Tata Storme vs Mahindra XUV5OO - Which One To Choose?

Well, a feature of all auto websites are these well thought out discussions . However,sales figures seem to defy us often.The Aria or storme seem to be at par, or at worse slightly behind in quality and ASS than the XUV as per all our collective wisdom; sales figures suggest that the XUV is far better. The Punto was the car of the year for many auto journals -sales tanked while the old indica seems to be still chugging along. Sumo vs Bolero-close fight we say;sales say TKO (technical knock out) for the Bolero!

@superbad,

Claustrophobia occurs only when therez a sense of lack of space. ie, you wont feel claustrophobic when in a big hall. It can only happen in a confined environment.

Now XUV is 100mm narrower than the Safari, no wonder people feel claustrophobic when inside one. But then it has to be down to the interior design. XUVs interiors are designed to give you an impression of being cocooned.

And Raj, neither innova nor the Xylo can seat seven people and carry their luggage too. And ARIA can do it.

@Raja - I had no intentions to hurt any Storme owners feelings, If I did so or am doing so in this post, my sincere apologies.
But let me clarify couple of my incomplete/ misinterpreted points:-

Can you kindly explain what do you mean by wavy moment in city ? What speeds you were driving ?
The wavy movement am talking about is the combination of the body-roll on uneven roads and the common up and down movement when applying brakes. I never felt it comfortable in Storme.

my wife found it other way round , she found the xuv claustrophobic , were as the storme had better airy feeling and all round visibility and a commanding view . The turning radius of storme is again a plus point .
This could be subjective, I think it could be due to the dark color combination in XUV and the beige interior in Storme that make the difference for some people. Me, my family and friends never felt so till date.
Regarding the commanding seating and visibility, I do not think XUV is inferior.
Coming to the Turning radius, there is no major difference XUV has 5.6m & Storme had 5.4m, personally have not felt that much difference or difficulty yet.
Car like drive-ability for XUV and the fact that Storme is hard to maneuver in city is well known and everybody had the same comment and I had the personal feel of it as well.

I have exact opposite experience g3 motors had a 5k run xuv rattling and squeaking , on bad roads and was extremely dirty and on same roads storme which was 3500k old was rattle and squeak free . I have driven storme of owners from our forum itself , they look and drive as if just brought . Although personally owned xuvs of our members are also superbly maintained .
May be true, am not denying it, but I have just mentioned my personal experience here. Also have seen many people with Safari Dicor complaining about the squeaking.
Now, dont say this is not true, coz I have read it in this forum and other forums also.
All Storme that I have seen (TD done on 3 different cars) had the same problem as well, but the XUVs I have driven never had.
So till I encounter one, will stand my ground.

When comparing the XUV initial version and the one coming out onto the road now, there is a lot of difference noticeable
What exactly can you kindly explain please?
If you notice the issues reported by the early XUV customers there really were a lot from first week of ownership itself.
But if you see XUVs rolled out on to the road in 2013, the owners have very less complaints.
M&M is able to address and iron out all the issues reported, Am proud to say that M&M & XUV has come long way from the day of launch and to say I own a XUV.

Kindly see the attached screen shot as new and fresh as 18-10-2013 , one owner thinks exactly opposite .
I have seen this guy's comments in Facebook, he is a frustrated soul and I feel sorry for him. May be he is not doing the right thing in escalating or conveying the facts with the M&M.
There are thousands of people who have faced issues with their XUVs and have them all sorted out.
Or may be he was an unlucky guy who really got a lemon.
And there are instances of many people who have been complaining in similar tone about Safari dicor as well.

They buy or love the storme for its classic time less design , mighty and majestic presence . [:)]
This again is subjective, some people see this as classic looks, for me this is out dated crude look.
The interior looks doesnt look as if it belongs to this era at all to me.
Its clearly out dated and not what the market wants in the current day and even hard core Safari fans agree to this fact.

If you still feel that its my biased & prejudiced thoughts that am trying to impose here, I do not have words to explain you any better. [I would request the other XUV owners here to comment/substantiate their thoughts]
But in turn would like to request you to explain me your thoughts on why the Storme sales figures are nose diving and doing much worse than Aria and XUV doing far far better.
Storme is never a competition for XUV in my opinion and the Market says so loud & clear...
Personally I havent till day seen more than 5 Stormes on the Bangalore roads since it is launched, out of which 3 were TD vehicles only.
Whereas XUVs are everywhere on the road, inspite of many people advocating and advertising against XUV in many social media portals as you had mentioned in your post.

End of the day, its all about personal choices and priorities.
People choose based on their TD experience and not only by reading reviews, they put-in their brains too and hence the sales figures for Storme vs XUV.
In my perspective and in my priorities XUV was much better than Storme and I took my decision.

@Raja - I had no intentions to hurt any Storme owners feelings, If I did so or am doing so in this post, my sincere apologies.
:-
No need to apologize you dint hurt anybody's feelings . Relax it's a discussion so no one must take it on personal level .
The wavy movement am talking about is the combination of the body-roll on uneven roads and the common up and down movement when applying brakes. I never felt it comfortable in Storme.
This unheard of . Today itself we drove the storme on uneven roads and flyovers and there was nothing wavy absolutely nothing wavy .

This could be subjective, I think it could be due to the dark color combination in XUV and the beige interior in Storme that make the difference for some people. Me, my family and friends never felt so till date.
Interiors yes and also because of the roof line , it was tested today since we had xuv and storme both . And yes it can be subjective .

Regarding the commanding seating and visibility, I do not think XUV is inferior.
Let raj_5004 comment on this .

Car like drive-ability for XUV and the fact that Storme is hard to maneuver in city is well known and everybody had the same comment and I had the personal feel of it as well.
Well known fact for whom ? And which. Everyone are you talking about ? It's purely subjective . Some are confident in seeing the edge of the bonet which is seen in storme and Scorpio and not seen in xuv .

May be true, am not denying it, but I have just mentioned my personal experience here. Also have seen many people with Safari Dicor complaining about the squeaking.
Now, dont say this is not true, coz I have read it in this forum and other forums also.
This thread about safari or storme ? Let me tell you again both cars are built on different platforms . Shall I bring Scorpio problems here in a xuv thread ?

All Storme that I have seen (TD done on 3 different cars) had the same problem as well, but the XUVs I have driven never had.
So will I stay on my ground . Since not a single storme had a problem and the xuv had .

Edit - one storme had the rear ac vent rattling but it was a 4x4 vs storme badly abused storme used in off-roading events .

If you notice the issues reported by the early XUV customers there really were a lot from first week of ownership itself.
But if you see XUVs rolled out on to the road in 2013, the owners have very less complaints.
Kindly see the links I will post below .
M&M is able to address and iron out all the issues reported,
July 2013 made xuv are stranded in middle of roads . And kindly see the images I will attach .

Am proud to say that M&M & XUV has come long way from the day of launch and to say I own a XUV.
You being proud to own a xuv is great I respect that .

About mahindra coming long way or not is still debatable .

I have seen this guy's comments in Facebook, he is a frustrated soul and I feel sorry for him. May be he is not doing the right thing in escalating or conveying the facts with the M&M.
There are thousands of people who have faced issues with their XUVs and have them all sorted out.
Kindly see down what iam going to post .

And there are instances of many people who have been complaining in similar tone about Safari dicor as well.
Again This thread is of storme vs xuv and not the safari dicor vs xuv . Kindly don't bring safari here now and then or else others will bring Scorpio .
This again is subjective, some people see this as classic looks, for me this is out dated crude look.
Some find the xuv jaazy and wannbe looking and storme classic looking .

Its clearly out dated and not what the market wants in the current day and even hard core Safari fans agree to this fact.
How did you decide what the market wants ? Have you done any market research ? And which hardcore safari fans you know ? Kindly don't generalize , say it's your opinion and that too subjective .

If you still feel that its my biased & prejudiced thoughts that am trying to impose here, I do not have words to explain you any better.
I never said your thoughts are prejudiced or biased , the readers might decide that . Rest assured iam not judging you .

But in turn would like to request you to explain me your thoughts on why the Storme sales figures are nose diving and doing much worse than Aria and XUV doing far far better.
Are you sure storme sales are worse then aria ?
Storme is never a competition for XUV in my opinion and the Market says so loud & clear...
Again talk about yourself and not the market .

Personally I havent till day seen more than 5 Stormes on the Bangalore roads since it is launched, out of which 3 were TD vehicles only.
And it proves nothing .

Whereas XUVs are everywhere on the road, inspite of many people advocating and advertising against XUV in many social media portals as you had mentioned in your post.
Again it proves nothing .

True agree with you .

People choose based on their TD experience and not only by reading reviews, they put-in their brains too and hence the sales figures for Storme vs XUV.
What has Brain anything to do with sales figure ? Does that mean alto owners have higher IQ ?
In my perspective and in my priorities XUV was much better than Storme and I took my decision

Great and congrats for that .

Now kindly read the below post and tell me do you think these guys have used their brains or not ???? And are proud or not of their choice ??? Read this and also the dates ->

08-22-2013, 08:29 PM #8 Faulty xuv500

Wrong and false promises
ThIs car has been giving me troubles since it was just 600 Kms old. It started with brake problem. They changed it two times but the problem still prevails. Than within less than 1000kms powering steering pipe busted. Two times power windows problem happened. They just had to change my clutch plate pressure plate within just 1 year. Head lights changed 2 times. Front jumpers changed twice. The gear is still very hard in first. My disc breaks are rusting. I am not a xylophone user. I have a BMW 520d, a vw polo, a porsche cayman S. So I know cars. I asked to exchange my car. They said yes we will do something. Mr.Devendre from Ahmedabad is th rudest person to talk to. He was kind in the beginning but after 1 month of waiting he said no I m not responsible for anything I only showed up because you asked for it. He said dealer is only responsible for any exchange policy, he being regional manage is not responsible. I am going to file a complaint in consumer court. If anybody else is interested in filing a complaint please call me as soon as possible. I am from surat.

Karan Pachchigar
099251-36661

Complain against Mahindra XUV 500 and Punjab Automobiles
I had bought my XUV 500 w8 fwd at 18-aug-2013. And honestly it was the biggest mistake done.
I have not yet got my Vehicle Registration and fowoing are my expericences;-

issue no 1.

the car had a problem form day 1.At the time delivery car did not start it showed some error message (ABS, Air-Bags, Hill Control and Engine check lamp).
Then the guy said it is due to DIESEL was over.Then after restarting the car the error was gone and took the car home.

issue no 2.

At 21-aug-13 3 days after the delivery when i was driving my car sudenly the same error message (ABS, Air-Bags, Hill Control and Engine check lamp) showed and the car stoped
after some km.Then after trying a lot it started in 15 min.

issue no 3.

Then again at 24-aug-2013 saturday evening at 5 pm the same error message showed up in the car.Thank god at that time i was near the showroom and i took my car there and
told them my problem.They took that very carelessly and told me that bring ur car at monday nd they will fix it,it was an hour's work.Then at the same day around 9 pm when i was returning
my home my car stopped at the (shankar nagar chowk) and guss what it again showed the same error message (ABS, Air-Bags, Hill Control and Engine check lamp).The car didn't
start inspite of trying many times.After that the service people came to take my car at 12:30 am.After that the Ralas motors called me at 27 tusday and said their was no problem with the car
and the car is fine( i was very surprised).When returning from the RALAS MOTORS again there was error message (ABS, Air-Bags, Hill Control and Engine check lamp).I was half the way to my home around i drove 25 kms only.Then i called at ralas motos and reported the same issue to them.They told that the next day they will send a driver to take the car back at the ralas motors for checking the car again.

issue no.4

at 28-aug-13 wednesday the driver came from the ralas motos and asked for the both keys of the car and took the car at the workshop ralas motos.
Then the driver brought the car from workshop at friday and said that it was the problem of keys and now it is being solved,then a drove the car and
all things was ok.my car started behaving stupidly again at the very next day 31 aug saturday.It was showing the error again and the car failed to start (this time i took some photos of the error).i reported the same to ralas motor
and they came to my home for the service.They conneted a loptop with my car and after 10 min he told that their was no problem,every thing is fine and denied that error is comming now also.
Then i showed them the photos of error then they sad lets go for a test drive.after hardlly 500 meters the errors popped up in the sceen.Then the driver did some thing with the fuses and the errors message was gone.they told that it was the problem of fuses,the car fine now,the problem is solved and the error will now come.

issue no. 5

the very next day sunday 1 sep 13 i went to raipur.But on the way as expected the the same error message (ABS, Air-Bags, Hill Control and Engine check lamp) showed and the car was having a starting troble.
i called the ralas motors guys they told to open the spark plug for 10 min and after that the car started.but while returning to home the same error message showed. Some how i managed to reach my home the very next
day 2 sept 13 monday i gave the car to the ralas motors workshop.After 2-3 days they called me and said that it was the problem of wiring amd it is being changed.

what should i do now after faceing such a problem.
Please suggest my guys.

Pradeep Agrawal

prj0812@yahoo.com
07-13-2013, 03:29 PM #7 prashant Dhomne

complanit against service center provisional automobile.
I had brought mahindra xuv 500 last one year from provisional automobile m.i.d.c. wadi road nagpur. But last six month in my vehicle A.c. is not working,totaly summer month i had travel in hot condition. I severally told to provisinal automobile for my vehicle a.c. problem. They told me our vehicle's a.c. is leakeged,so i send vehicle in service center,after six to seven days they gave me vehilce and said your vehicle's a.c.is o.k.But after two to three days same problem created in vehicle.This is not to one time sir,its happening with me last six month and every time six to seven days my vehicle is in provisional automobile.I am very frusted sir,this vehicle i had brought for me or provisional automobile.
02-07-2013, 11:49 AM #2 Unregistered

Complaint against service centre (global gallarie)
hi, i am shyam and i have a complaint against mahindra xuv 500 (CAR) i am not satisfied bcoz, the service centre is troubling us by not making any work..and takes money every time.... service centre name GLOBAL GALLARIE located at panvel add:at-post,palaspa phata, near goa turning,mumbai pune highway, panvel. tel:02143-221696 e-mail id: globalpanvel_w@rediffmail.com pls sir look into to the matter very urgenty warm regards Shyam Balaram Shelke
Source
Complain against Mahindra XUV 500 and Punjab Automobiles

And Raj, neither innova nor the Xylo can seat seven people and carry their luggage too. And ARIA can do it.
The Aria has way lesser space in the third row when compared to the Innova and Xylo. So if these cars cant, then the Aria DEFINITELY cant!

As I said above, having luggage space behind the third row of seats does not make the car a true 7 seater!

Let raj_5004 comment on this .
Regarding the visibility, I personally have no issues in the XUV. Maybe I am used to the car or whatever, but I feel confident because of its high seating position.

Storme does offer a more commanding seating position though, because you are seated even higher and you can see the bonnet very clearly in the Storme, like all SUVs. In the XUV, you have to stretch to see the corner of the far side of the bonnet, not ideal in bumper to bumper traffic.

Storme is a true blue SUV whereas XUV is a crossover. I feel the beauty of the XUV lies in the fact that it tries to offer you the best of both worlds - sedan and SUV. It is not a low slung sedan, yet it is not as heavy or bulky as a SUV. So, if you want a proper SUV in this segment, go for the Storme. But if you are ready to compromise a bit of ride for superior handling or a bit of the bulk/presence for better acceleration, then the XUV it is.

M&M is able to address and iron out all the issues reported, Am proud to say that M&M & XUV has come long way from the day of launch
and to say I own a XUV.

what about these guys ? is the improvement in leaps and bounds the way you are making us belive ?.

@ all

what we personally want to belive or think is a totally different from what actually happens in real world .
if we see the complaints all around the web world its easy to see that tata and mahindra are two sides of the same coin , means equally good and equally bad .

both have their strategy like " with you hamesha " and " horizon next " it works sometimes and sometimes it just does not work . the service is premium at times and at times nothing short of horrible provided by both .

the effort and intention to excel is there from both , at times they excel and at times they do not .

there are some clear cut advantages of storme over the xuv and vice a versa . so kindly research all around , check your priorities and then decide what suits you the most on all parameters and enjoy the choice .

peace .

XUV has much better laid out space. infact being a monocoque it has more space in the 2nd row.
Sorry to inform you , but we tested your claim yesterday . And found that there is no space advantage in the xuv in the second row or first row because it's a monocoque .

Members who witnessed this are cruiser , Ravi b , raj_5004 , myself , jar pickle and storme 911

We made cruiser seat in front and second row and also pulled the front seats back to their maximum limit and checked too .

the space is same in both the cars in front 2 rows

But still , Next time if you are around we will measure the space with a measuring tape for your satisfaction .

@ all

Pic from yesterday's Mumbai meet ,

http://www.theautomotiveindia.com/f...s/14942-mumbai-mini-meet-21st-oct-2013-a.html

Two controversy makers taking a nice power nap [:)]

@raj,

ARIA has a movable second row. Incase you need to occupy the rear seats then you can move the 2nd row forward. It can be configured to seat seven and then have all their luggage "inside" the car. Unlike Innova and Xylo, where the luggage has to be somewhere on the outside.

And I dont think the 3rd row should even be in consideration when buying a car for private use. A 'so called' seven seater car will hardly see seven @#$#@ in its entire usage cycle.

Some vishesh tipni from my side on the Storme and the XUV -

Dimensions of Storme and XUV respectively:

Length - 4655 & 4585
Width - 1965 & 1890
Height - 1922 & 1785

Wheelbase - 2650 & 2700

The Storme is not only longer than the XUV, but also wider and taller. Still, the XUV manages to liberate as much space as the Storme in the cabin. Isnt that efficient space management?

The reason why the XUV designers managed to liberate more space inside is because of its longer wheelbase. More the distance between the front two axles, more is the space left for the engine and the front two rows of seats.

Raja, maybe this is the reason your better half felt claustrophobic inside the XUV's cabin when compared to the Storme, because it is indeed smaller in every way. That also explains why the roof is closer to your head because the design philosophy of the XUV is a low slung and semi-cab forward design.

I am using Raja's pic to depict what I mean -

image.jpg

Look at the yellow box. The XUV has a wider box which means the windshield is quite slanted. Hence the front passengers will be sitting closer to the windshield.

However, the Storme like most SUVs have a thinner box, in other words, an upright windshield.

The red box indicates how the longer wheelbase of the XUV liberates more space inside, inspite of being shorter in length.

Also note the much longer bonnet of the Storme which means most of its length is wasted/occupied for the engine compartment. I am not saying it is wrong, but they follow completely different design philosophies.

Coming to the third row, Raja says that the "Storme is a 5 seater" and hence there is nothing much to discuss about the third row.

Finally coming to the prices (Mumbai ex-showroom of both has been considered),

XUV does not even compete with the Storme LX. At 10.75 Lacs, there is no variant of the XUV currently at that price. However, the Storme EX and VX costs 11.44 and 13.31 Lacs respectively. For an additional 14,000 rupees over the Storme VX, you get the fully loaded XUV W8 variant. That's a increase of a paltry Rs. 250 in your EMIs if you are going for a loan! Also, for an additional 46k over the Storme EX, you get the XUV W6. That is when my choice tilts strongly in favour of the XUV.

I can ignore the slightly stiffer ride and niggles for the numerous other benefits the XUV offers over the Storme. Of course, as said before, choices and opinions vary, but I would have personally ranked the Storme higher if the top end variants were priced much lesser. Hence, the Storme LX is a superb choice and great value for money according to me (in comparison to the Scorpio, Duster, Ecosport, etc.), but not the EX and the VX.

Of course, for a person who does not like the way the XUV looks or for whom ride quality is very important, the Storme is the next best choice followed by the Terrano.

And I dont think the 3rd row should even be in consideration when buying a car for private use. A 'so called' seven seater car will hardly see seven @#$#@ in its entire usage cycle.
Agreed. But for a huge family like mine, a 7 seater UV gives us space, bigger boot and the flexibility or the option of additional seats, in case of emergency. We dont need to look for a cab to carry one or two extra passengers.

@raj,

ARIA has a movable second row. Incase you need to occupy the rear seats then you can move the 2nd row forward. It can be configured to seat seven and then have all their luggage "inside" the car. Unlike Innova and Xylo, where the luggage has to be somewhere on the outside.

You are somewhat right,
but when you need it and there is no space than you need to get another vehicle for remaining people. So far I have used my Aria to fullest 10-15 times and no body, even full grown adults ever complained about the seating capabilities of my car.

Sorry to inform you , but we tested your claim yesterday . And found that there is no space advantage in the xuv in the second row or first row because it's a monocoque .
Read my statement
XUV has much better laid out space. infact being a monocoque it has more space in the 2nd row.
Better laid out space can be said in other words as much better managed space.

The front row in storme has space but for taller persons like myself while driving it is of no use to me since the steering keeps hitting my thigh during the clutch operation. i pull the front seats back, even then my thighs hitting the steering cannot be averted.

The XUV being a FWD and a monocoque, the components like the differential and axle do not create a hump in the 2nd row seating space.

The hump is flat unlike other old school SUVs who have their axles at the rear wheel.

Other than that raj_5004 has pretty much explained the space criteria so no need to repeat the same.

]
Read my statement

Better laid out space can be said in other words as much better managed space
You must take sometime to use appropriate phrases henceforth to post what you exactly mean , how do we know you have different styles for saying something ?

And in the end the space is same in both right ? Then who has liberated Space how and why doesn't actually matter to a normal buyer .

The front row in storme has space but for taller persons like myself while driving it is of no use to me since the steering keeps hitting my thigh during the clutch operation. i pull the front seats back, even then my thighs hitting the steering cannot be averted.

The XUV being a FWD and a monocoque, the components like the differential and axle do not create a hump in the 2nd row seating space.

The hump is flat unlike other old school SUVs who have their axles at the rear wheel.

The storme is a old school SUV yet , There is no uncomfortable hump in the storme . It gets a rear ac floor blower yet has equal amount of space like the xuv . Kindly see the pic .

Body types differ , something doesn't suit you does not mean it's a fact for all . We have much bigger guys then you like Sanjaysg who is very comfortable plus tornado is as tall as you yet has no problem with the steering touching his thighs or creating a uncomfortable position . It's purely subjective thing .

Thread Starter #1,978
@superbad

It looks you are little confused. please read your post no 1977 once again which is very confusing. While explaining about the 2nd row issue, you were talking about the 1st row of Storme and suddenly jumped into 2nd row of XUV[confused][frustration]

@superbad

It looks you are little confused. please read your post no 1977 once again which is very confusing. While explaining about the 2nd row issue, you were talking about the 1st row of Storme and suddenly jumped into 2nd row of XUV[confused][frustration]
].
You must take sometime to use appropriate phrases henceforth to post what you exactly mean , how do we know you have different styles for saying something ?
Better laid out means better managed .
well-laid-out?

layout, lay out, laying out, lays out, laid out, layouts- WordWeb dictionary definition

I have just elaborated my earlier point.

The usability of the available space is optimised better in XUV than in the storme.

All the posts prior to this mean the same thing.

I never seen this and never heard about it for STORME

May be But STORME has better head room and shoulder room, XUV is not that bad.

Coming to the Turning radius, there is no major difference XUV has 5.6m & Storme had 5.4m, personally have not felt that much difference or difficulty yet.
No complains about STORME, it is way easy to drive, which offers better all round visibility, with 5.4m turning radius STORME is very easy to drive in cities compared to some mid-size sedans also. I really appreciate TATA who worked on and seriously eliminated legendary SAFARI's problem of huge turning radius.

I guess we need to start one Dicor vs XUV thread. :P

I have seen/driven all 4 4x4 STORME's all were in appreciable condition even afer such abuse.

M&M is able to address and iron out all the issues reported, Am proud to say that M&M & XUV has come long way from the day of launch and to say I own a XUV.
I guess I'm reading it in my dream, in real most of the innocent buyers suffering even today.

Oh my god how can be a poor customer can take MnM lessons to learn about MnM style of communication? I feel you should re check on your opinion.

I appreciate your faith on MnM but what is the base for your claim?

Why you want Dicor here, STROME is a all new product talk about STORME.

how many hard core safari fans you met to collect this statistics buddy, you should let it go since this is pure subjective to discuss, for me XUV looks over done and wont last long .

If you still feel that its my biased & prejudiced thoughts that am trying to impose here, I do not have words to explain you any better. [I would request the other XUV owners here to comment/substantiate their thoughts]
Aria sales are more compared to STORME! ok let it go and check previous post we had loads of discussion about the sales figure and image.

what I'm gaining here? nothing right! its your opinion and it is highly subjective.

No point to discuss and conclude here.

yes +100, this is what you doing and other buyers doing,

In my perspective and in my priorities XUV was much better than Storme and I took my decision.
this might be true for STORME owners with 180 degree opposite opinion compared to you, anyways who care about sales figure.