Tata Storme vs Mahindra XUV5OO - Which One To Choose?

Re: Tata Storme vs Mahindra XUV500 - Which One To Choose?

If I were to choose between the two today, I would choose the storme.

Why???

Not because I like the Tata more(Heck I love the XUV and its butch rear stance, especially in Silver), but because the Storme is 2 Lakh cheaper.

And thats what makes the two non-competitors, and this discussion rather pointless.

If I were to choose between the two today, I would choose the storme.

Why???

Not because I like the Tata more(Heck I love the XUV and its butch rear stance, especially in Silver), but because the Storme is 2 Lakh cheaper.

And thats what makes the two non-competitors, and this discussion rather pointless.
I think we are comparing the VX and the W6 here.

Xover, I agree with you on the sales point of view on 4x4, but can you please tell me how much it will be useful for a common buyer like, I want to learn this from you as I think 4x2 will do the job for me even in reasonable off-road and I am not for adventures every day with my Storm if I buy one.
Yes, you are right, but the person then who wants 4X4 and wants to go for Storme have only one option that to buy top end spending about 15-16 lacs. So if it is available in lower trims as well, then LX 4X4 would be a great hit IMO.

I agree with everything else apart the transmission part. Why would the strome need a six speed? Its just a new marketting gimick. Cars like the ford gt have a five. Speed tranny.
It is of great use on highways and 6th gear also ensure higher FE figures. [;)]

Your Ford GT(one of my fav btw) doesnt get asked the question "kitna deti hai" - you never know though they might get asked if they mass launch in india . 2 over drives are a great asset for highway driving, excellent cruising capability and better FE, even a 5 speeder can give FE if set up but then you have to balance performance as well, that's where a six speeder has the advantage with the extra cog!
+10000. I carry the same view.

the power to weight ratio for an XUV is much higher than the safari storme.
This is the most important factor in favour of XUV .We need to know how the low end torque behaves while overtaking a row of 3\4 trucks on two lane highways such as Mumbai-Goa highway as compared to storme.
Also overtaking in city is important factor.
Those who have adequate experience , please oblige.

Hi RK
A nice comparo and would like to add my experience with both the vehicles soon (work under construction)

1.) Price,
2. Features
3. Ride Quality
4. Drivability
5. Looks
6. Gadgets
7. ASS
8. Niggles
9. Usability
10. Long Term Ownership

BOF chassis can be played around comparatively easier in terms of chopping / increasing lengths , several Tata/M&M/Toyota examples of this whereas in Monocoque thats too complex as it has to deal with unitary structural/ torsional rigidity aspects.
Have to disagree here. Its not as simple as cutting, chopping, adding. If you look at a bus chassis and a lorry chassis, you will know.

This is the most important factor in favour of XUV .We need to know how the low end torque behaves while overtaking a row of 3\4 trucks on two lane highways such as Mumbai-Goa highway as compared to storme.
Also overtaking in city is important factor.
Those who have adequate experience , please oblige.
that was the reason i had earlier brought in scorpio for a comparo, which does it well but then not all drive their cars on a 2-lane national highway.

Have to disagree here. Its not as simple as cutting, chopping, adding. If you look at a bus chassis and a lorry chassis, you will know.
ealier and most low end buses are still based on a lorry chassis. where the body is built around that chassis.

it is only when people travelled in the volvos or merc buses, their advantages were known and now are being favoured by commuters.

I didnt mean i could do it at home with a hacksaw(hence used the word comparatively) - everything requires engineering agreed, but staying in the context of the thread and talking about monocoques / BOF , you can see the history of MM SUVs, Tata SUV's and even Toyota Platforms , there are several vehicles spawning out of similar chassis platforms. You can probably give such similar monocoque examples to explain your theory better - that would be immensely useful for all of us ?

Guys,no doubt XUV is a great car,but what about its reliability? I have never seen or heard any 1 year old car having so many problems.And I am not talking about the brake poblems,Power Steering problems or the infotainment system related problems.I am talking about hooter conking off,A'bag warning even with replaced ECU,hard second gear,body rattling and a whistling sound at around 1600 rpm mark.I have personally always believed that Mahindra vehicles are in general more reliable than Tata cars,but sorry my confidence in MnM has shaken badly with all these "niggle" reports that are filtering about XUV "EVEN as of NOW" somewhere in the web world!!

that was the reason i had earlier brought in scorpio for a comparo, which does it well but then not all drive their cars on a 2-lane national highway.
Enough has been said about scorpio on storme vs competition thread.If at all any thing is left better to do it on new thread.
'not all drive on two lane highways' is this enough reason to side line the power /wt , and low end torque discussion.?

The problem here is common people(prospective buyer who is willing to shell that much money) do not want a proper 4x4 and just need a people mover.
People buy Duster & Quanto as mini "SUV"[frustration]
Even this year's autocar award for SUV of the year goes for DUSTER[frustration]
So people need a vehicle that is categorised as a SUV but actually not a SUV.
LX Storme with 4x4 is a good option for people who are really interested in off roading but for TATA bringing such a variant as standard may not be viable in financial grounds.
But they can really consider that variant under special request from a prospective 4x4 enthusiast..

Came across this news..
http://indianautosblog.com/2013/01/tata-safari-storme-2000-bookings-59279[clap]

So people need a vehicle that is categorised as a SUV but actually not a SUV.
t..
The reason is simple semiSUV for semi offroads (PWD categorise them as roads[frustration])

And about , lx 4x4 , TATA hasn't decided yet about fate of DICOR safari.So wait and watch is the answer.

this should make guys who belive and brag about numbers happy
Tata Motors has not staged a marketing stunt by releasing delivery or booking figures for the well-received Safari Storme currently undertaking its pan India launch yatra, but you would be surprised to know that its actually doing pretty well!

The first market in South India Tata Motors launched the Safari into was Bengaluru.
On the sidelines of the South India launch yesterday, the head of the UV product group, Mr. Ashesh Dhar, told the media that over 2,000 orders have been registered for the Storme in the markets that it is available in. The company has also delivered 3,000 units of the Storme already in Delhi, Ludhiana, Punjab and Maharashtra.
The availability of vehicle has been extended into Karnataka and Andhra Pradesh since yesterday. Tamil Nadu and Kerala would join the bandwagon in the next 10 days according to Dhar. Some dealer showrooms in these two states have already received the first consignment of cars claimed a reader email this morning.
The waiting period on the Storme stands at 4-6 weeks. It is available in four variants, with the top-end variant equipped with 4WD technology. As we’ve reported previously, Tata Motors is busy working on new parts to route the Storme further upmarket.
Is the Tata Safari Storme the turn-around specialist that was desperately called for by the ailing Indian company? Despite numerous product offerings, Tata’s current market share in UV segment is just 12.5 percent, and if the Storme is consistent with its sales volumes, an upswing in those numbers is assured in 2013.
[Stats from Autocarpro.in]

Read more: Tata Safari Storme gathers 2,000 bookings since Oct launch

My view is exactly the inverse of this, its a universally known fact that monocoque R&D setup costs are much higher, it requires much higher upfront investments but ongoing per unit costs are lower ( Hence you need a stronger business case as the risk is higher from a manufactuer perspective), whereas in case of BOF the per unit eventual costs are higher. BOF chassis can be played around comparatively easier in terms of chopping / increasing lengths , several Tata/M&M/Toyota examples of this whereas in Monocoque thats too complex as it has to deal with unitary structural/ torsional rigidity aspects.
I wonder how you guys talk about RND here, Monocoque is already age old technology there are so many service providers who can setup entire facility for you, rest is your design implementation. I agree it has to be design cost, but it is true that unit cost of monocoque is much cheaper that BOF,
May be design alteration of BOF is easy but it takes lot of efforts since there are tomany factors to tune with BOF such as suspension and bodyroll factor and many, in Monocoque you can expect this things easy to do.

I wonder how you guys talk about RND here, Monocoque is already age old technology there are so many service providers who can setup entire facility for you, rest is your design implementation. I agree it has to be design cost, but it is true that unit cost of monocoque is much cheaper that BOF,
May be design alteration of BOF is easy but it takes lot of efforts since there are tomany factors to tune with BOF such as suspension and bodyroll factor and many, in Monocoque you can expect this things easy to do.
R&D does not particularly means coming up with something new. Even when we need to apply something already existing things to our use, we require a huge amount of R&D. Factors like Impact Analysis, Compatibility, Risk Management, Contingency, etc. Sorry for going bit into management terms. But as per me R&D is not just technical, but managerial as well.