Renault Duster Now Launched at Rs.7.19 Lakh (Coverage – Pg.19)

Re: Renault Duster Now Launched at Rs.7.19 Lakh (Coverage – Pg.20)

Didn't have the patience to read after 25 pages. What I noticed is a few people are hell bent on wanting the Duster to fail. I'm sorry to inform you, that is just not going to happen. People are harping about the interior quality but a blind to the shoddy interiors of all Marutis. You say it is not a SUV a compared to the Scorpio or Safari, yet you bring in the Ertiga to the argument. The Ertiga is a MUV. Who has determined what are true SUV's and what are not. The 4WD Duster will probably do everything the Scorpio and Safari or Range Rover and Land Cruiser Prado can do and may be more. I know some of you hate the Duster and you hate for it is even without owning it. I too hate Maruti based on my terrible experience of owning one but I do not go around Maruti bashing on all threads. I did it on my ownership thread and that is it. If you don't like the Duster, just don't buy it or recommend it. Buy the Ertiga and be happy. Call it a SUV if you please. The thousands of people who put their money on the Duster are not fools.
I Agree,

Yes Duster is not an Pure SUV to compare with safari or scorpio, but i haven't said its not a capable one.

i have test driven duster for 10 kms and below are my impressions.

sorry am not an expert to put right words

1. if you want a spacious and good ground clearance car for family of 5 go for it.

2. built quality of whats important i meant chassis and exterior are ok

3. interior plastics are not as bad as reported by many, interior quality is not super or top notch, but it is not bad too.

4. suspension is good, seems to be built for bad indian roads, not much body rolling effect while making sharp turns

5. thumps down for audio system.
6. thumps down for rear view visibility, thats may be due to i was too much spoiled by figo.

7. driving feel and controlling is not inspiring (again may be i was spoiled by figo) but its not bad i would give 4 out of 5

8. looks not too modern or upmarket, but it looks different and better than the same decades old looks of scorpio and safari.

am i going to book duster......no because my first criteria is to park a car with in 4.3 mtrs space so i am waiting to see if ecosport fits

If you ask me, I dont care what segment Duster lies in and with what other cars is Duster compared. If I like that car and it serves my purpose. I would go ahead and buy. I think car serves better to people who want 5 seater, but also have some hidden desire of owing SUV type car.

To add to what I have said, there is also a 7 seater v/s 5 seater debate. If you need to carry 7 persons go and buy a vehicle which is certified to carry 7 (certified to carry does not mean comfortably). Today I was standing by the highway waiting for some job to be done and was watching the vehicles go by. Only 1 in every 10 was carrying more than 1 passenger. Didn't see a single one with 7 passengers. Seriously, how often do you actually carry 7 people in a car. Most people never. That's what makes the Duster a sensible choice.
Talking of quality, how good is the quality of the Duster's main competitors, the Scorpio and Safari? (The Ertiga is a competitor for the Xylo and Innova).

The 4WD Duster will probably do everything the Scorpio and Safari or Range Rover and Land Cruiser Prado can do and may be more.
Now this is the limit. [frustration][frustration]

The thousands of people who put their money on the Duster are not fools.
+1, they are semi-fools. [lol]

Can you explain. What exactly do you want to do in the "other" SUV's that you can't in a Duster?

And on what is this statement based. Facts or your personal opinion?
What a 4x4 duster can do ? Check this show me a sedan or a hatchback in the < 13 lakhs segment which can do this .Btw the Humble duster here is compared with a landrover .
Dacia Duster review off-road - Auto Express - YouTube

What a 4x4 duster can do ? Check this show me a sedan or a hatchback in the < 13 lakhs segment which can do this .Btw the Humble duster here is compared with a landrover .
Nice share mate. Good Video. But the interesting thing to note here is the price of 4 X 4 Duster in UK. It is £8995 thats about approx 7.7 lacs [surprise] (considering the currrent £ rate as 85). I dont understand why it that these cars are so costly in India.

When I was in UK, I went Derby many times for tour and there was one shop that udes to sell used Jaquars and trust me the used Jaquars only costed something about £6999 to £9999. (As what I saw there 2 years ago). If you still consider this rate, it means only INR 8.5 lacs. And what are people paying here for Jaquars. [surprise]

Nice share mate. Good Video. But the interesting thing to note here is the price of 4 X 4 Duster in UK. It is £8995 thats about approx 7.7 lacs [surprise] (considering the currrent £ rate as 85). I dont understand why it that these cars are so costly in India.
Beat this, the duster getting sold in UK are manufactured in Chennai

WTF.[anger]. Plus the exporting cost and they get duster cheaper than India. Buying car in India is costlier then UK. Is Indian govt paying subsidy to car companies for exporting??

Though it's sad and shamefull the fact is every car maker " most of the time " still treats India as a dumping ground .VW polo is a ordinary car in Europe which is sold here as a premium hatchback , honda jaaz is sold with higher capacity engine .
Add to the fact of our liking and fasination for SUVs .

A duster in uk is a just another suv in a huge sea of SUVs available in uk so to create some market for it they have to sell it for less compared to India having not many choices it is termed as a premiuim offering .

Nothing succeeds like success, or for Renault India, like the Duster SUV. Ever since the launch of this SUV a couple of months ago, the French automaker’s fortunes in India has been on the upswing. The 2012 Duster SUV has managed to clock in 15,000 bookings, which at a time when the Indian car market is embattled by a sales slowdown, is pretty remarkable, more so for a brand that remains relatively obscure in India. The Duster SUV promises to make Renault a household name, or atleast the initial momentum seems to suggest so.
Renault is working 3 shits to meet the demand .

Renault India starts three shifts to meet the big demand for the Duster SUV, which bags 15,000 bookings | IndianCarsBikes.in

Though it's sad and shamefull the fact is every car maker " most of the time " still treats India as a dumping ground .VW polo is a ordinary car in Europe which is sold here as a premium hatchback , honda jaaz is sold with higher capacity engine .
Add to the fact of our liking and fasination for SUVs .

A duster in uk is a just another suv in a huge sea of SUVs available in uk so to create some market for it they have to sell it for less compared to India having not many choices it is termed as a premiuim offering .
But my question here is the manufacturing cost is so less here, than why aren't they selling it here at lower rate than current one. Or they have already prepared their mind to loot us. [frustration]

Exactly for the precise reason because we don't have many options and our craze for SUVs they are milking us .its a pure cold blooded business move to exploit our situation here in India .

The way their order book is filling up i am sure they will be very to happy with their pricing decision[anger](read huge bottom-line)

Exactly for the precise reason because we don't have many options and our craze for SUVs they are milking us .its a pure cold blooded business move to exploit our situation here in India .
The way their order book is filling up i am sure they will be very to happy with their pricing decision[anger](read huge bottom-line)
No I am not only talking about them, The question is about Indian companies as well. When Renault is able to develop the cars at lower cost, then I think the TATAs and M&Ms might also be manufacturing the cars at much lower cost than the cost they are selling us to. Hmmmmmmm. [anger] I just feel like [gun].