Tata Safari 3.0 Dicor: Burnt, Recovered and Reclaiming @ 1,62,000 Kms (Met Accident)

Thread Starter #91
Re: Tata Safari 3.0 Dicor: Burnt, Recovered and Reclaiming @1,15,000 Kms

@mercedised: Have you kept a record of expenses made on your Safari till date? It would be of great help to prospective Safari owners if you could post them here.

How is the engine performance at the 1.15 lakh figure? Does it accelerate smoothly? What about the NVH?

12.5k for Safari suspension overhaul is a good bargain. What exactly did they do to the suspension? Can we have a list of replaced components?

2.5 lakh kilometres. Ambitious plan. I feel the 3.0 litre block can take it provided you do not face any major component failure that Tata would not be able to replace for you.

Please keep this thread updated.
Yeah, roughly till now, excluding the plastic surgery (burnt accident). I hae spent:

5 services each costing 3.5K includes oil, oil filter, general checkup and some small tid-bits. = 17K INR

Suspension Overhaul = 12.5K INR

Fixing dent on bonnet = 2K INR

Thermostat replacement = 300 INR

Spare wheel cover painting = 2K INR

100W x 8 bulbs replaced I don't know they fuse around every alternate service, though I have got a relay kit installed, anyways = around 1.2K INR.

Total expense comes around 35K INR for 50K Kms excluding diesel. The 3.0L motor is too fuel efficient for me giving just between 15-17 Kmpl on highways and 10 Kmpl in city.:P I guess it hates stop and go traffic.

Suspension included
1) Front tie rods (both ends)
2) Central Link 3K
3) Rear Bushes 1.4K
4) Ball Joints
5) Grease
6) Front Bushes

Note: The suspension job excludes Shock-ups (front and rear) and rear springs, they are not included in a suspension job and are only replaced if necessary, although I recommend replacing them as they make a huge difference in ride quality, if you want a Volvo like ride quality @1Lac kms then do replace them. Rear springs cost somewhere around 5.5K a pair and rear shocks 2.5K a pair. The suspension job without these @ TASC costs 22K whopping with 5K as only labor.

Mercedised arent you tempted to go for the Storme ?
Btw what good is a clean Safari, leave that to the pesky soft roaders all detailed and shiny. Bring on "The Dirty Picture" in case of the Safari![:D]
Yeah, I am! It indeed is NEXT! But I am waiting for Tata to make more changes and upgrades to it, one or maybe two year down the line we might have a Storme! which should have been launched by now. They will indeed be making changes that is quite sure.

Pictures are coming shortly, I am waiting for my trip tobe completed then post the pictures of Big daddy with its elder Big Brother TCIC. ;)

@mercedised: Thanks for the quick update. Must say it isn't as expensive to maintain as people make it out to be. Rs. 3500 for a service? I bet you are getting it done outside TASS. Which engine oil are you using? Are regular service parts easily available outside? What was the milegae on your Safari when you had got it rebuilt?

15-17 kmpl is phenomenal mileage for a two and a half ton behemoth with such a huge 3 litre engine. You seem to be a sedate driver. What speeds do you maintain on the highways and what is your driving style?

How long does it take to crank? Most 3.0 Dicors take about 3-5 seconds to start after cranking. Is it the same case with your Safari too?

Would you say that the vehicle is reliable? Would you think twice before going out on a, say, 1500 km trip in it without making any special arrangements?

One doesn't get to see too many 3.0 Dicors on the road nowadays. Good to see you having maintained your Safari in such conditions. Kudos.

Thread Starter #93

@mercedised: Thanks for the quick update. Must say it isn't as expensive to maintain as people make it out to be. Rs. 3500 for a service? I bet you are getting it done outside TASS. Which engine oil are you using? Are regular service parts easily available outside? What was the milegae on your Safari when you had got it rebuilt?

15-17 kmpl is phenomenal mileage for a two and a half ton behemoth with such a huge 3 litre engine. You seem to be a sedate driver. What speeds do you maintain on the highways and what is your driving style?

How long does it take to crank? Most 3.0 Dicors take about 3-5 seconds to start after cranking. Is it the same case with your Safari too?

Would you say that the vehicle is reliable? Would you think twice before going out on a, say, 1500 km trip in it without making any special arrangements?

One doesn't get to see too many 3.0 Dicors on the road nowadays. Good to see you having maintained your Safari in such conditions. Kudos.
In TASC too 1800 for oil its about 300 Rs per liter Castrol GTX, outside I use Shell Rimula (it makes engine sound like tractor so stopped using it!), now using Shell Helix HX6 around 240 Rs a liter, this oil is good.

I purchased it @65K kms and rebuilt it. Now, have traveled around 50K Kms in 1 and a half year.

I just don't like pushing the vehicle, so shift between 1.5K-1.8K RPM. The phenomenal low end torque ensures that the engine has enough pulling power. On highways, a strict 75-80 Kmph, Although the situation is exact opposite when my younger brother drives it in my absence, its around 120-130 Kmph.

It takes about 3-4 seconds when the engine is cold and less than 3 seconds when it has reached operating temperature.

The engine has not given any problems nor the suspension. The clutch is around 1.15 Lac Kms old Stock and is due for change. Still I guess I will drive it for some 20K kms before changing, although the clutch pedal is hard now.

If compare with my old TCIC, that vehicle was more reliable but less fuel efficient.

As for the 1500 Kms trip, I am sure you were joking, I have done non-stop 5K Kms trip without even thinking once & 2 Lac is nothing for a Safari if maintained (just general service is enough) I am saying this after driving my TCIC for 2.4 Lac Kms and then this vehicle for around 1.2L Kms. This vehicle loves HIGHWAY CRUISING.... One of the BEST and reliable (if maintained ofcourse) Highway Cruisers in the country under that price.[:)]

Er, I wasnt joking ;) but thanks anyways.

Yes, the TCIC was indeed more reliable - a result of years of little improvements put together.

Ever tried filling it up with synthetic oil? If yes, how was the performance on synthetic? Who is your mechanic? Still getting it looked after at Krishu Motors?

1.35 lakh kilometres is an excellent life for the clutch. Any idea what's the replacement cost like?

Please share the details of your 5000 km trip. Would make for a wonderful travelogue. With pictures, of course.

A for Apple

B for Ball

C for Car

P for Pictures:p......

Ahhh.. late to this thread. Nice to see one more safari owner happy.

P.S. I am feeling like in the middle of the interview with a safari owner. "Samwadata Sam ke saath camera man dharmesh, interview with mercedised". [clap].

Just loved the thread.

Thread Starter #96

Completed a 1500 Kms trip, @samdinkr you know it was coming and asked for it in advance. hahaha... The mileage was 14 Kmpl and speeds maintained between 90-100 Kmph. Will be going on another 1500 Kms trip from tomorrow. Don;t have time now to upload pictures, will do it as I come back from the trip.

Ahhh.. late to this thread. Nice to see one more safari owner happy.

P.S. I am feeling like in the middle of the interview with a safari owner. "Samwadata Sam ke saath camera man dharmesh, interview with mercedised". [clap].

Just loved the thread.
Thanks Dharmesh.

Thread Starter #98

You forgot to say thanks.;)
Thanks, after a long time!!!!![lol]

Finally few pictures from the lazy boy, sorry for the delay:

81bdfd13-219c-45a9-b84a-7fd4ae26b071_zps3fc3806e.jpg

cc60dd85-0876-439f-9a29-87909160960c_zpse0653606.jpg

d9d8a859-2d48-414a-aeb2-b76776ab4974_zps42e8f016.jpg
Got new tyres for front Apollo Hawkz, standard size costed Rs 12400\- for 2.

re: Tata Safari 3.0 Dicor: Burnt, Recovered and Reclaiming @1,55,000 Kms

Dear mercedised,

1. Nice snaps. Which place is this? Looks like some touristy area. Bhimbetka?

2. Why only 2 tyres? Also, aren't Hawkz noisy?

3. Please share some details about any suspension/alignment issues that you have faced till date, probably along with the cost. Does the camber go out often with your kind of heavy usage? How much does it cost for a camber/shim job?

4. Where did you lose that front left wheel arch cladding?

5. Why does the spare wheel cover look like its not fitted properly (first pic)?

6. Any rattles now? Especially from the tail gate?

7. So this is a Bhopal registered Safari. Wah bhiyao![;)]

Thread Starter #100

Dear mercedised,

1. Nice snaps. Which place is this? Looks like some touristy area. Bhimbetka?

2. Why only 2 tyres? Also, aren't Hawkz noisy?

3. Please share some details about any suspension/alignment issues that you have faced till date, probably along with the cost. Does the camber go out often with your kind of heavy usage? How much does it cost for a camber/shim job?

4. Where did you lose that front left wheel arch cladding?

5. Why does the spare wheel cover look like its not fitted properly (first pic)?

6. Any rattles now? Especially from the tail gate?

7. So this is a Bhopal registered Safari. Wah bhiyao![;)]
1) Ellora Caves a month back. . 2) Hawkz are'nt noisy, infact they offer good grip and acceptable comfort. . 3) The car never ran straight, I had to continuously give input to steering, remember dharmendra driving jeep in old movies, same thine used to happen, earlier it was due to tyres and suspension. Now I got both of them new and alignment is okay, although the steering is off-centric now. . 4) While crossing a river all the tyres submerged into water, and after that I never saw the cladding. . 5) The clamps of the cover are broken, I have put a belt to hold it in place. . 6) Rattles? All the gates are rattling the door locks have given-up have to get them changed. heck so much of work, the clutch replacement is due, right side ORVM is gone, rear tyres, all door locks, front left cladding, sedimenter etc. . 7) Yeah, I am based in Indore as you know, the car is registered in Bhopal. Where are you from?

For a vehicle that has covered so many kilometres, I think these jobs are absolutely justifiable. How much for a clutch job? By now you'd have paid enough to enable Krishu Motors guys to buy a small plot of land.

Offset steering? I just hope the rack is fine. Any khdngg...khdngg or click click noise?

What I love is that the engine of your Safari never misses a beat. Thank God for small mercies.

So when are the TCIC snaps coming up?

I'm at Pune presently. Shall meet you when I'm at Indore, of course if its convenient to you.

Thread Starter #102

Offset steering? I just hope the rack is fine. Any khdngg...khdngg or click click noise?
What I love is that the engine of your Safari never misses a beat. Thank God for small mercies.
So when are the TCIC snaps coming up?
I'm at Pune presently. Shall meet you when I'm at Indore, of course if its convenient to you.
Yeah, next time I visit Krishu guys I will make sure they make a statement that they will buy my car when I sell it. ;)

The 3.0L engine is a workhorse, it never ever gives-up neither on mileage nor on performance. Although this 3.0L motor is one of the most unrefined engine that Safari has seen and it is really a under-tuned monster. What I love is the MATADOR sound. hahah... I bet you have heard it, really it inspires.[;)]

TCIC.. well I forgot about them, will update the thread as soon as possible.

Convenient? untill you point a gun at my forehead, it is convenient by all means to me.[roll]

Yeah. The Matador sound. Somehow I find it very reassuring.

So nice of you. Will get in touch. Without a gun.

Thread Starter #104

Got the servicing done, also got the alignment corrected. The servicing costed 5K for Oil, Oil filter, Diesel Filter and some small parts, alignment. Oil costs 1.8K, Diesel filter 1.6K, oil filter some 350 Rs, alignment at TASC 450 Rs.

Check engine light comes up if I drive above 2.5K, the scan tool shows P1018, Barometric sensor level : High. This goes after the engine is restarted and has no effect on the performance so I am ignoring it. This has been since last 60K kms but no performance or any kind of misbehaviour from engine. Tata really makes good engines.

Thanks for the update. The figures would really be helpful to someone looking at going this way. Have you ever faced any steering problems? Also, the initial batches of the 3.0 were notorious for cam sensor problem (engine would crank but refuse to start) and I think Tata did offer a retrofit in the 2007 models. Did you ever face this problem?

Last month while scouting for a 4x4 low bonnet Willy's, I came across a 2006 EX 4x4 3.0 Dicor (you know 4x4 3.0s are rarer than hen's teeth). Single owner, self driven, 62000 genuine kilometres on the odo, new Duelers (last set lasted for around 50000 km so I guess no suspension issues with this boy), working 4x4 transfer case (didn't check though, yet to take a TD), smooth startup (no 3-4 second cranking before firing up like in most 3.0s), some nicks and dents here and there but nothing much, okay interiors, full service history (claimed by the owner but didn't check), no engine check light problem (owner said it has flashed only once when the oil was low), all electricals in working order, silver colour, working reversing camera. Asking price 4 lakhs but I don't think one should pay that much for a 7 year old 3.0. I know that it'd be a white (silver:biggrin:) elephant when it comes to maintaining it but what is pulling me towards that direction is the 4x4 (well, the Safari ain't no mountain goat but you get the drift) plus an engine that has almost one lakh kilometeres worth of life still left in it.

Your opinion please? I think anything around Rs.3 lakhs should be a good deal.