My Modified Chevrolet Enjoy: An Ownership Review

I just bought a 18,000 kms used Chevy Enjoy LS (8 Seater) of Oct'2014 for 5.5 Lakhs. Overall condition of the vehicle is decent but there are few problems as below:

1) The car makes too much humming/knocking noise when accelerating from 1200-1600 rpm, irrespective of which gear the car is running in.

2) The brakes are pathetic. After reading your thread here as well as on tbhp, I checked the brakes and as feared, the discs are worn out badly.

Please guide on the above points and oblige :)

I just bought a 18,000 kms used Chevy Enjoy LS (8 Seater) of Oct'2014 for 5.5 Lakhs. Overall condition of the vehicle is decent but there are few problems as below:

1) The car makes too much humming/knocking noise when accelerating from 1200-1600 rpm, irrespective of which gear the car is running in.
Congrats on your purchase. Well that is the natural noise of the engine because it's placed in between the bonnet and front row.

2) The brakes are pathetic. After reading your thread here as well as on tbhp, I checked the brakes and as feared, the discs are worn out badly.

Please guide on the above points and oblige :)
Braking is a manufacture as well as design flaw, so it's time to change it asap.

Thanks for the wishes.

How often should I change the brakes then ? How many times did you change your brakes in your 38k kms ? Does the dealer change is without much hassle ? Is it done free of cost ? I heard the problem is with the brake pads. Are there any better after market brake pads available ?

Thread Starter #394
Its been long time I have updated about the car. Enjoy is fine. With couple of issues here and there.
Got new steering, gear knob and hand brake leather wrapped. New audio..

Completed 47k kms. Have been using the car regularly even city since 800 is in for restoration.
Got inter-cooler and intake plumbing replaced in warranty as there was a issue on earlier plumbing. These are of better quality.

On a recent trip to Pune I had a problem of engine going into limp home mode (check engine lamp on). Error code P234 - Turbo over boost condition.This was the issue entire journey of 3k kms. I couldn't drive above 90kmph due to this.[frustration] After getting back googled and found all other mjd's have this issue. (Ertiga, sx4 & Punto 90) I am yet to find a solution. Has anyone faced the issue.

Upgraded the tires again [roll]. This time widest possible tires 205/60 R14.
Did few experiments with other car's brake booster, results aren't so great but better I must say.

Checked out Varun's car last week and the tyres was giving brutal look for this vehicle, Will try to post pics by weekend!

Finally the D Day. Chevy Enjoy completes 1 year. All we got from this machine is Happiness , Enjoyment of traveling together. Traveling distances which could not be done earlier. And with the remap it gives me [:D] every drive.

I still feel its just out of the show room.
Over the period I have done some basic mods as per my taste in which many are the basic needs. I have added OEM spoiler, rear wiper, roof rails, OEM fog lamps etc.
The mods pending are a set of alloys (after this set of tires are worn out) and a better seat covers (I regret getting OEM seat covers) they are really bad looking. These mods will take some time but sure will make it a head tuner. [evil]

thanks for all your support and special thanks to Vishwas...
Hai varun,

it took 1 hour to go through your ownership of chev enjoy and it was awesome.
can you share how you have fixed the rear wiper in the glass?

I own a maruthi ritz LXI and completely migrated it to VXI now. the onlt thing i can't get throw is rear wiper which these model hold's in the rear glass brought the motor for 2239 and tried a lot to fix but without drilling it motor cant be fixed.

i have seen your car rear wiper is fixed in glass, can you share the details how you have fixed it so that will be very helpful to me to proceed with my DIY!!

Thanks for your reply Varun does the seller taken back the old glass or you sold it separately through olx or some other source.

Does your top end glass has the rear defogger too if yes how you control the heat!!!

I sold it separately. Defogger is available but I haven't connected it. It needs a timer circuit and separate wiring.
Hai Varun,

I have placed the order for zxi rear glass and rear wiper assembly both comes around 5k.

I have changed the wiper stack unit already and wiring, piping done to rear door.

I have idea when I looked my friend zen estilo vxi model it has both rear wiper and rear defogger too. I see a defogger switch in the front dashboard which looks like alarm or front fog lamp switch so my doubt is this model has a bcm unit in it or rear defogger timer will be inbuilt in the switch itself.

This is just an idea come up so I want to share with you. I traced for bcm but I don't know where it is exactly located in this model.can you have any idea on this?????

Varun,nice review of your enjoy.I am also a silent follower of your 2003 800 thread.You are truely a professional DIYer.The new alloys+tires look awesome on your beauty.Any future mods planned?and what more to say!hats off to you for the tasteful mods.

Thread Starter #402
Finally the day has come to say good bye to the Enjoy,[cry] which I enjoyed driving it all these days.

It had taken me to places which I couldn't imagine taking my 800.. Never left me stranded (*) . Thanks Chevy !!
It had run 49,xxx while it left us.. Hope the new owner takes care of her as I did. Weakest point of the car was the service centers & the quality of mechanical parts.
A final pic of the car with its older sibling[cry]
Mods please close the thread.