New Ford Figo Trend (Diesel) | 3rd Year | 47,000 Kms: Ownership Review

Re: New Ford Figo Trend (Diesel) | 3rd Service Update | 20,000 Kms: Ownership Review

My observations on FE after completing ODO @ 20140Kms.
50-60 KMPH - 30+ KMPL
60-70 KMPH - 25+ KMPL
70-80 KMPH - 22 KMPL
80 > KMPH - 20 KMPL

There is drop in mileage after second service. Before while cruising at the speeds 80 - 90 kmph achieved 22kmpl but at the same speeds now it is 20Kmpl (Observed in recent trip from vizag to tirupathi).
Engine is silent @ 60KMPH compared to previous but it is little nosier than before after that.
This is update on my figo. Still living with left pulling and other minor issues.

Re: New Ford Figo Trend (Diesel) | 3rd Service Update | 20,000 Kms: Ownership Review

Dear Figoers..!!
Is anyone having issue with vehicle pulled towards left side. Many may not notice kindly check and revert back. Because my car has this from the day1 which I ignored without giving much importance. I have escalated during services and they advised to get alignment which I have done but the problem persists. Recently they have changed new set of tyres after complaining for tyre noise issue. Again wheel alignment and balancing done but the problem is not solved. I taken up with my SA but they were helpless. I have written to ford and waiting for their call. In between I have seen below video and I am really concerned on ford would provide solution.

https://youtu.be/pEbNUKKOhIM
Sorry, I know this a pretty late reply but just wanted to mention that may be the road banking had something to do with it? But I can confirm that have not seen this issue with my Figo AT in the past 1.5 years.

recently been on a longish trip from Bangalore to Belgaum to Mudhol (in north karnataka) and back to Dharwad to Dandeli and Kolhapur and back to Bangalore covering about 2000 kms during one week. the Auto A/C was on all through the time, with speed within 100 KMPH (keeping the revs within 2000-2200 RPM maxx).
I got a mileage of around 20 kmpl with the tank ful to tank ful method. MID shows 19.7 kmpl. The first service is due by end of October / or another 250 odd kms.
Some observations i made were -
Shifting gear from 4-3 or 3-2, is not as smooth as moving from 2-3 or 3-4 or 4-5.
The horn sound can be heard inside the cabin quite loudly.
After a long stretch about 150-200 kms, there is water dripping from under the hood / engine area. I am assuming its got to do with the A/C. have not seen this with other cars.
The music system is fantastic (for my liking) and the seating is quite comfortable for 5 people.
Like MOST users on the forum commented, its a breeze to drive the car.
Inputs and suggestions on the observations are welcome

recently been on a longish trip from Bangalore to Belgaum to Mudhol (in north karnataka) and back to Dharwad to Dandeli and Kolhapur and back to Bangalore covering about 2000 kms during one week. the Auto A/C was on all through the time, with speed within 100 KMPH (keeping the revs within 2000-2200 RPM maxx).
I got a mileage of around 20 kmpl with the tank ful to tank ful method. MID shows 19.7 kmpl. The first service is due by end of October / or another 250 odd kms.
Some observations i made were -
Shifting gear from 4-3 or 3-2, is not as smooth as moving from 2-3 or 3-4 or 4-5.
The horn sound can be heard inside the cabin quite loudly.
After a long stretch about 150-200 kms, there is water dripping from under the hood / engine area. I am assuming its got to do with the A/C. have not seen this with other cars.
The music system is fantastic (for my liking) and the seating is quite comfortable for 5 people.
Like MOST users on the forum commented, its a breeze to drive the car.
Inputs and suggestions on the observations are welcome
Yes the water dripping out is condensed water and its not something to bother about, its quiet normal
gearshifts are a little rough with Aspire, definitely not as smooth as Ecosports unit.

Some years back I had read about how Tata Cars are pulling left. Then when I had searched the internet I read about it in many international forum eg this is link
Q&A: Steering pulling to the left

Which says "James, that is very common question we receive, not just for Hyundai vehicles. And it is true that most car makers develop the suspension set-up in road cars to pull slightly to the left (in right-hand drive cars) for safety reasons. The primary reason is that if the driver loses concentration at any speed, it is preferable that the car veers towards to the kerb side of the road rather than into traffic travelling in the opposite direction - for obvious reasons.

If the issue seems to be gradual, then it is normal, but if it is getting more pronounced then it could be as a result of the radial pull of the tyres. This can be rectified by simply switching the tyres from the left to the right or diagonally from front to rear" as quoted from drive.com.au

You can also search many international forum and read about it. My car doesn't have this issue but like I said before considering how light the Figos steering is it can pull left or right depending on road embankment angle

I have experienced that the steering can never be perfectly straight in my Wagon R. Since most roads are slightly tilted towards left, I have to keep my steering a little tilted towards right and constantly adjust it for driving straight. If I keep the steering on the center, then the car starts moving towards left.

However, this does not happen in flat roads having no tilt.

Thank you for the information @1989rs500.
One more thing i would want to know from the users is, there is a lot of dust and rain / muddy water while driving in the rains, on the inner door frames, its between the door sil and the door. looks like ford have not bothered to add a beading (is it a cost cutting measure?) between the door and the body frame. Some one faced this situation? and does any one have a remedy? some images would help if any one has done some DIY / modification.
Thanks in advance.

Some years back I had read about how Tata Cars are pulling left. Then when I had searched the internet I read about it in many international forum eg this is link
Q&A: Steering pulling to the left

Which says "James, that is very common question we receive, not just for Hyundai vehicles. And it is true that most car makers develop the suspension set-up in road cars to pull slightly to the left (in right-hand drive cars) for safety reasons. The primary reason is that if the driver loses concentration at any speed, it is preferable that the car veers towards to the kerb side of the road rather than into traffic travelling in the opposite direction - for obvious reasons.

If the issue seems to be gradual, then it is normal, but if it is getting more pronounced then it could be as a result of the radial pull of the tyres. This can be rectified by simply switching the tyres from the left to the right or diagonally from front to rear" as quoted from drive.com.au

You can also search many international forum and read about it. My car doesn't have this issue but like I said before considering how light the Figos steering is it can pull left or right depending on road embankment angle

Please refer to the thread "Maruti swift technical"" for more details
MY swift also had the issue ,but i had it rectified,by adjusting the steering play and then got my vehicle realigned .(As you had pointed out ,its due to our roads,when cars go constantly over our road condition,what happens is the steering alignment self calliberates , as a result ,when the centre position(9o clock -3o clock) is steered by driver,the car goes to left or right,depending upon the deviation or the new calliberation.)
Now the car is doing perfectly fine .

Good suggestion. I think I need to see if the folks at FASS can do anything about the Steering Wheel Calibration. While am not utterly worried as I really don't have the pulling issue I would have loved if the steering weighed in more at high speed. If not get some play at least at the centre position. I don't like the constantly holding the steering tight. Gets tiring on long drives.

Another thing has anyone gone for Aux lights or installed fog lights aftermarket? Will I need switch to be unlocked from Fass even if I install fog lamp on Trend variant? I give up with the headlghts. Simply horrible no matter what you do for serious night drives like the 2 laners I drive on.

Thread Starter #2,325

That's a good solution Vishnu. Members facing the problems should definitely try your method.

@ easternjcak - yes you need to ask fass to turn on the lamps using their software. And try Lumix brand fog lamps. I think they are oem for maruti.

I find the light output to be sufficient.

Current pics. Will definitely upload good quality pics. 4th image is the proof when a women is the daily driver.

PS : After 20 days will get the 4th service done.