New Ford Figo Trend (Diesel) | 3rd Year | 47,000 Kms: Ownership Review

re: New Ford Figo Trend (Diesel) | 5th Service Update | 40,000 Kms: Ownership Review

Folks please share images of your cars headlight throw at night. This is what my headlight throw looks like these days with osram night breakers. Looks pretty out of adjustment isn't it? Anyone done aux light installation please share how you did the wiring?

Screenshot_2017-10-18-16-41-42.png

Screenshot_2017-10-18-16-41-35.png

Re: New Ford Figo Trend (Diesel) | 3rd Service Update | 20,000 Kms: Ownership Review

What shall I say , The Naked Truth of Indian car market
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7GdtsrV6Xlw
You know, it seems more like his perspective rather than anything else. Looks more like an Abarth ad to me. To answer the actual question, you need to first define what a "good" car really means. Good is such a relative term now-a-days. If Abarth was such a winner, why did it not sell? It must have some negatives that cannot be ignored. And the price, is 10+ lakh for a petrol hatch back really justified? A hatch back that has power alright but has space issues, safety issues, turbo lag, etc.

There can never be a clear winner in a car market. Let me correct it, there SHOULD not be a clear winner. If there is, that will lead to monopoly.
People need choices because they need to choose based on their needs.

Look at other markets elsewhere in the world, you won't see a clear winner and that is what keeps this alive.

One more reason why there cannot be a clear winner is that car market is a product of complex entities. The car itself, the features, the manufacturing company, its hold on the market, company's stability, warranty coverage, after sales servicing, etc.

Re: New Ford Figo Trend (Diesel) | 3rd Service Update | 20,000 Kms: Ownership Review

You know, it seems more like his perspective rather than anything else. Looks more like an Abarth ad to me. To answer the actual question, you need to first define what a "good" car really means. Good is such a relative term now-a-days. If Abarth was such a winner, why did it not sell? It must have some negatives that cannot be ignored. And the price, is 10+ lakh for a petrol hatch back really justified? A hatch back that has power alright but has space issues, safety issues, turbo lag, etc.

There can never be a clear winner in a car market. Let me correct it, there SHOULD not be a clear winner. If there is, that will lead to monopoly.
People need choices because they need to choose based on their needs.

Look at other markets elsewhere in the world, you won't see a clear winner and that is what keeps this alive.

One more reason why there cannot be a clear winner is that car market is a product of complex entities. The car itself, the features, the manufacturing company, its hold on the market, company's stability, warranty coverage, after sales servicing, etc.
But monopoly is whats happening in our market right, monopoly of Maruti Suzuki,
And people nowadays are having too much herd mentality that they are not even ready to even consider other brands, thats precisely what I feel powerdrift has conveyed, see Maruti is the major monopoly in our market, they have been selling unsafe and poor quality cars more in India than good quality and safe cars and even played a big role in making a lot of other brands go cheap, so I guess its correct, the majority are kind of over trusting the Suzuki chain and this video just openly said that

re: New Ford Figo Trend (Diesel) | 5th Service Update | 40,000 Kms: Ownership Review

Ford DCT failure!!! Should we have to stay alert ?
Hi figo users, i have come across this video from a car reviewer in YouTube regarding ford's 1.5 Dual clutch transmission issues. Is this applicable to 1.5 diseal tdci manual transmission also ? Kindly watch the video and comment. Here is the link https://youtu.be/oo5fu6nYYaY

Ford DCT failure!!! Should we have to stay alert ?
Hi figo users, i have come across this video from a car reviewer in YouTube regarding ford's 1.5 Dual clutch transmission issues. Is this applicable to 1.5 diseal tdci manual transmission also ? Kindly watch the video and comment. Here is the link https://youtu.be/oo5fu6nYYaY
This is specifically DCT ie DUAL CLUTCH TRANSMISSION failure, that too for the Automatic DCT150 and DCT200 gearboxes alone which are prone to issues,

Ford has stopped buying these gearboxes from Getrag starting 2017 and now on wards only spare parts will be sourced for theses gearboxes

The Manual is IB5 and its still one of most reliable manual transmissions out there

This is specifically DCT ie DUAL CLUTCH TRANSMISSION failure, that too for the Automatic DCT150 and DCT200 gearboxes alone which are prone to issues,

Ford has stopped buying these gearboxes from Getrag starting 2017 and now on wards only spare parts will be sourced for theses gearboxes

The Manual is IB5 and its still one of most reliable manual transmissions out there
Thanks for reply. Good to know. Very much relieved. Btw, will the left pull issue of figo taken care in upcoming 2018 models? Any info regarding it ?

No info regarding whether left pull issue being taken care of, but recently havent seen much new owners comolaining about left pull issue like it used to, so probably Ford already started addressing the issue.

CONFUSED! Help me Solve this Dilemma
I really dont know whether to go for regular figo or sports version. My budget is very tight. Do you think the 15 inch alloys and 195 section tyres makes a huge difference in the driving experience of figo? I usually dont drive above 100km/h . Very rarely. And majority of rides will be pot holes roads and city rides. And to buy a regular figo now and later change the alloys and tyres to 195/15, it dont seem to be a good idea, atleast to me. Coz for sports version, they have to beef up the anti roll bars and reduce the height inorder to put those tyres. Dont you guys think, there must be some kind of physics behind that? Otherwise they must have done it without doing anything to anti roll bars and height, rite ?

Thread Starter #2,349

The normal figo already has stiff suspension , the sports has even stiffer suspension so ride quality will be better on the normal variant for city drives.
Are you looking at petrol or diesel ?

Ps : the sports variant looks so much better than the normal variant.

CONFUSED! Help me Solve this Dilemma
I really dont know whether to go for regular figo or sports version. My budget is very tight. Do you think the 15 inch alloys and 195 section tyres makes a huge difference in the driving experience of figo? I usually dont drive above 100km/h . Very rarely. And majority of rides will be pot holes roads and city rides. And to buy a regular figo now and later change the alloys and tyres to 195/15, it dont seem to be a good idea, atleast to me. Coz for sports version, they have to beef up the anti roll bars and reduce the height inorder to put those tyres. Dont you guys think, there must be some kind of physics behind that? Otherwise they must have done it without doing anything to anti roll bars and height, rite ?
I suggest to move with Figo S, true the suspension is stiffer than normal Figo but its not like day and night difference, also with stiffer springs there is one more advantage ie when car is packed the suspension wont sag as much as the regular Figo, so it does ads more robustness to the damping action as well and in the long run too the stiffer springs are likely to stay stronger,
Also the only thing one needs to do after buying Figo S is drive the first set of tires and then change to Mischellin tires or Yokohama dB series tires. Both are much better than Appollos
Also the S variant differance in mileage to regular Figo is minimal despite wider tires,
So I say move with Figo S. The stiff springs are not much of a burden like it used to be in Ford Ikons, Fiesta S, etc...its still pretty compliant.

The normal figo already has stiff suspension , the sports has even stiffer suspension so ride quality will be better on the normal variant for city drives.
Are you looking at petrol or diesel ?

Ps : the sports variant looks so much better than the normal variant.
Ofcourse, diseal

I suggest to move with Figo S, true the suspension is stiffer than normal Figo but its not like day and night difference, also with stiffer springs there is one more advantage ie when car is packed the suspension wont sag as much as the regular Figo, so it does ads more robustness to the damping action as well and in the long run too the stiffer springs are likely to stay stronger,
Also the only thing one needs to do after buying Figo S is drive the first set of tires and then change to Mischellin tires or Yokohama dB series tires. Both are much better than Appollos
Also the S variant differance in mileage to regular Figo is minimal despite wider tires,
So I say move with Figo S. The stiff springs are not much of a burden like it used to be in Ford Ikons, Fiesta S, etc...its still pretty compliant.
How about regular figo with 15" alloy/195 tyres? Why the sports version anti roll bar thicker and height reduced? Is there difference in ride quality of normal figo with 15inch alloy/195tyre and sports version with the same?

A stiffer anti roll bar will always result in better ride quality provided the springs are not over damped
The regular Figo with 15 " wheels is a good idea, but I feel Fords Figo has already got a lot more softer than what it should be in regular form, the Figo S is how I feel a regular Figo should have been and the S should have been even more stiff,
See I drive a Figo MK I 2010 model car, a petrol one, and it any day is stiffer than the current gen Figo, but in reality after driving the new Figo and my car back to back I feel my old Figo rides, better, sure at lower speeds it will push and tuck the passengers inside a little bit more but the moment the car gains speed over 40 kmph the advantage of stiffer springs are obvious, the car will remain way more flat and has a TAUT feel, the regular Figo will float and see saw a wee bit, but the S will stay SOLID, which is far better feeling and in my view adds more comfort

The regular Figo with 15" does give better NVH, but wont be able to mask the underlying softness of the springs, this means the cars damping still wont improve ,
The S has 10 mm lowered springs but since the wheels are 15 " the Ground clearance remains same and reduced spring rate means faster rebound compared to slower rebound in regular Figo which is not a good thing to have for a car with an agile chassis, the Figo S actually too is not that perfect, but still its closer to what a real Ford is than the regular Figo.

A stiffer anti roll bar will always result in better ride quality provided the springs are not over damped
The regular Figo with 15 " wheels is a good idea, but I feel Fords Figo has already got a lot more softer than what it should be in regular form, the Figo S is how I feel a regular Figo should have been and the S should have been even more stiff,
See I drive a Figo MK I 2010 model car, a petrol one, and it any day is stiffer than the current gen Figo, but in reality after driving the new Figo and my car back to back I feel my old Figo rides, better, sure at lower speeds it will push and tuck the passengers inside a little bit more but the moment the car gains speed over 40 kmph the advantage of stiffer springs are obvious, the car will remain way more flat and has a TAUT feel, the regular Figo will float and see saw a wee bit, but the S will stay SOLID, which is far better feeling and in my view adds more comfort

The regular Figo with 15" does give better NVH, but wont be able to mask the underlying softness of the springs, this means the cars damping still wont improve ,
The S has 10 mm lowered springs but since the wheels are 15 " the Ground clearance remains same and reduced spring rate means faster rebound compared to slower rebound in regular Figo which is not a good thing to have for a car with an agile chassis, the Figo S actually too is not that perfect, but still its closer to what a real Ford is than the regular Figo.
Very well explained. Thank you. And ofcourse ,with a 100bhp motor , yes the type of suspension, like you mentioned is the rite choice. But dont you think a softer suspension is what we should have in a hatch which usually travels inside city and pot hole roads rather than express highways considering our indian roads ? Coz majority of our trips with a hatch are for smaller commutes rite. I heard in the baleno forums people complaining about a stiffer suspension which in turn gives more bumpiness to rear passengers. And baleno owners seems to be really unhappy about it. Your opinions are very much welcomed.

Softer setup is good for an initial ownership point, on the long run say after 1st 15000 kms or so, one wouldnt even notice its stiff, in fact people will get used to it,
Just read TAIs Ford Ecosport official review, one will find a lot of people showing dissatisfaction on the stiff suspension, but after a few kms have passed people will get used to it and enjoy how it works and after that people will find softly sprung cars WEAK,
Also do note that once we enjoy how a slightly firm suspension works its hard get pass it, if Figo is a car that one is looking for in hatch back segment, then the Figo S undoubtedly is the best Figo of all variants on offer

Apollo alnac 4g is the stock tyres in figo sports i presume ,if so ,i think it doesn't need a change .Its pretty much decent tyre (Moderately hard ,moderately soft).
Michelins are a better option (Best in segment),but issue is the tyres can't be reversed (Inner and outer are specified,so if at all anytime uneven wear occurs you can't switch the tyre)