Tata Safari Storme Breaks Cover (Launch Coverage: Pg.301+)

Re: New Tata Safari 'Storme' Now Officially Breaks Cover

I will love my current safari more now [:D] . after seeing those spyshot i hurried to buy old safari . Old safari has butcher look compare to this more like van or grande and with tire on tail it complete its classic look which is ageless
I am certain now that Tata wouldnt position this against the XUV, they surely are back at the drawing boards to counter that threat - there was anyways some speculation around this. I have a feeling this would be priced to compete the scorpio, may be even the bolero(very optimistic me?). With jump seats and a basic dash - thts my best guess. Also Tata would try to lure the 4x4 lovers who wudnt look at the XUV at all.

I hope though that they counter the XUV with something really punchy picking cues from the LR bloodline.

Offcourse all my personal views and i am neither a tata fan nor mahindra!![cheers]

I will love my current safari more now . after seeing those spyshot i hurried to buy old safari . Old safari has butcher look compare to this more like van or grande and with tire on tail it complete its classic look which is ageless
Yes buddy, your safari is definitely better, good decision.

Nice . but i still dont understand why is the A/C knobs above the audio system !!!![frustration]. I hope these guys at TATA take care of these basic issues, If it was the other way round then things woild have been simpler, dont u all feel the same. and that aftermarket audio system looks cheep !!! What say ?
Since they had redesigned the dash, even I was wondering about the un-ergonomic placement of the HU.

I am certain now that Tata wouldnt position this against the XUV, they surely are back at the drawing boards to counter that threat - there was anyways some speculation around this. I have a feeling this would be priced to compete the scorpio, may be even the bolero(very optimistic me?). With jump seats and a basic dash - thts my best guess. Also Tata would try to lure the 4x4 lovers who wudnt look at the XUV at all.

I hope though that they counter the XUV with something really punchy picking cues from the LR bloodline.

Offcourse all my personal views and i am neither a tata fan nor mahindra!![cheers]
Not the Bolero - they have the Grande for that.

I guess this would be pitched against the Scorpio. But Scorpio is still better on the feature list & compared to the Storme, looks more masculine, from the front & side profile atleast.

And I guess they would reduce the prices of Aria to compete with XUV5OO.

I am more concerned if Tata has managed to sort out the engineering gremlins in the Storme. The old Safari felt like a jugaad instead of feeling like a properly thought out, thoroughly engineered vehicle. Things should be better with the announcement that the Storme is based on the Aria platform but only time would tell whether this statement really holds some water or is just another marketing gibberish.

The only Tata that I have ever liked to an extent is the Aria only because it has quite a bit of true luxury feeling.I never loved the Safari thing and same is going to be carried on in future too.The new Safari has left its real ornament then boot mounted spare wheel.
The rear end looks boxy without that wheel while if you compare it with the Scorpio then the Scorpio's rear is the only one which I really like.

Re: Scoop! New Tata Safari (aka Merlin) Launch On Sep 2011

Finally The Xover brings the final truth about Merlin:
yes is based on ARIA platform [x2] chassis.hurray.

new rack and pinion steering

new anti roll bars

amazing interiors and fit and finish.

handling superb thanks to low travel suspension

and many more, watch this space.

SOURCE : a friend at PUNE (sorry guys can't disclose more) [;)]
^^^^^^^^
Two months back THE XOVER was the one to bring the final truth about Merlin aka Storme.

Now since the vehicle is finally unveiled here is what I think.

Positives:

1. Aria based "hydroformed" chassis.People will go crazy in ecstasy after driving it.

2.Aria based suspension set up, read superb ride/handling.

3. Superb looks, I am not a Safari fan, never, infact first gen Scorpio was my favorite car, but now I love every bit of new Storme, Front=awesome,back=decent,and side=[:D].

4. Turning radius of 5.4 meter, wow that's sedan category,and also with no spare wheel on tail gate, parking and driving this beast will be more easy now.Hell the turning radius is even less than XUV(5.6 m).

5. Interiors look classy and well finished, just take a look at the door beading absolutely awesome.

Negatives:

1. Single din ICE,c'mon Tata[frustration].
2. Without stepney the car has become more practical and rattle free, but that pure SUV looks would be somewhat missed.

3. Where are the features like ESP, TC, 6 airbags Tata?Perhaps they don't want to position it against XUV.
4. No front facing third row, a clear disappointment, perhaps will be optional later on.

Off Topic : Brother raj, so THE XOVER is correct one more time( Aria chassis on Safari).Also I told you Tata are coming with a powerful Aria, did you miss it yesterday, they just displayed automatic Aria with 156 ps and 400 NM torque exactly what I wanted.

I will love my current safari more now [:D] . after seeing those spyshot i hurried to buy old safari . Old safari has butcher look compare to this more like van or grande and with tire on tail it complete its classic look which is ageless
I agree. The tyre on the tailgate give a more aggressive/SUV look. The front has become very tame.

HI All,

Well well a lots of talks and comments and suggestions from various people that itself speaks people are thinking about it and so do i.

First of all its a new vehicle (83% parts are new in the vehicle and mainly derived/shaed with Aria) as said by Ratan Tata himself, thank GOD they have retained the looks of the vehicle (except removal of tire from rear gate).

My Observations:

1.) Overall the best looking SUV (southward of 20L) available in India.
2.) Best ASS coverage in India for SUV
3.) Rear now looks like LR inspired
4.) Intereriors are awesome, they are practical, dash design is very good, HU (one has the option of installing its own HU easily)
5.) Middle row AC is also good (people are cribbing about how it is placed)
6.)Third row seat are side facing, iam ok with this. But they have increased the size of these seats (though i prefer front facing seats)
7.) Projecter Headlights (amazing illumination)
8.) Middle row seat is again best in class for space and comfort (no one can argue on this)
9.) Commanding view from Driver seat
10.) New improved hydroformed chasis & new suspensions (better handling and ride quality)
11.) Ground clearence of 200mm (reduced by 5mm) aids in handling and ride quality
12.) Amazing Cargo space (any doubts)

I guess iam inclined towrads TATA (yes iam)

Someone has said Scorpio side profile is masculine (well iam not giving my consent to it), now the new safari storm (we can call it now (NSS) is way ahead and much better and reliable vehicle than any scorpio produced till date (my assumptions).

So guys iam just waiting for its TD to start so that i can make my bet on it...

Re: Scoop! New Tata Safari (aka Merlin) Launch On Sep 2011

1. Single din ICE,c'mon Tata[frustration].
I do not consider it as a negative. Rather its a opportunity to easily fit any good single din HU afterwards. There are more options in single DIN HU rather than Double DIN HU. And also most of inbuilt double DIN HU in sub 15 Lakh cars are not good from audiophile POV. It is quite a pain to replace inbuilt double din HU afterwards.

In any case, the single din HU of Safari is Alpine make (as appeared in a pic) and so it is supposed to be good from SQ POV.

Someone has said Scorpio side profile is masculine (well iam not giving my consent to it), now the new safari storm (we can call it now (NSS) is way ahead and much better and reliable vehicle than any scorpio produced till date (my assumptions).
Only time will decide it, which one is reliable.

Already Scorpio has proved to be reliable over the years.

I didn't like the current Safari's rear, may be to have more head room, they have designed it like grande in meaner design.

Only the front of Safari can be praised.

I am wondering body roll would be eminent with this tall boy design.

Tata Safari Storme website is updated

I guess middle seat cannot be reclined after a certain angle..

Yes buddy, your safari is definitely better, good decision.

Since they had redesigned the dash, even I was wondering about the un-ergonomic placement of the HU.

Not the Bolero - they have the Grande for that.

I guess this would be pitched against the Scorpio. But Scorpio is still better on the feature list & compared to the Storme, looks more masculine, from the front & side profile atleast.

And I guess they would reduce the prices of Aria to compete with XUV5OO.
Nice [clap] but i still dont understand why is the A/C knobs above the audio system !!!![frustration]. I hope these guys at TATA take care of these basic issues, If it was the other way round then things woild have been simpler, dont u all feel the same. and that aftermarket audio system looks cheep !!! What say ?
Only time will decide it, which one is reliable.

Already Scorpio has proved to be reliable over the years.

I didn't like the current Safari's rear, may be to have more head room, they have designed it like grande in meaner design.

Only the front of Safari can be praised.

I am wondering body roll would be eminent with this tall boy design.

Body Roll

Scorpio has body roll on an even surface, leave aside the curves[lol]

I have taken TD of Aria more than 2-3 times (extensive ones) and body roll is very low.
Yes in NSS body roll will be there but much lesser than the previous safari and Scorpio (cos of new chasis and new suspension setup)

Leave aside the comfort at middle and front row, scorpio is no way near to safari in proving couch like feeling to its passengers.

Positives:

1. Aria based "hydroformed" chassis.People will go crazy in ecstasy after driving it.
Why? Its after all a LOF chassis.

3. Where are the features like ESP, TC, 6 airbags Tata?Perhaps they don't want to position it against XUV.
It doesnt even have steering mounted controls.

Off Topic : Brother raj, so THE XOVER is correct one more time( Aria chassis on Safari).Also I told you Tata are coming with a powerful Aria, did you miss it yesterday, they just displayed automatic Aria with 156 ps and 400 NM torque exactly what I wanted.
But where are the front facing seats? You told us that it will be launched with FF seats.

1.) Overall the best looking SUV (southward of 20L) available in India.
No comments. Personal opinons.

2.) Best ASS coverage in India for SUV
are you serious? Best ASC?

now the new safari storm (we can call it now (NSS) is way ahead and much better and reliable vehicle than any scorpio produced till date (my assumptions).
WHAT?!?! Has the Safari ever been termed as a 'reliable' vehicle? Scorpio has infact proved its reliability over the years, that is precise reason it outsells the safari by a huge margin, dspite safari being better in many aspects. I request you to do some market research & not assume things.

And storme is not even launched, how did you guess it is going to be reliable? it is based on the Aria which itself has many issues.

Body Roll

Scorpio has body roll on an even surface, leave aside the curves[lol]

I have taken TD of Aria more than 2-3 times (extensive ones) and body roll is very low.
Yes in NSS body roll will be there but much lesser than the previous safari and Scorpio (cos of new chasis and new suspension setup)

Leave aside the comfort at middle and front row, scorpio is no way near to safari in proving couch like feeling to its passengers.
I guess you are simply floored by the Storme. Its evident from your posts. Planning for a new SUV na? Go for it buddy.

It doesnt even have steering mounted controls.
By zooming in to a picture of right stalk behind steering wheel, it can be seen that there are volume & seek controls in the stalk.