Tata Motor’s Cars – The Ultimate Reliability Survey

How Much Satisfied You Are with Your Tata Car?

Re: Tata Motor’s Cars – The Ultimate Reliability Survey

same here
not been personal owner of TATA car however uncle has one which gives problems and a.s.s is pathetic
I had already shared my expierence been driven to work in a new car which broke down
TATA has not improved in terms of quality checks and thats a major cause of concern
new cars breaking mid way due to some engineering problem is not taken
either means engineering is not up to the mark or quality tests are not stringent as they should be
Please give us full details. car name, year, km driven, ASS, etc as posted by other members. Kindly explain your problem in detail.

I sent this thread link to south tamilnadu region customer care manager, tata motors. I hope he/they also watching this thread. Atleast let them know the customer problem.

Thread Starter #122

Please give us full details. car name, year, km driven, ASS, etc as posted by other members. Kindly explain your problem in detail.

I sent this thread link to south tamilnadu region customer care manager, tata motors. I hope he/they also watching this thread. Atleast let them know the customer problem.
fantastic initiative from you Justin greatly appreciate your effort.

If we take a look at the idea of this thread, the answer is very clear.
The question is about reliability of TATA cars, its already ascertained that today's TATA cars are reliable. And this factor is independent of A.S.S. quality ( which is bad, in general, but improving fast).

@vishwas- one user on our forum having problem with his car can't prove others are giving a wrong picture on this thread its like doubting the integrity of members.and many on this thread have documented the problems too
True, i replied for the post as it serves the purpose of this thread for reliability survey, there's nothing wrong IMHO, it wasn't off-topic either.

This thread is free to any Tata car owners to come and report their best and worst experience of their cars hope you read the intent and purpose of the thread again. And rather then you taking the trouble to post his experience I would suggest you to request that owner to write his unbaised testimony on this thread so all can see what rating he gives.;)
Buddy, every member has a right to post his views in this forum, if he goes off-topic we are there to take care, what's wrong in posting our views?

Viswas,
Its the same thing I have to request you.
Kindly avoid giving harsh judgements and stererotyping.
People who are buying TATA cars are not aliens or a cult or a dark community. They are also ordinary people and part of the homosapien evolution.
It wasn't my intention to trigger a debate, but i wanted to convey the ups and downs as per the title

If we take a look at the idea of this thread, the answer is very clear.
The question is about reliability of TATA cars, its already ascertained that today's TATA cars are reliable. And this factor is independent of A.S.S. quality ( which is bad, in general, but improving fast).
+1, i have already posted here as to how the A.S.S is improving, that is the point!

Thread Starter #125

did I ever say you are going offtopic ? Kindly read my conversation with ironrock above the point about posting on this topic is very clear . You must infact ask and clear doubts if you have any with the owners here .

And you being a mod plus 10000 to you.you have allways been a great and fair mod and the forum is a wonderful place because of efforts taken by you and your team kudos to you for that.

Hi @ gurrala FOR YOUR POST

No worries but sounds am going to answer a investigating reporter huh! juz kidn.

Within a period of less than one year I have visited several times some were mechanical issues and some were general complaints but I pay attention to even minute rattle and scratches or whatsoever and hence visits were several but otherwise also initially the mechanical complaints were not rectified properly and hence I kept visiting again.

I personally feel buying a TATA car i mean with Aria wont be like spending life at service centre but peaceful service and not necessary to get you BP high fighting with the service manager for warranty or solution etc.The service is customer oriented and not too much saving the skin type.
My complaints are common with any vehicle even if its brand new as not every car can be done precisely unless fitted with a robot of .00001 error but I feel more attention should have been given when they expect the customer to spend premium.

The service centre Concorde,Ambattur chennai is amazingly fine and in fact I would have gone for a change of car getting fed up with constant visits but when the relationship was good and your problem is solved especially without much hassle or tension I was happy with it.The problems I faced were not an issue with safety of life like steering pulling to left,cabin light broken,rattle noise from the steering column and everything were rectified now.

To be honest I dont think you offend anybody and this is just opinions as the fact our opinions not going to change any situation nor our offending going to change the entire organisation as it is obvious that they do not throw lights to online forums or complaints and it is just we exchanging posts and know each ones problem and it stops there.The aria official website has a rapid complaint page were I just got an acknowledgement email for my complaint and till now they are travelling so rapid that they have not got in touch with me yet.We should have a strong neutral body for the automotive sector where in every major complaint is attended and resolved.There is nobody you can question how can a car spend so many lakhs let it be 1 or 20 can come out with defects,you ask this question to the dealer you had bought then you will be diverted to the service centre and the service centre tries to rectify it and you are forced to live with a brand new car that will be touched and soiled up by the mechanics and you just loose the brand new feel.

Thread Starter #127
Dear all respected members of TAI,

This thread has been created not to only write glorious stories about Tata motors ,their cars their a.s.s but to get a correct picture of their cars their a.s.s from Tata car owners who are using these cars on daily basis . all tata car owners in past and present are allowed to write a negative review or testimonial if they had a bad experience and must be treated with equal respect. Becuase such reviews too will help this thread and the main intent of this thread.
example of not so good testimonial is from our member raj-5004 who has written his testimonial as a past owner very gracefully within the context of this thread and keeping the intent in mind
Every member on the forum is allowed and infact encouraged to ask questions regarding their doubts about Tata cars their a.s.s and reliability and get whatever information they need to know from the owners.

Iam requesting to ask " questions" because they can lead to meaing full discussion and healthy debates.
Kindly refrain yourself from making subjective statements if you are not a present or past owner for example like" Tata cars are bad useless "in special because this will lead to unnecessary rants and unhealthy debates.

@ Superbad- dear please remember my debate with you regarding this thread is only limited to the content of your post and not personal if you have by any means felt otherwise i ask an apology .you are one member who adds tremendous value to this forum like other members and your most welcome to post on this thread keeping the intent of this thread in mind .further if you have any questions regarding this thread to ask you can very well ask and i will try my best to reply them in the best possible way i can.

Voting is allowed only to tata car owners in past and present becuase they are in correct position to rate the experience of their cars rather then non Tata car owners.
If any member has any further question to ask regarding this thread can kindly do so .

fantastic initiative from you Justin greatly appreciate your effort.
No worries but sounds am going to answer a investigating reporter huh! juz kidn.
Within a period of less than one year I have visited several times some were mechanical issues and some were general complaints but I pay attention to even minute rattle and scratches or whatsoever and hence visits were several but otherwise also initially the mechanical complaints were not rectified properly and hence I kept visiting again.................
hi karthickramu, I also owning an Aria. Thanks for your report and clarify your part. One member pointed that you are not satisfied with your car. Kindly give a report of satisfaction as mentioned by thread creator.

I sent my ownership report and this thread links to South tamilnadu customer care manager of tata motors. I know that he is watching. He called me and asked about the matters i mentioned in my ownership report. (He asked about a photo posted in the forum). I'm also paying more attention as you. I sent my car to fix a small rattling issue.Then i sent a complaint thru their site and also placed a complaint in their toll-free number. They called me the next day morning and assured me. My complaint also forwarded to my dealer by tata. After few minutes my dealer called me and assured me the same. After fixed the issue, tata peoples called me and mailed me to confirm it. Nowadays they are doing fine man.

I know that the service peoples are not matured enough to handle the aria. so i always send a complaint/intimation to tata when i send my car to fix a issue. If dealership is not comfortable to fix/find a issue, they taking photos and send it to tata peoples and getting instant response to resolve the matters.

This is the mail i got from them

Dear Mr. Justin sylas,

Thank you for writing to us. We had a discussion on 17th Aug’12 & we understand that you are fully satisfied with your vehicle and only the problem is rear side noise. Immediately after our discussion we have taken your vehicle and checked thoroughly and fixed your complaint.

After our request you have visited our dealership on 18th Aug’12 & taken road test along with our dealer team to confirm the rear side noise. After road test now you fully satisfied & rear side problem is solved now in vehicle.

In future you can contact directly us for any support related to your vehicle.

[ i removed his name ]
Customer Support Manager (PCBU)
Area office - Madurai
[ i removed his phone]

Customer support is not a Department, it's an Attitude!

Within a period of less than one year I have visited several times some were mechanical issues and some were general complaints but I pay attention to even minute rattle and scratches or whatsoever and hence visits were several but otherwise also initially the mechanical complaints were not rectified properly and hence I kept visiting again........................
there you go this is what is expected from a survey.

i had mentioned it time and again a company specific survey as its intention should be restricted to highlight any positives , negatives of the company in question.

if it is meant to be the ultimate reliability survey it is supposed to be unbiased and truthful.

not to post a better image or anything because such surveys are being most read about by the top bosses.

there is/ will be some disconnect with the management and the ground up worksmen and this thread provides an opportunity to enlighten everyone.

@ raja, i dont know but it seems you tend to take all of my posts a bit personally.

please do not do so. i have no intentions/ reasons to be angry with you and in case we happen to meet each other, i assure i wont be trading blows with you [lol]

Within a period of less than one year I have visited several times some were mechanical issues and some were general complaints but I pay attention to even minute rattle and scratches or whatsoever and hence visits were several but otherwise also initially the mechanical complaints were not rectified properly and hence I kept visiting again...............
Karthick,

I never had a intention to post anything here again, but you have posted your answer to my question from your other thread here ( it would have been nice if you could have also posted my post which is with questions) so it is my responsibility to bring in my answer to this thread. here it goes

+100 to your nice explanation Karthik

But what I understand from your answers if I read something between the lines, it is like this

Since you have bought with some expectation, but at times any brand car will fail to live up to your expectation and you have live with it. The big relief is that all those things are very effectively being attended by the service guys promptly

When the question reliability about a product comes in, then my feeling as a one of the old TATA car owner will be like this saying that the product is not so reliable as I thought of it. So If I was you buying a Area spending some lakhs of rupees, then I would have really felt bad for my decision because these initial problems really disturbs me a lot and I do not have that much of time to visit the service centers again and again and not have such patience too. May be this is the reason I did not opted for a Vista last year when I was buying my hatchback and gone with Ritz. This is purely my story

I agree with you that it is not true that if a very heated argument is not going to solve any thing and it is better to be neutral about the problem and discuss it further and get a solution to it.

Believe me even now, I stand to my all questions posted on the thread which merely talks about the product reliability and not at all about postmortem service

Finally I respect and appreciate your true opinion and you as a Premium TATA car owner

When the question reliability about a product comes in, then my feeling as a one of the old TATA car owner will be like this saying that the product is not so reliable as I thought of it. So If I was you buying a Area spending some lakhs of rupees, then I would have really felt bad for my decision because these initial problems really disturbs me a lot and I do not have that much of time to visit the service centers again and again and not have such patience too.
All your remarks are acceptable. All cars has its own issues. Karthik never faced any big issues. Sorry to pointout some brands here, fortuner also had brake issues, xuv has issues, sx4 had suspension issues, etc, etc. But the matter is how better they are responding to customer feedbacks. Tata and mahindra responding well and faster than other manufacturers.

All foreign brands are fine in reliability part. But just imagine what will happen when one car met with an accident. Their spares are costly as some parts are imported. so the repairing cost 'll be very much high. One of my friend's qualis was met with an accident 8 years before. A set of headlight cost him 18K. Total repair cost was 54K. The insurance claim was rejected (i dont know why!). Actually he need just one headlight, but they are selling only pairs at that time. So i need a car from an Indian manufacturer, tata or mahindra. I opted for tata. I know that indian manufactured cars are not better as foreign brands. But atleast i have a known team to handle my matters. I'm very much satisfied with my investment.

Thread Starter #132

If company bought a car for any official's purpose, and the service also managed by the same person. Then he can be counted as a owner. But a person whom traveled in a taxi or un-own vehicle by him for some travel, its just USER. The user can't comment from owner point of view. I'm using Aria now. This is my third car from tata stable. i invested around 24 lakhs in total for my 3 cars. I know well, what i wanted and what i got for the money. If i'm not satisfied, i can keep me quite, or else can give negative marks man. No one was forced/invited any one to share their experience man. Trust it if you can/want.

I'm 100% satisfied with all cars i purchased from tata.
there you go this is what is expected from a survey.

i had mentioned it time and again a company specific survey as its intention should be restricted to highlight any positives , negatives of the company in question.]
My dear freind iam sure you are reading this thread from the very first page right ? And it is very very well mentioned to post good and bad views too infact the parameters have set too like worst , good , bad , excellent .
Now if owners are posting good views what can you and me do ? If owners are writing bad views they must be treated equally with respect that is the whole intent of this thread . Have you seen me as a thread starter arguying with any owner who gave a not so good or bad testimony ? Infact I took personal responsibility as a thread starter to correct Justin for his views about rajs testimonial .
My debate with you is simple you have been posting about tata a.s.s and their cars on this thread . so my question to you was have you owned one ? Which I think you have not till now right ? Then instead of making statements why were you not asking right questions to the owners about whatever good or bad you have heard about tata cars infact those *questions *could bring correct picture but * statements * that too from a non tata owner like you will end in unnessecary war on this thread . Hope you get my point of view now clearly if you need more explanation ask me I will give you .

About taking your views personally belive me what kind of purpose will it solve ?if that was a case i would have not asked for an apology from you on this thread. other then watching your picture on this forum I have never even met you infact I have agreed with you on many topics on other threads and asked you your view too . And taking anybodys view personally and that too in a public forum is like wasting unessecary precious personal energy for me . And about meeting in person sure we must do that whenever you are free and be rest assured you will be greeted with style and kindness and will pm you my phone number and facebook id too .
If you have further questions regarding this thread ask me and I will answer .

@justin You are true,problems I faced were not big but only thing is that I loose confidence and its too much stress hitting the service centre over and over.For instance I took my car delivery last saturday after a paint peel complaint near my right door and now i notice some more bubbles and slighter peels happening at different points,now I have raised the complaint and if its rectified I had to hit the centre again.I really did not get time to drive and its run only 1600 and bought oct 2011 and not even a year old.I accept what you had told,Yes they are doing fine and the response given by the service centre is amazing and I guess we both are communicating with the same person (South CC manager) and he is very helpful and attentive.Initially I also tried toll free number but he could not talk anything apart from hindi and sent complaint in website but no response and only then I got hold of the dealership I bought and they diverted me to concern persons.After that all my complaints were intimated to the head office and is rectified under their guidance and I had also met some technical team who took the feedback personally at the service centre. As you said they handle the problems the same manner getting pictures from me and sending to the head office for further approval of work.
@gurralla I am sorry i did not understand where you want me to post the thread and I replied you at both the points

TAIan TATA friends

After these 10 pages of wonderful stuff about TATA cars, we have seen lot of positive and happy customers here as well very few unhappy customers so far and long debates [:)]

After lot is spoken already, I just simply take this opportunity from the thread owner to present my side of story with TATA

A Indica V2 of I think 2006 model which was used for 6 months in Pune, with ODO clocking 10000km was sent for my use in Hyderabad by my boss. So it was almost like a brand new car in my custody for my office and personal use !! see the details below

1) car model and variant : Indica V2 may be DLS
2) date of purchase :early 2006
3) Kms travelled :first 10000km by other guy and some 30000km by me
4) build quality :Good
5) coustomer service experience ( good ,bad,worst or excellent) : worst
6) a.s.s experience ( good,bad,worst, or excellent) : worst
7) warranty issues : brakes,ODO,front suspension,engine
8) if the car has been vfm : only with some good FE
9) issues and niggles faced so far: details given below
10) satisfaction levels (-/10) : 6

So the above were the details of the car. I started using this from 10000 ODO and I have checked with that Pune collegue about its condition, he said he has sent it for some regular service, there were some issues minor in nature where he sent the car to service and got rectified. I drove the car for another 10000km without any problem(not a single) with some good long trips to Mumbai,pune,Bangalore,Vizag.

The bad days started after some time of ODO 20000km till then I was very strict getting it serviced according to the schedules, wheel balancing, alignment and was always only driven by me. as I mentioned in this thread earlier the engine switch off problem started as and when I was changing the gear to neutral immediately engine goes off while running. so for this I visited almost all the service centers in the city but now use[frustration].

Brakes : brakes were totally not effective and some times I really ended up hitting some other vehicle, but god saved me. I have given it to service guys, every fellow used to tell me a new story, changed brake pads, discs, complete brakes set, sir this is not a big thing in rainy season.

Front suspension : suddenly become too soft and started hitting in all small bumps, path holes, at speed breakers only one person on board. again same story going and visiting the service people in various places, some say it is good, some say sir this is diesel one, some say entire suspension needs to be repaired, some say needs to be replaced. I am sorry I could not remember about its warranty but I remember warranty was still there, but they never agreed for replacement and only giving me repair estimates and were some heart-breaking estimates for the works.

ODO : Odo stopped working I think after 25000km. this happened three times and same approach of service guys like the above.

With all visits of mine to service people for above problems, instead of solving problems, they left with one more new thing used to add up every time as some cable connection become loose, some new rattling noise, some new damage marks on the paint. There is nothing much I can talk about rattling of the car, though it was used on all good roads. So got sick with all these and tried to talk to their regional people here but, but believe me I never got a good response.

So finally with all these sorrows, the vehicle was given to one my junior colleague in a different branch office. I used to here some issues about it, but I never focused on that car any more.

The second time when I had to check a TATA vehicle was last year when I was looking to buy a hatch. I have shortlisted the following

Skoda Fabia diesel - All was good, bit of engine noise was more-9/10
Fiat Punto diesel - All was good-9/10
Vista (i think it was called quadrajet 2011) diesel - All was good-9/10
Swift diesel - inside space problem, rejected-8/10
Ritz diesel - All was good-9/10
Indica eV2 - with I think CR4 engine, noise was bit high, rejected due to cab feeling-6/10
Ford Figo - soft suspension, hits badly on speed breakers, inside space(head room) was less, leg space also bit less, rejected-7/10
Chevrolet beat - features were good, but looked cramped from inside, rejected - 6/10
VW Polo - engine noise was high, price was bit high, rejected-9/10

Final contenders

Skoda Fabia - Though everything was good, price was bit high according to my budget, was little afraid of after sales service and service cost,spares cost. Though the sales guy tried to convince me showing lot of documents and proofs of less service cost, spares cost, took me to the service center and made me to talk to the real customers. Still I was bit hesitant on this, though I love that built and badge of the car

Fiat Punto - believe me everything was so good, little costlier price wise but sales lady promised me to match the best. was only worried because it was in TATA's hands for service. Some times even today I feel bad for not buying it as this year Fiat came up with exclusive showroom&service setup in hyderabad.

Ritz - Everything was good, but left with very less features on LDI, this was the only one I did not like, little bumpy, bit of body roll common for tall boy

Vista - Everything was so good with a TD, showroom person response was very good. Took me to service center shown me everything. front visibility I did not like as I am tall guy and even did not able to guess where is the bumper. After sales guy made me to stand at service center allowing me to see India ev2 and Vista. I got a chance to chat with few Indica as well Vista owners who were taking the delivery of their cars after service and this where I heard from them that all of them are less than a year old customers and told me that their problems of their cars started within a month of delivery and got increased with service visits. There I took my step back and came home and next morning I was supposed to decide and was going to office and found two brand new vistas with taxi plates near my house. That's it I removed Vista from my mind and straight away went to Maruti dealer and negotiated and got my Ritz delivered very next day[clap]

This all is purely my story and I do not expect same thing will happen with everybody. And this will never endorse that all other brands are good. There may be too worst and pathetic stories with them too.

Some how with Gods grace, within these 15 months, 15000km with Ritz, I have never visited to their service center with a single complaint.

Sorry if my post is bit long

Thread Starter #135
@justin You are true,problems I faced were not big but only thing is that I loose confidence and its too much stress hitting the service centre over and over.For instance I took my car delivery last saturday after a paint peel complaint near my right door and now i notice some more bubbles and slighter peels happening at different points,now I have raised the complaint and if its rectified I had to hit the centre again.I really did not get time to drive and its run only 1600 and bought oct 2011 and not even a year old.I accept what you had told,Yes they are doing fine and the response given by the service centre is amazing and I guess we both are communicating with the same person (South CC manager) and he is very helpful and attentive.Initially I also tried toll free number but he could not talk anything apart from hindi and sent complaint in website but no response and only then I got hold of the dealership I bought and they diverted me to concern persons.After that all my complaints were intimated to the head office and is rectified under their guidance and I had also met some technical team who took the feedback personally at the service centre. As you said they handle the problems the same manner getting pictures from me and sending to the head office for further approval of work.
@gurralla I am sorry i did not understand where you want me to post the thread and I replied you at both the points
Karthickramu Thanx so much for your unbaised report and you are right what is the use of new vehicle if it stays in the service center more often . Is this your first vehicle from tata motors ? And given a chance again if some exciting product from tata motors come and fits your requirements will you go and buy again a car from tata motors taking into consideration your recent experience ?

TAIan TATA friends

After these 10 pages of wonderful stuff about TATA cars, we have seen lot of positive and happy customers here as well very few unhappy customers so far and long debates
Thanx for the effort for writing the longest testimonial on this thread [lol]. Thanx a lot for being frank enough for writing your problems with indica and then your reasons for not chossing the vista . We need unbaised good , bad and all sort of testimonials from tata car owners . Appreciate your efforts .[clap]