Review: LED Headlight Conversion Bulbs For Cars & Bikes

PS: What happened to TD Autoz on eBay? Store no longer exists.
Edit: No worries, just read tdautoz reply a few pages back.
Hi Silverjet,

We closed our account on ebay as we were in process of getting the GST and other relevant documents updated and now we have almost finalized all the required documents and have started uploading products on Amazon and soon will reactivate the ebay Store as well. Whole process should take approx a weeks time. Also, good news is during this shutdown period we have updated the range of products as well. Hope we can serve you better. [:)]

TDAutoz

Thread Starter #347

Hi All, I have an Aprilia SR150. The headlights are really bad. Any advice on how to improve the lights?. The scooter is less than 6 months old so not really looking forwarding to after-market fitments of replacing the entire headlight assembly with DRL's and so on. This is a twin bulb system with separate bulb for low & high and so normal bulbs with high/low in single bulb may not be a correct fit for upgrade. Would like to know valuable suggestions like LED's which are suitable for the scooter which will not involve cutting/slicing wires and would be more of a stock replacement. Thanks in advance for your time.
please provide us the bulb base required from the user manual as well as photos of headlight/bulb to allow better suggestion for upgrade.
we also need to know if the supply is AC or DC.

Currently we are looking for volunteer who can help us to test the one of the device (Throttle Controller) which we have launched but not sure about the performance. I have installed it in my car and was pretty happy with the performance.

iDrive - Intelligent Throttle controller
Details - http://www.uglare.com/product/idrive-evc-intelligent-throttle-controller/

Its a plug and play 5 minutes installation. It has got economy mode and performance modes which can be changed as per requirement.

The Benefit for Volunteer:

If an individual likes the product and wants to keep the device we can offer the same at Distributors Price or in case if its out of budget and individual doesn't wants to retain the device we will send Flat INR 1000 coupon of our website www.uglare.com which can be used as cash discount and can be used with any other existing offers.

We are mainly focused on cons of the device so that we can finalize if we can eliminate any issues and decide if we want to continue selling the device or can discontinue the product.

The Device which are readily available and needs to be volunteered are below:
1- VW Skoda (2013+ Rapid/Polo/Jetta)
2- Maruti (S-Cross/Vitara/till 2016 Swift etc..)
3- Chevrolete Fiat (Punto/ Grand Punto/Cruze/Linea etc..)
4- 2015+ Ford Ecosport

Kindly contact us directly on 9818952900 or can watsapp on the same.

Hope we can grow with small help of yours. [:)]

TDAutoz

Firstly, I again apologize for irregular, late replies from me. The kit is 35w so I guess i won't have to really worry about installing a relay ASAP.

You fixed the HID in the stock fog lamp reflector? How is the lighting? Any photo of the beam?
Yes do post pics.
Hids in reflector fog housings provide a good output atleast in XUV as demonstrated by bhvm sir in this forum.
But reflectors for different case are different. So please post some pics. If it's good many Verna owners may benefit from it.
Yes, the HIDs are installed on the stock fog reflectors. The output is really good. It's the best upgrade one can do (on a verna at least) other than retrofitting projectors and the best part is it costs less than a pair of Xtreme Vision bulbs. There's a thread on team bhp with pics and the output is very similar to what OP has posted.
I have a older pic but since then I fixed my misaligned driver side fog lamp (it was misaligned due to a slight impact) so I will try to get a couple of new pics Soon™

Also, i'm planning to slowly change all other bulbs to their LED equivalents; starting with brake lamps and rear turn signals bulbs. I have attached a picture from owners manual with the bulb types of different bulbs used. if anyone has a idea about where I can buy led replacements for brake lamp and turn signals then your inputs will be much appreciated.

Good that you are satisfied with the output. Also see if there is any glare from the HIDs. Glare is not at all desired.
What is the Kelvin rating of the bulbs?

The beam pattern is great but glare is present as they are fog lamps and not headlamps (even with stock bulbs in fogs) but I only use them on 4 lane highways and the spread of fogs is just so good that no headlamp bulb can match that. The kelvin rating is supposedly 4300k (that's what I ordered and is written on bulbs) but as expected from cheap hid kits, the output is more like 6000k than 4300k

Thread Starter #352

1. stuffing high quality hid kit in oem fogs is the best upgrade. not just in verna but almost every car.

2. it seems you brought a DC ballast, which is causing 4300k bulb to act more like 5500k. this Is also causing little more glare. there shouldn't be any glare actually. as oem fogs have flat cutoffs. try aiming a little lower.

3. don't bother switching other lamps. there is not much benefit in brightness nor power. instead safety might be compromised due to differing beam pattern & brightness.

Hi guys,

I would appreciate if someone can help me with my query regarding Headlights upgrade. I drive a 2017 Hyundai Grand i10 which unfortunately came with pathetic set of headlights. I have upgraded to Osram nightbreakers unlimited 6 months back and there has been great improvement in both brightness & throw. Although the headlights are quite adequete if i'm driving on a deserted strech with no oncoming vehicles, but I drive a lot in single lane Kerala highways during night and i get blinded by many drivers( mostly interstate buses) who don't think its necessary to switch to low beams even when i switch to low beams for them and dip the headlights. I believe the only solution to tackle this menace is to get much more powerful beams for my own safety. After researching my bit, here are the two options i'm considering :

1. Led lights : I have gone through Amazon.com US website and there are some decent LED options available with good reviews retailing for less than 50$. I'm assuming these are plug and play devices so installation should not be a big deal as such.

2. HID kit : I have gone through the reviews of 4300k HID kits on this forum and i think that is also a decent option. I would like to install them on my Fog lamps if its feasible. HID in fog lamps + Osram NB as headlights may turn out to be the best solution i'm looking for. Unfortunately, since i stay in a small town, getting a quality mechanic to perform the installation is a challenge.

I'm open to other suggestions as well. I have set aside a budget of 6-8k for this job.

Sumesh

Hello Experienced Forum Members,

Is it possible to use this Light on my MS Ritz which is H4 60/55w by default?

https://www.gearbest.com/car-headlights/pp_612728.html

Looks like they are just plug and play - Is this going to upgrade stock lighting?
Please do not get these COB LEDs. I bought a pair with COB chips and they are not of much use. They were useless in the low beam projectors so I placed them in the high beam reflectors. Even though they are very bright in the immediate vicinity(in high beam) say upto 50m, the throw of the beam beyond that is not of much use. The OEM halogens in the high beam used to throw upto 150m.

Better get bulbs with CREE chips. bhvm sir can guide you better here.

Thread Starter #356

Hi guys,

I would appreciate if someone can help me with my query regarding Headlights upgrade. I drive a 2017 Hyundai Grand i10 which unfortunately came with pathetic set of headlights. I have upgraded to Osram nightbreakers unlimited 6 months back and there has been great improvement in both brightness & throw. Although the headlights are quite adequete if i'm driving on a deserted strech with no oncoming vehicles, but I drive a lot in single lane Kerala highways during night and i get blinded by many drivers( mostly interstate buses) who don't think its necessary to switch to low beams even when i switch to low beams for them and dip the headlights. I believe the only solution to tackle this menace is to get much more powerful beams for my own safety. After researching my bit, here are the two options i'm considering :

1. Led lights : I have gone through Amazon.com US website and there are some decent LED options available with good reviews retailing for less than 50$. I'm assuming these are plug and play devices so installation should not be a big deal as such.

2. HID kit : I have gone through the reviews of 4300k HID kits on this forum and i think that is also a decent option. I would like to install them on my Fog lamps if its feasible. HID in fog lamps + Osram NB as headlights may turn out to be the best solution i'm looking for. Unfortunately, since i stay in a small town, getting a quality mechanic to perform the installation is a challenge.

I'm open to other suggestions as well. I have set aside a budget of 6-8k for this job.

Sumesh
Hello there,
I believe Grand i10 does not come with projector but uses older h4 style headlamps. Such headlamps are usually difficult to upgrade. You are on the right track with Osram NB. There are 3 options I would suggest furthermore-

1. Stuff decent 4300k HID kit in OEM fogs-
http://www.theautomotiveindia.com/f...-hid-kit-technical-review-install-w-pics.html

These should work like second low beams and help illuminate speedbreakers, Ditches, edge of road when you're blinded.

2. Get Extra High beam assists-
http://www.theautomotiveindia.com/f...ing-lamps-no-drill-metal-bumper-required.html

3. Get high quality CREE H4 LEd bulbs from ali epxress. If you go back a couple of pages, you should find links to Cree XHP bulbs.

I have all 3 upgrades on my i10 and I must say lighting is phenomenal!

Hello Experienced Forum Members,

Is it possible to use this Light on my MS Ritz which is H4 60/55w by default?

https://www.gearbest.com/car-headlights/pp_612728.html

Looks like they are just plug and play - Is this going to upgrade stock lighting?
Dont get these. No glare shields and COB lamps means no proper beam but high amount of glare. Get high quality CREE H4 LEd bulbs from ali epxress. If you go back a couple of pages, you should find links to Cree XHP bulbs.

Hi Bvm. I have City Honda 2016 model. Want to update my stock yellow lights. Want them in bit ice blue color. Which lights should I go for? I don't have any basic knowledge of any of the types of lights. I want good illuminations with bit of blue tinge to the head lights and fog lights. Please guide me.

Dont get these. No glare shields and COB lamps means no proper beam but high amount of glare. Get high quality CREE H4 LEd bulbs from ali epxress. If you go back a couple of pages, you should find links to Cree XHP bulbs.
Thank you for the reply,

You mentioned at the post number #321 bulb for H4 installation.

Here is the link of the bulb https://www.aliexpress.com/item/New...lgo_pvid=83b30e1f-09de-4e0c-8219-0e60ab584e14

If yes,
1>Those are Plug & Play to H4 Slot?
2>Need To Choose H4/9003/HB2 Hi/Lo
3>Ships From China
4>Emitting Color = ?

Also which shipping method?

Thank you for the reply,

You mentioned at the post number #321 bulb for H4 installation.

Here is the link of the bulb https://www.aliexpress.com/item/New...lgo_pvid=83b30e1f-09de-4e0c-8219-0e60ab584e14

If yes,
1>Those are Plug & Play to H4 Slot?
2>Need To Choose H4/9003/HB2 Hi/Lo
3>Ships From China
4>Emitting Color = ?

Also which shipping method?
Reply:
1. Yes. You may have to cut the rubber dust cap on the stock HL.
2. Right
3. China
4. Warm white or 4300K
5. Either China registered post or Aliexpress standard shipping. Never choose any premium shipping like DHL, EMS etc. It is bound to attract customs duty. Gati is OK though.

Reply:
1. Yes. You may have to cut the rubber dust cap on the stock HL.
2. Right
3. China
4. Warm white or 4300K
5. Either China registered post or Aliexpress standard shipping. Never choose any premium shipping like DHL, EMS etc. It is bound to attract customs duty. Gati is OK though.
Thank you for the reply, There is no GATI option available though, Experienced with GATI @ GearBest is Excellent.

Please let me know some Ques,

1. Cutting Dust Cap can be done at Home - Possible?
2. After cutting if it not possible to fit is there any Downside not using one? - I mean the Big Black Dome occupied the area...
3.Is it possible to SEAL the area with Electrical TAPE?