Pictures & Videos Of Automobiles Involved in Accidents

A 21-year-old biker died on spot when a car hit his vehicle near KIA road in Yelahanka traffic police station limits, in Bangalore, on Thursday morning. According to the police, the accident took place around 9 am on a service road next to KIA road, when they were heading to office. They were rushed to the hospital, where Sahadev was declared brought dead. RIP.

The Car driver was driving home after his night shift when he hit their bike. Police suspect him of dozing off at the wheel. The Car Driver has been arrested. The Deccan Chronicle has this Pic of a Skoda Car.

Accs.jpeg

But, The Deccan Herald has a Pic of an Indica

Accs 02.jpeg

Original Links (DC and DH). One incidence, but Pictures of two different cars came in reports. It is difficult to judge, what actually went wrong.

About Accidents in India

I read somewhere that though many people see "an accident", there are very less number of people who "clearly saw what caused an accident". In a predominantly poor country, it is normal to consider the one on a costlier mode of transportation to be AGGRESSIVE and BLAMED. THIS post is about, how "ANY road uncertainty" can lead to an accident. This post is also to highlight the hazards of mindless overtaking.

Few years ago, on a 4-lane NH, outside a TN Industrial Town, traffic was slowing down. A 19-20 ish youngster on a Pulsar overtook me from left and immediately cut in front to Right Lane. I was irritated and kept glaring at him. He had a woman pillion rider, yet he continued "leaning to left and right" at 60-ish speeds. He quickly went past 5-6 cars and was exactly ahead of my driving position. He was leaning for the gap between two-lanes and the truck ahead of him braked - greatest uncertainty.

Whatever margin the boy thought he had was GONE. I saw the pillion rider's head hitting the metal corner of Truck. She died instantly. An instant crowd gathered and idiots started clicking photos [frustration] . I went and gave a towel; a lady street vendor came forward and covered the accident victim. The young biker had minor injuries, BUT, was unable to digest the disaster ... he realised his mistake ... he was hitting his face and chest ... fell on his knees ... was rolling on the road and crying crying crying ... Inconsolable loss.

The driver of the Car, following the truck was very shaken, as he saw something one normally doesn't want to see. I advised him to rest a while and some one helped him drive to a shop little ahead. When I started my car, I found my hands too were trembling and I too went to the same shop. Few more drivers joined us. We realized what caused the accident : "a biker on a phone call drifted to his right; this forced a Car driver to touch the brake pedal ; the Truck, which was following the Car too braked ; and a Life was Lost behind the truck". The drifting 'biker-on-phone-call' continued ahead.

From where we were, we saw that the Truck driver was being pushed around. We went and told locals the zig-zagging we all saw before the accident; hearing our voice, an AutoRick Driver too aired same views (the boy cut in front of him too). Just at that time, Police and boy's relatives arrived. We repeated our story. The Father had to be held back from hitting the Boy.

But, one Cop was reluctant; he said, "if we record this, the family will not get compensation". I argued, "for this family to get few lakhs, why should an innocent trucker be termed a killer ? How trucker is responsible for what happens behind him ?? Anyway, Bike insurance will cover the loss". The grieving relatives were broad minded and didn't want to press any charges (Note:- If they were adamant, most likely I would have left immediately; my safety first na ? ). To the Police team, we recommended "bike slipped, the woman's head hit some metal debris on the road and she died" ; ALL accepted. None was blamed, but sadly a Family lost a key member.

My Question: Are "phone-call-while-driving, helmet-less riding, mindless lane changing and idiotic overtaking" worth the loss of a Life ???

PS-1: The trucker told me, "on an average I save 1,000 people every year, by applying brakes on time. First time someone died because I applied brakes.

Sadly True... Maintain minimum braking distance folks...

Re: About Accidents in India

I read somewhere that though many people see "an accident", there are very less number of people who "clearly saw what caused an accident". In a predominantly poor country, it is normal to consider the one on a costlier mode of transportation to be AGGRESSIVE and BLAMED. THIS post is about, how "ANY road uncertainty" can lead to an accident. This post is also to highlight the hazards of mindless overtaking.

Few years ago, on a 4-lane NH, outside a TN Industrial Town, traffic was slowing down. A 19-20 ish youngster on a Pulsar overtook me from left and immediately cut in front to Right Lane. I was irritated and kept glaring at him. He had a woman pillion rider, yet he continued "leaning to left and right" at 60-ish speeds. He quickly went past 5-6 cars and was exactly ahead of my driving position. He was leaning for the gap between two-lanes and the truck ahead of him braked - greatest uncertainty.

Whatever margin the boy thought he had was GONE. I saw the pillion rider's head hitting the metal corner of Truck. She died instantly. An instant crowd gathered and idiots started clicking photos [frustration] . I went and gave a towel; a lady street vendor came forward and covered the accident victim. The young biker had minor injuries, BUT, was unable to digest the disaster ... he realised his mistake ... he was hitting his face and chest ... fell on his knees ... was rolling on the road and crying crying crying ... Inconsolable loss.

The driver of the Car, following the truck was very shaken, as he saw something one normally doesn't want to see. I advised him to rest a while and some one helped him drive to a shop little ahead. When I started my car, I found my hands too were trembling and I too went to the same shop. Few more drivers joined us. We realized what caused the accident : "a biker on a phone call drifted to his right; this forced a Car driver to touch the brake pedal ; the Truck, which was following the Car too braked ; and a Life was Lost behind the truck". The drifting 'biker-on-phone-call' continued ahead.

From where we were, we saw that the Truck driver was being pushed around. We went and told locals the zig-zagging we all saw before the accident; hearing our voice, an AutoRick Driver too aired same views (the boy cut in front of him too). Just at that time, Police and boy's relatives arrived. We repeated our story. The Father had to be held back from hitting the Boy.

But, one Cop was reluctant; he said, "if we record this, the family will not get compensation". I argued, "for this family to get few lakhs, why should an innocent trucker be termed a killer ? How trucker is responsible for what happens behind him ?? Anyway, Bike insurance will cover the loss". The grieving relatives were broad minded and didn't want to press any charges (Note:- If they were adamant, most likely I would have left immediately; my safety first na ? ). To the Police team, we recommended "bike slipped, the woman's head hit some metal debris on the road and she died" ; ALL accepted. None was blamed, but sadly a Family lost a key member.

My Question: Are "phone-call-while-driving, helmet-less riding, mindless lane changing and idiotic overtaking" worth the loss of a Life ???

PS-1: The trucker told me, "on an average I save 1,000 people every year, by applying brakes on time. First time someone died because I applied brakes.

Good Job Vijay_968, you saved an innocent from the hassles of police interrogation. Good to hear about people supporting the innocent.
Sad for the lost live,pity for the poor boy, i hope more and more people read this column and change their driving style.
Be more responsible towards self and others.
DRIVE SAFELY

Yeah, Me too was surprised to see this. As you can get an idea from the image, trailer was very long. Just see it has got so many wheels. Spotted this on highway while going from mumbai to silvassa.

Well, just saw this post, it's not a trailer, it Hydraulic Axles or Modular Axles, the front Engine/Cabin is called Puller with Counter weight. They just need to add an additional Puller from Behind and 1 in front, to move the Axles further out of the ditch.

Saw this damaged Tiago being landed at the Noida Dealer. Seems a side impact case. Seeing the damage, it re-assures the faith that Tiago has a reasonably good quality of steel used in the body shell.
I think the driver of this car must have wrongly overtaken another car and that would have been the cause of the accident, otherwise this damage can be avoided.

Truly a very deep experience of life and death you witnessed
I find alot of bikers do this nonsensical zig-zaging in Mumbai , overtake from left then come right in front of my car and drop speed despite the left lane being empty

There needs to be proper sense that needs to be knocked into these bikers
In a car, an accident isnt as big a deal as a bike wherein you are so exposed

I feel two wheelers are best avoided by us who can afford cars
For someone elses mistake, I wouldnt want to be the victim on a two wheeler
In a car all said and done, at least I have more control, more layers of safety even in the most unsafe of cars and others mistakes have a much lesser effect on me

Saw this damaged Tiago being landed at the Noida Dealer. Seems a side impact case. Seeing the damage, it re-assures the faith that Tiago has a reasonably good quality of steel used in the body shell.

Unless you actually witnessed the incident or had it analysed, its not an exact measure of how safe/unsafe it is
Depends on scenario

For example , does the below incident mean the Richshaw is safer than Octavia RS??

Racing turns fatal: 1 killed as car rams into auto in Thiruvananthapuram

Thiruvananthapuram: One person was killed and four others, including three women, sustained severe injuries when a overspeeding car rammed into an auto rickshaw and overturned near Raj Bhavan here on Thursday night.

The man who was driving the car died on the spot. The deceased is identified as Adarsh, son of Perunthanni-native Subramanyan. The car had a temporary registration.

Read:

Even if we zoom at break neck speeds also, we would not be reaching our destination mighty early.It is only a few minutes. When do we realize this? Also to be blamed are our Government Policies which allow automotive companies to manufacture and sell umpteen number of vehicles when there is no corresponding road infrastructure growth. It is time that we had restrictions like only Tax payers with 5 year record can buy a vehicle and replacement is allowed only after 10 years.
Nice job done by you Kudos.

Even if we zoom at break neck speeds also, we would not be reaching our destination mighty early.It is only a few minutes. When do we realize this? Also to be blamed are our Government Policies which allow automotive companies to manufacture and sell umpteen number of vehicles when there is no corresponding road infrastructure growth. It is time that we had restrictions like only Tax payers with 5 year record can buy a vehicle and replacement is allowed only after 10 years.
Nice job done by you Kudos.
Yeah we complain about quality of roads , underpowered vehicles compared to abroad but honestly, do the majority of us deserve the above given lack of road and civic sense
It might prove to be disastrous without proper rule implementation
So theres too sides of the coin
(Im not disagreeing with you, just adding the other side of the coin)

A typical case of over confidence and unnecessary tricks on the road. Can't really think what was the point the driver wanted to prove?

Moron was not concentrating on the road.He was busy following the beemer. He did not notice that the dumper had braked already. OUCH!! Back side of a dumper is very solid.

A typical case of Concentration loss while driving.
The Tail-lamps of the truck and adjacent car where clearly red and also the signal had turned orange, still the person was busy chit-chatting about cars, no one among the co-passenger warned the driver.