Tata Manza Ownership Experience: Eighth Year

Re: After One Year - Manza Ownership Experience

Autosafari's wild safari in Manza:biggrin:.But seriously loved these wild pics.Car looks stunning especially in the 2nd and last 3 pics.

PS: Will wait for your wild safari in Storme.[thumbsup]

lxi.

Very nice and really wild pics. Your Manza looks Elegant.
The last pic is just awesome.

For the lip spoiler, Check at TASS for it or you can find a variety in aftermarkte shops!

Cheers.
Good Luck!

Thread Starter #63

Thanks Xover and lxi.

In last summer did a round trip of about 5000 km - from Daman to Kerala, some local in Kerala and than back to Daman.

It was an exciting trip and fully enjoyed the pleasure of travelling in Manza.

Travelled 23 hours continous to cover 1700 km. My family and me were fully enjoying the journery and never felt tired.

I have selected Manza for the comfort factor and this trip fully justified my decision.

Our expert driver Nazir bhai was brilliant. He took Manza to some extreame tests of performance and durability.

He has taken the car to 165 kmph and then 170 in NH4.

Most of the time he was at 140 to 145 levels. There was a braking test at that speeds too. (Thanks to Manza and Nazir bhai we were safe in our non ABS car)

More about this trip is gievn in this thread http://www.theautomotiveindia.com/forums/voyage-junction/4385-kerala-daman-single-day.html
- it was my first post in TAI.

IMG20110620_001.jpg

IMG20110509_002.jpg

lxi.

Autosafari - Nice Pics of the Trip. I can see loads of empty stretch. Hope you enjoyed a lot with the car!
Anyways, Theres one question- I have read in many TD reviews that Manza is NOT powerful enough to pull 4 people on board without any luggage on a steep incline. Steep , Atleast 50 degree. Have you also felt in some trips or while driving? And, How many kms done buddy?

Thread Starter #66

Theres one question- I have read in many TD reviews that Manza is NOT powerful enough to pull 4 people on board without any luggage on a steep incline. Steep , Atleast 50 degree. Have you also felt in some trips or while driving? And, How many kms done buddy?
Dear lxi, I don't think any normal passenger car can climb a 50 degree gradient.

Maximum gradient a normal passenger car can climb is 33 to 35 degree.

There are several factors in climbing a gradient like tyre size, grip between the tyre and road surface etc.

I never felt Manza having any issue in climbing gradients in public roads.

We had a fantastic trip last August through the ghats. Climbing was smooth with 4 adults and two children on board and carrying 4 medium trolley suitcases in the boot.

Done 12000 km now and planning a 6000 km trip next month.

Thread Starter #68

6000 ks trip? Any where to the south, say, touching Bangalore/Chennai?
Its a round trip to Kerala and some local travel within
Kerala and Tamil Nadu. Route is through Bangalore. Chennai is not planned.

lxi.

Wow, Good Luck for the next adventure!
Drive safe, Buckle Up!

Cheers!

Thread Starter #70

Amazing pics of the manza in the wild, well done!!
Thanks Iron Rock.

Driving through that unpaved roads was wonderful.

Wow, Good Luck for the next adventure!
Thanks lxi.

After the long trip to Kerala, it was time for the second service.

Second free service is between 5000 to 5500 km.

Odo reading was 6217 after the trip.

Did not book for an appointment since I was busy.

Car was looking damn dirty after the trip and then just went to the Service center, Rathod Motors in Vapi.

Initially they were hesitant because there is no appointment and odo reading also exceeded the limits.

Receptionist at the service center consulted with the senior SA and he inturn refered it to the Manager.

Service center Manager agreed to accept the car for service and consider it as second free service only. (He adviced me not exceed the odo reading limit for the 3rd service)

Charges for the second service: Rs 0
Additional charges for oil top up: Rs 425 for half litre synthetic oil.

lxi.

Oh, SO your car has completed second service. Strange that they were consulting people to agree to take the car for service. IT is nothing like it in MASS, Just come and give the car, If you come early, CAr will be serviced early and Vice versa. I did book an appointment this Feb but came late (I am LAzy, Woke up at 11.00 as came to home at 3 the previous day!) and gave the car at 11.30, But then also , i got the car at 1.15 ! Maybe the did my car first as it was a paid service!

Thread Starter #72

Strange that they were consulting people to agree to take the car for service. IT is nothing like it in MASS, Just come and give the car, If you come early, CAr will be serviced early and Vice versa. I did book an appointment this Feb but came late (I am LAzy, Woke up at 11.00 as came to home at 3 the previous day!) and gave the car at 11.30, But then also , i got the car at 1.15 ! Maybe the did my car first as it was a paid service!
Paid service always make a difference.

They were hesitant initially because of two reasons -
Odo reading has exceeded the 2nd free service intervel. In such cases, many of the Service centers consider it as 3rd free service. Here in my case they considered it as 2nd service only.

Normally, Rathod motors service center is full with customers waiting for service and its very difficult to accomodate without appointment.

Thread Starter #73

A trip to Ajanta and Ellora.

Also my first drive in a hill road/ghats.

That was wonderful.

We were on the way to Aurangabad via Nasik through Jawahar.

Was climbing up in a fairly good speed (to catch up with the other two cars in our team). Did not notice a sharp turn - a u turn infact - and had to steer hard suddenly to avoid going off the road. Car did turn fast and continued climbing up and negotiated the curve without loosing stability.

Manza may not be great in handling but it handled well when situation demanded and responded well to sudden steering input in highspeed.

That was a trip we enjoyed well. Details about the trip and pictures are available in http://www.theautomotiveindia.com/f...nta-ellora-trip-fabulous-pictures-inside.html

CAR1.jpg

CAR2.jpg

Thread Starter #75

Did you get to drive Laura during this trip,if yes then how different it felt from Manza?
Xover, there is no comparison with Laura in terms of fit and finish and panel gaps. Build quality also is better in Laura.

Its an 18 lac car (Laura L&K 2.0 TDI AT) with power and high speed capability. 140 HP and 320 Nm torque from the 2 litre engine, stance of an SUV with its 16" alloys and heavy panels.

And automatic driving is in a different style.

But poor Manza excelled in one thing - Back seat comfort and space. This was the impression of my colleagues also.