Tata Aria Pleasure 4X4 a.k.a. The Chronicals of Saphira (Completed 51000 Kms)

Thread Starter #152
Re: Tata Aria Pleasure 4X4 a.k.a. The Chronicals of Saphira

After such a long time a minor update on vehicle.

Kms COvered: 15000+
FE: Around 12-13 with AC and Delhi Gurgaon Traffic
Best Acheived is around 19.6kmpl. For a short stint on a rolling start i manage to extract 25.6KMPL (2kms run). It was just for fun.

Issue/Niggles: Strange khat khat sound from passanger side dashboard. I guess some nut is there which is causing this sound in pot holes. This sound came into existence after installation of SUb Woofer Wiring. WIll check out this in 3rd Service.
One can feel that Engine oil is old after 11K driving in Delhi (Jamm) traffic. So my dragon needs an oil change with all other service rituals soon.

Well to disappointments of many, no break down, no other issues were faced by me (fingers crossed).

Note: ROckford Fosgate Sub woofer is just too good....

Will update with latest snaps after service and delivery of my NEW CAMERA CANON 550D.....

Hi Harish,

Nice to see you enjoy your dragon to the max.And we want few snaps of beautiful Saphira[:)].

THE X-OVER

After such a long time a minor update on vehicle.

Kms COvered: 15000+
FE: Around 12-13 with AC and Delhi Gurgaon Traffic
Best Acheived is around 19.6kmpl. For a short stint on a rolling start i manage to extract 25.6KMPL (2kms run). It was just for fun.

Issue/Niggles: Strange khat khat sound from passanger side dashboard. I guess some nut is there which is causing this sound in pot holes. This sound came into existence after installation of SUb Woofer Wiring. WIll check out this in 3rd Service.
One can feel that Engine oil is old after 11K driving in Delhi (Jamm) traffic. So my dragon needs an oil change with all other service rituals soon.

Well to disappointments of many, no break down, no other issues were faced by me (fingers crossed).

Note: ROckford Fosgate Sub woofer is just too good....

Will update with latest snaps after service and delivery of my NEW CAMERA CANON 550D.....
Tornado great to know that the aria is serving you extremely well.
Since iam free these days from work and enjoying a kind of vacation .I was searching all online forums and ownership reports on aria and other then 2 people I dint see a single owner complaining anything about aria infact they are simply blown away with the performance , comfort and the cruising ability, and dynamics of the aria.
Contrary to public perception the aria is actually proving to be one stable and vfm car from tata stable , practically all are reporting very good mileage , less cost of ownership ,and no niggles or quality issues too and most of them have clocked 15000-25000 Kms and more.
4 owners reported that their tyres were not good which tata has already replaced in later versions and some even got replacement from Bridgestone and tata . By any chance are your tyres Bridgestone ? If yes check with the a.s.s.

Extremely happy to know that the aria is serving you the same as other happy owners .
I know you must be a busy man ,but if by anychance if you get some free time after attending your main priorities please do update this thread as it will help many other prospective buyers to see what actually the car offers ,which is simply ignored because it's a market dud and a car from tata motors .

Thread Starter #155

hi all

no updates from some time.
as iam on a month long europe trip. so will be back after 25 sept. here on every nook and corner u can see a sports car or a bike.
will share my journey soon.
bue guys.
and yes i asked my dad to start my car after 3 daya for 5 minutes to charge the battery and stopping it to go in sleep mode.

err i am not sure how much this is helping your battery, yes it does lubricate the rest of the machinery. The cranking current(current required to start the car) is in hundreds of amps usually whereas the charging current isn't fast enough to neutralise the crank in 5 mins for sure. Also when you just idle the car there are other components which are run from the alternator voltage so not exactly all current goes to the battery, also depends a lot on the AH rating of the battery and the alternator generation capacity at idle.

Also a thing to remember is alternator need to produce more voltage than the battery voltage, otherwise it wont be able to overcome the battery's internal resistance (do remember battery is also a load on the alternator).

All in all i am saying its a myth that 5 mins of keeping idle will help the battery, instead take a small decent drive if you are worried about battery life. Good/New modern batteries should last a month though easily.

Since you are in the europe check out some good trickle chargers or battery maintainers you will get a better idea of maintaining the battery..[:)]

Thread Starter #157

Hi guys,
missed you all lot on my europe trip. Now Back in town and back in action.

Car is doing fine and my dad used to start it for 5-7 minutes after 3 days to keep it in shape. The following things are to be taken care of in the next one week.

Third Service
Two parts were supposed to be replaced (4x4 modulator and procurement of Manual Jack lever).
Replacement of Alloys

It was a very long and tiring trip of europe (12 countries). WIll share my experience as how i did not see the ferrari or ducati factory but i see a lot of ducatis and only one ferrari.

Will start a new thread on that soon....

Thread Starter #159

On my birthday i have just become an ARIAN. Yes TML has started a new Club named ARIAN and all the Aria owners can be a part of it. will share details soon on this. By that time look at the link below
Owners Club - Home

Happy birthday tornado78,

Congrats for becoming an ARIAN.

That logo of ARIAN club is designed tastefully and looks nice.

How is your Aria doing.

Please post some pictures and a brief review.

Thread Starter #161

Happy birthday tornado78,

Congrats for becoming an ARIAN.

That logo of ARIAN club is designed tastefully and looks nice.

How is your Aria doing.

Please post some pictures and a brief review.
Thanks a lot,
Aria is doing fine and after a month i back on driving the car. so will update the report after its third service. which will be done next week now as i have many assigments pending at home and in office.

Planning for a long trip to uttrakhand on coming dusshera, lets see whether i'll be able to materialise that or not. But before that i need few things to look after i.e.

Third Service
Procurement of Puncture repair kit
Door Visiors
replacement of Alloy rims

Thread Starter #162

Minor Update:

Vehicle was given for 3rd Service yesterday after Lunch time and voila in they called up around 11.20 am today vehicle was ready for delivery (though iam in my office). This is the first time they have seviced the vehicle in less time than i expected. As vehicle was supposed to received a lot of input from mechanics for regular 3rd service alongwith brakes check and clean
differential oil chanege (front and back)
clutch bleeding and adjustments
interior and exterior detailing
other minor issuses...

Will pick up my car tommorow..

Bill is Rs 0.00 as i have an AMC..

Total KMS DOne 16900 only

Thread Starter #163

Its Update time after 3rd Service and 17000 kms.

Service Update:

Vehicle was ready after service on Friday itself but I didn’t pick it up due to my personal assignments. So I manage to get the vehicle on Sunday afternoon. They have done a very good job again this time but unable to rectify/ diagnose the problem of FM not working after 35 days of no movement period of car.

They opened the system and check it externally and also check the antenna but the player was not catching the signals. So a picture of the stereo was taken and that will be send to ask for a replacement/repair of the stereo.
They still need approval to deliver me the manual jack rod

Observations after 3rd Service:

Engine is smooth now,
Gears shifter also smoothen out
Brake feel is improved but you need to press the pedal a bit more now
So far no rattling or squeaking sound (apart from the drivers seat)
AC is very good

Now most important “kitna deti hai”
The figure remain same in Delhi Gurgaon peak hour traffic iam managing around 13KMPL on regular basis and best achieved after 3rd service is 18 KMPL over a distance of 24 kms trip.

So now 3 issues remain in the vehicle
Replacement/ repair of Stereo for FM not working (is this is some kind of sleep mode on stereo or ?) as iam able to play USB, AUX and CD properly in the same stereo.

Replacement of Manual Jack Rod
&
Replacement of Alloy Wheels which will come to Reliance Autozone in this week. And I have liberty to choose any other model from Neo wheels.

Note: will update on Pics part soon as i have acquired my new DSLR camera and i.e. canon 550d

@Tornado

I am happy to see you as a "Happy Aria Owner".

What is this "Replacement of Manual Jack Rod" ??

Thread Starter #165

@Tornado

I am happy to see you as a "Happy Aria Owner".

What is this "Replacement of Manual Jack Rod" ??
Thanks a lot

See the initial batch arias were delivered with Hydraulic Jack with its respective lever to raise the jack.
But there were a lot of complaints of leaking of oil from those jacks. From 2012 onwards they have started fitting out Arias with Manual Jack system with a ROD by which you can raise the jack effortlessely. But now i have Manual Jack and no special ROD to raise that ROD. Although i can Still raise the jack bu t with a bit of Jugaad, so that Special Design Rod is required by me to get the complete Jack System.