Tata Storme vs Mahindra XUV5OO - Which One To Choose?

All points valid for Storme and XUV. Both have niggles but one question guys,

How come XUV is still managing to sell 2000 + units where as Safari and Storme together can't even manage to do 1000 +? Even though Storme has a better pricing than XUV which ranges from 10.25L to 14.15 L (ex showroom Delhi) and XUV starts at 11.86 L (ex showroom).

XUV has more niggles than Storme according to different resources. But still XUV is way ahead.

Again before replying to my question please keep in mind that i am not saying that Storme or XUV are inferior products to each other.

Just want to see what our members have to say about that.
these sales figure debate is waste of time, this is driven by many factors like marketing, promotions, pricing etc so it is better to stay away.
as per as the reports the reliability issues are more with XUV but it still making volume may be because of correct marketing and mouth watering price for those features and Scorpios success and being cheap.

these sales figure debate is waste of time, this is driven by many factors like marketing, promotions, pricing etc so it is better to stay away.
as per as the reports the reliability issues are more with XUV but it still making volume may be because of correct marketing and mouth watering price for those features and Scorpios success and being cheap.
I don't think customer are that ignorant or stupid that they will go and put their hard earned money on a product just looking at the advertisement and promotions. And it's a lot of money 15-16 Lacs. Gone are those days buddy. Not today and i guess TATA does the same thing or is TATA missing a promotion and advertisement dept.

I am not available in the market to be judged upon.
Then kindly refrain in claming what the market needs and wants . Only talk about yourself and not the market .

It means the product is not a success. simple as that.
Success as in what ? Explain us what you mean here by success in this context .

For starters pantech phones are not sold in india.
so whatever brand value that it has is of no significance.
there is no brand significance for pantech in india. this is on the same lines as a mazda/infiniti/Lotus.
their success in india is immaterial simply because they are not available.
Exactly , Still on what basis were you suggesting the phone then to members ? Because you love the word "pantech " how it sounds or the phone itself was capable to begin with ?

It is relative in terms of the competition.
an alto success will be compared to an EON.
likewise for each and every car in its segment.
Does that make a eon a bad product since the alto sells more then it ?

All points valid for Storme and XUV. Both have niggles but one question guys,
How come XUV is still managing to sell 2000 + units where as Safari and Storme together can't even manage to do 1000 +?
How come the eon which by itself is a modern product priced sensibly sales way way less then alto ? Infact alto was also proved to be a car with 0 safety rating too .

Alto k10 / 800 - 23, 620

Eon - 6284 .
September 2013 sales .

Can you answer or explain this phenomenon ?

Even though Storme has a better pricing than XUV which ranges from 10.25L to 14.15 L (ex showroom Delhi) and XUV starts at 11.86 L (ex showroom).
Only the storme lx is better priced , and rest all models overlap with the w6 and w8 and are not vfm IMHO , I have been saying this since the launch of safari storme if you remember .

XUV has more niggles than Storme according to different resources. But still XUV is way ahead.
A product gains momentum from its launch , mahindra launched the xuv with a very vfm tag , it picked the momentum . And since it was sold more , a natural herd reaction towards it followed too .( and the product in itself apart from the niggles and mechanical issues is still wonderful to begin with )
And even now there is no denying fact that it has more to offer ( features ) in that price range then Any other product at present .
Marketing research , and behavioral economics has proved that people tend to buy things in which they perceive they are getting more for the value paid ( even if they need it or not what is offered ) and also were the herd follows , that is not wrong or right it is just the way it is .

Again before replying to my question please keep in mind that i am not saying that Storme or XUV are inferior products to each other.

Just want to see what our members have to say about that.
The point is they are inferior and superior relatively to each other in the way you look at them by taking your priorities in mind .

For example , if you remember we had a telephone conversation , since you called me from USA before booking the storme or a xuv . And you said your parents need more safety , and we discussed that in that case the xuv is a clear winner .

Similarly 8oo+ people ( as per sept sales ) who have brought the storme / safari did have a option of the XUV too , but they decided to go for safari / storme and they must be having some reasons for that like trust , childhood dream , looks , power , ride quality , herd mentality , looks , or just by taking suggestions of their friends and relatives . Or even have a limited budget which they can't extend to buy a xuv and at the same don't want to buy a Scorpio .

I may love the storme like you do , but if tomorrow, like yours my family says they need 6 airbags and I have a budget for that , what is available in the market ? I may buy the xuv or wait for someone to bring a product in that range .

But like you if the choice is set free and all depends on me what I might do ? I may like you buy a storme .

We have countless examples Inder about many cars when relatively compared to some cars are sold extremely less . The point is that they maybe not selling more but the sales figures are no way indicator of the capabilities of the car . They just show the perception of market towards that car .
And perception towards something may or maybe not be right always in understanding capabilities of any given thing in question be it a product , person , or any damn thing

.infact you yourself have posted about this particular topic here ->

http://www.theautomotiveindia.com/f...gures-car-matter-your-buying-decision-32.html

Which is this ->

+100 to that. There are several cars which don't do good when it comes to numbers on the sales chart but actually owning and driving them is all time fun.

BTW: Sunny is a nice car. You won't run out of space for sure[:)] and is comfortable as well. Had a chance to drive one last month.

Then kindly refrain in claming what the market needs and wants . Only talk about yourself and not the market .
What claims?

Exactly , Still on what basis were you suggesting the phone then to members ? Because you love the word "pantech " how it sounds or the phone itself was capable to begin with ?
Wrong.
I was not blindly suggesting anything which came out of the "pantech" factory.
it was based upon the hardware it packed vis a vis the price. hardware same as the galaxy S2 retails @under 20k vis a vis selling price of that "pantech" @under 8k.
hardware was from quality vendors coupled with the fact it has a decent online support community.
i had done my market research before suggesting that "pantech"

It is not successful as compared to the alto. plus 6k units is no small feat.
compare to the storme which cannot even manage 1k figure when clubbed with the not "storme" safari numbers says it is not successful.

How come the eon which by itself is a modern product priced sensibly sales way way less then alto ? Infact alto was also proved to be a car with 0 safety rating too .

Alto k10 / 800 - 23, 620

Eon - 6284 .
September 2013 sales .

OT plus the competing product was from maruti which apparently has wide network reach and is easier on the pocket to maintain.

Nice Debate there, But it’s just that Storme didn't quench the hunger of a hard core Safari dicor fan in terms, with looks and certain oomph factor

But come on XUV is a crossover not an SUV by any stand, If XUV is a SUV then Innova is a SUV [lol]

I would dare to take my brand new safari to rough tarmac and worst terrains to travel, but very less XUV owners would dare to do it

XUV is a refreshing change to Indian market and set a trend for crossover and hence a success, but storme is all a different story all together it had to win over its predecessor first which most of them think is a win/loose battle.They didn't win it, nor loose it either

I personally feel it’s no way fair to compare these too in terms of sales.

It’s like comparing Aria(XUV)/Scorpio(storme) head to head, both belong to a different league [:)]

Wrong.
I was not blindly suggesting anything which came out of the "pantech" factory.
it was based upon the hardware it packed vis a vis the price. hardware same as the galaxy S2 retails @under 20k vis a vis selling price of that "pantech" @under 8k.
hardware was from quality vendors coupled with the fact it has a decent online support community.
i had done my market research before suggesting that "pantech"
This is as funny as it gets , you are here supporting a car like xuv which has niggles and problems arising from not using quality products in first place [clap]

Secondly you are suggesting people a product from pantech which in your own words has no establishment in India , no warranty too . So for such niche product even in the USA were it is sold you are ready to do research and don't give damn to its sales figures or success in the market were it is sold .

Are you under a illusion that storme has no support from TML ? And are using vastly inferior hardware and mechanical parts in storme compared to xuv ?

It is not successful as compared to the alto. plus 6k units is no small feat.
compare to the storme which cannot even manage 1k figure when clubbed with the not "storme" safari numbers says it is not successful.
Common sense tells that , 6000k is a extremely small figure relatively compared to 23,900 k in that segment .

Similarly the xuv too is not selling in 10, 000k units is it ? It sells in 2000 units and safari / storme in range of 800-1000 units . So relatively compared the difference is not big or small too .

Taking your logic ahead , the xuv is a super flop car compared to the innova then because
Xuv- 2159

Innova -4650

Difference of 2491 k units between innova and xuv .

Were as difference between xuv and storme/safari is just = 1309 [clap]

Which is a bigger difference 2491 or 1309 ?

Relatively speaking safari / storme is doing better in front of xuv .

Extremely worst in front of innova .

Xuv is doing ok in front of storme/safari

And xuv is doing worst in front of innova .

OT plus the competing product was from maruti which apparently has wide network reach and is easier on the pocket to maintain.
OT ? Lol
You yourself brought the eon vs alto comparison here and now calling it OT ?

You are not answering a simple question brother .

Does the eon become a bad car because it dosent sell like the alto ? If yes explain us how ? If no kindly don't bring sales figures statistic in this thread .

Again re posting the link were you can discuss this sales figure topic to your heart contents which I have been saying since long .
http://www.theautomotiveindia.com/f...gures-car-matter-your-buying-decision-32.html

Success as in what ? Explain us what you mean here by success in this context .

Alto k10 / 800 - 23, 620

Eon - 6284 .
September 2013 sales .

Only the storme lx is better priced , and rest all models overlap with the w6 and w8 and are not vfm IMHO , I have been saying this since the launch of safari storme if you remember .
A product gains momentum from its launch , mahindra launched the xuv with a very vfm tag , it picked the momentum . And since it was sold more , a natural herd reaction towards it followed too .( and the product in itself apart from the niggles and mechanical issues is still wonderful to begin with )
And even now there is no denying fact that it has more to offer ( features ) in that price range then Any other product at present .
Marketing research , and behavioral economics has proved that people tend to buy things in which they perceive they are getting more for the value paid ( even if they need it or not what is offered ) and also were the herd follows , that is not wrong or right it is just the way it is .

The point is they are inferior and superior relatively to each other in the way you look at them by taking your priorities in mind .

For example , if you remember we had a telephone conversation , since you called me from USA before booking the storme or a xuv . And you said your parents need more safety , and we discussed that in that case the xuv is a clear winner .

Similarly 8oo+ people ( as per sept sales ) who have brought the storme / safari did have a option of the XUV too , but they decided to go for safari / storme and they must be having some reasons for that like trust , childhood dream , looks , power , ride quality , herd mentality , looks , or just by taking suggestions of their friends and relatives . Or even have a limited budget which they can't extend to buy a xuv and at the same don't want to buy a Scorpio .

I may love the storme like you do , but if tomorrow, like yours my family says they need 6 airbags and I have a budget for that , what is available in the market ? I may buy the xuv or wait for someone to bring a product in that range .

But like you if the choice is set free and all depends on me what I might do ? I may like you buy a storme .

We have countless examples Inder about many cars when relatively compared to some cars are sold extremely less . The point is that they maybe not selling more but the sales figures are no way indicator of the capabilities of the car . They just show the perception of market towards that car .
And perception towards something may or maybe not be right always in understanding capabilities of any given thing in question be it a product , person , or any damn thing

.infact you yourself have posted about this particular topic here ->

Which is this ->
Bro i am still not saying that Storme is a bad product and you know I like this beast. My point is not to defame Storme. But there must be something i guess which makes this difference in the sales charts. And do you feel that we can completely leave out this point when both these SUV's are compared.

See i am always upfront reporting any issues in XUV and i guess never supported the fact that XUV is niggle free.

Both the SUV's have niggles but saying that niggles in XUV are bigger and serious whereas in Storme they are not that serious ones hence Storme is a better product is something i don't agree here. Keeping niggles aside XUV has a lot to offer which i guess Storme does not hence customers feel XUV is more VFM.

And see the example you gave bro is between EON and ALto (Maruti). Even today people follow a herd mentality that if its a Maruti it will be good. Secondly maruti has a wider sales network. Thirdly Maruti is probably cheaper to maintain than Hyundai. What you say?

This is as funny as it gets , you are here supporting a car like xuv which has niggles and problems arising from not using quality products in first place [clap]
Says who?

Secondly you are suggesting people a product from pantech which in your own words has no establishment in India , no warranty too . So for such niche product even in the USA were it is sold you are ready to do research and don't give damn to its sales figures or success in the market were it is sold .
I had given them riders.
And for success just check the relevant forum on mobiles to see if it is a success or not.

Are you under a illusion that storme has no support from TML ? And are using vastly inferior hardware and mechanical parts in storme compared to xuv ?
Says who?

Common sense tells that , 6000k is a extremely small figure relatively compared to 23,900 k in that segment .

Similarly the xuv too is not selling in 10, 000k units is it ? It sells in 2000 units and safari / storme in range of 800-1000 units . So relatively compared the difference is not big or small too .

Taking your logic ahead , the xuv is a super flop car compared to the innova then because
Xuv- 2159

Innova -4650

to put the level playing field, we need to get your earlier logic that safari and storme are different products.
the safari was the competition to the scorpio and the XUV to the storme.

so by combining the figures what you get?(september 2013)
scorpio/XUV :4345+2159 =6504
compared to Safari/storme : 850

the difference between Scorpio/XUV to the safari/storme :6504-850=5654

difference between innova and Scorpio/XUV:6504-4650= 1850

PS:To get a real comparo get the real storme figures.

Bro i am still not saying that Storme is a bad product and you know I like this beast. My point is not to defame Storme. But there must be something i guess which makes this difference in the sales charts. And do you feel that we can completely leave out this point when both these SUV's are compared.
It's about the perception brother , tata failed to create that perception which mahindra did successfully .

But like explained above perception about something dosent accurately measure the capability of something .

See i am always upfront reporting any issues in XUV and i guess never supported the fact that XUV is niggle free.
True you have always maintained a objective and neutral stand .

Both the SUV's have niggles but saying that niggles in XUV are bigger and serious whereas in Storme they are not that serious ones hence Storme is a better product is something i don't agree here.
, let me put it this way . The storme and xuv are just products .

They have certain problems , certain capabilities , certain limitations . Posting niggles and problems about both is just information about the latest happenings .

What is serious and what is not the readers will decide what we can do is just post the latest info regarding both the cars , good , bad .

You are witness to the fact that I have posted niggles about storme in this thread too . Secondly you are aware that I have critiqued the storme and TML for their shortcomings too and very harshly .

This a forum for information and not a brand cheerleading forum . Why to spare tata or maruti or mahindra or anybody ?

And why do some get extremely defensive if niggles about xuv are posted ? We don't work for tata or mahindra right ? Do we ? Are we shareholders of the company to decide which car makes money for which company or not ?

Keeping niggles aside XUV has a lot to offer which i guess Storme does not hence customers feel XUV is more VFM.
Features wise yes ofcourse no doubt about it . Infact the w4 can make life of storme more hard .

And see the example you gave bro is between EON and ALto (Maruti). Even today people follow a herd mentality that if its a Maruti it will be good. Secondly maruti has a wider sales network. Thirdly Maruti is probably cheaper to maintain than Hyundai. What you say?
True , and in the end what is here at work ? Perception right ?

How does it matter in actual practical sense to a person leaving in kanyakumari , who will never take his alto car outside kanyakumari that maruti has a a.s.s.c in leh Ladakh ?
Practically he must be concerned only about the service station in his city right ? But yet reasons like " wide service network " play a role when in real sense it's not required .

Again what is herd mentality ? it's a again a perception that , if all are buying something it must be great , all can't be foolish . But the fact is if the desicion is good or bad only depends after using it for sometime . Some are ok with niggles some are not . Who are not create big fuss . It's as simple as that . But then saying who create fuss are hoax owners or there is a web campaign against mahindra is as silly as it gets .

Again about people aware of having niggles , not many are accessing forums in India to learn. Some who have info about it have refrained or decided to go ahead with it .
Hence you can see a fall in sales figures of the xuv too right ?

Relatively speaking the innova is still strong , inspite of zero features , but the perception and herd thinking about Toyota means great is again at work here .

About cheaper to maintain I think allhyundaicars had somewhere explained with figures how the a,s.s charges including labour is cheap in Hyundai and same as maruti .

Says the recall done by mahindra and the news about changing brakes and this

Mahindra Claims New XUV500 As Zero Defect Vehicle | MotorBeam – Indian Car Bike News & Reviews

Mahindra has come up with an improved version of their flagship SUV XUV500. The XUV500 was not without defects. And so Mahindra has worked upon these issues and purported the updated XUV as ‘zero-defect’ vehicle. Besides that, their plan to reduce the ground clearance has also been realised in the newer version. To nullify the defects of the XUV500 and to improve the overall build quality were the focus behind the act. A very common issue that the Mahindra XUV500 posed to the driver was unresponsive braking and brake noise. Mahindra has completely upgraded the brakes which are now claimed to have countered the noise problems.

Why to claim a car zero defect if there were no defects ?

I had given them riders.
And for success just check the relevant forum on mobiles to see if it is a success or not.
You were suggesting them to Indian members , show us the Indian success / failure ratios .

Says who?
Says tata motors by giving warranty of 4 years on the storme . And not a single report has claimed so far that tata had to change the brakes 3 times because of quality issues .

to put the level playing field, we need to get your earlier logic that safari and storme are different products.
the safari was the competition to the scorpio and the XUV to the storme.

so by combining the figures what you get?(september 2013)
scorpio/XUV :4345+2159 =6504
compared to Safari/storme : 850

the difference between Scorpio/XUV to the safari/storme :6504-850=5654

difference between innova and Scorpio/XUV:6504-4650= 1850

PS:To get a real comparo get the real storme figures.
[frustration][frustration][frustration]
Readers are free to decide which theory they must believe you have posted yours and I have posted mine .

i have referred to your earlier theory.
It seems you have not searched the forum good enough on TAI itself you will find equal amount of xuv & storme reviews .

And what is the point in bringing safari here when the platform itself is totally different ?

i have referred to your earlier theory.
Dear respected Superbad ,

What kind of logic are you trying to explain ?

To explain you and the readers better ,

Member traffic hacker posted this ->

@Raja

Also have seen many people with Safari Dicor complaining about the squeaking.
Now, dont say this is not true, coz I have read it in this forum and other forums also.

And there are instances of many people who have been complaining in similar tone about Safari dicor as well.

To which I posted this ->

And what is the point in bringing safari here when the platform itself is totally different ?
Others members and you too kindly explain me what wrong did I post ? Is this a safari dicor vs xuv thread ...or storme vs xuv thread ? .

And does it make sense in talking and comparing the safari dicor to xuv when the thread itself reads

Kindly explain pls . Or is it that you are not aware that the safari dicor & storme are based on totally different platforms ?

Thanx in million .

Dear respected Superbad ,

What kind of logic are you trying to explain ?

To explain you and the readers better ,

Member traffic hacker posted this ->

To which I posted this ->

Others members and you too kindly explain me what wrong did I post ? Is this a safari dicor vs xuv thread ...or storme vs xuv thread ? .

And does it make sense in talking and comparing the safari dicor to xuv when the thread itself reads

Kindly explain pls . Or is it that you are not aware that the safari dicor & storme are based on totally different platforms ?

Thanx in million .
my question was quoted to you with that same regard but you chose to include the safari dicor rather selectively.

have a look at this post and decide for yourself

Xuv- 2159

Innova -4650

my question was quoted to you with that same regard but you chose to include the safari dicor rather selectively.

have a look at this post and decide for yourself
first and foremost did I bring sales figure discussion ?
and Is it my mistake that Tata shows sales figures like safari+ storme jointly ? Do you have their sepreate figures kindly post we will compare it ,so simple.

Even maruti post figures of alto+alto k10 jointly.

and Mahindra too post figures of verito + vibe jointly. What is a big deal ?

and anyway how does this prove capabilites of the cars ?