Tata Harrier (H5X): All-New SUV From Tata Motors

Test drive reports started flowing in on various sites. It is now clear that TATA brought half cooked product in the market and that also too late.

It is sad to see that people finding Nexon more accomplished product than Harrier.
The more i am reading about test ride reports and reviews of harrier the more i am leaning towards creta. Anyways without a proper test ride i cannot comment.
At the time of Nexon launch, same people were very critical about the fit and finish of Nexon - colour combinations, ceramic strips, too many cuts and creases blah blah. But Nexon overcame all these with its own virtues. Harrier is well priced, neither aggressive nor greedy. The reports from other forum points to 70:30 as of now (Good:bad) towards Harrier. Let's wait and watch.

Saw Tata Harrier at Concorde Motors Hyderabad
WOW !!! just WOW !!!
This vehicle is really huge. Pictures don't do justice to the size of this SUV
Tyres look big and doors are hulky.
There was a Hexa behind the Harrier in showroom. In front view Hexa was looking a size smaller than Harrier.
Started the engine with push button. Could hear only slight idling sound inside the cabin which disappeared on pressing the accelerator lightly.

Creta is nowhere near comparison in size and road presence,

Fully convinced in my decision to book this Harrier and going ahead to bring it home.

Saw Tata Harrier at Concorde Motors Hyderabad
WOW !!! just WOW !!!
This vehicle is really huge. Pictures don't do justice to the size of this SUV
Tyres look big and doors are hulky.
There was a Hexa behind the Harrier in showroom. In front view Hexa was looking a size smaller than Harrier.
Started the engine with push button. Could hear only slight idling sound inside the cabin which disappeared on pressing the accelerator lightly.

Creta is nowhere near comparison in size and road presence,

Fully convinced in my decision to book this Harrier and going ahead to bring it home.
Looking forward to your booking and ownership experience. Which variant you are interested in ?

At the time of Nexon launch, same people were very critical about the fit and finish of Nexon - colour combinations, ceramic strips, too many cuts and creases blah blah. ...... Let's wait and watch.
Exactly, White ceramic lines and huge X , low QC turned off people. TATA took the feedback and launched Grey strips in few variants. Nexons AMT when launched is probably the best behaving AMT we see in cars today, Let's not forget TATA Nexons per showroom shipped numbers are on par with MS today.

Tata Harrier warranty, service intervals, AMC packages and pricing

Details about Harrier warranty and service packages have now been revealed, thanks to an anonymous automotive enthusiast. This is useful information for customers who have booked their Harrier and those that may be planning to buy one.

Harrier warranty details: Harrier standard warranty is for 2 years or 1 lakh km, whichever is earlier.

Harrier extended warranty options: Harrier comes with two extended warranty options, one with 2+1 / 1.15 lakh km and the other with 2+2 / 1.30 lakh km. Cost of extended warranty has not been revealed, but it is expected that it will be priced competitively, in line with prevailing industry trends.

Harrier service interval: Harrier will require regular servicing at every 7500 km or 6 months, whichever is earlier. Oil change interval is 15000 km or 12 months, whichever is earlier.

Harrier AMC packages: Harrier Annual Maintenance Charges (AMC) is being offered in two options, Gold and Silver, and comes with 5 different combinations. Gold AMC is in the range of Rs 13,765 to Rs 148,480 whereas Silver AMC ranges from Rs 11,055 to Rs 98,437. The period/km covered is between 1 year/15k and 5 year/1 lakh.

Read:

At the time of Nexon launch, same people were very critical about the fit and finish of Nexon - colour combinations, ceramic strips, too many cuts and creases blah blah. But Nexon overcame all these with its own virtues. Harrier is well priced, neither aggressive nor greedy. The reports from other forum points to 70:30 as of now (Good:bad) towards Harrier. Let's wait and watch.
As I remembered, Nexon was praised by the people for its solid build quality and later it was affirmed by NCAP.

Minor niggles and slack QC is always TATA's trademark.

I finally had a look at the harrier. It was as yo have correctly guess, Orange colored beast. I am sick of seeing that color in print, media and also in bare metal. But the car looks fabulous. interiors I got the same wow feel when I had first looked at the innovative crysta. Its the same Wow feeling I had. Sit in the drivers seat and you will get a luxurious feel. plastics used are pretty good, the stalks, steering wheel are all good and have premium feel. The fabrics use are good, and no place where you get feel of any cost cutting. We were in the showroom and asked the person to start the car. It has a typical fiat engine sound. I did not find it so very loud as has been reported. This is a Diesel engine and it will have sound. I sat in the car and observed the same muted sound of the Diesel engine which is just normal. However felt slight vibrations telling that the engine is running.

You can call me biased or what ever, but this is that part of the Diesel engine which I love, and will surely miss in electric cars in the future. This sound make me feel that the car is talk to me.

coming back, I feel that the engine is not loud. I have yet to see a silent Diesel engine. Let me know where to look.

Then coming to the most talked about negative of the Harrier so call 20L car and lot of other issues.

There are issues where people had mentioned that Handle were not aligned, door lines were not aligned, inconsistent gap is all crap (because I cannot use any other harsher word staring with a male bovine) its all good. So for a normal buyer who is spending 20L on a car, all the things are prertty good and you get value for money. Car looks great, build quality is great, ICE is great, Features are great, Space is great, you get premium feel as well. Car is definitely a head turner and will continue to be so for time to come.

Problem happens when you see with a microscope, then you see that the plastic beading or the chrome lining have some lacunae . if you observe minutely, the black cladding stuck on the door have about a mm difference but then that is consistently in all the car. Then the rubber beading may have mm or 2 difference, Then you look at the gaps between the panels, but then that is uniform, I personally feel, if the panels are flush it gives an artificial feel. According to me that kind of panel gaps are absolutely fine. Then if you look at the dashboard plastic, that is soft touch plastic but then people may not like it coming from the likes of Octavia or merc coz thats bit shiny and doesn't have leather feel. So people can have different opinions. I for that matter like the car for what it offers. My personal like is for bigger car read 7 seater, so I will not buy this car, I have a Storme and if I have to upgrade, it will be Hexa or the new Storme (provided Tata retain the Safari appeal) If they call the H7X as new Storme I would really disheartened. So what harrier offers

For a 20 L what you would get
Robust engine producing 140BHP and great 350NM torque,(with remapping you will get close to 180 horses power on the same engine)
Great underlying architecture (tried and tested)
Great ICE
Great Interiors
Great Safety features (probably this car will be at least 4 star rated car)
Great looking car with futuristic styling

but you also get, chrome line and rubber which do not look aligned to mm perfection ( which I believe one would get in other cars), the body cladding with mm difference, the door hinges with not so finesse

So I believe with a car like this, there are quite few positives which outweighs these small issues, and give the buyer value for the money he/she is paying.

NOTE:
I have looked at the Creta or the compass in that minute detail as I have looked at the harrier. Probably, if look in minute details, there will be misses on those vehicles as well. But will look at them and then comment. As of now, they have the benefit of doubt.

I finally had a look at the harrier. It was as yo have correctly guess, Orange colored beast. I am sick of seeing that color in print, media and also in bare metal. But the car looks fabulous. interiors I got the same wow feel when I had first looked at the innovative crysta. Its the same Wow feeling I had. Sit in the drivers seat and you will get a luxurious feel. plastics used are pretty good, the stalks, steering wheel are all good and have premium feel. The fabrics use are good, and no place where you get feel of any cost cutting. We were in the showroom and asked the person to start the car. It has a typical fiat engine sound. I did not find it so very loud as has been reported. This is a Diesel engine and it will have sound. I sat in the car and observed the same muted sound of the Diesel engine which is just normal. However felt slight vibrations telling that the engine is running.

You can call me biased or what ever, but this is that part of the Diesel engine which I love, and will surely miss in electric cars in the future. This sound make me feel that the car is talk to me.

coming back, I feel that the engine is not loud. I have yet to see a silent Diesel engine. Let me know where to look.

Then coming to the most talked about negative of the Harrier so call 20L car and lot of other issues.

There are issues where people had mentioned that Handle were not aligned, door lines were not aligned, inconsistent gap is all crap (because I cannot use any other harsher word staring with a male bovine) its all good. So for a normal buyer who is spending 20L on a car, all the things are prertty good and you get value for money. Car looks great, build quality is great, ICE is great, Features are great, Space is great, you get premium feel as well. Car is definitely a head turner and will continue to be so for time to come.

Problem happens when you see with a microscope, then you see that the plastic beading or the chrome lining have some lacunae . if you observe minutely, the black cladding stuck on the door have about a mm difference but then that is consistently in all the car. Then the rubber beading may have mm or 2 difference, Then you look at the gaps between the panels, but then that is uniform, I personally feel, if the panels are flush it gives an artificial feel. According to me that kind of panel gaps are absolutely fine. Then if you look at the dashboard plastic, that is soft touch plastic but then people may not like it coming from the likes of Octavia or merc coz thats bit shiny and doesn't have leather feel. So people can have different opinions. I for that matter like the car for what it offers. My personal like is for bigger car read 7 seater, so I will not buy this car, I have a Storme and if I have to upgrade, it will be Hexa or the new Storme (provided Tata retain the Safari appeal) If they call the H7X as new Storme I would really disheartened. So what harrier offers

For a 20 L what you would get
Robust engine producing 140BHP and great 350NM torque,(with remapping you will get close to 180 horses power on the same engine)
Great underlying architecture (tried and tested)
Great ICE
Great Interiors
Great Safety features (probably this car will be at least 4 star rated car)
Great looking car with futuristic styling

but you also get, chrome line and rubber which do not look aligned to mm perfection ( which I believe one would get in other cars), the body cladding with mm difference, the door hinges with not so finesse

So I believe with a car like this, there are quite few positives which outweighs these small issues, and give the buyer value for the money he/she is paying.

NOTE:
I have looked at the Creta or the compass in that minute detail as I have looked at the harrier. Probably, if look in minute details, there will be misses on those vehicles as well. But will look at them and then comment. As of now, they have the benefit of doubt.
Posting review without pictures is a crime dude[frustration] You noticed any issue with the plastic panel above instrument cluster. That's what is getting attention in the other forum.

Regarding Harrier warranty schemes, TML should have given a 3 year standard and +3 year EW for Harrier which will gain the trust of prospective customers. TML is giving 6 years standard warranty in their CVs for reference.

QUOTE="jagrover, post: 578261, member: 6701"]Posting review without pictures is a crime dude[frustration] You noticed any issue with the plastic panel above instrument cluster. That's what is getting attention in the other forum.

Regarding Harrier warranty schemes, TML should have given a 3 year standard and +3 year EW for Harrier which will gain the trust of prospective customers. TML is giving 6 years standard warranty in their CVs for reference.[/QUOTE]
Sorry man, I had to pen down my observations lest I forget what I wanted to, there were some pics taken for some issues that have been highlighted.

You noticed any issue with the plastic panel above instrument cluster.
I check that specifically, There was no such issue, could not snap clear pic hence not posting. but what must have happened in that case is that the top cover must have come loose creating that big gap as were see in those pics. Here I could not see any such huge gap.

Some pics I took to show that alignment is decent.

Pic 1: No glaring gaps near the tail light after the boot is shut properly. Took me 1 attempt to close the boot, but then I had used good force to close.
IMG_20190129_124846.jpg

PIC 2: The Handle chrome are well aligned. Yeah if you try to twist the handle there is slight 1 mm play Which I believe is just normal, will be present in Bentley or the rollroyce as well. ;)
IMG_20190129_124859.jpg

PIC3: this you would have seen at least 1 crore times. no need to give any expalianation but I can tell you, the ICE looks really elegant and luxurious. it looks 8 inch and is big but doesn't obstruct the view. By the way I found hand rest pretty use full for my liking. I want to rest my elbow part only and not the entire fore arm while driving and it suited that purpose perfectly. Now call me a Tata fanboy. Shoot me and hang me.The silver humanity line is very smooth to touch but can be prone to abuse. Hand brake is good but departure from norm will make us spend some time learning it to use efficiently. All the buttons, stalks are of very good quality. The AC vents seem to close completely and will block flow to almost 100% if closed. I liked the way they closed.Art Leather seats felt of high quality. Just like innova crysta. Gear knob was smooth and with less travel. With regards to the door lock, if you curl your fingers around the knob then you are bound to foul the grab handle but if you just slide back the fingers and lift if with them then there is no problem, (some people had reported that grab handles on the door fouled while opening.
IMG_20190129_124928.jpg

PIC 4:
This is really big car, the person (Prabha my friend) in Chequered Shirt is 6'3" my other friend in Black T shirt (Babji) is 5'6" see how big the car is.
IMG_20190129_124957.jpg

PIC 5: the famous lion on Harrier
IMG_20190129_125008.jpg

PIC 6: Not many seem to have reported You open the vanity mirror and bingo the lights appear. There were complains that there are no vanity mirror light. However, I felt that these light could be made a bit more robust. felt like plastic-key.
IMG_20190129_125354.jpg
[

Thread Starter #580
One thing I really love about TATA cars is their Smiling face at front from indica to cute little nano and from TIAGO to Harrier now that smile face turned to bold some kind of pround smile specially Harrier face is like someone looking at you proundly and smiling [:D]

Sorry man, I had to pen down my observations lest I forget what I wanted to, there were some pics taken for some issues that have been highlighted.

I check that specifically, There was no such issue, could not snap clear pic hence not posting. but what must have happened in that case is that the top cover must have come loose creating that big gap as were see in those pics. Here I could not see any such huge gap.

Some pics I took to show that alignment is decent.

Pic 1: No glaring gaps near the tail light after the boot is shut properly. Took me 1 attempt to close the boot, but then I had used good force to close.
View attachment 255469

PIC 2: The Handle chrome are well aligned. Yeah if you try to twist the handle there is slight 1 mm play Which I believe is just normal, will be present in Bentley or the rollroyce as well. ;)
View attachment 255470

PIC3: this you would have seen at least 1 crore times. no need to give any expalianation but I can tell you, the ICE looks really elegant and luxurious. it looks 8 inch and is big but doesn't obstruct the view. By the way I found hand rest pretty use full for my liking. I want to rest my elbow part only and not the entire fore arm while driving and it suited that purpose perfectly. Now call me a Tata fanboy. Shoot me and hang me.The silver humanity line is very smooth to touch but can be prone to abuse. Hand brake is good but departure from norm will make us spend some time learning it to use efficiently. All the buttons, stalks are of very good quality. The AC vents seem to close completely and will block flow to almost 100% if closed. I liked the way they closed.Art Leather seats felt of high quality. Just like innova crysta. Gear knob was smooth and with less travel. With regards to the door lock, if you curl your fingers around the knob then you are bound to foul the grab handle but if you just slide back the fingers and lift if with them then there is no problem, (some people had reported that grab handles on the door fouled while opening.
View attachment 255471

PIC 4:
This is really big car, the person (Prabha my friend) in Chequered Shirt is 6'3" my other friend in Black T shirt (Babji) is 5'6" see how big the car is.
View attachment 255472

PIC 5: the famous lion on Harrier
View attachment 255473

PIC 6: Not many seem to have reported You open the vanity mirror and bingo the lights appear. There were complains that there are no vanity mirror light. However, I felt that these light could be made a bit more robust. felt like plastic-key.
View attachment 255474
Thanks much @vikyjoshi for the pictures. Yes, it seems the rear tail lamp shut lines and chrome lining on handles have more than acceptable level of fit and finish. Even though the picture is not clearly showing the plastic cover above instrument cluster, since you double checked it, I'm happy that's one off an issue.

Everybody is appreciating the low and mid range of the Kryotec (FIAT) engine and light clutch. Hope more positive reviews pour in during coming days.

I saw one orange Harrier today and is very handsome I should say !very impressive size and road presence and definitely it will impact the way TATA is perceived in the current SUV market.My neighbor already has his Nexon which has done just 15k up for sale and is waiting for the Harrier eagerly [:D]

Happened to see a post in the other forum, that same forum in which one of their reviewers made a fake claim about hexa recall for engine head trouble and one of it's other reviewer made a very negative biased review on YouTube. Anyway back to the point 'panel gaps', I haven't seen panel gaps in any other pictures other than the ones posted in that specific post even the hood like protruding part over the instrument console is shown as a gap.
Other than the one mm gap on the rear lights which I think is there by design I haven't found any faults in alignment
A company which can make a 2 Lakh rupee nano without much alignment problem can surely make a 20 Lakh car with almost no fault at all. Yes you may find weld marks if you go under the car with a microscope.
A guy who is not satisfied with best in the price category infotainment system will surely find something to complain.
OT
I believe that forum is completely biased or is fully sponsored or company social media agents weigh much more than real auto enthusiasts there.