My Maruti 800 Carb (1991): Now Restored!

Thread Starter #242
Re: Restoration of Maruti 800 1991 (Tonnes of Pics Uploaded)

Sorry been too busy with work and painting progress was too slow, just completed most of the work, here are a few pics to show the work in progess.

I gave up the idea of black, as the heat in bangalore is too much plus since I park the car on road, cant clean it everyday. so preferred to chose white, also white is 2times easier to paint than black.

1 pre paint (1).jpg

1 pre paint (2).jpg

1 pre paint (3).jpg

1 pre paint (4).jpg

1 pre paint (5).jpg

2 during paint (2).jpg

2 during paint (3).jpg

2 during paint (4).jpg

Thread Starter #243

I tried grey and metallic grey on fenders to see how it looks, whote looked way better, so thats why you would see the fenders in gray in some of the pictures. Also changed the gun to an imported one, it makes sky and earth difference between local and original guns.

2 during paint (1).jpg

2 during paint (5).jpg

New gun (1).jpg

New gun (2).jpg

final finish (2).jpg

final finish (5).jpg

final finish (4).jpg

final finish (1).jpg

good job anand

i suggest new head lamps and tail lights bumper polish they are not very costly

which paint you used ? how much paint you used and what about price of paint
did you used 2000/1000 grit sandpaper after painting or clear coat?

Good Work Anand. Eagerly waiting for the final output. Hope next meet you join with your new car?

Thread Starter #249
Post painting progress

good job anand

i suggest new head lamps and tail lights bumper polish they are not very costly

which paint you used ? how much paint you used and what about price of paint
did you used 2000/1000 grit sandpaper after painting or clear coat?
Thanks Raman,
as of now I do not want to spend on replacing anything that is working fine (I know new HL, Tail lamps etc make the car look better). I want to use the car for 1km before I spend 1rupee on it, literally thats how I have started to think, if not I will end up investing a lot on spares and never use the car at all.

I used PU paint, ESDEE brand, pure white, non metallic solid colour and no laquer done. For final rubbing and polishing I used 1500 first and then 2000 sandpaper. I will have to respray the roof sometime later to get a better finish as at present roof is not looking good.

Good Work Anand. Eagerly waiting for the final output. Hope next meet you join with your new car?
Thank you Sir

looking awesome Anand bhai, way to go. Great job done!!
Actually, its a lot of time and effort put in, but end results are not that great, in pics car looks good, in reality it is a bit different (but anyday better than the blue colour it had[lol])

Your car is looking fresh now !!

Its time to enjoy driving it around..
Thanks Varun,

Replaced a few things, that are zero compromise areas like horn and headlight wiring kit, next in line is clutch and windshield beedings. [frustration]

A few pics.

New Zen cabin lamp, instead of the stock ones
New cabin lamp (1).jpg

New cabin lamp (2).jpg

The old dual horns - Vibro mini, gave up so just bought a single disc type Roots brand 12V 3Amps horn, a simple horn with just sufficient loudness for city usage.

Old hotn.jpg

New horn (1).jpg
New horn (2).jpg

New Headlamp wiring kit - Minda brand comes with Relay and costs about 100 less than Bosch and does pretty much same job
New wiring kit.jpg

Just added the 800 monogram on fenders just for a change.
New logo.jpg

Just started using the car a bit more than usual, Been to a temple - Shiva Gange about 40kms from Bangalore and back with family and well the first trip in this car, felt pretty much good with zero issues and no breakdowns anywhere.
Short trip (4).jpg

Short trip (3).jpg

Short trip (1).jpg

Short trip (2).jpg

As of now the following things need to be looked after in the immediate future
1. New roof inner lining
2. All plastic trims for floor surroundings
3. Windshield rubbers need replacement
4. Clutch and rear wheel drums servicing
5. Documentation and name transfer

Few things I learnt from this whole painting thing,
1. Dont get into painting a car with weekends as the only available time
2. Laziness can cost me big time, being careless on rubbers can cost a bomb later
3. Have deadlines, try to stick to them, not having them simply delays all work
4. Its a 2man job
5. If you dont do pre-spray work properly, you will end up doing a lot of post-spray work
6. Changing colour is more time consuming and less perfection can be achieved
7. Myth: Black is a tough colour to spray
8. Truth: Spraying a light colour on dark old paint is even more tougher and needs more skill
9. 3hrs of sanding paint in hot sun, drains more energy than doing same thing whole day in shade
10. Space plays a key role in whatever you do in painting - Less space = hard time doing everything, better rent a place and postpone till you find one

ya
anand you have rightly said
as i have similar kind of experience with my car [clap]

one advise i want from you that i have some dents on my Esteem (golden beage color)

what u suggest about touch up pain on that ,weather i will be able to get perfectly matching color for that from local paint store
do i need to spray clear coat on that ?

tools i have you already know
plz reply

Thread Starter #251

Raman:

Most paint selling shops are able to give you matching colour. But the key to match the colour is by trying it on some scrap metal piece first then try on actual car. Some car colours need a base coat slightly different from actual body colour (You can see inner side of petrol cap for base coat) so it goes like this:

1. Base coat first then metallic paint then sanding then lacquer again sanding then rubing and polishing.
2. Too much thinner will darken the colour, too little thinner will result in orange peel effect.

Thanks anand i will start a new thread on this and i expect you all will help me in doing touchup to my car

thanks
by btw i forget how to start new thread kindly guide me for same [:)]

Thread Starter #253

The big update: DASH BOARD AND ROOF CHANGED

After meeting Varun on a weekend, we came to a conclusion that the current dash is in a pretty bad shape and that it cant be repaired and hence decided to change it.

New dashboard with all fittings and cables costs over 3000/- easily. Not worth it, especially when the car still needs new clutch FC etc so just went ahead and bought one from junkyard, to my surprise I got a type 2 in pretty neat condition with almost everything in place except meter!
Bought the used dash for Rs.1300/- then new type 1 roof lining and a few more small parts including the lid for the type 2 dash and a coin holder in place of the 4th air vent jugaad which the previous owner had done on it. A few pics, to begin with a pic from the parking lot

The car definately looks good when it is about 10feet away from you, only when you get closer you get notice the imperfections in painting (credit goes to me :P)
car parked.jpg

The old dashboard
old dash.jpg

The used dashboard cleaned for 2hrs, junkyard stuff comes with a lot of surprises so cleaned with water, disinfectant, shampoo, plain water, inner areas with thinner wiping too.

clean inside.jpg

IMG-20140524-WA0009.jpg

The dashboard is a direct fit, but the type 1 meter just wont fit as meter is smaller than the cavity it fits in. Had to do a jugaad here it is, using plastic ties and a DIY washer made out of the thin sheet metal the pepsi cans come with.

Meter jugaad (1).jpg

Meter jugaad (2).jpg

Meter jugaad (3).jpg
Now no rattling at all, meter is fixed rock solid

Meter jugaad (4).jpg

Meter jugaad (5).jpg

Then changed a few small cheap parts of the dash to get a new feel.
The jugaad 4th air vent, which I disposed off (not really required)
old coin holer.jpg

New simple coin holder in its place
new coin holder.jpg

The final fit, really satisfied with the final result.
New dash final (1).jpg

New dash final (2).jpg

New dash final (3).jpg

Bought a new simple type1 roof, again not ready to spend 2k on moulded one (not the area I wish to spend on). Installing it is a two man job, used SR gum to fix it, some corners not that great in finishing but 90% fit is clean like stock.

new roof (2).jpg

new roof (1).jpg

new roof (3).jpg

new roof (4).jpg

new roof (5).jpg

Good work anand

forth went was for more cool air from AC

previous owner may have AC in his car (dashboard wali)

Had a quick catch up with Anand last week and drove his car for 4 to 5 kms minimum within city and few observations below:

1. First things first, Pick is awesome with the new half engine. It just pulls like anything.
2. The moment I saw the car the new bumpers are been added with new grill, to my surprise it was neatly painted.
3. White body Paint Job is decently done, could'nt find that many imperfections as Anand mentioned. As its all done by himself it shows the love on his car and nothing has gone wrong and in white the 800 looks very decent. Appreciate the selection of colour.
4. Interiors: With type 2 dashboard, it was looking perfectly and enhanced the look of the car. Some LED's are needed to the meter console though :-). Seat covers need an upgrade, but would advise get just a set of seat covers and go for art leather later once all the FC, clutch work or other things are done.
5. Brakes: Brakes were adequate enough for city limits, but I am sure you would add a booster later.

All in all, the car is running really well, and waiting for another Grand 800 meet and would want you to be there without a miss this time :-)

Girish