Tata Storme vs Mahindra XUV5OO - Which One To Choose?

first and foremost did I bring sales figure discussion ?
and Is it my mistake that Tata shows sales figures like safari+ storme jointly ? Do you have their sepreate figures kindly post we will compare it ,so simple.

Even maruti post figures of alto+alto k10 jointly.

and Mahindra too post figures of verito + vibe jointly. What is a big deal ?

and anyway how does this prove capabilites of the cars ?
As you have said already that safari dicor and safari storme are two different products , hence comparing the combined sales of safari/storme was a moot idea to begin with.

the comparison of the sales would have been valid had there been separate numbers available.

Thread Starter #2,012
I think the discussion is getting into sales figures time and again. I think we should be discussing more about both vehicles capabilities and limitations and price advantages than the sales figures.

In my opinion the sales figures should never influence the buying decisions. For example can some body say that Punto is not a good car when compared to Swift since it sells way ahead in numbers. I do not think so.

So both Storme and XUV are good vehicles in their own capacity with their own limitations. Then comes the reliability part where niggles play major role whether they are getting solved quickly or not is a different story. In first place if niggles are popped up and their nature needs to be examined which gives a right direction to the prospective visitors of the thread.[:)]

Bro i am still not saying that Storme is a bad product and you know I like this beast. My point is not to defame Storme. But there must be something i guess which makes this difference in the sales charts. And do you feel that we can completely leave out this point when both these SUV's are compared.

And see the example you gave bro is between EON and ALto (Maruti). Even today people follow a herd mentality that if its a Maruti it will be good. Secondly maruti has a wider sales network. Thirdly Maruti is probably cheaper to maintain than Hyundai. What you say?
+100 to whatever you have said here.

If the XUV consistently sells more than the Safari+Storme, there must be some reason... either the product is better, or it ticks the right boxes for more number of people or as Raja said, it maybe "perceptions" or herd mentality. That's upto an individual to guess, there is no correct answer to it.

I will be honest - while buying the XUV, I did not consider the Aria seriously. Simply because it was not selling well enough and I did not want to buy a FLOP car as the vehicle was supposed to be my family car. God forbid, I did not want to get stuck with a discontinued car and wait at the A.S.S. for spares.

Situations and priorities are different when I buy a personal car. Earlier on, I had bought a Punto, which was not a chartbuster either. Now I have bought a used Civic which is a discontinued car. But since this is my secondary car, I can afford to take chances.

So, when we talk about sales figures, there are two things to think about -

1) Does it matter to you? If it does, come what may, you will buy the Innova or XUV. If you dont care, you may consider the Storme or even the Aria.

2) Why does one car sell more than the other? Is it because it is a better car... Well, maybe but not always.

My personal opinion why the XUV sells more than the Storme is because -

• XUV offers more bang for the buck, as in features and safety
  • Public perception about M&M is better than Tata
  • Indians are not very crazy about facelifts. For an average Joe, the Storme is a mere facelift. He does not understand hydroformed chassis. Whereas the XUV is an all new product.

I myself had very poor opinions about Tata owing to my poor ownership experiences many years back. But after reading several reviews, I belive that they are not the same anymore and are striving to improve. Not that M&M is leagues ahead of TATA. I have personally had bad experiences with M&M's A.S.S. So essentially, now I understand that both M&M and TATA are in the same boat.

But how many of the general population visits automotive forums and reads these discussions? It takes time for perceptions to change - whether positive or negative.

Mahindra XUV500 W4 to cost Rs 10.99 lakh
Same as Storme LX [:)]
Damn you! I searched the new for the source and found that it is right!

What the new W4 SUV variant gets is a more basic infotainment system with four speakers and CD and MP3 compatibility, and no monochrome display screen as seen on the W6 variant. It misses out on kit like rain-sensing wipers, automatic cornering headlamps, front fog lamps, telescopic steering adjustment, automatic climate control, powered wing mirrors, cruise control and steering-mounted controls.

However, you still get features like projector headlamps, LED parking lamps, dual airbags, ABS with EBD, disc brakes all round, dual-tone interiors, tilt adjustable steering, six-way adjustable driver’s seat, and remote central locking. The XUV500 W4 variant’s price tag, along with the kit on offer, makes it a direct competitor to the Renault Duster and the recently launched Nissan Terrano. Mechanically, the new W4 SUV gets the same 2.2-litre 140bhp diesel engine mated to a six-speed manual transmission.
SCOOP! Mahindra XUV500 W4 to cost Rs 10.99 lakh | Car News | SUV/Crossovers | Autocar India

I dont think M&M will omit powered ORVMs. It guess it wont be electrically retractable anymore. And fog lamps... c'mon!

Just think about this now -

For 24k more over the base Storme LX, you get the XUV W4 which I feel is total VFM. For this 24k, the XUV W4 offers 2 Airbags, rear AC vents (2nd and 3rd row), height adjustable driver's seat, armrest for driver and co-driver, rear wash and wipe and maybe even reverse sensors, which the Storme LX lacks. Personally for me, just the 2 airbags and rear AC vents is enough to justify the additional 24k.

When compared to the Duster, it is on par with the top end 85 PS Duster and cheaper than even the base 110 PS Duster. Terrano costs more than the Duster, so I wont bring that into picture.

Compared to the Ecosport, its about a Lac more than the top end diesel.

Indians are not very crazy about facelifts. For an average Joe, the Storme is a mere facelift. He does not understand hydroformed chassis. Whereas the XUV is an all new product
:agree:
My friend owns a safari dicor and when I shown him storme , he said whats new in it ?Later he added why the hail they have removed door mounted wheel....[gun]

Damn you! I searched the new for the source and found that it is right!
:tongue: PS: my user name

For 24k more over the base Storme LX, you get the XUV W4 which I feel is total VFM.
Agree!!

As you have said already that safari dicor and safari storme are two different products
correct .
hence comparing the combined sales of safari/storme was a moot idea to begin with.
kindly register your complaint here

Tata Motors Customer Care :: Home

because its not my idea , its tata motors idea to combine the sales . same practice is followed by maruti and mahindra too .

and beside that sales figure discussion was not brought by me in this thread to begin with .

the comparison of the sales would have been valid had there been separate numbers available.
applies same too mahindra and maruti too . so basically your example of alto selling more and whatever reasons you posted are also moot too to begin with .hence i was saying discuss sales figures in appropiate thread to begin with . [frustration]

+100 to whatever you have said here.

If the XUV consistently sells more than the Safari+Storme, there must be some reason... either the product is better, or it ticks the right boxes for more number of people or as Raja said, it maybe "perceptions" or herd mentality. That's upto an individual to guess, there is no correct answer to it.
This is the precise reason I have been saying if there is no correct answer to it , why it bring it in discussion ? We will just run in circles .

Beside that there is a dedicated thread started to discuss if sales figure matter when buying a car or not .

Situations and priorities are different when I buy a personal car. Earlier on, I had bought a Punto, which was not a chartbuster either. Now I have bought a used Civic which is a discontinued car. But since this is my secondary car, I can afford to take chances.
true this is what iam saying that there are so many variables involved .

So, when we talk about sales figures, there are two things to think about -

1) Does it matter to you? If it does, come what may, you will buy the Innova or XUV. If you dont care, you may consider the Storme or even the Aria.

2) Why does one car sell more than the other? Is it because it is a better car... Well, maybe but not always[/B
].

True , yet some are giving examples and trying to prove that better sales means always better car .

I myself had very poor opinions about Tata owing to my poor ownership experiences many years back. But after reading several reviews, I belive that they are not the same anymore and are striving to improve. Not that M&M is leagues ahead of TATA. I have personally had bad experiences with M&M's A.S.S. So essentially, now I understand that both M&M and TATA are in the same boat.
Unfortunately not all have open minded thinking like you and acceptance level too .

But how many of the general population visits automotive forums and reads these discussions? It takes time for perceptions to change - whether positive or negative.
+100 .
Hence I have been saying that perceptions do not always determine capability of everything or anything that is in question .
Just think about this now -

For 24k more over the base Storme LX, you get the XUV W4 which I feel is total VFM. For this 24k, the XUV W4 offers 2 Airbags, rear AC vents (2nd and 3rd row), height adjustable driver's seat, armrest for driver and co-driver, rear wash and wipe and maybe even reverse sensors, which the Storme LX lacks. Personally for me, just the 2 airbags and rear AC vents is enough to justify the additional 24k.
The same comparison can be even currently made between storme ex , vx and xuv w6 and w8 , yet we have 800+ people in month of September who are willing to buy a storme over a xuv for whatever reasons .

Earlier, the XUV had a starting price of 11.5 Lacs ex-showroom. Now, with the base model available at 10.99 Lacs, more people can now afford the XUV.

In other words, those going for the Storme LX (due to limited budget) now have the option of the XUV W4. Earlier XUV was considered by only prospective buyers of Storme EX and VX.

So this can boost the sales of the XUV and affect the Storme. Of course, this is valid for people who are open to both cars.

Earlier, the XUV had a starting price of 11.5 Lacs ex-showroom. Now, with the base model available at 10.99 Lacs, more people can now afford the XUV.

In other words, those going for the Storme LX (due to limited budget) now have the option of the XUV W4. Earlier XUV was considered by only prospective buyers of Storme EX and VX.

So this can boost the sales of the XUV and affect the Storme. Of course, this is valid for people who are open to both cars.
I was actually saying about your post that for some extra thousands you get airbags, ABS and some more kit . That extra thousand difference was and is still there in a Storme EX and XUV W6 yet there are some people who prefer the Storme .

Similarly the LX model will be again some extra thousand less then W4 yet guys who want Storme will go for Storme only .

Buy yes we need to see which cars the XUV W4 model will effect in real time once it's launched .

I was actually saying about your post that for some extra thousands you get airbags, ABS and some more kit . That extra thousand difference was and is still there in a Storme EX and XUV W6 yet there are some people who prefer the Storme .

Similarly the LX model will be again some extra thousand less then W4 yet guys who want Storme will go for Storme only .

Buy yes we need to see which cars the XUV W4 model will effect in real time once it's launched .
Anyways STORME is not selling that much but scorpio has some good volume I feel Scorpio will get affected a lot, market will decide.

I seriously think that W4 will be competition to W8 and not Storme LX[;)]
Maybe the W6, but not the W8.

People who have the budget for the W8 and want the extra goodies, will anyways opt for it. Why would they come down to W4?

W6... maybe. Because before, people who want a XUV, W6 was the cheapest option. Now they have the W4.

Atleast the XUV W4 and Storme LX are priced at the same level, hence can be competition to each other.

Atleast the XUV W4 and Storme LX are priced at the same level, hence can be competition to each other
Well LX will get some additional discount say @ 40-50 k (sure in coming days)
So it will be approx. 70-80k cheaper than W4 what say?

Thread Starter #2,025
The way W4 is projected as "only saver, if you want to be alive"[lol]. Some thing like if you have 50k more then you will get completed gold plated product[surprise] which will never loose its shine.

Because W4 was not there in the market with that price, the storme LX getting sold, I do not think so. The buyer who like Storme for its design, capabilities he will continue buying Storme either LX/EX whatever and since he has 50k less money he will never look for XUV and the same is applied to XUV too[:)]. Yes may be Raj is right when it comes to W6 or W4