Tata Hexa Finally Launched. Priced @ ₹11.99 Lakh (Details: Pg.68)

Guys, came across this awesome video of Tata Hexa crossing river / water stream. And guess what, its just a XTA variant. I don't have any complaints now on their direct take on Jeep Compass - "Takes you Anywhere, No Compass required ! - No other way to say it. There - We said it." Period.

When was the last time we saw such powerful lines from TML on their products. Sales depend on many factors but they are quite confident on their offering. Kudos TML [clap]

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cpqIlg-T-Js

Same video in top view to get an idea of the water depth:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=56qjMQi0P7A

Any muv can do this.

Guys, came across this awesome video of Tata Hexa crossing river / water stream. And guess what, its just a XTA variant. I don't have any complaints now on their direct take on Jeep Compass - "Takes you Anywhere, No Compass required ! - No other way to say it. There - We said it." Period.

When was the last time we saw such powerful lines from TML on their products. Sales depend on many factors but they are quite confident on their offering. Kudos TML [clap]

I'm curious to know the reliability of AT 4X4s VS MT 4X4s especially in this water wading and slush treats , since if we analyse the data, AT cars are more vulnerable to water based /flood damages than MT cars and are very much expensive to repair if damaged since it has complex electronics & expensive components beneath & around the transmission comparatively !

There is a breather pipe on top of the AT gear box. As long as the water doesn't go to that level there​ won't be any damage to the gearbox.

Just asking, are you by any chance associated with Tata Motors or anything in reward being paid to you?

To make things clear Jeep compass is just launched and has nothing to do with the video you have posted (Not even a comparo with compass), for that matter there are loads in youtube of different vehicles sold in India doing these off roading.

Also note, Never meant to naysay about the Hexa and infact I'd buy the Hexa instead of the compass because of the former's expensive pricing when you're given an option between these both.

wOw, Nice video.

After watching this one, [lol]

Thanks for explaining, crossing river can't be the Best part of any vehicle. Any vehicle can do that but driver should be a skilled person.

BTW happy to see sudden movement in HEXA thread after launch of Jeep COMPASS.

I do agree that Hexa is a worthy and a capable off-roader no doubts but the particular statement by Tata wasn't needed really. I have been a part of Hexa Off-Road Adventure for 2 seasons and yes it does have good water-wading capability. Also, not to be forgotten that, Jeep Compass also gets built in the JV Facility of TATA Motors. In a way, it is like denouncing one of their own partner's product.

When was the last time we saw such powerful lines from TML on their products. Sales depend on many factors but they are quite confident on their offering. Kudos TML
Hexa is a capable product and whether there is a tagline or not, it would sell on it's merits.

Just asking, are you by any chance associated with Tata Motors or anything in reward being paid to you?

To make things clear Jeep compass is just launched and has nothing to do with the video you have posted (Not even a comparo with compass), for that matter there are loads in youtube of different vehicles sold in India doing these off roading.
Jagrover, adding to what Vishwas told, If you have followed the media drive videos of Jeep Compass then you'll surely be knowing that even Compass has a capable off-roading capability. Lets give a fair chance to it. Recently, I went on one of the "Off-Road" experience where Jeep under-utilized the capability of Compass but actually it is also a good one.

Also note, Never meant to naysay about the Hexa and infact I'd buy the Hexa instead of the compass
Moreover, Hexa has more seating capacity, bigger engine and many other merits make it a worthy purchase option in comparison to Compass. Actually, its good to have a personal choice for cars but we shouldn't downgrade a worthy competitor too.

"Takes you Anywhere, No Compass required ! - No other way to say it. There - We said it." Period.
After driving the Hexa several times, I am sad to announce that not a single TD car was perfect, each had an issue or two. Finally 2 owners came to my rescue by letting me drive their Hexa, the way I wished. I am just done with my review and the drive I did today, sent me back to MS word to make further changes.

Coming to compass, Hexa simply can't match the overall performance and the cabin ambience, same for the clutch and gearbox. Only ride is where Hexa excels in front of Compass (I drove one very thoroughly, so thoroughly that I was over 100 in third, and discovered it's dissatisfying braking performance at high speeds with quick ABS kick in). I seriously want to shoot the person who first time said that Compass brakes very well, it seriously doesn't do. Hexa has better ride, but Compass is quite close and overall the Compass clearly feels a segment above the Hexa once you drive it, and that delicious clutch is just wow.

Hexa Vs Compass:

If it's Hexa AT, then I wouldn't want to steer while accelerating it hard on loose surface, in fact the rear of Hexa seems to be loosing grip under hard acceleration if the surface is a bit loose. Compass is completely different animal there, FWD is always better on loose surface or ice, one can't deny that.

Water wading or hard off road climbing, well, Hexa any day for me. That's a good video you posted @Jagrover. Others may not agree but it shows that the rear is having enough weight to maintain grip and the suspension has enough of the travel that none of the two wheels loose the grip. Put an MLD at back and Hexa AT can beat many open diff 4x4s.

If your purpose was to prove that even a Maruti 800 can do what that Hexa did, then sorry dear, you have failed miserably. Here you have a Maruti 800 driving into bumper deep water and there is a Hexa which went to grille level water, there is a huge difference. Had it been a Brezza, the featherlight Maruti may have lost the grip and got displaced by several feet by the water.

It's important to note that the Hexa in that video didn't carry any momentum from back and that makes it appreciable, no matter you guys praise it or not. Even if that Hexa driver is a sure shot idiot.

Seriously, this is a good car for idiots, I did idiocy of forgetting to note that the rear tyre is punctured and it didn't kill me at elevated speeds by bursting the tyre and toppling over. Awesome suspension and bigger rims didn't let me know, nor did the chauffy. Recently I saw 2 pics of flat tyres, I have always been telling everyone that heavy vehicle + low profile tyres + under inflation = sure shot damage. Always drive at 35 psi and it will always be awesome.

Any muv can do this.
Even an 'SUV' like XUV or Duster can't in their 4x2 guise. Some things are better left for true blue RWDs with high rear wheel articulation. I tried something similar in a Crysta, no water but only some loose gravel, the result was bad. Whereas our own member Archit (Handle - Type-R) had the Hexa AT beaten like one will never do to his car, drove on loose sand and what not, still that car never got stuck or let them down. I got that media car after them and I was surprised that how it even managed to be alive after such torture.

It's a tata so it's obviously a 100 times better. No other car can do it with such ease. [roll] time to unsubscribe the thread once again.
C'mon man, look at the positive side too. That video should be critically inspected before giving comments, in my opinion it is appreciable.

Thanks for explaining, crossing river can't be the Best part of any vehicle. Any vehicle can do that but driver should be a skilled person.
Seriously, this is the guy on this thread, whose not a single post is deniable for me.

Jagrover, adding to what Vishwas told, If you have followed the media drive videos of Jeep Compass then you'll surely be knowing that even Compass has a capable off-roading capability. Lets give a fair chance to it. Recently, I went on one of the "Off-Road" experience where Jeep under-utilized the capability of Compass but actually it is also a good one.
You should utilize your time in searching for a girl for marrying, you need to get married for your mental peace now. So, better leave Hexa and Compass and focus on Hema and Chhaya. :biggrin:

You should utilize your time in searching for a girl for marrying, you need to get married for your mental peace now. So, better leave Hexa and Compass and focus on Hema and Chhaya.
All of them i.e Hema, Rekha, Jaya aur Sushma can wait[lol]. My priority is cars for now and I wish even on day of my marriage, I shall be attending an automotive event and before the pherra(s) complete the upload of the launch coverage. BTW, when can I see the Hexa Review Vipul? I am eagerly waiting!

@TSIVipul Thanks for taking the video in the right sense.

Dear all, I just posted a video showing some offroading with a 4x2 AT variant. I felt it was genuinely good. Maybe the 4x4 variant can do even better stuff. I didn't say a word against Compass. I just quoted the very recent TML wordings and connected with the video. I just meant Hexa can manage those scenarios. Reiterate the fact that they are not simply advertising but have got those offroading credentials. And this is Hexa thread and I believe this is the place where it should be posted. I am happy that the thread is active now just with a single post.

@Vishwas Why you felt like that. TML giving me rewards? No brother. Nothing yet.

July 2017 :Tata Hexa getting right traction with GST .
July2017.jpg
July 2017

The Top UVs above 10 lakhs rupees: Scorpio,Br-V,Duster,Creta,Hexa,XUV,Crysta,Compass,Tiguan,Endeavour & Fortuner contributes about 35K units, which is HUGE!
Is it a sign of country's economic growth ?

Meanwhile how many of you guys feel that the classification of UVs by AutoPunditz is just a nonsense?
Scorpio looks odd in compact SUVs,SCross looks odd in compact SUVs, Hexa looks odd in MUVs while XUV looks odd in SUVs, also note that they completely forget to include the Jeep Compass which fits in both SUVs & C-SUVs ,but preferably along with Tiguan!

BTW, when can I see the Hexa Review Vipul?
That's a nice question actually. Review is going in TIP in a couple of hours. I was about to do it yesterday, but then I felt that the manual drive section isnt yet justifiable and so was for interior, you know, the half baked job in college life. Hence redone most of it and putting in TIP in a couple of hours.

Rest, the only hint is that once Hexa videos appear on my Youtube, it means that the review is in TIP ready to be served. After that starts the nightmare of Vibhor, I appreciate him every time when I get around 100 PMs stating the editing work he has done. A lot of headache I give him and Akash over phone, and even more missed deadlines.

Seriously, this is the guy on this thread, whose not a single post is deniable for me.
[:)]

Nothing against HEXA, actually I want to see good numbers of HEXA's sold every month as it is a Indian product. Actual hate is for TML to not to keep price of HEXA competitive with competition (My opinion), and not able to sell more units. For me its totally TML's fault.

All of them i.e Hema, Rekha, Jaya aur Sushma can wait[lol]. My priority is cars for now and I wish even on day of my marriage, I shall be attending an automotive event and before the pherra(s) complete the upload of the launch coverage. BTW, when can I see the Hexa Review Vipul? I am eagerly waiting!

I appreciate this kind of thinking, Yes family is IMP but you can not keep your love for automotive aside every time.

@TSIVipul Thanks for taking the video in the right sense.

Dear all, I just posted a video showing some offroading with a 4x2 AT variant. I felt it was genuinely good. Maybe the 4x4 variant can do even better stuff. I didn't say a word against Compass. I just quoted the very recent TML wordings and connected with the video. I just meant Hexa can manage those scenarios. Reiterate the fact that they are not simply advertising but have got those offroading credentials. And this is Hexa thread and I believe this is the place where it should be posted. I am happy that the thread is active now just with a single post.

@Vishwas Why you felt like that. TML giving me rewards? No brother. Nothing yet.
I have seen a review on Youtube where they tried Off-Roading with HEXA & XUV5OO. Seriously HEXA did that effortlessly where XUV5OO managed to complete it but it was not a easy task for XUV5OO. One thing I understood with all the videos of Off Road events posted on youtube, XUV5OO's AWD system is less capable if you compared it to HEXA, SAFARI, SCORPIO & Fortuner. But if I am in the market to buy SUV till Rs.20 Lacs, it will be XUV5OO!!!

BTW may be you are not getting any rewards from TML but in future may be they will provide you some sort of souvenir. I got few from Mahindra for supporting them on FB. [:D]

July 2017 :Tata Hexa getting right traction with GST .
View attachment 229655
July 2017

The Top UVs above 10 lakhs rupees: Scorpio,Br-V,Duster,Creta,Hexa,XUV,Crysta,Compass,Tiguan,Endeavour & Fortuner contributes about 35K units, which is HUGE!
Is it a sign of country's economic growth ?

Meanwhile how many of you guys feel that the classification of UVs by AutoPunditz is just a nonsense?
Scorpio looks odd in compact SUVs,SCross looks odd in compact SUVs, Hexa looks odd in MUVs while XUV looks odd in SUVs, also note that they completely forget to include the Jeep Compass which fits in both SUVs & C-SUVs ,but preferably along with Tiguan!
Then where XUV5OO will fit??

Right now our official Hexa review is going into TIP, here are a few excerpts which may help you understand my opinion on Hexa (Note: It's raw, final editing remains):

I have read at many places that the middle row of the XUV feels better, hence I went to drive an XUV, and then Hexa, and repeated this thrice, finally I can say that XUV has got a contoured rear seat and lighter interior, but if you want a bench in which you can recline and sleep (I am a bench guy because I believe in sleeping like an animal, hence no captain seats for me) with a thick armrest open, then it is the bench of the Hexa which is the best one to be in, this side of 50 lac (Now start making list, I have said that and I won’t change my statement). Coming to captain seats, they are the same ones as you get in the front and they get lumbar support adjustment to – wicked, that makes them better than those of Crysta by half a point, hip point and thigh support is just spot on and the shape of the backrest is simply brilliant, good enough that coupled to the brilliant ride of Hexa, this seat will never get you tired, even if you travel for entire day.

the third row is nowhere comparable to any of the front rows but still if I am being offered the third row of any car under 50 lac, then Hexa is the one I will prefer, not for the seats, but seats + ride combo that makes it the best. The third row occupants also get C pillar mounted AC vents along with their dedicated cup holders. Once again, I appreciate Tata for not giving the roof mounted Ac vents, third row occupants are most helpless in front of those direct-to-head air blowing vents.
Engine is my favorite, hence that won't be shared.