Tata Storme vs Mahindra XUV5OO - Which One To Choose?

I think you are missing a point here , the thread is " not about declaring who is a winner " the thread infact is all about writing your subjective perceptions of both storme and xuv after test driving them .

Or if you have not driven comment on things which you think are wise to comment on using your own god given grey matter in the head .

And ofcourse its not a paid or marketing comparo , the thread is just to document expreinces of TAI members about the storme and xuv .

Discussions done in a healthy way can make this thread quite interesting . .
Healthy way?
I have noticed from begining that few members defending baseless against points have been attacked . now its towards me, I can feel it .

I think I am litlle bit short of grey matter here,or please add it to the title that 'comments from experienced personnels only entertained here.'
Thank you.

Re: Tata Storme vs Mahindra XUV500 - Which One To Choose?

@Superbad & Iron Rock, please do not be under such surprise please, I am aware of such videos posted by Superbad and the link given by IR there, I am very much concerned on the safety front of any vehicle, but never support man made intentional mistakes and expect electronics to save you. I am very clear on this and I can assure you I have read much data on ESP,ABS,EBD,Airbags, BUT we have some differentiation here that the conditions in those western or other countries differ a lot and may be such things proved well over there, but Indian conditions are quite different and the driving culture too, so my question is very simple, keeping the theory part a side, just think bit practically and tell me how many times we come across such situations in India and how really they are useful for us. Please do not get emotional on this, just you can answer bit plainly with reasoning for my learning also for others who are with my view.
Sorry to differ sir but your post was questioning the credibility of ESP and there are enough statistics and data available - There is no theory in those reports they are surveyed from actual accidents! Nobody makes intentional mistakes to crash, we aren't talking of the suicidal tendencies here. Yes we do have a lot of rash drivers out here but that is exactly why safety should be bigger concern. Regarding conditions we do have all of those conditions(+more) in our own country as well. Lets not devalue safety, if the driving culture is bad lets look at improving it and create awareness rather. For the sake of a comparison lets not go this route.

Thread Starter #123

Sorry to differ sir but your post was questioning the credibility of ESP and there are enough statistics and data available - There is no theory in those reports they are surveyed from actual accidents! Nobody makes intentional mistakes to crash, we aren't talking of the suicidal tendencies here. Yes we do have a lot of rash drivers out here but that is exactly why safety should be bigger concern. Regarding conditions we do have all of those conditions(+more) in our own country as well. Lets not devalue safety, if the driving culture is bad lets look at improving it and create awareness rather. For the sake of a comparison lets not go this route.
@IR, why are thinking that I do not value ESP, it has come out with lot of R&D and I agree for its importance, So please do not think that I am questioning the credibility or devaluing the safety here I repeat.

I have a driving experience closely to 20 years in different countries too !! So you will agree that I will have such intentions while comparing a vehicle..never, BUT

Believe me whatever is the good technology is developed is most of the time becoming useless in our country due to road conditions and as well driving culture, so in such case I said ESP may not be a big deal in context of only these two SUVs discussion nothing more to it

Let me share a personal experience with esp- gurrala74 dont take it as an attack,just being frank[:)]
This is a year back,I was driving my Laura TSI on some highway in haryanna.It was late night and I suddenly realized that I was driving on the wrong road. So I took a u-turn,almost full throttle while coming out of the turn. I suddenly noticed a piles of bricks on the road but obviously was going too fast to stop. So i turned the wheel towards left quickly and the car skidded for a second then caught grip again. When it skidded,I noticed that ESP light was flashing on the dashboard. If my car would have lost control,then defiantly I would not be replying here. I think ESP saved me,[:)].
So they do make a difference.

@IR, why are thinking that I do not value ESP, it has come out with lot of R&D and I agree for its importance, So please do not think that I am questioning the credibility or devaluing the safety here I repeat.

I have a driving experience closely to 20 years in different countries too !! So you will agree that I will have such intentions while comparing a vehicle..never, BUT

Believe me whatever is the good technology is developed is most of the time becoming useless in our country due to road conditions and as well driving culture, so in such case I said ESP may not be a big deal in context of only these two SUVs discussion nothing more to it
For me the 2 SUVs in context is least important, but your conclusion about ESP in Indian conditions doesn't sound right unless you can explain it technically better - sorry for my ignorance if any.
ESP works/monitors continuously on several factors and conditions including speed, acceleration, yaw, steering angles, steering input , skid etc - it decides whether the vehicle is stable and whether corrective actions are needed and applies it.
There are cases when you are better off switching off the ESP but for all normal purposes, ESP does help in Indian conditions.

Healthy way?
I have noticed from begining that few members defending baseless against points have been attacked . now its towards me, I can feel it .

I think I am litlle bit short of grey matter here,or please add it to the title that 'comments from experienced personnels only entertained here.'
Thank you.
Jaydev you are unnessecary taking it personal and misinterpretating my post .

Have I said only guys who have driven both * must only * comment ? All I have said is that use your brain ( again this is general statement applicable to all including me ) while commenting that is if one has not driven the car one must understand in which areas he can comment and which he can't is that so hard to understand ?

You drive a ford ranger , I have never driven it how it drives and what are the ergonomics how nimble it is to drive or not who can better tell ? me or you ? Yes but I can certainly comment on its looks , features , price points . This is what iam saying nothing else .

And in no way its any attack or anything on you or anybody And mods are there to take care of that .
Hope iam clear on this .

Thread Starter #127

Let me share a personal experience with esp- gurrala74 dont take it as an attack,just being frank[:)]
This is a year back,I was driving my Laura TSI on some highway in haryanna.It was late night and I suddenly realized that I was driving on the wrong road. So I took a u-turn,almost full throttle while coming out of the turn. I suddenly noticed a piles of bricks on the road but obviously was going too fast to stop. So i turned the wheel towards left quickly and the car skidded for a second then caught grip again. When it skidded,I noticed that ESP light was flashing on the dashboard. If my car would have lost control,then defiantly I would not be replying here. I think ESP saved me,[:)].
So they do make a difference.
My dear I never Said that ESP useless, but think of it in real driving terms that how many times it will work for us in what type of conditions it will and I still stick to the theory of safe driving first and all those examples given in the data sheets and experiences of members are most of the times were self created and I stick to this point here.

Please never think that I will compromise on safety aspect and safety features, I feel bad about my Ritz for the same reasons of safety as it is not equipped with ABS in emergency situation and its body is not built like Punto or Vista[:)]

For me the 2 SUVs in context is least important, but your conclusion about ESP in Indian conditions doesn't sound right unless you can explain it technically better - sorry for my ignorance if any.
ESP works/monitors continuously on several factors and conditions including speed, acceleration, yaw, steering angles, steering input , skid etc - it decides whether the vehicle is stable and whether corrective actions are needed and applies it.
There are cases when you are better off switching off the ESP but for all normal purposes, ESP does help in Indian conditions.
Sorry Ironrock. There is no point explaining it here.this should be my last post here.

I work in industrial premises . And I have to wear all those safety harness,goggle, boots hardhats and write safety observation cards daily . In these 8 years it was of no use to me as I am still unhurt and alive but I will prefer to use them in future,hope you know why.

ESP and additional airbags are just irresistible for me if at all I have extra 1 to 2 lacs to spend.
It is very important to note that value of side and curtain airbags and Esp can't be debated unless the buyer is has budget restraints.
Luck saves only once but safty and safty precautions save most of the time.

In case of tff , ESP saved his car and him but luck saved the absent pedestrians around.

Agree with you but,if there were pedestrians there,I would not step on the gas. The road was completely deserted,it was 12oclock. Thats why i was driving fast.
I DONT ENCOURAGE TO TEST YOUR ESP though. Just clarifying it.[;)]
But even if you own a Volvo,and decide do drive like a moron then still you will die and kill other too.

Guys,just throwing a different perspective into this debate.What if Tata launchesc two more variants of Storme in near future: GX with all features of EX+2 Airbags at 11.50 ex-showroom price and ZX with all features of VX+ ESP,touchscreen,Sat Nav,cruise control,climate control etc at around 13.5 lakhs.Do you people think doing this move will help them garner more sales against XUV5OO?

My dear I never Said that ESP useless, but think of it in real driving terms that how many times it will work for us in what type of conditions it will and I still stick to the theory of safe driving first and all those examples given in the data sheets and experiences of members are most of the times were self created and I stick to this point here.

Please never think that I will compromise on safety aspect and safety features, I feel bad about my Ritz for the same reasons of safety as it is not equipped with ABS in emergency situation and its body is not built like Punto or Vista[:)]
Gurralla xuv 500 in its higher models comes with safety features which are indeed proved to be extremely effective . The storme other then 2 airbags and abs dosent have safety features like 6 airbags and ESP . Now if some 1 is ready to pay extra money for safety and gives safety paramount importance xuv is the ideal choice .
If 1 can't afford it because of budget constraints then its ok , but if 1 has the budget one must allways go for a car which has more safety options . Now if he dosent like the look of the car then that's entirely different topic .

@ xover

When they launch we will discuss why to discuss on wishfull thinking and then take the entire topic of the thread off topic ? [:)]

Is ESP is very important and life saving ??(how many lives it has saved, do you have any data), It is like if you are equipped with 6 Airbags your life is saved in a fatal accident, but in reality it never
I couldn't resist myself any more.

I always wondered seeing corps fining drivers for not wearing seat belts while driving. I always get shocked to see some retarded making fun of me for my habit of wearing seat belts always while driving.

I always felt bad for the fact that not all cars sold in our country are equipped with life saving safety features and not every body has the benefit of safety equipments in their cars due to various reasons.

So I am not surprised here to see comments that devalue safety features as part of some desperate efforts in the middle of some pointless discussions.

Agree with you but,if there were pedestrians there,I would not step on the gas. The road was completely deserted,it was 12oclock. Thats why i was driving fast..
So primarily it was the driving precaution on the part of you that you first looked around before or during the turn which is important and esp came to rescue afterwards.

BTW, which car is ESP eqipped:lol!: that belongs to me.?

I couldn't resist myself any more.

In our country [only] I always wondered seeing corps fining drivers for not wearing seat belts while driving. I always get shocked to see some retarded making fun of me for my habit of wearing seat belts always while driving.

I always felt bad for the fact that not all cars sold in our country are equipped with life saving safety features and not every body has the benefit of safety equipments in their cars due to various reasons.

So I am not surprised here to see comments that devalue safety features as part of some desperate efforts in the middle of some pointless discussions.
+1 i wear seat belts when I am sitting in the back seat. Often people say-darta kyu hai or why are you scared but I reply back saying-bhaduri aur befkoofi me farak hai- their is a difference between being brave and being stupid.