Tata Nano GenX Launched at Rs.1.99 Lacs

I have few doubts.

Can I install rear power window kit in GenX? is it worth (my mother will have hard time rolling the window manually)
If OEM gives it as an add-on then you may install it for sake of ease buddy. However, if after-market ones are to be placed then I won't suggest you to go for it.

How important is air freshener for this small car?
Size of car doesn't matter. Cabin Ambiance does become pleasant with the freshener.

Are tinted windows legal? Can I install them?
Sun-film is totally banned. Only OEM tinted glass are permitted.

I have few doubts.

Can I install rear power window kit in GenX? is it worth (my mother will have hard time rolling the window manually)

The window rolling is not so energy sapping. It's quite smooth. You may get Power Window kit at some accessories store, but don't know if a kit is available for the Nano or not.

Air Freshener is dependent on your requirement/choice. I am not using one & haven't found any foul smell in my Nano yet.

About tinted windows, may be you mean to ask about window films. They are legal, provided the light transmission is over 70% for film applied on front windscreen and over 50% for all other glasses. A good quality Window film will be a good investment for a Nano as the Glass area is quite large and lots of heat from sun rays comes in, especially during summer days & during October heat period.

Well, films of any kind is illegal. Tinted glass (VLT 70% and 50%) is allowed as per the supreme court verdict. BUT not films.

As per my understanding, tinted glass means the shiny portion generally found on the top portion of the front windscreen of most cars (Nano doesn't have it).
I understand that films are permitted if it meets the 70% and 50% light transmission norms.

Is any manufacturer offering full tinted glasses on their cars, all around, meeting SC's directives?

As per my understanding, tinted glass means the shiny portion generally found on the top portion of the front windscreen of most cars (Nano doesn't have it).
That's just a small tint stripe provided to not let sun rays hurt the eye while driving.

I understand that films are permitted if it meets the 70% and 50% light transmission norms.
No.

Wonderful color combination for the new GenX Nano. They are looking more attractive than the earlier ones. Really appreciate the work done by Tata designing team.

A week after its national launch in the Indian market, the new GenX Nano has found its first set of buyers. In fact, Tata has just announced its first customer deliveries for 35 new cars in Pune.

Source:-
Tata GenX Nano deliveries begin - CarWale News

Thread Starter #232
Wonderful color combination for the new GenX Nano. They are looking more attractive than the earlier ones. Really appreciate the work done by Tata designing team.

A week after its national launch in the Indian market, the new GenX Nano has found its first set of buyers. In fact, Tata has just announced its first customer deliveries for 35 new cars in Pune.

Source:-
Tata GenX Nano deliveries begin - CarWale News
Hope so that tata nano will gain market share

I have few doubts.

1. Couple of companies make power window kit for nano, but either as set of two for front or set of 4. Set of two for front is rare to find in market though if you can find it you can use it on rear doors. Installation without wire cutting may or may not be possible.

2. If you want to smell good use it else don't. small car or big car smell is smell after all isnt it?

3. As akash mentioned, Sunfilms of any sort are illegal to install in India. Be it 70%, 50% or 100% visibility, nothing to be stuck on glass.

Delivery delayed again. Now dealer is saying delivery not possible before July end.

Either TATA or dealer, somebody has to take responsibility. I have paid booking amount on May 13. Delivery in August?

Even Alto which has sales figure of 10k+ / month has less waiting time than nano GenX.

[frustration]

Delivery delayed again. Now dealer is saying delivery not possible before July end.

Either TATA or dealer, somebody has to take responsibility. I have paid booking amount on May 13. Delivery in August?

Even Alto which has sales figure of 10k+ / month has less waiting time than nano GenX.

[frustration]
Have patience man......Maruti churns out over 1 lakh cars every month. Tata does a small fraction of that. Nano sales were just about 1500 to 2000 per month before the GenX launch. The company had mentioned that 11,000 Nano owners had shown interest in upgrading to the GenX before the launch. The company will take some time to ramp up volumes.

I think you have ordered a colour which is Made-to-Order, right? That could be the primary reason for delay.

Thread Starter #237
Thread Starter #239
Tata Nano Topples During Moose Test Showcasing Poor Stability [Video]

The handling test conducted overseas has the Nano being driven for a sharp right at reasonably high speeds, which leads to the small car toppling.

The narrow track, tall body structure & lack of ESP led to the Nano having toppled
The past year truly marked a milestone for vehicle safety concerns getting a real voice in the Indian industry. With most of our popular entry-level cars having failed to meet the Global NCAP crash test norms, the government managed to finally smell the coffee and make some strategic announcements including the BNVSAP (Bharat New Vehicle Safety Assessment Programme) which will be mandated by 2017. While the crash test norms are still some time away, safety levels on current cars still remains of paramount concern and making things worse is this video footage that has emerged online and was shot while testing the handling capabilities of the Tata Nano overseas, wherein the car toppled.
The handling test in question is the ‘Moose Test’, which was being conducted by a Czech Republic based magazine where the car is subjected to evasive manoeuvres and needs to respond to sudden lane changes and steering input, in case an animal or pedestrian comes in front of the vehicle. While the average speed of the test vehicle is around 60 or 80 km/hr for the Moose Test, the Nano was doing a bare minimum of 30 km/hr and was carrying four adult occupants inside. Even at a reasonable speed, the Nano could barely remain stable and the car’s narrow track and tall body structure further aggravated the situation, pinning the car to the ground sideways.
In fact, the topple was so severe that the driver was left with a broken arm, apart from the ruffled left side body panels of the Tata Nano. Much like the Indian version, the test mule came void of ABS and ESP, which are otherwise offered as standard on European spec models. The car is powered by the same 624cc twin-cylinder engine with 38 PS and 51 Nm of torque, paired to a 4-speed gearbox. This mishap clearly shows the need of ESP on cars as small as the Nano as well, which misses out on several important safety equipment in favour of keeping costs in check. Make sure to have a good look at the Tata Nano being toppled in the video below, which is startling.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GBA15SfO0AI

Read more at Tata Nano Topples During Moose Test Showcasing Poor Stability [Video] | MotorBeam – Indian Car Bike News & Reviews

[sad]

Its no brainier though. The name includes: na no twist :)

well, VIDEO: Tata Nano takes a tumble on track during Moose test | Motoroids

says that even more expensive cars failed too. In fact it shows a video of other more expensive cars failing.

Finally, the maneuver shown in the video is not at all trivial, and more often and not, will not be replicated by casual motorists.