Petrol Engine or Diesel Engine: Your Choice?

Which is your pick?

Figures are quite impressive. None of the vehicles available in India, petrol or diesel can match those figures, IMO.
I think we'll have to get some gas turbines [:)].
Do you have any provision to know the rpm of turbo attached to the engine?

My ford Falcon Xt mark II is NA 4 Litre with over 180 Killowatts on rear wheels

it revs upto 7500 NA (naturally aspirated) no induction or mod at all.

My nissan skyline R33 GTST is a single turbo it revs upto 8500 RPM with 14psi boost . I don't need to change many gears , IF I redline 1st two gears I am doing 140kmph , I don't have to worry about 3rd, 4th and 5th.

coming to bikes , Hayabusa in petrol and turbo charged revs around 14000RPM .

Low END TORQUE ! :p now tell me how much is that on your vehicles before I reveal mine [:D]
140KMPH in 2nd gear. Now that would be a real fun. [clap]. I am definiately going on ride with you, Once I am in Australia. Advance Booking is done.

One thing is sure. Many new things I got to learn from this thread/debate. Thanks Raj for starting the topic. Thanks codename, Vipul, nozzlering, VivekRj.Dieselhead and others to take an effort to put down the facts of each engine.
[cheers]

Figures are quite impressive. None of the vehicles available in India, petrol or diesel can match those figures, IMO.
I think we'll have to get some gas turbines [:)].
Do you have any provision to know the rpm of turbo attached to the engine?
yeah I think the turbo RPM's cannot be figures out however the turbo rpms doesn't really count, its the compressor that compresses air makes the real deal.

Its the flow rate by which turbos are sold. 2.5" 3" high flow etc

@Dharmesh: please do come :) I'll arrange some other ones too

I couldn't stop myself from writing this post.

What is a twin turbo or triple turbo engine? And how does it make the engine better than a single turbo engine?
Why diesel engine have low end torque while petrol engine not?
Why petrol engine rpm is higher than diesel ones?
How is a petrol engine turbocharged?
Why petrol engine rev higher, still have less torque?
Do we know answer to these questions, or have any idea about them?
If not, then we should think before making serious technical comments on an engine's performance.
Now that is the spirit man, till now we were defending, time is for attack now[clap].

Low END TORQUE ! :p now tell me how much is that on your vehicles before I reveal mine [:D]
See codename whatever machines you are gonna compare the torque of our vehicles, does not belong to each other in any way, other than that they are petrol or diesel.[roll]

We can't compare them. Its just like comparing eagle with peacock. Comparison can only only be done b/w two things of same league.

BTW its 209 NM at just 2000 rpm what is yours at 2000rpm.

Thread Starter #141
GUYS, please read the first post, I have written -

Guys, so what is it that clicks for you? are you a petrol fan or a diesel fan?

in other words, do you get crazy over bhp or is it torque that drives you mad?

in other words, does the high revving engines impress you or does the acceleration low down in the rpm suit you?

in other words, are you into wheelspins or you love the turbo whistling?

I am a hardcore diesel fan!
In other words, this thread is to choose whether you like Petrol or diesel. This is not a "Petrol v/s Diesel - Which one is better?" thread. Albeit, it has been turned into one.

There CANNOT be a winner among these. Will every guy among you marry the same girl? We have different choices and different priorities. Just mention your liking, explain it and leave it at that.

BECAUSE, diesel heads wont understand petrol heads and vice versa.

See codename whatever machines you are gonna compare the torque of our vehicles, does not belong to each other in any way, other than that they are petrol or diesel.[roll]

We can't compare them. Its just like comparing eagle with peacock. Comparison can only only be done b/w two things of same league.

BTW its 209 NM at just 2000 rpm what is yours at 2000rpm.
Peak 780@ 6400RPM

I do not understand how to convince people who are still living with petrols, world has moved already towards diesel and it is clearly a diesel era now.

Diesels are on the upper hand and all the sales figures show this across the world and it is the time for new age diesels which are par from petrols with highest performance !!

Life means not only spead, power and fun to overtake and fun to drive
Life means to save and survive and it is with diesels today whether any body or not
ya till price of diesel is less as soon as diesel and petrol fuel price are same petrol will be back in action as it was earlier its truth

well that's a massive figure[surprise]. And what it is at 2000rpm, as i am not talking about peak. I am concerned to the low end torque.
Ever took your car to Dyno tuners ?
Mine has been , dyno reports always tell you the peak power. thats how they are tuned.

Bigger the turbo bigger the lag however we can fix it . Adjustable V cams [:)]

This is what skyline does ,similar like mine
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kYYjXDhB0xs

Vipul buddy what are you doing dude, this is not the nature of diesel. Ok fine i agree with your point. But you have to agree that huge torque is nature of a diesel engine. We can make a diesel engine peppier using turbos, remapping, free flow exhaust, free flow intake, intercooler, etc. etc.. But it not possible to make a petrol engine to have huge low rpm torque what so ever method you apply.
And when you add all this stuff to petrol engine?Hehehehe,I think I need not to tell you what it can turn into.
Maybe a petrol engine can't have the high low end torque of a diesel but the turbo petrols have enough torque to rival diesels in the mid range and my dear EVERY CAR SPENDS MOST OF ITS LIFETIME IN THE MID-RANGE!!And no doubt,turbo petrols have far far better torque spread than the small-powerband turbo diesels.

Buddy do you really feel that diesel engines need to revv at high rpms, you also own a diesel vehicle didn't you feel, that what a petrol engine do at 7000 or above rpm, diesel engines can do at 4000rpm or max 4500.
Then why would someone revv diesel engine upto 5500 or above rpm when i get more power, torque along with pickup much lower than that.
No doubt I myself own a diesel car and no doubt my all time favourite car is also a diesel(Skoda Yeti 4X4) but that does not eman I can forget petrols.
My dear,from high revving nature I always mean "A better and more widespread power and torque spread throughout the rev range".And accept it or not,diesels never have it.And amazingly,acceptance or rejection NEVER CHANGES THE TRUTH!!

However people cry all parts of the world !! but diesels are leading in India and no body can stop this !!
Haha,I agree on it.Truth is truth and deserves to be accepted as it is.[:)]

I couldn't stop myself from writing this post.

1. What is a twin turbo or triple turbo engine? And how does it make the engine better than a single turbo engine?
  2. Why diesel engine have low end torque while petrol engine not?
  3. Why petrol engine rpm is higher than diesel ones?
  4. How is a petrol engine turbocharged?
  5. Why petrol engine rev higher, still have less torque?
  6. Do we know answer to these questions, or have any idea about them?
If not, then we should think before making serious technical comments on an engine's performance.
And I couldn't stop myself from writing this(BTW,I was waiting for something like this only and had even predicted too,but prediction gone wrong because the member changed,I was expecting someone else then our tech-guru Nozzlering to come up with these questions-Haha,TAI sixth sense!![evil])

So buddy take it my way,I am a simple desi boy who just knows that there are some things called three pedals,an engine,a stick called gear and a seat.Now I use my feet,my hand and my mind as data collectors and then predict what sort of driving pleasure a car offers.And yes,how one thing works in the real world matters not what is written in books.Else Carnot's engine would have been fitted in our cars for 100% efficiency.
I never scored more than 91% in academics because I don't understand theory and what I understand practically is:-
  • Twin turbo and triple turbo means two and three turbos.
  • Twin turbos remove turbo lag in lower revs and triple turbos means a good top end too.(please feel free to correct my mistakes)
  • I don't know the answer of second and third question but thanks in advance because now you are going to answer them for us.
  • Fourth question is above my thinking and hence again thanks a lot.
  • Fifth question is mind blowing and sounds even more technical and hence a very very thank you for answering it.
  • Okay,I failed,but then you are the teacher here,so please teach we guys what and how all this is happening.

About last line:Have you driven a turbo petrol or a twin or triple turbo diesel?If not,then you must think twice before making comments on them..[anger]But yes,I don't believe theory or those hypothetical facts,so bring on practical data please.

Take it my way:In business we say "Make least possible investments and make highest possible profit and you are successful".But in the real world half of the theory goes into flush.

My ford Falcon Xt mark II is NA 4 Litre with over 180 Killowatts on rear wheels

it revs upto 7500 NA (naturally aspirated) no induction or mod at all.

My nissan skyline R33 GTST is a single turbo it revs upto 8500 RPM with 14psi boost . I don't need to change many gears , IF I redline 1st two gears I am doing 140kmph , I don't have to worry about 3rd, 4th and 5th.

coming to bikes , Hayabusa in petrol and turbo charged revs around 14000RPM .

Low END TORQUE ! :p now tell me how much is that on your vehicles before I reveal mine.
Eh,my turbo petrol is slower from yours by about 100 kms but still mine also touches about 100 kph in 2nd gear and touches 150 kph in 3rd gear.Only you need to rev it hard.

GUYS, please read the first post, I have written -
Following that will kill half of the joy of posting and debates.

In other words, this thread is to choose whether you like Petrol or diesel. This is not a "Petrol v/s Diesel - Which one is better?" thread. Albeit, it has been turned into one.
+100,but finally it had to happen some day.BTW,weather its petrol or diesel or petrol vs diesel,at the end it becomes petrol vs diesel.

There CANNOT be a winner among these. Will every guy among you marry the same girl? We have different choices and different priorities. Just mention your liking, explain it and leave it at that.

BECAUSE, diesel heads wont understand petrol heads and vice versa.
+100.

And I couldn't stop myself from writing this(BTW,I was waiting for something like this only and had even predicted too,but prediction gone wrong because the member changed,I was expecting someone else then our tech-guru Nozzlering to come up with these questions-Haha,TAI sixth sense!![evil])

So buddy take it my way,I am a simple desi boy who just knows that there are some things called three pedals,an engine,a stick called gear and a seat.Now I use my feet,my hand and my mind as data collectors and then predict what sort of driving pleasure a car offers.And yes,how one thing works in the real world matters not what is written in books.Else Carnot's engine would have been fitted in our cars for 100% efficiency.
I never scored more than 91% in academics because I don't understand theory and what I understand practically is:-
  • Twin turbo and triple turbo means two and three turbos.
  • Twin turbos remove turbo lag in lower revs and triple turbos means a good top end too.(please feel free to correct my mistakes)
  • I don't know the answer of second and third question but thanks in advance because now you are going to answer them for us.
  • Fourth question is above my thinking and hence again thanks a lot.
  • Fifth question is mind blowing and sounds even more technical and hence a very very thank you for answering it.
  • Okay,I failed,but then you are the teacher here,so please teach we guys what and how all this is happening.

About last line:Have you driven a turbo petrol or a twin or triple turbo diesel?If not,then you must think twice before making comments on them..[anger]But yes,I don't believe theory or those hypothetical facts,so bring on practical data please.

Take it my way:In business we say "Make least possible investments and make highest possible profit and you are successful".But in the real world half of the theory goes into flush.
Kudos to your prediction and sixth sense!
TAI comprises of members with varied levels of technical knowledge. There's nothing wrong in knowing less or more. Everyone is learning here. I have learnt a lot here. And everyday, I get to know something new from someone. But basesless talk is quite irritating.
Yes Carnot's engine is theoretical. And it cannot be achieved because of friction and other losses, which is also in theories. Its unfortunate that you cant appreciate the importance of theory. Its good that by some PRACTICAL means you have achieved 91% in academics. Believe me, 91% is very good marks.
As far as questions are concerned, I know the answers, thats why I put them forward. My motive of putting them was to let you know that one should know what he is talking about. And even if I answer the questions, you w[ont be able to get them. Anyways, I will post the answers for other members.

Regarding twin turbo petrols, I never made any comments about them. I would like to know which twin or triple turbo petrol have you driven?

Whatever you said about the business theory, it might be true. But believe me, the world is running on that remaining theory.

Mods. Kindly excuse for going off topic.

^^I am waiting for answers and even better will be if you post some youtube videos.Because you may not believe me but I really can't get more than 75% of what I read.
Else please feel free of giving some weird examples and they are easy to understand.

I am also like you,not driven any triple turbo,BTW has BMW 535i got twin turbo?If yes,the I have driven one for 9 kms.
And yes,by this sentence I meant "Like you said that if one don't know the answers to the questions then he must not make comments" going by this way those who haven't driven twin/triple turbo powered cars must not make comments.(don't take it seriously please:please:)

Vipul & Nozz

You both are seniors to me in the forum !![cry]

After looking at your posts, I felt something friends.

If you look at the topic heading is Petrol Engine or Diesel Engine : Your choice

So it is as simple as if you like Mango then say 10000 reasons why you like it and you should not tell why you do not like the Banana[:D]

With this, I was bit afraid and scared looking your posts there how deep you have gone and there is no rope available to pull you back !! what to do

So come out quickly saying " All is well "