My New Honda City in White - The Albus

Note for mods: What's wrong if we have a limit of 4 smileys per post? At least for longer posts it's needed

Wow. So young but full of knowledge and experience. I really appreciate you bro.
We DTS-i riders do suffer with a disease called awesomeness!!

Thanks for your awesome guide. It helped me too. My car tyres life is coming to end and I need to change them soon. Stock tyres are Michelin Energy XM1 sized 175/65 R15 and wheels are Enkei alloys sized 15" X 5.5".
Since you have already spent on the rims, so I won't ask you to spend much(you can do if you wish to). Enkei alloys are good and I'd recommend you to for for 195 section rubber but with a higher profile.

195/65 R15 will be good and please don't go for 195/60 R15 as in your case it will be a wider tire on a narrower rim. S**t!! What's the remedy then? Eh, simple - profile is the key to success(be it proposing a girl or putting the larger thing(tire) in a smaller place(rim)[;)]). so what we need here is the tires with higher side profile.

Result: Tires with higher profile will be better(65 profile I mean).
Why so?? Lower the profile, more will be the effect on side walls.
Explanation: Naa, because I don't want to open Catia now and do some 3D designing to show it to you.

I have done research about new 3ST tyres from Michelin and found something special about it. I also expected that you'll recommend it and it did happen.
Because they are the best, but they come at a cost; which good thing do come at low cost BTW(Exception: Used Skoda Laura TSi:biggrin:)??

195/60 R15 is available in Michelin Primacy 3ST but not in Bridgestone Turanza ER300 so if DR. wants to opt Bridgestone Turanza ER300 then he has to get new set of wheels too (6" width). I agree about your 2cm explanation though.
Sirji I beg to differ. Why? Let these pictures explain(only from official sites of BS(eh, that's bridgestone, not bullshit..err..then where is bullshit? Its what I am writing:biggrin:) and Michelin India):

primacy.JPG

primacy - civic.JPG

turanza.JPG

WHAT CODE SAYS: Catia was tougher but MS paint did it in 5 mins.. this is what code says(the case with rim narrower than the tire):

Untitled.jpg

We DTS-i riders do suffer with a disease called awesomeness!!
Got it! [:D]

Since you have already spent on the rims, so I won't ask you to spend much(you can do if you wish to). Enkei alloys are good and I'd recommend you to for for 195 section rubber but with a higher profile.
Nope, I didn't spent on wheels. They are stock wheels and tyres that come with VMT. But its good to hear I don't need new set of wheels.

However, whats the difference with metal rims and alloys? You suggested DR. to upgrade his car rims and for me to use 195/65 R15 tyres into existing alloys, but both are 15" x 5.5" wheels. [confused]

195/65 R15 will be good and please don't go for 195/60 R15 as in your case it will be a wider tire on a narrower rim. S**t!! What's the remedy then? Eh, simple - profile is the key to success(be it proposing a girl or putting the larger thing(tire) in a smaller place(rim)). so what we need here is the tires with higher side profile.

Result: Tires with higher profile will be better(65 profile I mean).
Why so?? Lower the profile, more will be the effect on side walls.
Explanation: Naa, because I don't want to open Catia now and do some 3D designing to show it to you.
Yeah I got it. If 65 fits without any issues then why need of low profile. We even get more ground clearance but of course in mm!

Because they are the best, but they come at a cost; which good thing do come at low cost BTW(Exception: Used Skoda Laura TSi)??
I don't know about local market price of tyres at present but on snapdeal, 3ST costs Rs. 22,068, ER-300 costs Rs. 22,986 and for reference XM2 (195/60 R15) costs Rs. 21,146 for 4 set of tyres. So there is not much difference that matters, atleast for a important part of car.

Sirji I beg to differ. Why? Let these pictures explain(only from official sites of BS(eh, that's bridgestone, not bullshit..err..then where is bullshit? Its what I am writing) and Michelin India
Actually I was telling 195/60 R15 is not available in ER-300 so 3ST is one from your recommendation unless we care about 2cm benefit.

btw; Don't call me Sirji. I'm only 3 years old then you. [thumbsup]

Sounds like there's an engineer on the other side of the door [evil]

Nope, I didn't spent on wheels. They are stock wheels and tyres that come with VMT. But its good to hear I don't need new set of wheels.
Okay okay okay, so those jugaad looking rims are Enkei!
Actually I thought that you have bought an aftermarket set and hence haven't recommended you to go for wider rims as you will have to again spend on rims.
Now I guess you should try the BBS ones. I had on my Innova and my friend, they are simply awesome in looks and performance simultaneously.

However, whats the difference with metal rims and alloys? You suggested DR. to upgrade his car rims and for me to use 195/65 R15 tyres into existing alloys, but both are 15" x 5.5" wheels.
Me foolish [glasses]

Yeah I got it. If 65 fits without any issues then why need of low profile. We even get more ground clearance but of course in mm!
Buddy, higher the profile, easier is the fitment. Tire being wider than the rim is acceptable but what the true blunder is when one have wider rims and narrower tires(a common sight on Altos, Wagon Rs etc having aftermarket alloys).

I don't know about local market price of tyres at present but on snapdeal, 3ST costs Rs. 22,068, ER-300 costs Rs. 22,986 and for reference XM2 (195/60 R15) costs Rs. 21,146 for 4 set of tyres. So there is not much difference that matters, atleast for a important part of car.
Older Honda City i-vtec is my favorite of all times(after 2003 v-tec) and buying anything other than Primacy 3ST for that car will land you in jail as I am ready with FIR in my hand against you. Go on and get the new shoes, they are silent, grippy and very confidence inspiring. The thing that you will find has changed a lot is braking, it will considerably change resulting in more confidence in you.

Actually I was telling 195/60 R15 is not available in ER-300 so 3ST is one from your recommendation unless we care about 2cm benefit.
Who needs the one with 60 section when 65 is available?
60 will be better if your rims are 6J, for 5.5J, higher profile will suit better.

btw; Don't call me Sirji. I'm only 3 years old then you.
Soon Dr. Sahab is going to come and ask both of us to shut up and punish us for hijacking his thread [;)]

Okay okay okay, so those jugaad looking rims are Enkei!
Actually I thought that you have bought an aftermarket set and hence haven't recommended you to go for wider rims as you will have to again spend on rims.
Now I guess you should try the BBS ones. I had on my Innova and my friend, they are simply awesome in looks and performance simultaneously.
Well, I will stick with stock alloys and buy new shoes of size 195/65 R15. Don't wanna spend much where usage is less. My yearly driving is 1000 you know? :tongue:

Who needs the one with 60 section when 65 is available?
60 will be better if your rims are 6J, for 5.5J, higher profile will suit better.
Actually I was confused like section 65 is best for 6J and 60 for 5.5J.

Now I got it. [:)]

Soon Dr. Sahab is going to come and ask both of us to shut up and punish us for hijacking his thread
But I'm waiting for his response. This tyre related discussion is for him. I guess he is busy for weekend.

Well, I will stick with stock alloys and buy new shoes of size 195/65 R15. Don't wanna spend much where usage is less. My yearly driving is 1000 you know?
1000 kilometers per year!!! :eek:
Then why you even want a new set of shoes for your City? Even the current ones(even if they are 90% worn) will serve you for 4-5 years.

Your running is way lesser than my monthly running.

BTW, how you manages 48k kms in 4 years then?

Now I got it.
These four words always make me [:D]
Thanks for giving me a chance to clear your doubts.

But I'm waiting for his response. This tyre related discussion is for him. I guess he is busy for weekend.
If Dr. sahab returns with an injection, then I am disappeared for sure!! :stupid:

1000 kilometers per year!!! :eek:
Then why you even want a new set of shoes for your City? Even the current ones(even if they are 90% worn) will serve you for 4-5 years.
Because present tyres are having cracks on side walls as well as on treads so I'm afraid they may bust in mid of road which will ruin my alloys too. Tyre threads are 80% worn and I can drive 10k more if cracks were not an issue.

BTW, how you manages 48k kms in 4 years then?
Because its a used car that I bought last year and it had clocked 47k, there after I have driven 1k till date

But I guess you didn't read about DR.'s car odo. His car has clocked 3k KMs so far.

We use the car for pleasure then necessity, you know. [:D]

Because present tyres are having cracks on side walls as well as on treads so I'm afraid they may bust in mid of road which will ruin my alloys too. Tyre threads are 80% worn and I can drive 10k more if cracks were not an issue.
You should keep them properly inflated, else even your next set of tires will go kaput in two to three years itself.

Because its a used car that I bought last year and it had clocked 47k, there after I have driven 1k till date
Why not an Accord V6 for such a low running?

BTW that is my weekly running, one trip to Jaipur itself is around 900 kms and I make one nearly every Monday(leaving in half hour).

But I guess you didn't read about DR.'s car odo. His car has clocked 3k KMs so far.
[shock] why don't you guys drive?

We use the car for pleasure then necessity, you know.
:suspect: no comments!!

Off for a day now BTW..

Hi Dr.Mudhan. following your example/links, purchased the Chrome handles and bases, blinking brake indicators, myshaldan-herb. as pointed out by you, the Lord is now facing me. few more items to put check mark...i want your suggestion on these items which i found attractive. pl. revert in your leisure.
1. Display : Iball Tablet [Rs.13500/- in snapdeal] 3G Q1035 | iBall
2. Tablet holder: Exogear [Rs.4500/-] http://www.exogear.com/products-exo...ioneer-india.in/shop/mvh-x365bt/]MVH-X365BT |
4. Navigation: Mapmyindia free for few days and paid for lifetime usage [price not known] https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.mmi.navimaps...
5. Wifi transmitter for connecting camera and tablet [Rs.2500/-] http://www.aliexpress.com/item/Free...-Cam-for-Android-Phone-Tablet/1963872187.html
these may be appended after my free services are over...;).

Thread Starter #804

Dr MUDHAN

PART: LX:​

MY ALBUS: TYRE UPSIZING = 195/60/15 for 6j x 15 - (OR) - 195/65/15 for 5.5j x 15 ?​

NOTE: This is another important part of this thread over Tyre Upsizing. Please also read the following links to get more out of discussions over this topic.

http://www.theautomotiveindia.com/f...new-honda-city-white-albus-53.html#post415047

http://www.theautomotiveindia.com/f...new-honda-city-white-albus-53.html#post415066

http://www.theautomotiveindia.com/f...new-honda-city-white-albus-53.html#post415075

http://www.theautomotiveindia.com/f...new-honda-city-white-albus-54.html#post415111

http://www.theautomotiveindia.com/f...new-honda-city-white-albus-54.html#post415127

http://www.theautomotiveindia.com/f...new-honda-city-white-albus-54.html#post415134

http://www.theautomotiveindia.com/f...new-honda-city-white-albus-54.html#post415138

ANHC TYRES.jpg

We have, all most discussed in this thread so far the best & simple things that we can do for a car like ANHC at our end as an owner. The only important topic - Tyre upsizing which is left out.

The visit of TSIVipul (a new intelligent friend) triggered some fresh thoughts and as usual, CRACING’s (my best well-wisher) interaction made this topic more interesting. I am really thankful to both of them for having / have been adding value to this thread by their knowledge and extra ordinary efforts and inputs. [clap]

My understanding from TSIVipul is :

Better to change the wheel alloys to minimum 6 j x 15 for 195/60/15 to get the best out of the tyres. OR one should only go for 195/65/15 to get best out of OE alloys ( 5.5j x 15) .

The choice of tyres should be either Michelin Primacy 3ST for fantastic handling , grip on any surface, silent operation and good in terms of comfort OR Bridgestone Turanza ER300 for Good handling, fantastic grip on dry and wet surfaces, fantastic ride and may be noisier @ 130-140 kph, if you drive so !)

Agreed, the correct tyre upsize has to be complimented with the correct Rim Upsize for optimal performance.

Since , I have also changed from stock steel drums to OE alloys last year, and based on my usage ( Pl. acquit me TSIVipul , I am old now and driven enough when I was young like you!) preferred to leave the idea of upsizing the alloys to 6j x15. But I would rather love to see my ALBUS with wider and bigger shoes !

I really appreciate TSIVipul for his explanation based on his experience and certainly ANHC on tyres like 195/65/15 will look brawny, safe & comfortable.

I request TSIVipul to give his thoughts over the following ‘ time old standard deviation ’ so that his explanation would help every one reader here to be more confident in making the right decision. ( Yes, of course they are ( Tyrestore ) silent about ' j' - Rim Width ).

Tyre Upsizing, Tyre Upsizing Calculator, Tyre Upgrade, Upgrading tyres, Michelin Tyre dealer in chennai, Authorised Michelin Tyre dealer in chennai, Michelin India, Michelin Tyres, tyrestore chennai

Tyrestore recommends an Upsizing only if the difference if less than 2%

For 195/60/15
Difference in circumference: 20.42 mm or 1.07%
So when your speedo reads 70mph, you're actually travelling at 70.75 mph

For 195/65/15
Difference in circumference: 81.68 mm or 4.27%
So when your speedo reads 70mph, you're actually travelling at 72.99 mph

Thread Starter #805

Dr MUDHAN

Hi Dr.Mudhan. following your example/links, purchased the Chrome handles and bases, blinking brake indicators, myshaldan-herb. as pointed out by you, the Lord is now facing me. few more items to put check mark...i want your suggestion on these items which i found attractive. pl. revert in your leisure.
1. Display : Iball Tablet [Rs.13500/- in snapdeal] 3G Q1035 | iBall
2. Tablet holder: Exogear [Rs.4500/-] http://www.exogear.com/products-exo...ioneer-india.in/shop/mvh-x365bt/]MVH-X365BT |
4. Navigation: Mapmyindia free for few days and paid for lifetime usage [price not known] https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.mmi.navimaps...
5. Wifi transmitter for connecting camera and tablet [Rs.2500/-] Free Shipping W ONE WiFi in Car Rearview Reversing Camera Cmos Cam for Android Phone Tablet Rear View Cameras # 180196-in Rear View Camera from Automobiles & Motorcycles on Aliexpress.com | Alibaba Group
these may be appended after my free services are over...;).

@ SUNREX

Chrome Handles and Bases, Blinking Brake Indicators, My Shaldan … all will go well with your beautiful car.

CHROME ONES - If possible give a clear coat spray over chrome ones before pasting to protect them from scratches and make it ever shinning!

PAINT CLEAR.jpg

iball Tablet 3G Q1035, Exogear Tablet holder – Personally, I feel these to be avoided. It takes much space, may distract while driving! Though IPS panel, the quality of this tablet is not good. Viewing angle would be a problem during day time. Either go for a better Android Smart Phone / Tab with good holder, continuous connections in case of online or with a good offline navigation software like Mapmyindia.

Exogear Tablet holder .jpg

Audio receiver : Pioneer MVH-X365BT – I have seen the performance of this set in Taxis. It is good, but being single Din, will spoil the look of our ANHC interior. You may go for double din pioneer set. You can see more discussion about this in this thread.

Wifi transmitter – Please avoid this. It is better to go for a good CCD wired camera as we discussed here earlier. Wireless , at present is not up to expectation due to interference and disturbed display.

Blinking Brake Indicators – I will give you little more information over this topic in my next write up. [:)]

Hello,

You should keep them properly inflated, else even your next set of tires will go kaput in two to three years itself.
I do but may be first owner did not. I got my own tyre inflator (Emporis, Pune) which works great, including its built-in gauge.

Tyre condition isn't so bad either. Clocked 48k on worst roads of my city and still good to do more. I appreciate it. [clap]

Why not an Accord V6 for such a low running?
Do you wanna kill me paying for fuel? Such a less driving leads to more fuel consumption. I get 10 avg mileage on ANHC and I'm quite happy about it. Civic and Accord would be ~ 5 KM/L

why don't you guys drive?
You can see my occupation in my profile and there will be no work to go outside. Only for market and personal work I use the car. Roads were never good in my city and full of traffic which loses interest in driving.

I'm thinking to go out and do long trips but time has not allowed me yet. Family members are more interested in travelling in bus and trains. [frustration]

Since , I have also changed from stock steel drums to OE alloys last year, and based on my usage ( Pl. acquit me TSIVipul , I am old now and driven enough when I was young like you!) preferred to leave the idea of upsizing the alloys to 6j x15. But I would rather love to see my ALBUS with wider and bigger shoes !
Thanks for your appreciation sir. [:)]

Yeah I forgot that you changed the wheels. But I remember that you had kept wheel caps for sale on olx.

Now the choice is between 3ST and ER300. I like the thread design of ER300 but I'm a big fan of Michelin.

@TSIVipul. One thing I wanna know is durability and toughness of these tyres. Noise is not a issue because I always drive under 40 because of city limits (Had to pay fine once when I crossed the limit) and I hardly go on highways.

I will buy new tyres in the first quarter of next year.

Thanks...
Best Regards

Thread Starter #807

Dr MUDHAN

PART: LXI

MY ALBUS: Blinking Brake Lights

I want others to see flashes in my ALBUS whenever I apply the brake. It must send warning signals towards safety that I am slowing down or might stop!

It is not to keep flashing till we release the brake - It is easier be mistaken for a decorative light by the driver behind us. And it would be really disgusting if we keep flashing all the time during braking which you can see with some bikers! Then police will be happy to give us a ticket …

But

It flashes fast for about 3 seconds (6 flashes) then flashes slow for about 3 seconds (3 flashes) then it stays on steady until you release the brake. The cycle starts again immediately if you hit the brake again.

This has been programmed as pre-flickering brake lamp as designed in some luxury cars, including ANHC (4TH Gen). It is legal if pre-flickering occurs and then keeping light on.

This can be achieved in our cars by any one of this method:

1. Replacing specially designed pre-flickering LED bulbs in place of Stock brake lamp which is T20 / 21W in ANHC. (no wire cutting)

2. Replacing stock to T20 good LEDs, but wiring through a strobe light controller in both side (requires wire cutting)

3. Just adding a ready made third brake light which can flash on brake, if tapped through original brake light line. (no wire cutting)

4. Providing a custom made third brake led lamp, wires tapped from original brake light line by not cutting it and cutting only made third brake led lamp wire to route through strobe controller unit.(no wire cutting)

I did the fourth one.

Please don’t miss to read my previous article too.

PART XXXIII: MY ALBUS GETS FLASH STROBE THIRD BRAKE LIGHT!

strobe light.jpg
strobe light2.jpg

@CRACING

I need a help from you. Since you have replaced LED bulbs, please let me know the comfortable length that the brake lamp housing can accommodate and also which one color you prefer - The white one inside red lens OR full red led brake light inside the red lens ? Thanks.

@ HaruH

Mod looks fabulous doctor… And we all are eagerly waiting for the video of the same.
Please Note.

Tyre upsizing
Sir this is one of the topics that I have been waiting for you to start off. As I have very little knowledge about tyres I felt I should wait for the views of an expert like you.
One more good news is in the crash test our version of Honda city got a 5star rating, leaving behind cars like fiesta, vento, pajero!!
About the air freshener IMO my shalden is the best as of now. I have use it before but preferred the scent of godrej aer green color. But recently they changed it to a gel base from liquid and I have noticed that there is hardly any effect. So soon I wish to go back to my shalden.
My car has completed 10k km now almost reached 13k :) Feels so good that I have spent so many miles with my angel. It currently requires a servicing asap. Last time I got it serviced was July.
BTW sir there is one major opinion that I need from you. I have noticed that the angle of our windshield is very bad and there is direct sunlight entering the car and heating it up and as our honorable supreme court has banned sun film there is no simple way to tackle the problem. Sunglasses also are not of much help!! This has been greatly effecting my concentration while driving. Also I noticed that when there is direct reflection of the sun on the dashboard the ac completely becomes effect less. For the time being I have solved the problem by placing a sunshade over the ac vents on the center control and have found good results. The car cools up in a jiffy.
I might not be actively be participating in the forum but I make sure I visit your thread every day for updates :)
Thanks for sharing your knowledge. Feels good to know a person like you.

Thread Starter #809

Dr MUDHAN

Thanks ravib.

I have been missing you all.

I endorse with you, My Shaldan is still the best & to enjoy it again, I gave a break, changed to Areon Ken Black Crystal Air Freshener.

You said :
I have solved the problem by placing a sunshade over the ac vents on the center control and have found good results. The car cools up in a jiffy.
Hope, you are not talking about parked car – using a reflective sun shade to hide the dashboard. Could you kindly elaborate what did you do exactly… sun shade type, size, how did you place it and a present picture of your car - would help us a lot, please!

This is something different which I shared with you all earlier:

HOW TO AVOID DASHBOARD REFLECTION ON WINDSCREEN

Hope, you would have read it!

I need a help from you. Since you have replaced LED bulbs, please let me know the comfortable length that the brake lamp housing can accommodate and also which one color you prefer - The white one inside red lens OR full red led brake light inside the red lens ? Thanks.
Hello Sir,

I have not used LED bulbs for brake and indicator lights since they don't glove for long time, I'm still using O.E bulbs.

But thanks for asking me this query because today evening I had a glance on brake lights and one of bulb was blown. Later replaced it with spare bulb (Of reverse light).

To fulfill your query to some degrees, I let the night come to take some shots of my car LED fittings. I have 27 x 5050 White T20 SMD fitted to Reverse Light, 9 x 5630 White T10 SMD for parking light and 4 x 5050 White T10 SMD for licence plate lights.

Parking light + Licence Plate Light
Parking+Licence_Lights.JPG

Parking light + Licence Plate Light + Reverse Light
Parking+Reverse+Licence_Lights.JPG

Reverse light illustration is excellent and can be used for brake lights too. Parking and licence lights are also good, having less number of LEDs.

I really don't know about how red leds look inside red light housing because I haven't bought one. My guess is, red led illustration will be less compared to white and red coating of bulb housing makes it even low. One has to try and see the difference but I believe white led will be bright.

Thanks...
Best Regards