Tata Safari 3.0 Dicor: Burnt, Recovered and Reclaiming @ 1,62,000 Kms (Met Accident)

Thread Starter #211
re: Tata Safari 3.0 Dicor: Burnt, Recovered and Reclaiming @1,55,000 Kms

@sAM dINKAR : Really! The pricing is not bad at all. I sold my 7.5 years old TCIC Safari for around 2.5L when it had 2.3L Kms on odo. Considering that the pricing is very reasonable.

@anshuman: Selling it for purchasing TCIC again. Electronic cars are not to my taste, I like old school cars.

Yup, you are correct but then the market sentiment does not reflect what you hope for. Anyways, I hope the Hippopotamus finds a good home and you are able to sell it at a good price.

My shake hand with you on the electronics part too. Mechanical 'click' is anyday more satisfying and confidence inspiring than an electrical 'whirr'. But still, let me say that despite the fire and all, this one proved pretty proof as far as electricals are concerned. Whats a MAF or two with a Tata anyways :lol!:

Thread Starter #213

Yup, you are correct but then the market sentiment does not reflect what you hope for. Anyways, I hope the Hippopotamus finds a good home and you are able to sell it at a good price.

My shake hand with you on the electronics part too. Mechanical 'click' is anyday more satisfying and confidence inspiring than an electrical 'whirr'. But still, let me say that despite the fire and all, this one proved pretty proof as far as electricals are concerned. Whats a MAF or two with a Tata anyways :lol!:
Well then correct me and tell me what is the actual market price? Some random dealer called me yesterday and told me that he would on the spot buy at the price of 2.2L. I turned him down and hope I get a better price. Their are many wild guys on OL* and Quik* website who have quoted as high as 4L for their 2006 3L Dicors.

This bull has been a good companion and infact if I don't get a reasonable price then I will be forced to drive this bull untill 2L Kms. I hope this does'nt happens.
Safari has been doing good, infact right now it is on a trip to Nathdwara, hardly my Safari sees city roads.

Man you seem to have contacts from Bhiyao city, anybody selling a TCIC Safari tell me, preferably 4x4.

My friend's 3.0 Dicor, the one I posted a snap of, (2006 LX, 75000 genuine km on the odo, everything functioning, alloys, DVD monitor) was quoted for Rs. 2.5 lakhs by a dealer. AARGHH[frustration]. He tried selling it for an year but was unable to get anything above Rs 3 lakhs. Last he got it valued at some Tata dealer in exchange for a Storme and was again quoted Rs. 2.5 lakhs. So much for a depreciating Tata, no one seems interested in buying a used Safari, at least in Bhiyao city; it seems like a buyer's market, unless the seller manages to find an enthusiastic buyer. Anyways, hope you sell it for good price.

Sure will let you know of TCIC. 4x4 TCIC would be a rarity, let alone in working order/good condition.

Keep us posted.

Thread Starter #215

Gave the car for servicing today @1,55,367 Kms. Problems reported:
1) Sometimes accelerator does'nt works, I have to restart the car for it to work.
2) Rear silencer sitting too high.
3) Little problem in ORVM adjustment motor.
4) RHS power window stuck
5) Alignment, Wheel Balancing, tyre rotation
6) Oil, Oil filter, Engine oil treatment.
7) General checkup.

I will update once I get the vehicle.

Re: Tata Safari 3.0 Dicor: Burnt, Recovered and Reclaiming @1,55,000 Kms

Gave the car for servicing today @1,55,367 Kms. Problems reported:
1) Sometimes accelerator does'nt works, I have to restart the car for it to work.
2) Rear silencer sitting too high.
1. TPS problem.
2. ???? What does that mean

Guys I am selling the bull, you can find the listing on olx. Asking price 2.75L.

Mods : I am not using this thread for promoting or doing anything for financial benefit. As a automobile enthusiast I am trying to sell my vehicle to another automobile enthusiast.
You might want to list it on the Marketplace where it'll receive more attention: The Automotive India Marketplace - Free Car & Bike Classifieds.

Thread Starter #218

1. TPS problem.
2. ???? What does that mean
1. As per TASC and mechanic its a problem related to either injectors or fuel pump. I am keeping it that way, don't fix it if it ain't break.

2. The exhaust opening at the rear is clamped high. Take it like this originally the exhaust opening has tobe below the rear bumper but after last service 25% of exhaust opening is obstructed by bumper.

You might want to list it on the Marketplace where it'll receive more attention: The Automotive India Marketplace - Free Car & Bike Classifieds.
Thanks will do it.

Thread Starter #219

Got back the vehicle. It seems the engine has got new life after service. The 3L engine is so unrefined, that it need service intervals of 5,000 seriously. Total cost came to 8800 Rs. Which is okay for such a mile-muncher.

1) Oil and Oil filter
2) Fog lamp bulbs, RHS headlight bulb, parking bulb.
3) Rear fog lamps.
4) Front RHS power window arrangement without motor.
5) Bardahl Engine treatment
6) cleaning of all sensors by 3M spray.
7) Tyre rotation, balancing and wheel alignment
8) Vehicle washing.
9) Other small works.

Owing a vehicle is one thing and maintaining it is other.

Yeah, needs both lots of cash and patience to maintain this behemoth. No air filter/fuel filter change, by the way?

Thread Starter #221

Yeah, needs both lots of cash and patience to maintain this behemoth. No air filter/fuel filter change, by the way?
Nope. Fuel filter interval is 30K for 3.0L, I can't digest why they changed it to 15K for Storme. The airfilter is good for ;35-40K kms under normal driving conditions. Airfilter cleaned and refitted.

Doesn't the manual mention 10000 km for replacement of air filter? Anyways, since most of your running is on the highway, I guess the air filter could easily last for 20-30000 kms.

Got better offers for sale? Why not going for the Storme?

Thread Starter #223

Doesn't the manual mention 10000 km for replacement of air filter? Anyways, since most of your running is on the highway, I guess the air filter could easily last for 20-30000 kms.

Got better offers for sale? Why not going for the Storme?
I have not seen the manual. There are alot of things I have not changed mentioned in manual for e.g. sedimentor should be changed according to manual at 1 lac kms and I have not changed it till now.

I need a workhorse which could be used purposely for carrying loads (business.. you know..) owing a new car and then seeing it tear day by day would be an act of idioticy. And the rough usage that my car goes would bring a new car very rapidly into a taxi condition cars. The old horses are VFM and does'nt cost as much.

Thread Starter #224

Got myself new Companion. A Tata Safari TCIC 2003 EX for 2.5 Lakhs. The 3L ELEPHANT is still with me. Will be selling it once I get a good deal.

Cheers!!! Where are the pics? How much on the odo of the TCIC? It isnt a 4x4, right?