Tata Motor’s Cars – The Ultimate Reliability Survey

How Much Satisfied You Are with Your Tata Car?

Well From a layman's point of view, Tata cars needs a little more refinement. But If you look at them in a point of view of a driver, They have their definite ups and downs. A simple point I would like to make is, So many Taxis out there are Tata Indicas. If the taxi drivers don't think Tata cars are reliable and cheap enough to maintain why would so many cab drivers opt for Taxis. Granted, that the cars are cheap to put on road, but they are kinda cheap to keep on road as well. [:)]

Even my vista had troubles, clutch problems are so on. They seriously need to look at QA, but they are getting better at it. Can't deny that fact.

Re: Tata Motor’s Cars – The Ultimate Reliability Survey

Last month I've seen a New swift halted near Anna university, Chennai & a New Liva belongs to NTL call taxi halted near Chennai Airport. But, I don't have pics to post them!!
OT.
On our last trip from Chennai, we stopped at the hotel, that you showed us, in Vellore for breakfast. As we were getting into the car to leave, a Toyota Fortuner arrives, and guess what - a couple got down and the guy quickly opened the bonnet and was sniffing around inside. He then informed the watchman that he was keeping the bonnet open and they went inside the hotel. I too didn't click any picture then...

Not going OT but that happens with many brands many cars to have been stalled,have seen brand new 2 hours old Audi, 1 day old BMW,4 days old skoda superb have been stalled and needed to call their ASS to come on that part of road to figure out wht is it, but that doesnt justify the brand value of that brand and its vehicle,quality that that brand gives for the value it charges.

A picture speaks a thousand words.......

View attachment 80180
He would have opened the hood to re-fill the windshield washer/water or so.

After reading the posts and viewing the ratings i really dont know from where these indica's come to kerala. do tata have a special plant for kerala?
@ajith
Guys,80% of taxi's out here are indicaV2, I too own some and i had attached many to my firm, most of them had done 50000kms and all of them have de-compression resulting in high oil consumption and all spray oil through the dip stick slit.
Drivers complain that they have to take of the AC several times while trip that it is not powerful enough to carry 5 people on high ranges resulting the complains from the customers.
Rattling we dont really care, the stereo will be always on. only concern is the space to carry 5 people and it meets it and happy with it.
Apart from all these it delivers a good mileage and one delivered a 20kmph during a trip just before its engine gasket blow.
Alignment problem got solved as we check and align every 2500kms as the tyres now a days are expensive.
The maintenance is done at the dealer itself as taxi's have a discount(though the warranty expires in 30000kms) These people gives us the best they can and we are very much satisfied, we cant blame them for the make.
The taxi owners(mostly they are only owners they buy a low priced diesel car to make money out of it and attach it to a firm with a driver) are waiting for the loan to get closed and to sell it for a loss as the re-sale is very low(taxi indica) and quit the business they attempted.

This is not my sole experience there are many out here.
The curse is on, on tata for the V2.

@raja
sorry if this post ruin your thread,could'nt ressist sorry.

My friends' Indica V2 DLX(2002 model) has run over 1 lakh kms in 10 years,and no problems whatsoever.Even my XETA has been trouble free for all these years(touchwood).I am surprised that taxi operators would blame Tata even though they treat their taxis as money making machines,drive them roughly,poor maintenance and that too when something breaks down.If Indica V2 is so bad then go and buy Swift,Dzire tour,Etios(now the choice range is immense,no one forced to buy a Tata) and put them to the same harsh use,and we ONLY THEN can see the blame is upon whom :-)

Why indica chosen for taxi?

1.cheapest diesel car(indicab mostly with AC only)
2.people who know nothing about cars buy cars as they think taxi's are making money. as i had posted before.
3.tata give upto 95% finance
4.mileage on low money they spend.

People like us,we the travel firms make money out of the taxi attached, as the maintenance is done by the owner.

Well I am stumped. [lol]. But don't you think they have made significant improvements compared to V2 with the first and second generation Vistas? We have had Tata Cars before, the First gen Indica, Tata Safari Dicor 3.0, First gen Vista, and now a second Gen vista. Over time we have seen Tata fixing some of the issues atleast while moving to the second generations of their cars. My Friend's Bro-in-Law had an indica v2 and He had for some 5-6 years. He drove over 1.5 lac Kms and had engine trouble only once. He used to treat it like his kid.

So I guess, if we make sure to maintain the car properly, Tata cars aren't so bad.

Thread Starter #221
@ alexxdas

No you dint spoil anything,as a owner of Tata cars you have all rights to post good /bad experiences . The thread is all about that so don't worry atall[:)].

After reading the posts and viewing the ratings i really dont know from where these indica's come to kerala. do tata have a special plant for kerala?
@ajith
Guys,80% of taxi's out here are indicaV2, I too own some and i had attached many to my firm, most of them had done 50000kms and all of them have de-compression resulting in high oil consumption and all spray oil through the dip stick slit.
Drivers complain that they have to take of the AC several times while trip that it is not powerful enough to carry 5 people on high ranges resulting the complains from the customers.
Rattling we dont really care, the stereo will be always on. only concern is the space to carry 5 people and it meets it and happy with it.
Apart from all these it delivers a good mileage and one delivered a 20kmph during a trip just before its engine gasket blow.
Alignment problem got solved as we check and align every 2500kms as the tyres now a days are expensive.
The maintenance is done at the dealer itself as taxi's have a discount(though the warranty expires in 30000kms) These people gives us the best they can and we are very much satisfied, we cant blame them for the make.
The taxi owners(mostly they are only owners they buy a low priced diesel car to make money out of it and attach it to a firm with a driver) are waiting for the loan to get closed and to sell it for a loss as the re-sale is very low(taxi indica) and quit the business they attempted.

@raja
Well I am stumped. [lol]. But don't you think they have made significant improvements compared to V2 with the first and second generation Vistas? We have had Tata Cars before, the First gen Indica, Tata Safari Dicor 3.0, First gen Vista, and now a second Gen vista. Over time we have seen Tata fixing some of the issues atleast while moving to the second generations of their cars. My Friend's Bro-in-Law had an indica v2 and He had for some 5-6 years. He drove over 1.5 lac Kms and had engine trouble only once. He used to treat it like his kid.

So I guess, if we make sure to maintain the car properly, Tata cars aren't so bad.
I agree with both of you friends and you people are right in your way, but with my previous experience with Indica V2 of 2006 most of the times it was TASS who was spoiling good cars and I feel that is not the car fault[:)]. But the situation with TASS is changed a lot these days after the new gens Vista and Manza got launched and its further improved after Aria and Storm launch and I wish they improve day by day

we(the taxi people) are mostly concerned of the space of the car, mileage of the car and the life of the engine.
If the engine can cross 200000 kms without any maintenance, on the strain we give to the engine then we are happy.
Now we have changed to vista Quadrajet but we had the clutch prob initially and after tata decided to buy gear box along the engine from fiat we are happy.

But worried what to do with the v2.

This V2 engine wont stand
Frequent high range drives on AC,
Frequent drives with 5 people on board with AC,
Frequent long distance drives on AC with out a break for 5 hours.
If we give this strain for a 30000Kms which comes in a year then, that is the end of V2(that is why taxi's warranty forV2 is limited to 30000kms)

I agree that normal people wont give such strain to the engine, they cross 100000kms in 10 years, they wont feel exess oil consumption as they change the oil not on kilometer but on duration of the use in months.
They are happy as they get a good mileage and the spares wont cost much.
Even on this type of usage the V2 sometimes show signs that the engine has to be over hauled.

As this is a reliability survey we the taxi people who test the engine to its limit have to be taken in consideration.

@ajith

@raja
Tata must be bringing these cars from their own factories in India on the demand and booking done by the taxi buyers.

@ alex , I don't understand one thing that if you have experienced so many reliability issues and niggles with v 2 , why you kept on buying more and more v2 taxis ? Or they were purchased in one go ?
This looks like indica slogan ' more cars per car' and for taxi buyers ' more unreliable cars per unreliable car'

On the top of the worst reliability issues faced by you due to indica v2 , you purchased
vistas from them especially when you were knowing thats the TASSES were doing their best but it was tata and its reliability which was a culprit for the problems faced by your taxi company.
Anyways , it is your personal wil which will prevail in your company .I need not complain about it and you need not bother about it.

Ideally one should buy from the rivals of Tatasand show the TATAS that how they can loose a bulk of bussiness due to reliability issue of their cars and also do peaceful and prosperous taxi bussiness devoid of TATAS.
This could help TATAS to pay more attention to pvt personal car owners also.

BTW, How much is the percentage of the taxi drivers who follow instructions given by tata for turbocharged diesel cars ,' always keep the engine idling for 30 seconds prior to take off and switch off ' so as to ensure lubrication of turbo so as to prevent it from getting worn out early and prevent loss of compression in long run?

And how much is the percentage of the taxi drivers who follow ' running-in period (speed limit) instructions .?

How much is the literacy level of the taxi drivers so as to read and understand the English stickers on the car regarding above mentioned instructions?

Is there any taxi company owner known to you who fits speed locks for running in period ?

@ Raja, :agree: with you , that since the forum and this thread is open for discussion sharing experiences and raising queries for all members and not for pvt. discussion .So there i s no question of spoiling your thread.

Tata must be bringing these cars from their own factories in India on the demand and booking done by the taxi buyers.

@ alex , I don't understand one thing that if you have experienced so many reliability issues and niggles with v 2 , why you kept on buying more and more v2 taxis ? Or they were purchased in one go ?
This looks like indica slogan ' more cars per car' and for taxi buyers ' more unreliable cars per unreliable car'

On the top of the worst reliability issues faced by you due to indica v2 , you purchased
vistas from them especially when you were knowing thats the TASSES were doing their best but it was tata and its reliability which was a culprit for the problems faced by your taxi company.
Anyways , it is your personal wil which will prevail in your company .I need not complain about it and you need not bother about it.

Ideally one should buy from the rivals of Tatasand show the TATAS that how they can loose a bulk of bussiness due to reliability issue of their cars and also do peaceful and prosperous taxi bussiness devoid of TATAS.
This could help TATAS to pay more attention to pvt personal car owners also.

BTW, How much is the percentage of the taxi drivers who follow instructions given by tata for turbocharged diesel cars ,' always keep the engine idling for 30 seconds prior to take off and switch off ' so as to ensure lubrication of turbo so as to prevent it from getting worn out early and prevent loss of compression in long run?

And how much is the percentage of the taxi drivers who follow ' running-in period (speed limit) instructions .?

How much is the literacy level of the taxi drivers so as to read and understand the English stickers on the car regarding above mentioned instructions?

Is there any taxi company owner known to you who fits speed locks for running in period ?

@ Raja, :agree: with you , that since the forum and this thread is open for discussion sharing experiences and raising queries for all members and not for pvt. discussion .So there i s no question of spoiling your thread.
Please go through all the posts before you post yours.
We have no problem with the vista with fiats engine+gear box and the dealers are quite happy maintaining it. The V2 that was the one we are complaining about it has to be maintained to at least for 5 years which they will cross 150000 minimum in these years.
I agree that we chose the wrong one as you said.
But the reliable cars are to be reliable on severe conditions too.