Tata Storme vs Mahindra XUV5OO - Which One To Choose?

Re: Storm Vs XUV 500 - which one to choose

I'm not sure W8 AWD costs somewhere around 17.90 Lakhs or so.
Are you sure? because below the ex-showroom costs of the both top end.

XUV W8 AWD
Rs. 14,50,394

Storme VX 4X4
Rs. 13,66,000

There is almost difference of 90k I think so OTR for XUV W8 AWD in Bangalor would be around 18.30 - 18.40 Lacs. [surprise]

Are you sure? because below the ex-showroom costs of the both top end.

XUV W8 AWD
Rs. 14,50,394

Storme VX 4X4
Rs. 13,66,000

There is almost difference of 90k I think so OTR for XUV W8 AWD in Bangalor would be around 18.30 - 18.40 Lacs. [surprise]
Here's the quote from Carwale:
New Car On-Road Price Quote - CarWale, maximum it would come around 18 lakhs and not more than that.
Screen shot for your reference:
Capture.JPG
Courtesy: www.carwale.com

Rs. 16,01,773 is the quote from carwale for Storme VX 4X4 for Delhi.

How much more would it cost in Bangalore? 1.5 lacs more than Delhi? [surprise]

Let us also have some more detailed comparo between XUV and Storme for all to have a better evaluation on, which suits best for different requirements /tastes of various readers here.

1.Tata Safari Storme VS Mahindra XUV 500 – Could it stop XUVs dream run? (Expert Review)"]

source:Tata Safari Storme VS Mahindra XUV 500

2.Tata Safari Storme vs Mahindra XUV 500 - fight between two Indian Hunks.

source:Tata Safari Storme vs Mahindra XUV 500 - fight between two Indian Hunks. | Simplifying the business and tech knowledge

3.Tata Safari Storme Vs Mahindra XUV500 – Which Is A Better SUV?

source:Tata Safari Storme Vs Mahindra XUV500- Detailed Comparison
I got bored by this paid online reviews, there is no sense in saying XUV a clear winner, those who TD both vehicle the ride quality is cannot be a subjective matter, this online reviews looks so weak they doesn't even know what this vehicles are.
If you follow this online review more than your experience then -10000 for your post.
I expect you to take TD of STORME and then post your unbaised opinion.after TD if you still believe XUV is excellent and clear winner then buy XUV no issue.

For me STORME is built for our comfort and we mainly buy cars for our comfort.
@ RK you forgot to mention that STORME is very easy vehicle to drive compare to XUV in both city and highways.

My TD opinion of XUV is same as RK, me and my dad took TD of XUV and Aria long ago, My dad impressed with arias drive comfort and ride quality, he specially liked ARIAs low NVH level, interiors and space but XUV fails in all this areas. According to my dad XUV is just a showoff vehicle and no reason to buy one.

Rs. 16,01,773 is the quote from carwale for Storme VX 4X4 for Delhi.

How much more would it cost in Bangalore? 1.5 lacs more than Delhi? [surprise]
Road taxes are very much higher in Bangalore when compared to all the cities in India, For ex Nissan evalia costs 9.60 Lakhs in Delhi and it is 10.57 Lakhs in Bangalore.

Will post the break-up for the cost tomorrow.

Road taxes are very much higher in Bangalore when compared to all the cities in India, For ex Nissan evalia costs 9.60 Lakhs in Delhi and it is 10.57 Lakhs in Bangalore.

Will post the break-up for the cost tomorrow.
better to get the qoute directly from some dealer if you can

In first review no mention about ride quality.
. [clap]
Dear , dharmesh , you are a senior to me on this forum, We are yet not forum friends but can not resist myself from giving you advice.TAI is the best forum to know and discuss about ride quality , So please stay tuned , do not go anywhere else.

Let us also have some more detailed comparo between XUV and Storme for all to have a better evaluation on, which suits best for different requirements /tastes of various readers here.

1.Tata Safari Storme VS Mahindra XUV 500 – Could it stop XUVs dream run? (Expert Review)"]

source:Tata Safari Storme VS Mahindra XUV 500
l]
Well this study is carried out by an expert!,
This study is carried out on 5th oct 12 ,
This study is updated on 17th oct 12.
The expert hasn't mentioned about how he calculated the FE , tankful to tank ful or DIS to DIS.Also , no mention of the name and traffic condition of the city in which they checked it's.
IMO , He is expert of 'copy paste of brosures' as only brosures were available on those dates.
So better to believe on members of TAI, who never claim that they are expert but put forward their honest observations for discussion.

Dear , dharmesh , you are a senior to me on this forum, We are yet not forum friends but can not resist myself from giving you advice.TAI is the best forum to know and discuss about ride quality , So please stay tuned , do not go anywhere else.

The expert hasn't mentioned about how he calculated the FE , tankful to tank ful or DIS to DIS.Also , no mention of the name and traffic condition of the city in which they checked it's.
IMO , He is expert of 'copy paste of brosures' as only brosures were available on those dates.
So better to believe on members of TAI, who never claim that they are expert but put forward their honest observations for discussion.
+100 Tornado

@Manoj, as a thread started I can say one thing, I wanted this thread to be filled with real time experiences by members and we do not want those expert reviews quoted elsewhere. My review is simple as a common man's impression about a vehicle which will be more authentic than a expert reviews posted elsewhere as we do not have information about such reviews that who are they and how unbiased they are. So if you want to write something, then experience the vehicle with your own ride and please post them here which are most welcome and useful for many[:)]

Tornado, you are 100% right, If that expert have done real comparision he wouid have posted his real pictures, it is purely a copy cat job. shame on them.
I never going to believe online reviews and TV journels opinion, most of the time they looks more biased to some thing for some reason. better to believe yourself 1st latter come to TAI and discuss it with people like you who dont do auto journel job for money.

may be I am biased here, BUT XUV 5 oh uhh with all the gadgets, party tricks, red led mood lights and all, fails to bring about a classy feeling that Safari Storme does without any effort.
AND may be its only me, but XUV looks a lot fussy. The day I first looked at the XUV, I laughed for hours. AND then came the story of the design team visiting the Savanna and crap, I laughed again. FOR hours. AND I remember, many online forums complaining about the design.
AND then the price was announced. Now all those complaining, were going GAGAGGAGA about XUV. All of a sudden, XUV had become the darling of the country. Then the famous Indian Herd Mentality followed.

EVEN today when I look at the XUV I think, IDIOTS (designers) MESSED UP.

I think Storme looks and feels classy. Havent driven it, so no comments on that.
XUV on the other hand has a lot of gadgets and unwanted (as per me) party tricks. Engine is crisp but the front wheel drive config. robs the fun. AND the ride is never settled, not that you will notice (my grande is more planted on the highway than the XUV).
AND brakes. First time It does feel scary. AND in most car it does. You are used to your earlier car and when you swap, you tend to use similar force. Once you get used to, then its no problem.

MY verdict: I am a TATA guy, I will buy a SAFARI if I were in a market for a SUV.

BUT unless you want the electronic gadgetry of the XUV, therz nothing stopping you from buying a SAFARI STORME.

I got bored by this paid online reviews, there is no sense in saying XUV a clear winner
I expect you to take TD of STORME and then post your unbaised opinion
According to my dad XUV is just a showoff vehicle and no reason to buy one.
I thought I haven't made any biased opinion here.If found please correct me.

For an online reader there is no difference between the first post in this thread and other detailed reviews elsewhere on the web.According to me we need to give equal respect to all who post reviews on web without any discrimination irrespective of which vehicle comes out to be the winner as the end verdict.

When it comes to me, I have said many times in other related threads that I haven't driven a storme yet and will be doing next month if it is available in Kerala in my area. If it is not available in my area, frankly speaking I won't be taking any additional pain to go in search of it as it is simply an upgraded safari which should have happened a couple of years earlier at least.

It is up to the readers to evaluate and decide pros and cons of vehicles.After having done sufficient online research, if one TD each vehicle, it would be much easier for this very important decision making.

Car buying can be very exciting but one needs to use minds at times to avoid blunders in the process.

http://www.theautomotiveindia.com/forums/member-s-lounge/11008-worst-car-buying-mistake.html

+100 Tornado
@Manoj, as a thread started I can say one thing, I wanted this thread to be filled with real time experiences by members and we do not want those expert reviews quoted elsewhere.
Please change the thread title if you want other users to post the way you want.Also If my posts are irrelevant please report it to MODs to delete them.

thanks

may be I am biased here,

BUT unless you want the electronic gadgetry of the XUV, therz nothing stopping you from buying a SAFARI STORME.
please let me know , exactly which electronic gadget is unique for xuv OE? I mean , better one not available at accessories shop? in the era where TOP notch electronic gadgets of today become historical tomorrow.?

OK, friends, I would like to share the buying process of the XUV 500 the one my friend owns and we drove it yesterday.

He was TATA Indigo owner for last 4 years and was extremely happy with it, but he felt like he wanted something bigger now due to some family needs and he has approached me where I told him check Duster,XUV 500 and wait till Storm launches in Hyderabad as his budget was not for Fortuner.

Important point is he never drives, but always his cars are chaffer driven, so he has asked Duster for a TD where his driver and one of a other person told it seems its power is less and we will try XUV, then he(his chaffer drove it) took a TD of XUV and driver and one of the other friend influenced him(unfortunately I was out of town during his TDs) and by the time I am back from my business trip he bought the XUV.

Then I asked him why did he choose that, he said he doesn't wanted one more TATA vehicle, then I asked him have you faced any problem with Indigo, he says not at all, then why have you not waited till Storms launch, then he simply smiles at me and show the GPS in XUV and lot of other controls in the car but never told me about any thing like ride quality,NVH levels, seating comfort.

When we were driving yesterday he asked my opinion on the XUV and my report is the live answer to him yesterday and finally we drove back and ended the trip he sincerely said that he never knew that some many things needs to be checked. Now understand how people buy vehicles. And

I am sure that no body will buy a Storm just like this as our member owners are evident of the same[:)](may a bad TASS reputation hunts them, so they will check everything thoroughly and finally buy the Storm) as I am not saying every person buy XUV in similar fashion, but most of them are really influenced by others(who them selves does not know what are the pros of XUV)

I thought I haven't made any biased opinion here.If found please correct me.

For an online reader there is no difference between the first post in this thread and other detailed reviews elsewhere on the web.According to me we need to give equal respect to all who post reviews on web without any discrimination irrespective of which vehicle comes out to be the winner as the end verdict.

When it comes to me, I have said many times in other related threads that I haven't driven a storme yet and will be doing next month if it is available in Kerala in my area. If it is not available in my area, frankly speaking I won't be taking any additional pain to go in search of it as it is simply an upgraded safari which should have happened a couple of years earlier at least.

It is up to the readers to evaluate and decide pros and cons of vehicles.After having done sufficient online research, if one TD each vehicle, it would be much easier for this very important decision making.

Car buying can be very exciting but one needs to use minds at times to avoid blunders in the process.

http://www.theautomotiveindia.com/forums/member-s-lounge/11008-worst-car-buying-mistake.html

Please change the thread title if you want other users to post the way you want.Also If my posts are irrelevant please report it to MODs to delete them.

thanks
I understand you and since you are not in India reliance on web world becomes all the more .

But real world usage , or to be precise real time test drive is always better after all we buy cars by test driving it and then feeling content and not just reading online reviews right ?

Here is where a forum becomes so important , because common people like us come and share their views , if online articles were only imp then why to spend time on forums ?

There is no harm in forming a opinion about a car for example how it looks , how the dashboard is or why less or more features pricing and all that stuff . But how can 1 talk about ride quality , ergonomics without driving the car in question ? Here a test drive becomes important . We have seen personal attacks , off topic discussions on storme related threads precisely for this reason , if one understands on what points he can comment on if he has not driven it or driven it a healthy debate can be done . ( and you have been fair in your critisissm allways )

But just arguying on basis of some online review about the ride quality or ergonomics with guys who have driven it dosent sound athuentic .

So IMHO atleast me who has not driven a car , would ask questions and clear doubts regarding the vehicle with guys who have driven it , rather then arguying on sales number , deserted showrooms and online reviews .

And storme ofcourse is a upgraded safari , the same way there will be a upgraded Scorpio . you expecting that mahindra must better the Scorpio then what it is now right ?
Or are you expecting that mahindra will change the way how the Scorpio looks and its entire DNA and its identity which made mahindra a force to reckon with after all Scorpio is called mighty muscular for the way it looks right ? So what is wrong if tata made a better safari then it ever was and kept the same identity and look for which It has a fan following and liking ?

@ tornado

See lets be fair here xuv has some decent equipment levels which are life saving too like ESP , 6 airbags maybe iron rock can highlight a few more . And this things can't be fitted at any outside shop . And this makes it a vfm option in the market , the storme is less expensive then xuv but misses on this critical life saving features .