Tata Storme vs Mahindra XUV5OO - Which One To Choose?

I was comparing XUV with a combo of Storme & Dicor as there are very less Stormes on the road and have never met any owners and read/ seen very few user reviews.
Why do all Storme fans here want to hide from the facts of sales figures?
I do not understand why people say the sales figures doesnt show anything, to me it makes a lot of sense.
When XUV is getting sold at the rate of 2000+ (2045 in July-2013; 2225 in Aug-2013; 2159 in Sept-2013) and Storme & Dicor together at less than 850 only (598 in July-2013 & 601 in Aug-2013; ; 850 in Sept-2013).
There are no much examples to relate the facts in the case of storme but with XUV that is not the case.
Since the day it was launched, the sales figures were huge and there are more than a lakh of vehicles on the road now and where is storme in that race?

You guys have depicted a few issues raised by some people among the lakhs of cars on road, and a few among that may be hoax as well; I have heard that there was a web based campaign against XUV, may be some of the comments are from them as these user information are not validated (am not saying all are false info).
Had the Storme hit the roads in similar numbers as that of XUV, there would have been more people speaking out as well about issues & complaints.
The market is trusting M&M and XUV better than Tata & Storme and the sales figures shows that XUV is ahead of Storme almost 4 times, consistently MoM.

Sales data courtesy : TAI - August 2013 Sales Figures of Cars in India & September 2013 Sales Figures of Cars in India

I do not understand why people say the sales figures doesnt show anything, to me it makes a lot of sense.
When XUV is getting sold at the rate of 2000+ (2045 in July-2013; 2225 in Aug-2013; 2159 in Sept-2013) and Storme & Dicor together at less than 850 only (598 in July-2013 & 601 in Aug-2013; ; 850 in Sept-2013).
There are no much examples to relate the facts in the case of storme but with XUV that is not the case.
Since the day it was launched, the sales figures were huge and there are more than a lakh of vehicles on the road now and where is storme in that race?

You guys have depicted a few issues raised by some people among the lakhs of cars on road, and a few among that may be hoax as well; I have heard that there was a web based campaign against XUV, may be some of the comments are from them as these user information are not validated (am not saying all are false info).
Had the Storme hit the roads in similar numbers as that of XUV, there would have been more people speaking out as well about issues & complaints.
The market is trusting M&M and XUV better than Tata & Storme and the sales figures shows that XUV is ahead of Storme almost 4 times, consistently MoM.
+100.

This is an acceptable point. The number of XUVs on the road are many times more than the number of Stormes, since it was launched earlier and also because it sells more.

So, it is but obvious that the hype and hullah (whether positive or negative) on the web would be more about the XUV than the Storme.

Basic maths :

Number of XUVs on the road - say 100
Number of Stormes on the road - say 20

30% of XUVs have niggles - 30
30% of Stormes have niggles - 6

Out of those customers who are facing niggles, 50% owners report them on the web -

So cases of XUV reported - 15
Cases of Storme reported - 3

So, even if we consider equal amount of Stormes have niggles as XUV and equal number of owners are reporting it on the web, the probability of finding an XUV's niggle to a Storme's is 15:3... that 5 times more! Simply because the number of XUVs on the road are 5 times more (approximately assumed).

Now now... all of the above calculations are based on assumptions.

Its not that there are no negative reviews about the Storme online -

Overall Experience we have purchase safari strom 4 month ago, but now it is in service from 22nd july, but till now we did not get any response because of spare part problems. it's just travel only 10000 km
very bad 6806 | CarDekho.com

Overall Experience

Naught a Ac mini bus in lieu of SUV.co is fooling customers.seat belt gets entangled.drve seat has torn my 6 trousers,parking sensors alarm without any object in rear.dont be fooled by ads.pooest resale value
Storme vx 14 lacs 6418 | CarDekho.com

I have purchase new tata storme but all doors is heavy noise from the purchase date, I have repaired many times from the Tata service center but problem is still now as a thes.I have repaired many times from the Tata service center but problem is still now not solve, I think tata company that has cheated, and they are not intersted in solve the problems,
problems tata stome 6231 | CarDekho.com

There are more such reviews around the web. So even the Storme is no saint. Issues are prevalent in both cars. Heck, if I search the net, I will get poor reports about the oh-so-reliable Innova too.

I was comparing XUV with a combo of Storme & Dicor as there are very less Stormes on the road and have never met any owners and read/ seen very few user reviews
It seems you have not searched the forum good enough on TAI itself you will find equal amount of xuv & storme reviews .

And what is the point in bringing safari here when the platform itself is totally different ?

Because that will lead to off topic discussions if you want to discuss that further please let's discuss here . ( in the past we had such discussions and the post were deleted as off topic discussions )

http://www.theautomotiveindia.com/f...gures-car-matter-your-buying-decision-32.html

And btw I too have a question why do xuv lovers get so defensive about niggles in xuv and get in denial mode ?

In depth discussed with a poll on the link suggested to you above .

And if sales figures matters to you great , why do you want people / others to follow your line of thinking ? For them it doesn't matter and they too wonder like you why do sales figures matter for some people like you .

In depth discussed with a poll on the link suggested to you above .

Facts like ?

Tata officials need to answer that not us , since it's their look out we are discussing here capabilities of the cars not their marketing and sales strategy .

You guys have depicted a few issues raised by some people among the lakhs of cars on road, and a few among that may be hoax as well;

So you want to make us believe your opinion and stories about storme , and when things are posted which are posted contradictory to your view they are hoax ?

I have heard that there was a web based campaign against XUV, may be some of the comments are from them as these user information are not validated (am not saying all are false info).
Conspiracy theory ? Any links any source of your this claim ?

You are right , who said the storme is immune to problems ? Has anyone said so ?

People buy manza and vista more then Verito and vibe what would you say on this ? Is market trusting tata more then mahindra ?

This is an acceptable point. The number of XUVs on the road are many times more than the number of Stormes, since it was launched earlier and also because it sells more.

So, it is but obvious that the hype and hullah (whether positive or negative) on the web would be more about the XUV than the Storme.
You are right .

very bad 6806 | CarDekho.com

Storme vx 14 lacs 6418 | CarDekho.com

problems tata stome 6231 | CarDekho.com

There are more such reviews around the web. So even the Storme is no saint. Issues are prevalent in both cars. Heck, if I search the net, I will get poor reports about the oh-so-reliable Innova too.
Kindly read again what I have posted just a few post before . Again reposting .

@ all [/B]

what we personally want to belive or think is a totally different from what actually happens in real world .
if we see the complaints all around the web world its easy to see that tata and mahindra are two sides of the same coin , means equally good and equally bad .

both have their strategy like " with you hamesha " and " horizon next " it works sometimes and sometimes it just does not work . the service is premium at times and at times nothing short of horrible provided by both .

the effort and intention to excel is there from both , at times they excel and at times they do not .

there are some clear cut advantages of storme over the xuv and vice a versa . so kindly research all around , check your priorities and then decide what suits you the most on all parameters and enjoy the choice .

peace .

Thread Starter #1,984
@TH and Raj_5004

I do not understand that which part of the country you live in, but I am on extensive travel to many cities like Mumbai,Chennai,Vizag and Hyderabad too, and I can confidently say that Stormes are all over the roads in recent times.

We already had long discussion that sales figures cannot decide a vehicle superior or inferior when lot of herd is involved in such figures.

I just met a Storme owner of our forum "decool" was extremely happy with his decision and have zero issues with it and around all the members who met him today expressed the same feeling about the Storme as it is an excellent vehicle.

Finally it sad to see that there is a constant effort to defame a vehicles capabilities

It seems you have not searched the forum good enough on TAI itself you will find equal amount of xuv & storme reviews .

And what is the point in bringing safari here when the platform itself is totally different ?
Ask that to TML who post their sales data for a combo of safari and storme.
TML does not differentiate with the storme and safari who are we to discriminate? [evil]

Because that will lead to off topic discussions if you want to discuss that further please let's discuss here . ( in the past we had such discussions and the post were deleted as off topic discussions )

http://www.theautomotiveindia.com/f...gures-car-matter-your-buying-decision-32.html
It is the same logic which is used to determine that a xylo or a quanto is not a successful product for M &M.
The success is measured by the numbers the competition sells.
And btw I too have a question why do xuv lovers get so defensive about niggles in xuv and get in denial mode ?
because the ratio of cars out on the roads to the reports for XUV is not balanced to ratio of cars to reports for the storme.
hence the quantitive/qualitaive analysis to compare which is more reliable cannot be predicted.

People buy manza and vista more then Verito and vibe what would you say on this ? Is market trusting tata more then mahindra ?
Yes. They have been in the segment for longer than mahindra plus the external looks of the verito/vibe are seriously outdated for the market to take a liking to it, regardless how much they might be reliable .

I do not understand that which part of the country you live in,

but I am on extensive travel to many cities like Mumbai,Chennai,Vizag and Hyderabad too, and I can confidently say that Stormes are all over the roads in recent times.
one storme on a road is seen to a ratio close to 20 Xuvs on road to 2 safaris on road everyday to me atleast

Finally it sad to see that there is a constant effort to defame a vehicles capabilities
Yes seems to be the case for the XUV [anger]

Ask that to TML who post their sales data for a combo of safari and storme.
TML does not differentiate with the storme and safari who are we to discriminate? [evil]
Wow really ? I thought people select car on basis of this as claimed ->

@Raja -
People choose based on their TD experience and not only by reading reviews, they put-in their brains too and hence the sales figures for Storme vs XUV.
Never knew brain is used only as per as convenience and only selectively . [;)]

And to understand that both the safari and the storme are based on different platforms need a simple research.

This in fact" may " further prove that how some people don't always research in depth before deciding a car , and mostly go on perception or projected or perceived reality .

It is the same logic which is used to determine that a xylo or a quanto is not a successful product for M &M.
Who determines you ?

And a un successful product does not mean that the product is bad .

For example - You use and even suggested a pantech phone for some right ? Half of the India May or May not know the brand even , does that make the phone bad ?

There are countless examples of very good cars selling in less numbers , yet are highly capable cars .

And like said before to avoid off topic discussions , and incase you are interested you can post your views here and discuss

The success is measured by the numbers the competition sells.
For whom ? You ?

Success is a highly relative term , kindly do not generalize .

because the ratio of cars out on the roads to the reports for XUV is not balanced to ratio of cars to reports for the storme.
hence the quantitive/qualitaive analysis to compare which is more reliable cannot be predicted.
That doesn't change the fact that the xuv is niggle laden and hence unreliable at times for many . ( and there are owners who are enjoying the car without any problems too )

And people who have got themselves stranded in the middle of the road because of clutch going kaput in the xuv are not comparing their xuv with anything , they just report since they got stranded it is unreliable .

Yes. They have been in the segment for longer than mahindra plus the external looks of the verito/vibe are seriously outdated for the market to take a liking to it, regardless how much they might be reliable .
And how you decided that ? And looks are outdated for whom ? You are telling us that on behalf of the market ? Or is it your personal opinion which is formed by using your own logic by taking only the sales figures into consideration ?

And which you think is more reliable verito or manza in long run inspite of sales figure ?

one storme on a road is seen to a ratio close to 20 Xuvs on road to 2 safaris on road everyday to me atleast
So ? What does that prove ?

I was comparing XUV with a combo of Storme & Dicor as there are very less Stormes on the road and have never met any owners and read/ seen very few user reviews.
100% unacceptable justification, be fair to compare STORME VS XUV not Dicor otherwise it will be off-topic. thank you
TATA has to bother about this figure we are nothing to do about it, if you are right then Punto is the worst car of all but in real punto is one of the finest hatch in the market today in its segment, so you please go to thread which is dedicated to sales figure.

Oh my god, MnM should take action against the web campaign :P, who is hiding?

[lol] sorry Buddy I'm not seeing any fruit and nuts here, this kind of justifications dont pay anything for this comparison.

+100.

sales figure are fine I agree XUV is doing good but your theory of "more sales more issues" is not acceptable and it May be its your subjective opinion.

Basic maths :

Number of XUVs on the road - say 100
Number of Stormes on the road - say 20

30% of Stormes have niggles - 6

Out of those customers who are facing niggles, 50% owners report them on the web -

Cases of Storme reported - 3
sorry brother, for me it looks like total fun and even it let me think like there are 100 people are there to abuse storme and only 20 people are there to abuse XUV.

so I really wonder how it became a basic maths, I feel it is just an assumption and it wont solve your theory for others.
I feel we should stop discussions on such assumption isn't it?

So, even if we consider equal amount of Stormes have niggles as XUV and equal number of owners are reporting it on the web, the probability of finding an XUV's niggle to a Storme's is 15:3... that 5 times more! Simply because the number of XUVs on the road are 5 times more (approximately assumed).

Now now... all of the above calculations are based on assumptions.
Good +100, that is why i said these things are assumptions and we should stop such discussion to avoid argument on baseless things.

No one claimed that. +10

cheers

.Kindly read again what I have posted just a few post before . Again reposting .
+100 to what you have written there.

Raj_5004

I do not understand that which part of the country you live in
Err... I live in Mumbai which comes on the West of India. But originally I belong to Kerela which is on the South of India.

Attaching a screenshot from Google maps -

Untitled.jpg

but I am on extensive travel to many cities like Mumbai,Chennai,Vizag and Hyderabad too, and I can confidently say that Stormes are all over the roads in recent times.
Strange! I am in Mumbai and could not see as much Stormes as XUVs.

We already had long discussion that sales figures cannot decide a vehicle superior or inferior when lot of herd is involved in such figures.
When did I say that the XUV is superior because it sells more? Please read my post again.

I just met a Storme owner of our forum "decool" was extremely happy with his decision and have zero issues with it and around all the members who met him today expressed the same feeling about the Storme as it is an excellent vehicle.
Good.

Who is defaming the XUV here? [confused]

sales figure are fine I agree XUV is doing good but your theory of "more sales more issues" is not acceptable and it May be its your subjective opinion.
Again, please re-read my post above -

I said : since there are more number of XUVs on the road, more number of issues are reported, when compared to Storme...

sorry brother, for me it looks like total fun and even it let me think like there are 100 people are there to abuse storme and only 20 people are there to abuse XUV.
What makes you think that 100% of Storme owners abuse their vehicles when compared to 20% of XUV owners?

Sales figures can be positively assumed on an approximate scale since we have the monthly sales figures of both the vehicles. How do we determine how many owners abuse their vehicles?

@ Guralla:

I have no idea how do you see Stormes over XUVs all around the country when clearly the official sales figures suggest something else -

I have compiled the information from official sales figures and this is what I got -

Total number of XUVs sold till date : 1,78,723 units
Total number of Safari + Storme sold till date : 10,114 units

@ MrRanger:

This is what I meant when I said that the number of XUVs on the road are more. The amount of Safari+Stormes on the road is just 5.66% of the amount of XUVs.

In my previous calculation, I had considered 20%!

So the calculation maybe revised as follows :

Number of XUVs on the road - 100
Number of Safari+Stormes on the road - 5.66 ~ 6 (not 20)
So, number of Stormes on the road - 3

30% of Stormes have niggles - 0.9 ~ 1

Cases of Storme reported - 0.5

So, even if we consider equal amount of Stormes have niggles as XUV and equal number of owners are reporting it on the web, the probability of finding an XUV's niggle to a Storme's is 15:0.5... that is 30 times more!

This time, the number of cars on the road have been taken from official sales figures and not assumed.

I am not posting this to defend XUV's niggles or to defame the Storme in any way - this is just to reiterate the fact that it is obvious that niggles of XUV will be highlighted more on the web even if both the XUV and the Storme have equal number of niggles and equal number of owners reporting it. As can be seen above, the probability is 30 times more!

What makes you think that 100% of Storme owners abuse their vehicles when compared to 20% of XUV owners?

Sales figures can be positively assumed on an approximate scale since we have the monthly sales figures of both the vehicles. How do we determine how many owners abuse their vehicles?
Please read my words again, your assumptions let me think so.

@ Guralla:

I have no idea how do you see Stormes over XUVs all around the country when clearly the official sales figures suggest something else -

I have compiled the information from official sales figures and this is what I got -

Total number of XUVs sold till date : 1,78,723 units
Total number of Safari + Storme sold till date : 10,114 units

@ MrRanger:

This is what I meant when I said that the number of XUVs on the road are more. The amount of Safari+Stormes on the road is just 5.66% of the amount of XUVs.

In my previous calculation, I had considered 20%!

So the calculation maybe revised as follows :

Number of XUVs on the road - 100
Number of Safari+Stormes on the road - 5.66 ~ 6 (not 20)
So, number of Stormes on the road - 3

30% of Stormes have niggles - 0.9 ~ 1

Cases of Storme reported - 0.5

So, even if we consider equal amount of Stormes have niggles as XUV and equal number of owners are reporting it on the web, the probability of finding an XUV's niggle to a Storme's is 15:0.5... that is 30 times more!

This time, the number of cars on the road have been taken from official sales figures and not assumed.

I am not posting this to defend XUV's niggles or to defame the Storme in any way - this is just to reiterate the fact that it is obvious that niggles of XUV will be highlighted more on the web even if both the XUV and the Storme have equal number of niggles and equal number of owners reporting it.
Ok I may agree to your maths fine,
just tell me are you open to agree that XUV5oo problems are very critical where as STORME's problems are limited to some door noise and rattling sound?

just for you I'm highlighting few problems which are only seen in XUV5oo but never seen in STORME.

• There are countless replacements on brake pads, around 7 bosch pads now latest is Galfer pads, people felt it good with Galfer initially and after some KMs people also feeling that Galfer may give-up early, spongy feel of brake is still exicist for few.
  • there are number of Power Steering Rack replacements reported
  • may examples of Wiper Motor and Water Pump replacement
  • countable Mahindra official recall and items replacement
  • Clutch Outer Cover Casing Kit and Thermostat replacement
  • infotainment system problems
  • You might know this this problem is critical but not seen out side: Turbo Booster pressure inconsistency or missing, loads of people reported that the Turbo boost is missing and XUV failed to maintain boost pressure so drop in Power output
  • Bulb burst, I even come across few reviews and reports where XUV is suffering from unexpected power spikes and hence they loosing eyes.
  • My relatives XUV faced clutch failure once when it was just 3000km old later countless electronic failures.

this list is not end here there are many and I'm bored while typing.

STORME also not perfect but it is not like XUV.
in 2years MnM developed XUV and where is the time for TESTINg, poor MnM engineers never slept during development it seems.

Again?, I think we are running in circles. When therz nothing more to discuss, we jump into the XUV is more reliable, TATA is not know to be reliable crap again. I've owned 3 different TATAs in 15 years and I've not had any horror stories. And there are many other happy owners like me. And its true to both the brands.

As for sale in volumes, the pricing of TATA products off-late should provide an indicator. They are not VFM bombshells, they used to be. We dont know what the strategy is. May be they are happy with the volumes they are generating at present (I repeat "at present", not in a long run). The pricing of the XUV is such that it has to sell in large volumes to make a positive impact on the balance sheet.

@raj, using your post to generalize. Stats (same) can be twisted and used to ones benefit. Oh those sleepy stats lectures [sleep], college days.
AND niggles should not be a marker to judge the reliability of the vehicle. The rear doors ratting in the Storme is a niggle, not a reliability issue. But windshield cracking in XUV "as reported" is a reliability issue. So comparing the two is unjust.

Reliability issue of any kind should be treated with an iron fist, irrespective of brand.

Ok I may agree to your maths fine,
just tell me are you open to agree that XUV5oo problems are very critical where as STORME's problems are limited to some door noise and rattling sound?
As far as I am concerned, I do agree that the XUV has niggles.

But at the same time, I am not sure which one has more critical issues, simply because I have not researched enough about Storme's niggles or issues. Thats open to debate.

@raj, using your post to generalize. Stats (same) can be twisted and used to ones benefit. Oh those sleepy stats lectures [sleep], college days.
If you feel I have twisted any facts, please do point so.

AND niggles should not be a marker to judge the reliability of the vehicle. The rear doors ratting in the Storme is a niggle, not a reliability issue. But windshield cracking in XUV "as reported" is a reliability issue. So comparing the two is unjust.
As I said, I am not here to decide which car is more reliable. I just pointed out why cases of XUV's niggles are more in the web when compared to the Storme.

If you feel I have twisted any facts, please do point so.
I've not said that you have done it. I said statistics that you have used can be used to prove the opposite point as well. Stats is such a subject, half truth to be precise. It says only half the story. The rest is assumed by the one who reads it. Hence the interpretation can be different.[frustration]

Wow really ? I thought people select car on basis of this as claimed ->

Never knew brain is used only as per as convenience and only selectively . [;)]

And to understand that both the safari and the storme are based on different platforms need a simple research.

This in fact" may " further prove that how some people don't always research in depth before deciding a car , and mostly go on perception or projected or perceived reality .
Your point being.

Who determines you ?
I am not available in the market to be judged upon.

And a un successful product does not mean that the product is bad .
It means the product is not a success. simple as that.
For example - You use and even suggested a pantech phone for some right ? Half of the India May or May not know the brand even , does that make the phone bad ?
For starters pantech phones are not sold in india.
so whatever brand value that it has is of no significance.
there is no brand significance for pantech in india. this is on the same lines as a mazda/infiniti/Lotus.
their success in india is immaterial simply because they are not available.

For whom ? You ?
For the product

Success is a highly relative term , kindly do not generalize .
It is relative in terms of the competition.
an alto success will be compared to an EON.
likewise for each and every car in its segment.

And how you decided that ? And looks are outdated for whom ? You are telling us that on behalf of the market ? Or is it your personal opinion which is formed by using your own logic by taking only the sales figures into consideration ?

And which you think is more reliable verito or manza in long run inspite of sales figure ?
OT

So ? What does that prove ?
Had already quoted the relative text.

All points valid for Storme and XUV. Both have niggles but one question guys,

How come XUV is still managing to sell 2000 + units where as Safari and Storme together can't even manage to do 1000 +? Even though Storme has a better pricing than XUV which ranges from 10.25L to 14.15 L (ex showroom Delhi) and XUV starts at 11.86 L (ex showroom).

XUV has more niggles than Storme according to different resources. But still XUV is way ahead.

Again before replying to my question please keep in mind that i am not saying that Storme or XUV are inferior products to each other.

Just want to see what our members have to say about that.