Tata Hexa Finally Launched. Priced @ ₹11.99 Lakh (Details: Pg.68)

I visited one of the Tata motors showroom here in Hyderabad to test drive XTA. I was asked to wait. After 15 mins one person showed up and said ..please wait sir. our executive is busy with other customer. I asked him is there only one executive in the showroom. His response was yes sir only one who deals with HEXA. Rest of the 14 or 15 folks are dealing with tiago, tigor and zest. That executive came and told me he is taking other customer for test drive. Waited for 30 mins and left the showroom thinking how on this earth Tata can sell 3000+ HEXA's in a month with this kind of dealers. I seriously think they need to plan like NEXA type of dealership if they have to really sell HEXA. I never got this kind of treatment even from remote location Maruti dealers. Next question on my mind was how will they treat when I come for service/some issues.

Nope, Q5 platform is from JLR and it can be used for both type of vehicles if am not wrong and Tata will eliminate all the platforms and there will be only two platforms, AMP and Q5. Amp for hatchbacks, sedan and other Compact UVs and Q5 for proper SUV's & alike.

So by this theory upcoming SUV's will be based on Q5 and lifestyle trucks As well.

Nope, Q5 platform is from JLR and it can be used for both type of vehicles if am not wrong and Tata will eliminate all the platforms and there will be only two platforms, AMP and Q5. Amp for hatchbacks, sedan and other Compact UVs and Q5 for proper SUV's & alike.
So by this theory upcoming SUV's will be based on Q5 and lifestyle trucks As well.
"Q5 from JLR", "Tata will eliminate all platforms", "AMP for hatchbacks....& Q5 for.......". All these verbal gymnastics, acrobatics & playing with jargon - has it resulted in the Hexa flying out of the showrooms yet? No doubt TM has great products in the pipe line, but instead of these well planned media leaks, I feel they should focus on getting their marketing, sales & ASS act together.
Reading AutoKrish's post (above) gives a fair idea of where the problem lies. As I've said earlier, TM should remove their snout from the JLR food-bag and focus on their in-house problems. And having their showroom staff walking with their noses in the air is not going to get them anywhere.

I visited one of the Tata motors showroom here in Hyderabad to test drive XTA. I was asked to wait. After 15 mins one person showed up and said ..please wait sir. our executive is busy with other customer. I asked him is there only one executive in the showroom. His response was yes sir only one who deals with HEXA.
Pathetic attitude, still beats me why are all TML dealers so lethargic? Why is there no hunger in them to get a sale? Don't the SAs there get good salary/incentives? Personally have experienced this same behaviour in most other brands except for Maruti/Hyundai and the results are end of every month. These two have nearly 70% market share!

I believe a Maruti dealer will sell an Alto800 more aggressively than a TML dealer selling a Hexa!

Which dealer was this?

This dealer is Tejaswi motors near hi-tech city area. I cannot imagine dealership attitude in the middle of HI-TECH city. Anyway I did not give up and went to other dealer near by. He is better but not in the leagues of Hyundai or NEXA. He promptly took care of me trying to explain. I told him I am aware of the variantsfeatures etc. let us go for test drive. He was very good and asked me to test drive on broken roads as well as on open roads.
I really liked automatic transmission in XTA. Best of the three (Innova, XUV and Hexa) I drove in last 3 three days. It is very eager and had enough power from the GO it is well connected through out Overall better experience than what I expected. I almost made up my mind but
- family sitting in the middle felt vibrations are very high on stop go traffic. We are new to diesel vehicles (all cars so far are petrol. current one being City). I felt vibrations in Innova as well but lesser than HEXA. Not sure if it is do anything with test drive car (this is what I told family trying to convince them)
- I am big fan of safety kit. I always wonder why government is not mandating all car makers to provide safety kits as optional pack for all variants of any car. This car misses ESC/TCS for no reason and not able to understand why. I tested hill hold on XTA seems to be working ok. Brochure says Hill Hold is in-built in XTA. There are two tiny buttons in steering wheel. Sales person told me those are hill hold/hill descent buttons on XTA. not sure it is really that.
- slightly higher ingress/egress
- heavy steering feel at low speeds.

Still contemplating between XTA vs Hyundai SX(O) AT ( I know both are in different league). Both these cars miss ISOFIX Child Seat Anchors. Not sure how critical is this. I have small kid and I put him in child seat using ISOFIX mounts on my City.

"Q5 from JLR", "Tata will eliminate all platforms", "AMP for hatchbacks....& Q5 for.......". All these verbal gymnastics, acrobatics & playing with jargon - has it resulted in the Hexa flying out of the showrooms yet? No doubt TM has great products in the pipe line, but instead of these well planned media leaks, I feel they should focus on getting their marketing, sales & ASS act together.
Reading AutoKrish's post (above) gives a fair idea of where the problem lies. As I've said earlier, TM should remove their snout from the JLR food-bag and focus on their in-house problems. And having their showroom staff walking with their noses in the air is not going to get them anywhere.
Actually Q5 is not only jargon and will help Tata in a really good manner with very less investment as they will get it from JLR for free with all the dies and infra as JLR is moved to new one. It is far better and advanced than current Hexa platform (X2) and pretty cost effective solution.

And amp might take time however again the cost effective way and easy to churn out more models with scalable capacity with very low investment in long run.

Talking about Hexa sales, Tata is meeting their sales target and exceeding their installed capacity. And don't forget it is a stop gap arrangement and an improved Aria, still selling in comparatively good numbers than lot of other vehicles from various big global brands in the price range except Toyota and Hyundai.

Yes, the work towards dealership attitude and ASS is required and am sure they are working towards that and still a lot of way to cross to reach there

I tried one showroom in Mumbai after launch of Hexa. It was not so mind-blowing experience but It was a good experience. It really feels bad to see that after this many years TML tried to give a good product but their sales executives, Dealers are not interested. May be they are angry with TML to not to update their flagship products properly for almost 10 years [confused].

I thought Hexa will break some records after the launch but it been almost 6 months & sales numbers are eyesore. Many TML lovers & follower TAI members are giving explanation about those pathetic sales numbers like TML don't have facility to produce more than 1000 Hexa in a month, Its been a mess by TML side that they send wrong models to dealers etc.

I actually not able to trust these reasons as If I am a company who is giving its best in a product I will be more responsible to produce more & more numbers as per demand and try to provide good if not the Best service to customers. Yes In marketing department TML did a tremendous job but in core customer experience they failed.

Thread Starter #1,571
Oh yes, however I think Q501 can be a good platform for a lifestyle truck and Tata can Revive Rover brand with that.
Q501 platform is to build passenger body cars they are not suitable for pickup truck form vehicles because body on frame is best platform for pickup trucks instead of unibody chassis

I agree with you however in our market pickup truck and lifestyle trucks are in a totally different form.

And pick up Xenon xt is already present in TATA lineup and yes new model can be designed with Hexa appearance however a lifestyle truck would be built on Q5 as its a tough and pretty capable platform to be used for our market and why am saying this is because of our kitna deti hai junta and we are still not in a habit of moving big things in our personal vehicle.

Anyway I did not give up and went to other dealer near by. I almost made up my mind but
- family sitting in the middle felt vibrations are very high on stop go traffic. We are new to diesel vehicles (all cars so far are petrol. current one being City). I felt vibrations in Innova as well but lesser than HEXA. Not sure if it is do anything with test drive car (this is what I told family trying to convince them)
- There are two tiny buttons in steering wheel. Sales person told me those are hill hold/hill descent buttons on XTA. not sure it is really that.
- slightly higher ingress/egress
- heavy steering feel at low speeds.

You must have gone to Venkatramana motors, they are definitely better than Tejaswini. I have a XTA done 5600km till now and absolutely no vibration in any seat, we love the long drives in it. No the buttons on steering are not of hill hold, which is automatically activated by the angle of the gradient. Steering is heavier than a car but still lighter than a Crysta's steering. Do check the tyre pressure next time you test drive it should be 34psi in all four.

Yes you are right Venkatramana motors. Transmission definitely impressed me with super acceleration at all speeds. How do you take kids in the vehicle? Do you have child seats? I am not very sure how to fix child seats for long drive without child seat anchors. What is the City and Highway mileage are you getting?

Still contemplating between XTA vs Hyundai SX(O) AT ( I know both are in different league). Both these cars miss ISOFIX Child Seat Anchors. Not sure how critical is this. I have small kid and I put him in child seat using ISOFIX mounts on my City.
ISOFIX isn't a critical feature, it only eases installation and reduces chances of wrong installation if done using other means. Most child seats can be installed using standard 3-point seat belts like mine (thread here). Please check your child seat manual for its compatibility. Please PM me or post in child seat thread if you have questions so that we do not go off topic in this thread.