My Modified Chevrolet Enjoy: An Ownership Review

Hi Varun
Thank u. i opted for Switchblade Silver.
The price is around 7.4 Lakhs Ex Showroom and I will also get 25K refund as Exchange bonus for my existing one. So I think on road price would be around 7.85 to 7.9 Lac. I plan to take delivery either this Saturday or next Monday depending on the festival rush at RTO

BTB why was the oil change revised to 7.5K Kms. Do you have any clue? Are they using the same grade of oil after the revision? And how much does it cost for oil change?

thanks n regs
saji

Thread Starter #302
Good choice. Price seems to be very less compared to Bangalore.

There were few issues with engine which are rectified now and they want to play safe hence 7.5 k intervals. Oil grade is the same. I had paid around 1500 rs for 3 lts oil and oil filter

hi Varun
The dealer is insisting to make an undercoat in the underbody (3M brand, I presume). He quoted around 5.5K for the job. Is it really worthy? When I searched the Net i found many who are advising not to go for it while some are actively recommending it. i am confused as to - should I or Should I not. Please advise

regs
saji

Thread Starter #305
Its not required right away, though the cost is too high. 3 m outlet does this job for 4 k.

I have bought 3m under coat materials for 1200 rs (2 tins) applied it myself. Try to bargain or ask it as a free accessory.

Hi Varun and all other Enjoy fans
Glad to let you all know that we took delivery of our Enjoy LT 7 seater on Saturday evening. I did not opt for any other accessories expect for a set of black rubber mats and mud flaps.

It is great fun to drive this car. We all love the vast interior space (we are a family of 8) and the beige & black interior theme. We have already clocked nearly 200 km in 3 days[;)][:)]

The engine is quite peppy. But I keep my adrenalin in check and hardly revs it beyond 2500 rpm till the first service. The steering is light, brakes seems to be not that bad and all in all we simply love this machine. After using a good old Amby for long years this definitely is a welcome change.

Varun, I really thank you for your valuable inputs as timely advices and first-hand feedbacks. Keep going. Will post some pics soon.

Thanks and regs
saji

Thread Starter #307
Hi saji70, waiting for your ownership review.

Yesterday's update ! [glasses]
I had been to kropex (Electronic City), for Head lamp replacement and some ac blower (front) issue.
Reason - Head lamp (RHS) was fogging from inside. (LHS had same issues earlier and was replaced), Blower - when continuously run the car with ac for 2-3 hours the blower stops on its own and refuses to start, I had to switch it off for few minutes (30 min) for it again to start.

And shocking thing and luck too, when I saw the brake disks (new one) they had scars all over again. Hence requested them to change it, they politely replaced for 2 nd time . I am very happy with their service. It took almost 5 hours incl of lunch time to get the HL and disk replaced. I got the pads replaced too (I had to pay). The design has been slightly changed on the new disks. They had rough marks on them earlier now its just plain and smooth.
Fianlly I was happy that I was with the car in the service bay for entire time. A off well spent. [lol]

Blower motor was confirmed to be gone, it will be replaced next week also the blower resistor.
All Enjoy owners there is any issue with wiper / blower motor, get it checked.

A small suggestion - after seeing the brake pads, they are very hard and rough. I feel the pads are making the huge scars on the disk. Try to source any after market pads so that the disk can be saved. I am in search of one. If any one finds please let me know.

I would recommend Kropex for any kind of repairs for your Chevy, contact Satya SA, very good person and helps you to solve the issues in your car. Only issue is you would need to wait for a longer time. [clap]

Hi saji70, waiting for your ownership review.

Yesterday's update ! [glasses]
I had been to kropex (Electronic City), for Head lamp replacement and some ac blower (front) issue.
Reason - Head lamp (RHS) was fogging from inside. (LHS had same issues earlier and was replaced), Blower - when continuously run the car with ac for 2-3 hours the blower stops on its own and refuses to start, I had to switch it off for few minutes (30 min) for it again to start.

And shocking thing and luck too, when I saw the brake disks (new one) they had scars all over again. Hence requested them to change it, they politely replaced for 2 nd time . I am very happy with their service. It took almost 5 hours incl of lunch time to get the HL and disk replaced. I got the pads replaced too (I had to pay). The design has been slightly changed on the new disks. They had rough marks on them earlier now its just plain and smooth.
Fianlly I was happy that I was with the car in the service bay for entire time. A off well spent. [lol]

Blower motor was confirmed to be gone, it will be replaced next week also the blower resistor.
All Enjoy owners there is any issue with wiper / blower motor, get it checked.

A small suggestion - after seeing the brake pads, they are very hard and rough. I feel the pads are making the huge scars on the disk. Try to source any after market pads so that the disk can be saved. I am in search of one. If any one finds please let me know.

I would recommend Kropex for any kind of repairs for your Chevy, contact Satya SA, very good person and helps you to solve the issues in your car. Only issue is you would need to wait for a longer time. [clap]
why not try brembo pads? it costs 3K for rapid.

Hi Varun
I am nearing the 1000 km mark. hope to go for the first service next week

During night rides with a/c on I found the headlights flickering occasionally. I presume it occurs when the compressor gets engaged. Is this normal or should I report it as a glitch?

I am getting a FE of 16 KMPL when I drive with the a/c on full time. With partial a/c (early morning drives) I managed to get 17 KMPL.

I rode through different terrains with almost 6 to 8 on board. The engine did never show any fatigue. No underbelly scrapings; no squeaks or noises so far. That's all for the time being. Will post some more later on

Thanks n regs
saji

Thread Starter #311
Wow !! finally you put up the pics.

Yes the HL dims when the compressor gets engaged. The mileage you are getting is more than sufficient. So how do you feel the braking since yours is LTZ, do you still feel the brake hard to use ?

You should get the roof rails, it looks pain now.

Hi Varun
Our Enjoy is LT version (not LTZ). Since we mostly drive in the vicinity of 80 KMPH, breaking does not pose any problem for us. The brakes are not that hard to use, I feel.

Regs
Saji

Hi Varun
I want to have an expert opinion from you regarding the flooring of our Enjoy. Some recommend to cover the carpet with PU sheet. When I enquired with the Accessory people they quoted Rs 2200/- inclusive of labour and material to cover the floor with the thickest available Vinyl flooring material. Is it is necessary to cover the floor with Vinyl? What about the pros & cons of this? Is the quote reasonable.

Expecting your valuable opinion....

thanks n regs
saji

@ Carun

I've a question. How easy is it to remove the third row seats by yourself?
Like is it an easy 2 minute job, or does it require screwdrivers and a wrench.

Does it even remove? Or it merely folds.

Thread Starter #315
Hi Varun
I want to have an expert opinion from you regarding the flooring of our Enjoy.
Expecting your valuable opinion....
Frankly speaking I dont like these PVC flooring. I feel like taxi. Better get noodle mats, easy to clean and durable too.

@ Varun
I've a question. How easy is it to remove the third row seats by yourself?
Does it even remove? Or it merely folds.
AMG it just folds forward, it can be removed, total of 4 bolts.