Ownership Review: Polo 1.2 TDI Comfortline Diesel (100K Crossed)

@poloman, sad to know that your car giving problems and your dealer is unable to fix them. How about changing your dealer for this work ?

@toughguy, Pls raise your concern to mods if you have any doubts about anyone rather raising concerns directly to that person.

I am sure both of you would take my advise in best of spirits.

Thanks and all the best
Yes I would now be visiting the Jangpura Extension VW north.
Moti nagar dealer was very near to my place and I have heard its the biggest so I was refraining myself from going to far away places.
Also I have dropped my idea of selling the vehicle .. I could have got nervous breakdown when someone quoted 3.15 lakh ..
I want my vehicle in good shape and I would even go to Gurgaon or noida if required.
My father says that mechanical failure can happen in any car and its not very difficult to fix it.
Further I plan to change the tires, was postponing as I was trying to sell the vehicle.
I need some help with the tire change
The stock size is 185/60/R15
Other options in the same size
Bridgestone B250
Bridgestone Turanza ER300

Not getting michellin for the above size
Should I go for 195/60/R15 Primacys LC are available but It would def increase the comfort as the sidewall increases by 7 mm
but Body roll can increase and steering feedback would get affected
If i go for the above size I also need to change the stepney tire to keep the overall diameter same

Would I see some difference if I go with the same size Bridgestone Turanza ER300. Inputs required

This time, take a good class of dealer/the workshop manager...

SA says that the vibrations will increase as the mounting has been changed from manual to Hydraulic
He says it is normal
Do you also feel vibrations in the front seats gear knob and clutch when the vehicle is idling

Re: Ownership Review: Polo 1.2 TDI Comfortline (Diesel)

Further I plan to change the tires,....

Would I see some difference if I go with the same size Bridgestone Turanza ER300. Inputs required

SA says that the vibrations will increase as the mounting has been changed from manual to Hydraulic
He says it is normal
Do you also feel vibrations in the front seats gear knob and clutch when the vehicle is idling
Why do you want to change tires? Comfort, noise reduction, grip? Asking just out of curiosity.
Not just 195/60/R15, I have heard people change it to 205/60/R15 too. Yea, spare wheel also you might need to change.
Experts need to comment on the change of tires.

Yes, vibrations can be felt especially on clutch. Basically the whole body shakes a bit at idling for a sec, because of which you might feel vibrations on gear knob and seats. I think this is normal for polo 1.2 engine.

@ Poloman, So what happened now ? Have you visited another dealer / service centre so far or planning ?

Please keep in mind that biggest are not always better by default.

All the best.

Thread Starter #304

Yes, vibrations can be felt especially on clutch. Basically the whole body shakes a bit at idling for a sec, because of which you might feel vibrations on gear knob and seats. I think this is normal for polo 1.2 engine.

Do give your vehicle for checkup this should not happen at first place [surprise]

No body roll or shake whatsoever in my polo, no vibrations of gear knobs that too in diesel even though engine is 3pot which you never realized till you read or told about the same [thumbsup] also driven the petrol but not for longer period.

Do give your vehicle for checkup this should not happen at first place [surprise]

No body roll or shake whatsoever in my polo, no vibrations of gear knobs that too in diesel even though engine is 3pot which you never realized till you read or told about the same [thumbsup] also driven the petrol but not for longer period.
Thats what I meant to say. Gear knobs and seat doesn't vibrate, but it may feel like, when the whole body shakes for a sec.

About the clutch, if you put your foot lightly on it, you will feel slight vibrations at idling. That has been my experience. But it doesn't seem to be a problem at all for me. If poloman's gear knob vibrates exclusively, then there is a problem.

@poloman- you also got your gear mount changed, right?

Thats what I meant to say. Gear knobs and seat doesn't vibrate, but it may feel like, when the whole body shakes for a sec.

About the clutch, if you put your foot lightly on it, you will feel slight vibrations at idling. That has been my experience. But it doesn't seem to be a problem at all for me. If poloman's gear knob vibrates exclusively, then there is a problem.

@poloman- you also got your gear mount changed, right?

yes the gear box mounting was changed earlier and now the engine mounting is changed to hydraulic after which the vibrations has been increased. I am trying to push them to procure the earlier manual mounting so that the original mounting can be restored.
Please note that at some point we all have to get our engine mountings changed from manual to hydraulic as the manual mounting has some axial play which starts giving some sound like rubber shuddering when the vehicle goes over bump.
VW is doing this FOC for all vehicles manufactured before November 2011

yes the gear box mounting was changed earlier and now the engine mounting is changed to hydraulic after which the vibrations has been increased. I am trying to push them to procure the earlier manual mounting so that the original mounting can be restored.
Please note that at some point we all have to get our engine mountings changed from manual to hydraulic as the manual mounting has some axial play which starts giving some sound like rubber shuddering when the vehicle goes over bump.
VW is doing this FOC for all vehicles manufactured before November 2011
I am not sure if I hear such sound over bumps. Workshop people have also not told me about any such provision of changing mount from manual to hydraulic.

Even then, if hydraulic mount is causing vibrations then whats the point in changing from manual to hydraulic.

Have you seen any customer there at workshop with similar problem?

I am not sure if I hear such sound over bumps. Workshop people have also not told me about any such provision of changing mount from manual to hydraulic.

Even then, if hydraulic mount is causing vibrations then whats the point in changing from manual to hydraulic.

Have you seen any customer there at workshop with similar problem?

They only tell if u ask them, its not a recall actually but they know the problem is there.
Now I have two different problems rattling and the vibrations.
This is the time when the person enjoys a lot with the car when it is new but for me [frustration]
Fixed an appointment with VW North this saturday

They only tell if u ask them, its not a recall actually but they know the problem is there.
This is the time when the person enjoys a lot with the car when it is new but for me [frustration]
Alright, I will also call them and ask about this problem.

And, I showed the left side rattling to workshop the other day, it was coming from glove box due to some loosening of hinge. If I open the glove box the sound would disappear, which is how I and the advisor discovered the problem.

It is now fixed by lubricating the hinges/nuts of glove box. I don't hear any such tak-tak noise now.

You can also see if its the same problem with yours. Keep the glove box opened and drive on rough roads.

Thread Starter #310

You seems to be quite unlucky with your car, a 6L lemon wish you best of luck for your next visit to service center and if you got time the try VW-East next time which is in Noida 62 or 63 Sector if i am correct.

Its in Sector 63.

Poloman- If you get time to visit Noida, I suggest you to visit Viraj Automobile workshop, noida Sec-6. These guys are prompt, prior service appointment is particularly not necessary and also nearer than sector-63 one.

Thread Starter #312

Its in Sector 63.

Poloman- If you get time to visit Noida, I suggest you to visit Viraj Automobile workshop, noida Sec-6. These guys are prompt, prior service appointment is particularly not necessary and also nearer than sector-63 one.
I heard that Noida-63 VW-East workshop is VW's largest workshop in Asia correct me if i am wrong.

I got no idea. I don't think it would be the biggest, but yes it covers large area and no. cars served in workshop at a time is also large. I suggested noida sec-6, because I find it less congested and people are quite eager to serve, as per my experience.

I have a query. i've been driving my POLO for 12 days now with AC 100% times on. Today the weather seemed to be nice ,cloudy and it was drizzling a bit so i i didnt feel the need to switch on the AC. But after around 2 minutes of my drive i could feel some kind of air still coming from the air cooling ducts as if the AC is still on.Even after driving a good 25kms i could feel air coming in the cabin. it doesn't happen in my other cars. should i get it checked?

Thread Starter #315

I have a query. i've been driving my POLO for 12 days now with AC 100% times on. Today the weather seemed to be nice ,cloudy and it was drizzling a bit so i i didnt feel the need to switch on the AC. But after around 2 minutes of my drive i could feel some kind of air still coming from the air cooling ducts as if the AC is still on.Even after driving a good 25kms i could feel air coming in the cabin. it doesn't happen in my other cars. should i get it checked?
Hi GM88,

As soon as you turned off your AC fresh air mode gets active automatically, to avoid fresh air inside the cabin press the recirculation button which is located next to AC button with curve arrow. When small light is on it means cabin air is in recirculation mode kindly refer manual for more clarity.

Check the yellow arrow in below attachment, i was talking about this switch

DSC04831.jpg

Hope this helps

TG