Tata Storme vs Mahindra XUV5OO - Which One To Choose?

Re: Storm Vs XUV 500 - which one to choose

If tax is high, then it will be applicable for all the vehicle which ever is the brand, why only Storm buyers will have surprise here[confused]
God know why people like to highlight TATA for global bad reason leaving others on safe ground, may be this is how TATA lost some market though TATA is better than other in many area.

So what is your take on this? do you think for new product/design the manufacturer changes entire robotics system or just the software program for new design!!!!
Tata Prima body is entirely designed by automatic robots controlled by software system which has the knowledge of design so do you think for new truck tata is going to setup entire firm gain with new machines!!!! I dont think so.

My point was simple. MnM designed XUV on board first, anyways this monocoque design is not invented by MnM so they just need to have machines(robot) and their comupetrs loaded with new software according to products design information to control robots movement right.

Automation is required for BOF also, problem with BOF is only Automation is not enough it also reqires some manual work or assembly process.

May be BOF has flexibility to reuse the existing platform and monocoque too, for example CRV is based on accord.

So we no need to proud of MnM RnD cost because its not new and monocoque is a strong base for Xovers and almost all Xover SUVs in the world is built on Monocoque with some lose in offroad performance.
monocoque is a world standard now for crossovers, maybe tata did not want to invest heavily in a segment that was not going to get enough numbers so BOF was a safe bet.

the cost of setting up a monocoque automation is offset only when their cars go into mass production, if it was a slow moving product , the company could go broke pretty soon.

Re: Tata Storme vs Mahindra XUV500 - Which One To Choose?

I don't know whether you agree with me or not,but for me the biggest disappointment in Storme has been the lack of 4x4 option in LX & Ex trims.On the one hand you call it the real SUV(which it is,IMO) on the other hand you skimp the most important feature which could have made it much more VFM 4X4 off-roader.[frustration]

I know this is because of the business decision,as there are virtually no full sized real 4x4 comfortable SUVs this side of 15 lakhs,so @13.70 odd lakhs Storme VX does present a case for itself.But had there been 4x4 option on the LX version,the appeal of the product would have been much more wider.

Tata can only compete with Mahindra if they follow what their customers want and not what the fat head honchos decide in their AC lounge.

THE X-OVER

Dear vishwas ,
This is what you posted right ?

Here's the quote from Carwale:
New Car On-Road Price Quote - CarWale, maximum it would come around 18 lakhs and not more than that.
Screen shot for your reference:
View attachment 77266
Courtesy: New Cars, Used Cars, Car Prices, Reviews & Photos in India - CarWale
Now I just requested you if possible get a quote from the dealer because sometimes sites like carwale don't give accurate information on pricing . The dealer will surely provide the current and correct info on pricing .

We're did I say that you are posting imaginary numbers ? Did I ? I only requested you . Every car becomes expensive in banglore due to the tax structure .

Thread Starter #66

I don't know whether you agree with me or not,but for me the biggest disappointment in Storme has been the lack of 4x4 option in LX & Ex trims.On the one hand you call it the real SUV(which it is,IMO) on the other hand you skimp the most important feature which could have made it much more VFM 4X4 off-roader.[frustration]

I know this is because of the business decision,as there are virtually no full sized real 4x4 comfortable SUVs this side of 15 lakhs,so @13.70 odd lakhs Storme VX does present a case for itself.But had there been 4x4 option on the LX version,the appeal of the product would have been much more wider.

Tata can only compete with Mahindra if they follow what their customers want and not what the fat head honchos decide in their AC lounge.

Xover, I agree with you on the sales point of view on 4x4, but can you please tell me how much it will be useful for a common buyer like, I want to learn this from you as I think 4x2 will do the job for me[:)] even in reasonable off-road and I am not for adventures every day with my Storm if I buy one.[:)]

you can say an ARIA is an Xover but it looked upon as an MPV.

monocoque is a world standard now for crossovers, maybe tata did not want to invest heavily in a segment that was not going to get enough numbers so BOF was a safe bet.

the cost of setting up a monocoque automation is offset only when their cars go into mass production, if it was a slow moving product , the company could go broke pretty soon.
please read my post again since I cannot help you here. tata is not new to monocoque chassis developement you remember that and comment again. I told you again that BOF is costier compare to monocoque, 600cr is nothing for a new product, even nano plant is cost many times 600cr.

I understand that you are trying to convice everyone that MnM inversted more but not TATA .
My point is simple, whatever the manufacturer inverst is not our interest the outcome is important in the form of comfort, ride, handling this is how this thread started.

I guess we need to wait for the Explorer Concept of storme, I heard it may launch soon as a special varient. that is the reason they display Explorer in auto shows.

THE X-OVER

Thread Starter #68

I seriously feel that we are moving bit OT with the discussion on manufacturers investments on their R&D, will this help any common buyer who visit our forum, hence please stick to the simple topic talks about merits and demerits of both the vehicles

well, Since BOF vs monocoque has come up again. Herez my GYAN:

- monocoque is cheaper to design and build.
BUT some quoting Mahindras investment figures on R&D towards XUV, you will have to remember that this is Mahindras first attempt in a monocoque design. And they have completely done it in house (hats off to them).

Monocoque will have other advantages. It can spawn numerous different body styles from the same floor pan. So the development cost of the future models will be a lot cheaper.

- WHY is BOF costlier to build and design?
The body that sits on the frame is like a monocoque sans the structural members that support engine, transmission, drivetrain and suspension. Rest of the structural members have to be incorporated into the body.

And the frame. The ladder is not a simple structure with two rails at sides with cross members in between to hold them in place. Those cross members are strategically placed to have the most rigid structure as possible. ANY change in length, the positioning of the cross member has to be changed accordingly.

you can say an ARIA is an Xover but it looked upon as an MPV.

Is this your assumption or is there some documented proof some press cutting from tata motors?

The Safari brings something to the table which no other SUV in its class can bring. Sheer road presence coupled with an awesome engine. True it has not changed over the years but then if it aint broke, then why fix it folks? And with the 160bhp variant's launch on the cards, the XUV 500 is going to bite dust. A true Safari fan remains a Safari fan.

I think for a common man, an obvious choice would be XUV5OO. Reasons being

1. New design.
  2. Nicely laid out dashboard.
  3. Gizmos.
  4. Feel good factor when entering the driver seat.

But for Storme.

1. Years old Storme, with new facelift kind of thing. For normal person, there is not much change until he goes into detail of Storme.
  2. Atleast they should have provided cover to the music system.
  3. No sixth gear
  4. No 2DIN as now it is new trend of getting 2 DIN system.

And for me, if I have to drive mainly in cities and occasionally on highways (that also not much bad roads) I would straight away go and buy XUV500. But I always like to explore the difficult places and in that situation I would go for Storme.

I have not driven XUV5OO, but looking at the reports I feel it would be bumpy on bad roads, and know what Punto have actually spoiled me for better ride quality. [clap]
I agree with everything else apart the transmission part. Why would the strome need a six speed? Its just a new marketting gimick. Cars like the ford gt have a five. Speed tranny.

Your Ford GT(one of my fav btw) doesnt get asked the question "kitna deti hai" - you never know though they might get asked if they mass launch in india [;)]. 2 over drives are a great asset for highway driving, excellent cruising capability and better FE, even a 5 speeder can give FE if set up but then you have to balance performance as well, that's where a six speeder has the advantage with the extra cog!

The Safari brings something to the table which no other SUV in its class can bring. Sheer road presence coupled with an awesome engine. True it has not changed over the years but then if it aint broke, then why fix it folks? And with the 160bhp variant's launch on the cards, the XUV 500 is going to bite dust. A true Safari fan remains a Safari fan.
that should have been done in the first place when bringing the XUV into the table.

the power to weight ratio for an XUV is much higher than the safari storme.

we all know tatas take their own sweet time with regard to their new launches.

internationally an aria is sold with better power outputs , but it is still not sold in our country. its homeland.

so lets talk about that when that proposed launch does take place.

well, Since BOF vs monocoque has come up again. Herez my GYAN:

- monocoque is cheaper to design and build.
BUT some quoting Mahindras investment figures on R&D towards XUV, you will have to remember that this is Mahindras first attempt in a monocoque design. And they have completely done it in house (hats off to them).

Monocoque will have other advantages. It can spawn numerous different body styles from the same floor pan. So the development cost of the future models will be a lot cheaper.

- WHY is BOF costlier to build and design?
The body that sits on the frame is like a monocoque sans the structural members that support engine, transmission, drivetrain and suspension. Rest of the structural members have to be incorporated into the body.

And the frame. The ladder is not a simple structure with two rails at sides with cross members in between to hold them in place. Those cross members are strategically placed to have the most rigid structure as possible. ANY change in length, the positioning of the cross member has to be changed accordingly.
My view is exactly the inverse of this, its a universally known fact that monocoque R&D setup costs are much higher, it requires much higher upfront investments but ongoing per unit costs are lower ( Hence you need a stronger business case as the risk is higher from a manufactuer perspective), whereas in case of BOF the per unit eventual costs are higher. BOF chassis can be played around comparatively easier in terms of chopping / increasing lengths , several Tata/M&M/Toyota examples of this whereas in Monocoque thats too complex as it has to deal with unitary structural/ torsional rigidity aspects.