Suzuki Baleno: Petrol 1.2 MT & Diesel 1.3 MT Drive Review

Hello all

Please suggest me that which variant model of Baleno is suitable for me as a first car.

Baleno Zeta Petrol

Baleno Zeta Diesel

My running is 2000 kms monthly

Please suggest me as my budget is 8.00 lakhs

Thread Starter #122

Please suggest me that which variant model of Baleno is suitable for me as a first car.

Baleno Zeta Petrol

Baleno Zeta Diesel

Dear Dharam, anything above 1200 km/month needs a diesel mill for economy purpose. So It would be best to opt for same and if in case you need to save a few bucks, go in for the Delta version. Most VFM of the lot.

Well buddy, For reading a whole review of Diesel Figo Hatch, you may click here.

I felt that Figo Diesel is a better choice for both city and highway driving. With its sheer power Figo Diesel is a better one surely for the highways compared to Baleno Petrol. I cannot comment on Baleno Diesel as I did not drive.

Dear Akash ji

I hope you won't mind if you please post the fuel economy of both the car variants tested by our forum users or who already buy baleno petrol or diesel.

This question is just because I have to pay extra 140000 for Zeta Diesel as compared to Zeta Petrol.

Please post the authenticated Fuel economy of both the variants.

Dharam Singh

Wait. Forget FE. The current price difference between petrol & diesel is about 20 rs. So to recover that 1.4l, you will need to drive 7000 litres. Considering a FE of 15, that means you would need to drive about s lakh of km before you recover the cost. If you consider a lifespan of about 8 years, that means about 14k km a year. If you intend to keep a car for that long or drive that amount minimum, then it makes sense to go for diesel

From a driving pleasure perspective, the Baleno petrol is the car to drive

Ameyam

Wait. Forget FE. The current price difference between petrol & diesel is about 20 rs. So to recover that 1.4l, you will need to drive 7000 litres. Considering a FE of 15, that means you would need to drive about s lakh of km before you recover the cost. If you consider a lifespan of about 8 years, that means about 14k km a year. If you intend to keep a car for that long or drive that amount minimum, then it makes sense to go for diesel

From a driving pleasure perspective, the Baleno petrol is the car to drive

Ameyam
But then how can we do the calculation by assuming same mileage from both diesel and petrol. Diesel is bound to give atleast a bit more. Even if we dont take the ARAI difference of 6 kmpl to take diesel mileage as 21 and just take a difference of 3.75 and a mileage of 18.75 versus the 15 of the petrol, the break even period based on fuel cost alone(Rs.20 difference as you have taken) would be only 56,000 kilometers instead of 1 lakh.

By the way the petrol-diesel difference is only Rs.14.5 now. In that case break even would be 70,000 kilometers. (based on same diesel mileage of just under 19)

Hari Sir

You are saying that diesel is make around of FE 21 kmpl and petrol FE is around of 15 kmpl of Baleno.

Please confirm

Thank you
Dharam Singh

Hello all

Baleno Zeta Petrol

Baleno Zeta Diesel

Let me pitch a different car.

Your running is 2k/month. You need a diesel burner as the usage is high. Would I buy Baleno Diesel? Answer is NO. Yes, if I have to buy a petrol. New Ford Figo Diesel is far better than Baleno Diesel. Consider this.

ameyam and hari.vgl - With the diesel, annual fuel cost savings are coming out to Rs. 38,400 as per my calculations (15 and 18 kmpl mileage, 15 bucks difference in fuel) and he would cover the 1.4 Lac premium in 3 years and 8 months with 2k km per month run.

Hari Sir

You are saying that diesel is make around of FE 21 kmpl and petrol FE is around of 15 kmpl of Baleno.

Please confirm

Thank you
Dharam Singh
Dharam Paaji (no offence meant Sir [:)]) ARAI mileage of Baleno Petrol is 21 kmpl and Diesel is 27 kmpl.

But in real traffic conditions, expect around 15 kmpl (18 on highways) from Petrol and 18 kmpl (21 on highways) from Diesel. For petrol engine, Baleno is good choice but for diesel (as your running commands a diesel), Elite i20 or Figo are better performers. Elite i20 would be more comfortable than the Baleno at the back seat and would have better quality interiors. Diesel Elite i20 is a fast performance also.

Guys if the difference between petrol & diesel is less, the recovery time is even more. To get the litres of diesel required to be run to recover the co cost difference, divide the price difference by fuel price difference. This gives you the fuel quantity. Since FE isin km/l, multiply the litres by average. Both a reduction in fuel price difference & higher average guves higher payback periods

Please refer to the below calculations ameyam. Correct me if I am wrong.

Assume 15 kmpl mileage of petrol and 18 kmpl of diesel. Fuel cost difference is assumed to be Rs. 15 per litre (considering future change in prices also).

For a monthly run of 2k km, he would need 133 L of Petrol or 111 L of Diesel. Let price of petrol be Rs. 70 per litre and diesel be Rs. 55 per litre. Monthly petrol cost will be Rs. 9310 and diesel cost will be Rs. 6105. So around Rs. 3200 saving in a month and Rs. 38,400 saving in a year.

He would cover the 1.4 Lac difference in 3 Years and 8 months, when the car would have covered 88k kms.

Ok. When i did my calculation, i calculated from the price difference rather than a monthly running side. Hence i said 8 years at14k km a year. 14k km comes to just over 1100km a month. Payback will be definately faster at 2k km a month

Ameyam

His monthly running is 2k km per month, which he had told already in Post #121. So I took 24k km per year, which gives faster breakeven point.

Dear Akash ji

I hope you won't mind if you please post the fuel economy of both the car variants tested by our forum users or who already buy baleno petrol or diesel.

This question is just because I have to pay extra 140000 for Zeta Diesel as compared to Zeta Petrol.

Please post the authenticated Fuel economy of both the variants.

Dharam Singh
Dear Dharam,
Let me try to explain this.

My City Idtec Arai figure is 26kmpl. In real world with full 100% it gives between 17-19 kmpl. So, let's take it at 18kmpl. And i Drive in Delhi region which has some of the worst traffic in the country.

Similarly, Arai for Baleno diesel is 27.3 and for petrol is 21.4. Let's reduce both by 8 kmpl. So, real world economy for diesel will be 19kmpl and petrol will be 13kmpl.

If your running is 2000 km per month.

In diesel - 2000/19= 105.2 liters × 46.82( current cost of diesel in delhi) = Rs 4928

In petrol- 2000/13 =153.8 liters × 61.11(COP) = Rs 9401

Monthly difference - 9401-4928 = 4473

So, if you buy diesel your yearly saving is - 4473×12 = 53676

Assuming you keep the car for 5 years. Total savings - 53676×5 = 268380

So, if you are spending 140000 more on diesel you still save around 130000 in the end over a 5 year period.

Personally I believe anyone with more than 12-1300 km running every month should go for diesel cos running will only increase once you get the car.

Cheers.

I think we should all just talk about break even point based only on total kilometers run before break even and then find the time based upon the person's monthly run. Thus a lot of confusion can be avoided.