Tata Safari Storme Breaks Cover (Launch Coverage: Pg.301+)

Re: Scoop! New Tata Safari (aka Merlin) To Launch Soon

This is really good news. I will be going to the Tata showroom near my house this weekend. Hope i can see something there.
@Tornada
Please share your reviews after the visit to auto show if possible. I would be more confident to belive a TAIan than a news paper add.
Yes sure, will be going os saturday (bought tickets and won a pass from mahindra)
will try to do and see it inside out, if required some jugaad needs to be arranged to see the car from inside...
will let u know for sure about the car only on Monday and will try to put pics and detailed review about its looks and build quality..[:)]

Yes sure, will be going os saturday (bought tickets and won a pass from mahindra)
will try to do and see it inside out, if required some jugaad needs to be arranged to see the car from inside...
will let u know for sure about the car only on Monday and will try to put pics and detailed review about its looks and build quality..[:)]
Awaiting lots of snaps from your visit !

Saw the Safari Storme Ad just now! it has good looks and resembles more like LRs(especially the back profile),the interiors are good except for the center console(looks alike Grande and Sumo gold)

Meanwhile tech specs of Safari Storm:
Engine Capacity: 2179cc Diesel Engine(2.7ltr i guess)
Power:140PS@4000rpm
Torque:320Nm@1700-2700rpm
Wheelbase:2650mm
4.1 Synchromesh gearbox with overdrive.
5 link rear suspension with coil springs
Independent Double wishbone front suspension.
Ventilated front disc brakes.
ABS with EBD

Wishing it success, unlike the tree that falls down in a storme :biggrin:

Finally! The Merlin sheds covers. It is the Safari Storme! [thumbsup]

New TATA Safari, Safari Storm, SUV India - YouTube
yyyyuuuuuhhhhhuuuuuuuuu
Iam in Love
Will be going to Bank Tomm for pre approval of loan.
Safari iam coming to see you in flesh on saturday (hope Tata will price this right).
Love you Tata for this masterpiece.

Thanks knightrider
[clap]

Tata Motors Press Release for Safari Storme:

The new generation Tata Safari Storme is an epitome of style and performance, true to its 4WD pedigree, with a host of technologies and new exteriors and interiors. In the front are a new grill, new projector headlamps and a 'power bulge' on the bonnet. New chrome-tipped twin exhausts, the tailgate in an all-new guise and aerodynamic spoilers distinguish the rear, with the spare tyre placed under the vehicle. Freshly designed roof-rails, ergonomical side footsteps and cladding mark the side view, completing a sportier and muscular look with a hint of the Safari Storme's adventurous character
Luxurious beige seats matched with a leather-wrapped steering wheel, chrome highlighted gear knob, wood-accented dashboard and door trims, a new instrument cluster, chrome-lined speaker grills and inside door handles endow the interiors with opulence. The front seats with fore and aft adjustment and lumbar support make long drives a cruise, while the dual AC with separate integrated roof-mounted blower keeps the entire cabin ambient.
The force of the Safari Storme is in its 2.2L 16-valve common rail (DiCOR) engine (140 PS power; 320 Nm torque) with a variable geometry turbo, mated with a 5-speed manual transmission. Electronic shift-on-the-fly (ESOF) enables shifting from 2WD to 4WD even on the move. Best-in-class turning circle radius of 5.4 metres, 200 mm ground clearance, electrically operated ORVMs and a reverse parking system makes driving convenient on any terrain. For safety, there are 4-channel ABS with EBD, disc brakes on all wheels, a new rack-and-pinion steering system, rigid ladder frame construction with hydro-formed long members, crumple zones, side intrusion beams on all doors, collapsible steering column, dual SRS airbags, inertia switch and an auto engine immobiliser.

My My This is a great initial review. Tata adds are Very impresive as always. Hope it lives up to expectations..

Assuming that the car that they have shown in the AD is the top end variant, I feel -

+ The front looks great. Not as intimidating as before but a very modern uplift to an = ageing design.
+ Lovely alloys.
+ Auto folding mirrors is a nice touch.
+ Projector headlamps is again welcome.
+ Super cool european style headlight switch
+ Dual exhaust looks cool!
+ Rear disc brakes

- Same engine.
- Forget GPS, touchscreen, etc. It has a Single DIN HU.
- No Automatic Climate control.
- No steering mounted controls.
- Same old 5 speed gearbox.
- Exactly same side profile.
- The door grab handles are an eyesore.
- Still the uncomfortable & unsafe jump seats in the boot?
- Ugly cut on the cladding near the fuel filler.
- Rear AC vents look cheap & aftermarket.
- No AC vents for 3rd row? Earlier ones had one on the side.
- The rear profile without the spare wheel takes away the charm the earlier safari had. Now it looks boxy like Scorpio.

All in all, nothing exciting. I dont know what changes are under the skin & how it has helped but to a layman, this is nothing but a facelift. If this is priced in the Scorpio segment, it will be a hit. If it dares to enter the XUV5OO territory, it is another FLOP story of TATA after Aria.

P.S.: Loved the ad, like every TATA's!

yyyyuuuuuhhhhhuuuuuuuuu
Iam in Love
Will be going to Bank Tomm for pre approval of loan.
Safari iam coming to see you in flesh on saturday (hope Tata will price this right).
Love you Tata for this masterpiece.

Thanks knightrider
[clap]
Check out the prices. If they are reducing it by a lakh or two, then good. If it is the same, then you are better off buying the Aria 4x2 or XUV5OO.

Re: Scoop! New Tata Safari (aka Merlin) Launch On Sep 2011

Very bad news guys, yesterday went to the local Tata dealership of my town, the UV DEPT. Head , Mr. Rajesh informed me that Merlin only would be displayed at Expo, the market launch will take place in May or June
Stop talking to this Mr. Rajesh!

According to internal Tata sources, they will launch Merlin with front facing third row seats ala Aria , also the option of side facing jump seats may continue to exist on demand.Cheers.
Xover, where is the front facing seats? Is it coming?

Patience my dear friend is a sweet virtue to have, just wait till 10th Jan 2012, and your patience will pay great dividence and the competition would be left like [surprise]and like [confused]
What is there in this Storme that the competition should go [surprise] ?

hey mastersquall,i do not want to make tall claims about merlin and after its launch you may still choose xuv, but take my word for it MERLIN will have better ride and handling combo than ARIA with quality equal to Aria and almost 2 lac rs cheaper than Aria.
I know that still most people will go for crappy mahindra products rather than classy tata products but as a car the MERLIN will beat XUV black amd blue.
This Safari Storme will beat the XUV5OO black & blue? Really?

sorry, thats not happening any time soon!

Looks good,but somewhat similar to the older one.Minor changes done at the front.Removal of the spare wheel has not done good.Wish they could have done more to the interiors.Lets wait for its pricing.