad with same kind of looks and such price, so the result of huge bookings which is continued even today, but

The most of the initial buyers like your cousin and some my other friends really regret for their decision as they have not thought of it properly while deciding on that as

1. Still their friends say that "common man it is mahindra do not compare it with Mitsubishi or toyota, this is not a SUV" something like that
2. They wanted may be something like Duster
3. Actually they never need a SUV but they just bought it with that heat which was going on during the launch of XUV

But after launch of XUV and Duster people really started thinking of SUV's leaving the popular "kitna deti hai" a side for a while, so the result is purely seen with Duster sales as they wanted something like SUV not a complete SUV. Now comes the Storm, most of them fear to touch it as it is from TATA[;)]
But people who experience it, then they started thinking that oh !! such a good one TATA(including me, I used be biggest TATA critic for their ASS), and yes LX variant made them to go ahead with the price and kind of pleasure it offers, so the Storm slowly picking up I feel, but it is really tough for Storm to break the barrier of the features XUV offers even today[cry]

Hi All

d.) Things sway in favour of Vx when we compare it with W8 as it is around 80K and 94K cheaper than W8. Price wise storme is a winner as one can run storme for around for 12 months. But feature wise W8 has 6 airbags vs 4, Satnav with MM Stereo system vs single din with blutooth, steering rake and reach adjustments vs Rake only, apart from these two things rest are just ok in W8.
you missed ESP (electronic stability program). this is much wanted safety feature more with top heavy vehicles, and at that price point it should have been incoporated in the storme vx.
e.) Now clash of the Titans ie clash of 4x4 vehicles, W8 4x4 is around 60K and 70K costlier than Vx 4x4. Reason (1) to go for Storme Vx is LSD 4x4 system which is much more capable than part time 4x4 system of W8, and (2) Vx is around 70K cheaper, so you can run your vehicle for around 9 months in that money or put bull bars, amplifier and woofer, extra hella lights, etc.

So people this is the end of part one of comparision where Price is consider for comparo. It seems, most of the Auto Mags companies missed out this factor as they have compared it irrationally rather than cross variants. Like Storme Lx has almost everthing which a SUV (not luxury SUV) buyer needs, All disc brakes, Body coloured bumper, ABS, Stereo with Blutooth-AUX-USB+4 Spekers, 5 comfortable seats, 200mm ground angle, better approach, depareture and ramp break over angles, Paint Quality, Interior fit and finish with quality of better material used. Yes, Airbags and few gadgets are missing but you are paying 2.5L less than W6. Same is with EX here also you are paying 1L less than W6.

These observations are based on facts taken from their official website, all prices, octoroi and parking charges are Delhi based. Insurance has been calculated at modest 3% of the Ex showroom.

Will soon covered point no 2 for comparo (under construction)
those are two different vehicles, different DNA, comparing them for what they give is different and hence i feel argument is not justified. for both the vehicles.

+100 you are right !!

Yes, There was a real mad love towards XUV 500 as it looks huge and with a good price, because if you look at SUV market leaving scorpio,safari people always used to look at those pajero,endeavor,tuskon,captiva as real SUV's but they are not affordable by them, so when XUV 500 launched it made them mad with same kind of looks and such price, so the result of huge bookings which is continued even today, but

The most of the initial buyers like your cousin and some my other friends really regret for their decision as they have not thought of it properly while deciding on that as

1. Still their friends say that "common man it is mahindra do not compare it with Mitsubishi or toyota, this is not a SUV" something like that
2. They wanted may be something like Duster
3. Actually they never need a SUV but they just bought it with that heat which was going on during the launch of XUV

But after launch of XUV and Duster people really started thinking of SUV's leaving the popular "kitna deti hai" a side for a while, so the result is purely seen with Duster sales as they wanted something like SUV not a complete SUV. Now comes the Storm, most of them fear to touch it as it is from TATA
But people who experience it, then they started thinking that oh !! such a good one TATA(including me, I used be biggest TATA critic for their ASS), and yes LX variant made them to go ahead with the price and kind of pleasure it offers, so the Storm slowly picking up I feel, but it is really tough for Storm to break the barrier of the features XUV offers even today[cry]
Agreed. I too was a tata critic before and never really liked any of their cars. But the strome has changed me for a while. And tata is changing [clap]. The strome is just a warning of an on coming storm[;)] The company is trying to portrait of how capable they are.

Point No 2 & 3 are sum up together

Ride Quality and Drivability: As i have TD both the vehicle many a times (twice each) on all sorts of roads and no roads conditions, So i'll sum up things.

Drivability of XUV W8: When last to last year i have taken TD of XUV 500 than one thing i noted specifically and that was the notchy clutch lever and hard 1st gear, which remain same in the last year TD also. Initial pickup was good, less vibration felt as compare to scorp but more than Aria and Storme when you start the engine and let it idle. Slot into first gear and it lunges forward, but be careful with clutch lever or else you will hit the next vehicle or stall your own vehicle. The progress remain simply even in all gears and the even spread torque curve lets you enjoy the drive till the time a pot hole or minor undulations jitters into your hands and A** and reminds you to look into the aspect of not so good suspension setup. In this case it is on firmer side but keeps you on your seats. Simple, you wont be isolated from the bumps and uneven roads of our Bharat. OMG, you are at 120-130 KMPH and you didnt notice it, ok ok i still have one more gear to play, so slott the sixth gear and vibes become a bit less and you can cruise all day long in this vehicle. High speed lane changing and curvy ghat sections can be dealt with ease but (thud- dhuk) this wakes you up and bring back ur memories that you are not driving on Autobahn (wake up this is India and you are driving M&M vehicle). The firm suspension lets you enjoy the twisties but also send a thud into your spine whicle moving at any speed over a bump or a pot hole. Even on plain surface one can observe (if he wants to observe) horizontal movement (minor), this shows M&M has worked on the suspension but still a lot to be done to get the perfect balance like Storme or Aria.

In short, you need less gear changes in city, have 6th gear and low end torque, allows you to sweep corners but beware from those uneven surfaces and bumps and pot holes.

Storme: Climb into the car (shorter people use side steps), get the right driving position, oops this steering wheel is touching my thighs what shall i do, how can i drive, this is a design flaw, etc etc. Areyy yaar keep your feet at that place from where you can drive the car, oooppppsss i forget, so lets start the car and when i have cranked the car, nothing happend but whether it has started or not? SA to me yes sir its ON. I was like wow no vibes and noticeable shudder, etc. Slot it in the first and it also lunges forward and within seconds you are at 100 kmph speed and you dont feel the speed and slot it into 5th gear and the growl of the engine comes down RPM is 2000 and speed is around 100 kmph. You can drive this vehicle all day long in 5th gear @ 120 KMPH or more and this will not break a sweat.
But what happens to the pot hole and that bump and than uneven road and those undualtions in the Field (remember RK that open ground in our TDin Gurgaon), what? which undualations and pot holes you are talking about? i have not noticed anything, not even my A** and Spine felt it. So lets do the lane cutting at high speed and voila body roll is very controlled even at speed over 80-90 KMPH (video is already posted by RK). So now lets take a U turn, ok from rightmost lane to rightmost lane - done.

This is a vehicle which was missing from the stable of TATA motors, the engine is super refined, NVH levels are very well controlled, Gear ratios are just perfect (could hv been better), body roll is well controlled, light clutch, positive gear shifts, Ride quality is much better than W8 but high speed handling is a bit better in XUV W8 due to its Mono frame and low slung nature.

Winner: Drivabilty XUV W8
Handling: Both
Ride Quality: Storme

If tax is high, then it will be applicable for all the vehicle which ever is the brand,
My answer was to Dharmesh's post, he was surprised that in Delhi It was 16.xx lakhs and in Bangalore 17.60 lakhs.

Yes the tax thing is a problem for every vehicles here and you know what?
Alto800 LXI costs 4 Lakhs OTR. Eon D-lite+ with same features as LXI (3.80 Lakhs) is much better buy in this segment!

Even Raja has answered to your post below.

why only Storm buyers will have surprise here[confused]
15 Lakh+Price and Tata!

Dear vishwas ,
This is what you posted right ?

Now I just requested you if possible get a quote from the dealer because sometimes sites like carwale don't give accurate information on pricing . The dealer will surely provide the current and correct info on pricing .
Carwale's prices are accurate, the dealer price list is higher than Carwale because they include extended warranty and some essential features which inclines the cost of the car.

Re: Storm Vs XUV 500 - which one to choose

@gurrala74 - One quick question - did you feel any increased body roll or discomfort while switching lanes in both at 100+ kmph.

My curiousity stems from one of the TV reviews mentioning Storme body roll still partly exists.

Hi All

Here are my point by point observations regarding the two cars ie XUV and Storme

Price Comparision: Below is the comparative analysis of the prices of both cars, Ex showroom and On Road Prices in Delhi.
If TATA incorporate all the bells and whistles into the Storme, they definitely have to increase the price as well. Then again it will be same old story where people will not buy it firstly because it is costly and secondly because it is TATA. This is the perception of the common man.

On the other hand, XUV was launched with introductory prices and later they increased the same. There are still many buyers who will select XUV over Storme, the reasons for the same is mentioned by Mr. RK in the thread (the experience of his friend who bought XUV).

@gurrala74 - One quick question - did you feel any increased body roll or discomfort while switching lanes in both at 100+ kmph.

My curiousity stems from one of the TV reviews mentioning Storme body roll still partly exists.
Storme is BOF vehicle, so body will be there and yes it is there. But compared to the previous generation Safari how much it is improved, that only a person who have driven both can answer perfectly

Thread Starter #101
you missed ESP (electronic stability program). this is much wanted safety feature more with top heavy vehicles, and at that price point it should have been incoporated in the storme vx.

those are two different vehicles, different DNA, comparing them for what they give is different and hence i feel argument is not justified. for both the vehicles.
1. Is ESP is very important and life saving ??(how many lives it has saved, do you have any data), It is like if you are equipped with 6 Airbags your life is saved in a fatal accident, but in reality it never

2. Which are different vehicles and what is their DNA and why they should not be compared, do you want us to compare Storm with Scorpio which also having different DNA, will that be justified. Please elaborate with facts why these two cannot be compared according you ??

To answer you frankly, yes there is a considerable amount of body roll in both at 100+ while we change the lanes and in corners, but

I was scared doing so in XUV and not scared in Storm, so it may be marginal I hope and it may be due to more visibility in Storm which gives you some more confidence[:)]

Infact i made a mistake by writing 4 air bags in Storme Vx, in reality there are 2 airbags in Vx.

Second, See if you consider them 2 differend DNA vehicles than we should not compare them at all. Period. No debate. Period.

Lets compare it only with Scorpio not with XUV. But when this thread has started to compare it XUV we should and must compare it XUV only. and in this case XUV lost to Storme in 4x4 segment and utility and practicality.

Agree with you ESP i missed, but still Storme wins price wise and XUV wins feature wise. This i have already mentioned.

Even the aria is more comfortable when changing lanes at speeds. But the most uninspiring part are the breaks.

the power to weight ratio for an XUV is much higher than the safari storme.

e.
This is the most important factor in favour of XUV .We need to know how the low end torque behaves while overtaking a row of 3\4 trucks on two lane highways as compared to storme.
Also overtaking in city is important factor..
@ t 78 , Is it possible for you to compare them on above mentioned issue.?

Infact i made a mistake by writing 4 air bags in Storme Vx, in reality there are 2 airbags in Vx.

Second, See if you consider them 2 differend DNA vehicles than we should not compare them at all. Period. No debate. Period.

Lets compare it only with Scorpio not with XUV. But when this thread has started to compare it XUV we should and must compare it XUV only. and in this case XUV lost to Storme in 4x4 segment and utility and practicality.

Agree with you ESP i missed, but still Storme wins price wise and XUV wins feature wise. This i have already mentioned.
Even Aria will lose against storme if you open another thread for instance. Does that proves anything.
Come on tornado78 - logic !