Tata Motor’s Cars – The Ultimate Reliability Survey

How Much Satisfied You Are with Your Tata Car?

This information is regarding for the 2 tata cars owned by me and till date iam fully satisfied with the product. But it would be nice if TATA would have done more road testing with Indigo (first variant) before launching it.

CAR 1:

1) car model and variant : TATA Indigo (LS)
2) date of purchase : March 2005
3) Kms travelled : 125000 kms
4) build quality : Good
5) coustomer service experience ( good ,bad,worst or excellent): Good
6) a.s.s experience ( good,bad,worst, or excellent): Good
7) warranty issues: Started motor Replacement for entire batch and Fule Pump upgradation
8) if the car has been vfm : Absolutely Yes
9) issues and niggles faced so far : Only with starting of Car due to problem in Starter motor and Fuel Pump (both were rectified after replacement)
10) satisfaction levels (-/10) : 7.5

CAR 2:

1) car model and variant : TATA ARAI PLEASURE (4x4)
2) date of purchase : Feb 2012
3) Kms travelled : 16000 kms
4) build quality : Very Good
5) coustomer service experience ( good ,bad,worst or excellent): Very Good
6) a.s.s experience ( good,bad,worst, or excellent): Good
7) warranty issues: PTL Updation, Few PDI Issues (like battery terminal loose connection, etc)
8) if the car has been vfm : Absolutely Yes
9) issues and niggles faced so far : Not worth mentioning it here (people can check out on my Aria Thread)
10) satisfaction levels (-/10) : 8.5 (could have been more if they iron out few initial niggles.)

As a TATA Car owner iam fully satisfied with my both cars (otherwise i would'nt have opted ARIA after Indigo). Its just their ASS which need immediate upgradation and they should have a dedicated team for Brand Tracking.

Re: Tata Motor’s Cars – The Ultimate Reliability Survey

1) car model and variant
2) date of purchase
3) Kms travelled
4) build quality
5) coustomer service experience ( good ,bad,worst or excellent)
6) a.s.s experience ( good,bad,worst, or excellent)
7) warranty issues
8) if the car has been vfm
9) issues and niggles faced so far
10) satisfaction levels (-/10)
+1 to it. Lets follow this protocol. It will help a lot to others. [:)]

sandip24, this format is given by the thread starter in his first post and everybody (current and previous owners of TATA Motors cars) posted their views in the same format.

1) car model and variant - Tata Safari Dicor 3.0 2007 model lx
2) date of purchase - 12th March
3) Kms travelled -77000
4) build quality - tough,well built
5) coustomer service experience ( good ,bad,worst or excellent)- good
6) a.s.s experience ( good,bad,worst, or excellent) - bad,clutch plate having to b replaced every 25000 kms,already changed 3 times,other parts breaking and high service bills
7) warranty issues - good warranty 2 and a half yrs plus 1 and a half extended
8) if the car has been vfm - no as ASS has been very expensive
9) issues and niggles faced so far - slated above
10) satisfaction levels (-/10)- 4/10

As you would have noticed i am 'not satisfied' at all with the Safari and when i exchange views with A.S.S representatives, they always say "sir its a heavy car,clutch plate par toh assar padega hi" and also say "Safari is a 'white elephant' to maintain".This coming from TATA A.S.S people themselves.Its not just the clutch plate but other small parts keep breaking on and off which are not covered in warranty.Very bad experience of owning this car,i will never go for a 'TATA' car again,as i feel they are still way behind in their Research and Developement compared to other foreign manufacturers even though they have acquired global brands like Jaguar and Land Rover.Dont get me wrong,im a very patriotic guy but am jus dissapointed with Tata.They need to learn something from Maruti,I own an Maruti Sx4 aswell,have never had any issues with that and even service cost is minimal ...much lesser then premium hatchbacks even.So i would suggest no-one to go for a Safari.

1) car model and variant - Tata Safari Dicor 3.0 2007 model lx
2) date of purchase - 12th March
3) Kms travelled -77000
4) build quality - tough,well built
5) coustomer service experience ( good ,bad,worst or excellent)- good
6) a.s.s experience ( good,bad,worst, or excellent) - bad,clutch plate having to b replaced every 25000 kms,already changed 3 times,other parts breaking and high service bills
7) warranty issues - good warranty 2 and a half yrs plus 1 and a half extended
8) if the car has been vfm - no as ASS has been very expensive
9) issues and niggles faced so far - slated above
10) satisfaction levels (-/10)- 4/10
satisfaction of 40% and good customer service? [confused]

Re: Tata Motor’s Cars – The Ultimate Reliability Thread

Although I dont own any TATA car, sorry to sneak in between the thread.
Going through the replies I found that most of people owing TATA cars have given satisfaction levels more than 8 and few have satisfaction levels as 10. This shows that TATA cars are not as bad as what other people out in India thinks. Just that people don't want to come out of mentality of buying Marutis.
There seems to be a beat around maruti's in most of your posts why dont you please be relevant to the topic, if you hate maruti much i guess you can start a thread and show all your anguish [frustration]

There is too much of bashing on TATA car's mentioning its not good and worse, first we must understand that any car from different brands which come to india is not been launched in india first it runs a go in other countries and then comes to india taking all the beating there and come back with all corrections done, and mind you these problems occurs to those cars after their fantastic R&D team has given a go for a launch

In india be it TATA or Maruti's you can hate them, but not avoid them, the sales figures do prove that and my fellow TAI'ns might come back in support of Fiat and HONDA but not mostly for TATA or Maruti's and that can be seen throughout in the forum

There are wonderful and superb horror ASS experiences for Honda's and Fiat's too, i have my friend who could not source a Fiat spare part (the italian beauty or whats so ever) for his 1Year old car for almost a month's time, now when you talk about ASS we must also speak about availability of spares, and now don't tell me spares last long on the premium brand, as nothing can last long as TATA spare with the rough drive they go through.As a standard practice some brands change their diesel filter every 30K and i have seen indica's with diesel filter not changed for more than 90K on the ODO and still going strong that much for Reliability

Reliability varies according to class

For an average Joe reliability of a brand should not put a hole to his pocket and TATA has done it wonderfully, they are the most cheapest on spares

My friend who could only afford a indica vista at this point of his life, should not buy a Skoda Fabia for its reliablity because he might have to shell out in thousands if he has to replace a side view mirror but that's not the same with the TATA

He can take all the beating, be cheap to you on your pockets, munch miles like others in considerably average speeds and end of the day he keeps you happy taking all the abuse
and now there stands a car which is reliable

Niggling issues which most of them have mentioned have also been heard on Polo's and punto's so take a chill pill because we TATA car owners are happy at the end of the day

Its sometimes so frustrating when someone who has never owned a TATA car speaks about its reliability, i have commented on the Honda City (previously owned) & Fiat Punto(My close buddy's car, which i drive most of the times)

If i had given this above mentioned views its after reading most of the views of some members, by just mentioning if for asake of it to give a bash to the TATA, i tried to keep away from it but some views are so hilarious[lol] like when they say i would never buy a TATA again, but be here in to a TATA's thread out of some curiosity [surprise]

@swift, what happened buddy , had a bad day today?

I agree,Tata is most friendly rest of the brands behaves more dramatic.

but Ass of Tata is nowhere par with competetion.I did not see any change since last 3 year. 12th passout would be working on engine and he will move out within 6months ,comes next who was supplier in super market and saga continues.

last time I got my car delievered without proper interior cleaning ,I spewed my anger on Tech assistant. He called the cleaning kid aged around 17 or 18 and scoffed. Poor kid was almost on tears , he dint knew what was to be done other than some verbal trainings.
Obviously I said leave it, and was about to leave when the TA reminded me give good feedbacks on the cards. sigh how do I ?.

Ok, here is my take on my Tata Vista car.
1) Vista QJD Aura ABS
2) 27-08-2011
3) 11800km
4) Good. Overall satisfied
5) It's been very good.
6) Very good. Always get good attention and treatment
7) Thankfully haven't faced one till date. Will update if i come across any
8) It's been more than VFM coz i could not have asked for more for the money i paid!
9) Hmmm...none infact!
10) I'd give 8.5 as of today!

@Swift

If a topic is started you can expect some good and bad things about it. So if the more bashing then its the more shining [clap]. Be cool to accept anybodies views and give an answer to it if possible as we cannot stop some thing called "right to speech" and "right to post" here.

@Swift

If a topic is started you can expect some good and bad things about it. So if the more bashing then its the more shining [clap]. Be cool to accept anybodies views and give an answer to it if possible as we cannot stop some thing called "right to speech" and "right to post" here.
@ Gurrala74 Yes my friend, but let me explain to you a scenario, let's get out of cars and let us take it on some bikes

You have a Royal enfield and have it for more than 6-7 years and always sticks on to whatever it needs and maintain it in mint condition with its regular wear and tear being it your daily ride, by the way most of us work on our royal enfield bullet in a (available, reliable mechanic shop and not the ASS, mathcing the above scenario) how much ever worse the ASS is we might not be concerned or bothered and you know what your vehicle is worth for and how much it can stand and how long he can go in one go

And now you have some one like me who owns a Jap bike and never rode a RE bullet, if i come down and tell that RE is a worthless bike and its all the pain about its ASS and rough ride, won't you be a bit out of mind because i have never owned one or never driven anything of the league what you have but just putting down my views for a [clap]

If i had owned one the words from my mouth would be different and matured and a fellow owner would easily get to know about it by the way i express

Sometimes i feel like just laughing off with this views by unknown but sometimes its so hard to digest, its like a life long Hatch back owner telling that SUV's are really not worth the money you pay for it, my call you would never know what it is and what its capable of, be it any car/MUV?SUV unless you have atleast used the car/bike for more than 500KMS or 1 week

But i get you point and would refrain myself from getting into some boiled conversation which might heat up others

:sorry: Apologise folks if my post had hurted some others who might have been indirectly found themshelves linked it against them

@swift, what happened buddy , had a bad day today?

I agree,Tata is most friendly rest of the brands behaves more dramatic.

but Ass of Tata is nowhere par with competetion.I did not see any change since last 3 year. 12th passout would be working on engine and he will move out within 6months ,comes next who was supplier in super market and saga continues.

last time I got my car delievered without proper interior cleaning ,I spewed my anger on Tech assistant. He called the cleaning kid aged around 17 or 18 and scoffed. Poor kid was almost on tears , he dint knew what was to be done other than some verbal trainings.
Obviously I said leave it, and was about to leave when the TA reminded me give good feedbacks on the cards. sigh how do I ?.
@jayadev Hey buddy, no not at something to do with the day just my views replied to Gurrala74 in my last post. yes, but could have been a bit smooth my bad [surprise]

I hope in my place TATA service is doing better as its mainly due to the competetion or might be a good Works manager on the floor, my friends punto gets all the attention it needs its something to do with the link ups i guess and by the way he was promoted some 6-7 months back

My view why don't you opt for Mytvs or some similar set up they are really good professionals and picking up recently all the detailing stuffs you can get a discounted yearly package if you have a talk after 1 service there, my friend who uses a Chevy cruze normally does the detailing/clean ups with them and go to the ASS for just oil change and part replacement if any..

Re: Tata Motor’s Cars – The Ultimate Reliability Thread

There seems to be a beat around maruti's in most of your posts why dont you please be relevant to the topic, if you hate maruti much i guess you can start a thread and show all your anguish [frustration]
I have nothing personal against Maruti, I had Maruti Zen for 6-7 months and you can go and read my ownership review to know it's fate. And as far as you talk about FIAT, I never said that I have got a premium service by TASS. I had hard time resolving one issue. That also you can go and read in my ownership review.

My point is not to bash Maruti, but the point is that (and everyone also knows about), most of Indians without even thinking what their need is and what car and brand will suit them, will buy Maruti. Of course there are more pros with Maruti. But other brands are also not that bad. And I never said I am against Maruti. I my self booked Swift only following herds mentality without doing any details analysis and research. Then I eventually changed to PUNTO due to reasons. You can go through my ownership review here as well. Well when you say I hate Marutis, More than that I hate FIAT as a brand, but love FIAT cars.

When any Maruti car have problem, people have tendency to ignore it, I have seen it myself. but smaller problem in other cars or brand, People go bashing out with shouting the hell out.

My Zen have given me more trouble than my PUNTO and more visits to mechanic than PUNTO. Where Maruti cars are considered reliable years after years. So this is from my experience and not just blindly following the others.

And this is going quite OT here. So if you want to have debate we start other thread. Name of thread "Maruti Bashers" [lol]

As you would have noticed i am 'not satisfied' at all with the Safari and when i exchange views with A.S.S representatives, they always say "sir its a heavy car,clutch plate par toh assar padega hi" and also say "Safari is a 'white elephant' to maintain".This coming from TATA A.S.S people themselves.Its not just the clutch plate but other small parts keep breaking on and off which are not covered in warranty.Very bad experience of owning this car,i will never go for a 'TATA' car again,as i feel they are still way behind in their Research and Developement compared to other foreign manufacturers even though they have acquired global brands like Jaguar and Land Rover.Dont get me wrong,im a very patriotic guy but am jus dissapointed with Tata.They need to learn something from Maruti,I own an Maruti Sx4 aswell,have never had any issues with that and even service cost is minimal ...much lesser then premium hatchbacks even.So i would suggest no-one to go for a Safari.
it seems i have missed your explanation.

i too had received similar feedback from many of safari owners and that is the reason i had avoided tata aria even when they were offering huge discounts to 2011 aria during december.