Tata Harrier (H5X): All-New SUV From Tata Motors

Enough said on the fit and finish and QC issues. Customer always have the right to do PDI which he/she should compulsorily do for finding these things. With more than enough posts saying panel gaps as consistent and fit and finish spot on, we can assume these are one off incidents or probably first batch issues and which can be iron out easily from TML end.

P.S There was always a resistance towards above 15 lac Tata cars, Harrier also have that baggage. But people are overwhelmed by its looks itself. Let the sales team put in bit more effort, A.S.S super responsive like Hexa, the car can actually keep up the image building process for TML. But I do feel the hype is backfiring even though in lesser amount.

No views on price ,as i remember you suggested 10 L rupees on road for XE on 23 dec 2018 , how much it has changed ?
Yes infact that was wishful thinking. However 12L ex showroom was kind of expected. But I have also mentioned that XZ seems to be the most VFM according to me. Either its XZ for me or nothing. Similarly when it was Storme in my case back in 2013, LX made sense, Now EX makes sense. Also if you see, much of the Tatas cars being sold are the top 2 variants, be it Tiago, Nexon, Tigor, Hexa. I have seen plenty of XT,XTA, XMA and very few XM and rarely XE variants.

Just read that shipment for month of JAN 19 is mere 420 units of harrier . Poor logistics approach by TML ,vehicle having 16000 bookings and lodes of anticipation the figure of shipment is pathetic for reference nissan kicks a rather unknown product has the shipment of 1380 units with booking of only 1000 ,and it was launched just 1 day ahead of harrier

Yes infact that was wishful thinking. However 12L ex showroom was kind of expected. But I have also mentioned that XZ seems to be the most VFM according to me. Either its XZ for me or nothing. Similarly when it was Storme in my case back in 2013, LX made sense, Now EX makes sense. Also if you see, much of the Tatas cars being sold are the top 2 variants, be it Tiago, Nexon, Tigor, Hexa. I have seen plenty of XT,XTA, XMA and very few XM and rarely XE variants.
Totally agree on the point of XZ is value for money and its not just you ( XZ or nothing ) its also me and probably most of the buyers

Poor logistics approach by TML
They kinda promised a global-standard car but seemed to deviated somewhere and slowed down over deliveries. Execs were still praising booking but i was focused on no.of actual shipped units and got some blank faces then.

I walked into KHT, BLR recently to look at this beauty and was appalled by the amount of people(read tens) cross-shopping between Harrier XT/XZ and Hexa XMA/XTA. I had noticed many people pointing discussing and cussing the QC issues on the display car like panel gaps, alignment, etc.(not just auto forums). The monkey-see-monkey-do behavior was rampant with morons competing to spot flaws(God save our country from small egos and perfectionism). Left red-faced I jumped in and asked people to look at 'the good' over WIP QC issues for a brief time and i started praising seats, comfort, design loudly just to drive this hustle into a positive one !!!

I will go back on a weekday afternoon for a TD. Overall, TATA did a great job with Harrier coming from Indica lineage, this is a major leap towards future.

Come on people even great products have WIP QC problems !

Tata is slowly scaling up production initial batch is mostly display and test drive cars only.
I think talk about misalignment and inconsistent gaps should be stopped unless backed up with sufficient pictures to prove so. Pictures should be taken in normal viewing angles only please.

Are we missing Tim Leverton at TML. They may have became bit complacent with the recent success and certain things make me feel like that.

Saw an Harrier doing rounds in Bangalore today. True SUV! Gorgeous Looks [drive]Finally an SUV which has an amazing presence. Pics don't do justice. Road presence is outstanding. Blows out even the Fortuner in road presence especially from the rear. Hats off to Tata for the rear backlight and design. OUTSTANDING!

I said before that TATA Harrier is half cooked product. Read this.
Tata Harrier With More Powerful Engine Coming Soon
If the above information is true then TATA should have thought this before launching the product. Now TATA have realized from various test drive reports that Harrier is underpowered and can not hold candle to Jeep Compass.

My worry is if they increase power of Harrier in future then what existing customers will think? They will feel cheated.

Increasing power is just not remapping simple though no change in engine is required. But outside components may require up gradation. It may involved bigger turbo, clutch and upgraded drive shafts. Who knows existing gearbox is capable of handling increased power or not?

If the above information is true then TATA should have thought this before launching the product. Now TATA have realized from various test drive reports that Harrier is underpowered and can not hold candle to Jeep Compass.

My worry is if they increase power of Harrier in future then what existing customers will think? They will feel cheated.

Increasing power is just not remapping simple though no change in engine is required. But outside components may require up gradation. It may involved bigger turbo, clutch and upgraded drive shafts. Who knows existing gearbox is capable of handling increased power or not?
The article doesn't convey anything upright. Only vague assumptions. It's a known fact that H7X will feature the 180 PS FCA 2.0 engine. Maybe Harrier JTP could also feature this but there is no news about the same. So prospective customers can definitely take the Harrier in current form. Maybe TML can improve the high rpm NVH by using a bit more sound dampening in the engine bay.

Any idea which manual GB is used in Harrier ? TML's own or Fiat sourced ? I remember reading that Hexa's manual GB could handle 440 NM of torque but currently limited to 400 NM.

Half cooked product is a too harsh on TML it is a good effort , sure tata must have learned a few bitter lessons while making/marketing a premium product
The level of expectation are very different between a value for money vs a premium product by the buyers

View attachment 255792 View attachment 255793 View attachment 255794 some pictures of the well made harrier competitors from Toyota and isuzu.
Harrier has similar power to weight ratio of the 40 Lakh tiguan and kodiak. So don't worry about it
Pointing on panel gaps and minor issues is ridiculous , enough said about it now let the buyers decide by themselves.
On power to weight ratio comparison with tiguan and kodiac should be a worry for tata as both sell in 3 figures hardly (mostly in double digits )

Half cooked product is a too harsh on TML it is a good effort , sure tata must have learned a few bitter lessons while making/marketing a premium product
The level of expectation are very different between a value for money vs a premium product by the buyers

Pointing on panel gaps and minor issues is ridiculous , enough said about it now let the buyers decide by themselves.
On power to weight ratio comparison with tiguan and kodiac should be a worry for tata as both sell in 3 figures hardly (mostly in double digits )
What to do boss

Our indian reviewers will go all praising and accodolance appreciations for Suzuki tin box cars and criticize only the tata panel gaps

But the fact is always out on mid of the road where we are seeing more Suzuki cars with such worst built quality and the panel gap cars are running strong