My Dream SUV XUV500

^^
Eh,one similarity found:Both are driving from an age of 14-15..:tongue:
Right you are,nothing is going to happen to the car,but then every person is right at his/her place.
Simple it is..'Different people,different priorities and hence different cars'(I am sure Raj is now fed up reading this line!!:stupid:)

Stiff suspension -

Example : Punto. Stiff ride at slow speeds but ride quality increases at high speeds. Handling is also better.

Soft suspension -

Example : i20. Soft and cushioning at slow speeds. But as speed increases, the ride becomes bouncy and handling goes for a toss.

Now, it does not mean all cars with soft suspension will have a bad ride at high speeds. Aria rolls a lot more than the XUV which is a clear indication that it is softly setup when compared to the XUV.

^^
Buddy I hope you will agree that Aria has a suspension with longer travel and BOF construction.

Shorter and tighter springs reduces body roll..longer and tighter springs just add to the high speed stability and ride quality at high speeds.
Amazingly Aria has both of them..now 50% of mine and 50% of yours theory is correct.

Let's get to practical classes now:-

When I drove an XUV from Ludhiana,that was the most suicidal night of my life...when some undrinkable matter(I won't name it-forum rules)mixes with a 140 BHP engine and an SUV then it always gives nightmares to road users and same happened that night.We three guys in one car and no music,nothing but just fog and an empty highway and a silver colored brand new XUV W8 was cruising at speeds varying from 70-170 kph.
Yes,this car reaches even 150 in no time,but after you cross 130..you need to be extra extra cautious.
This is an SUV and behaves like an SUV on straight well laid roads giving you ride like travelling on an air cushion.But once come some slightly winding sections and it shows its dynamics.
Let me once more mention my pros and cons list of XUV(Owners and Raj,please verify my points and make the needed corrections):-

Pros:-
  • Strong engine from low revs.
  • Freely revvign engine and hence is easy to push to higher revs(Iron Rock,this point is not for you or any other under 3000 rpm guy[evil]).
  • Great gearbox and hence full power of mHawk can be easily brought to use.
  • Light steering gives fantastic city driveability.
  • In gear acceleration is good,only third gear could have been slightly longer,not much but only upto 115-120 kph.(It goes upto 95-100 in it)
  • Second gear is mind blowing,55-60 kph comes in no time and since engine is easy revving so it adds to much fun.
  • Seating is smart,though there is no boot..but then who needs one?especially when we are families of 2,3,4 or 5.
  • Steering is placed at a spot on position and pedals are also on a comfy position.
Rest I won't mention the ones like A/C etc etc.

Cons:-
  • Clutch spoils the drive,it presses easily before half point and in last 1/3rd,but between the half and 1/3rd,it feels quite hard(I drove a new car and one with 11k kms on odo,maybe both had some defect..I am not saying that this is an issue with the car).
  • Seats are good and have perfect cushioning for me(leather ones of W8,W6 super cushioned seats make me uncomfy),but there is some issue with backrests.Either you can rest your neck comfortably or lower portion of your back comfortably.If you want to rest both of them then the back starts aching after 20-30 minutes.
  • Steering is a boon for city drives but is quite inconsistent at high speeds.Its more responsive than required there and feels a bit too light.And hence gives a feeling of floaty handling.
  • Brakes could have been far far better.C'mon yaar this car weighs about 300 kgs lesser than Safari and Aria,but still the braking feels nearly same as of their.Then what is the use of this weight advantage.
  • Raj says this car rolls lesser than Aria,but I say..not at all,the roll is nearly equal and with the complement of 6 passengers on board it gives even more rolling fun.I won't say anything..do it at higher speeds,take it on the 'ghats' and press on gas.Note:I never said XUV bad for lower speeds..only high speed behavior puts me off.
Eh,nothing else..electronics glitches etc etc are for owners...

When I drove an Aria pride 4X4 on a TD(about 60 kms long):-

Pros:-
  • Build quality and material quality-really great it was.
  • Engine was a locomotive between 2000-3500 rpm but begged for a better gearbox.
  • Ergonomics were really great.
  • Seats were perfectly cushioned and there was massive space..and even a boot too.
  • Steering wheel,though was not that good,but still felt connected and gave the feeling of a compliant handling all the time.
  • Ride..man,this car has got it better than even any 30 lac costing car.At 100 kph it rides fantastically.
  • If XUV is for driving then Aria is for being driven in uber comfort.
  • Although the engine isn't as good revving,but pulls fantastically.Especially in mid range.
  • Ride and handling is good enough that you can cruise at 140-150 for whole day without loosing the confidence.[clap]

Cons:-
  • Engine and gearbox combo is not at all suited for the car.
  • One needs to work quite a bit on the gearbox to keep the engine in powerband.
  • Braking,although more confidence inspiring than XUV,but still..could have been better.
  • Ride is unsettled or say jiggly at speeds below 40 kph.
  • Still its a BOF design and loves rolling..
  • Responsiveness is something that is to be taken from the car,else the engine looses its power and then you again need to shift down.
  • Low speeds dynamics could have been far better and same is with the steering wheel,which feels tight at lower speeds too.

Waiting for you people to add to the list and make corrections.

@Raj:
My practical exam said "Aria rides and handles better at higher speeds as compared to XUV".
You may discard this point,no issue but always remember "Excessive responsive and light steering does not enhance handling at higher speeds,instead it makes the handling floaty".Ask to Mr.Pintu and he will tell it to you better than me.

Guys we are going extreme OT. :offtopic:

This thread is meant for Anoop's ride XUV, for sharing his ownership report.

And his experiences with the car.

He is Happy with whatever it has to offer.

My humble request to all of you is to discuss the matter in relevant threads...

Thread Starter #110
Guys we are going extreme OT. :offtopic:

This thread is meant for Anoop's ride XUV, for sharing his ownership report.

And his experiences with the car.

He is Happy with whatever it has to offer.

My humble request to all of you is to discuss the matter in relevant threads...
Not a problem Mukesh, let them discuss, makes it very interesting for someone like me to know that ppl can be so much passionate over dynamics and mechanics of a car.....I, for one, always thought cars are always best driven and enjoyed, never knew their Clutches, gears and steerings can be discussed to such a thread-bare level
I have always loved to drive cars, that's why I chose the user-name LOVECARS, I must have driven more than 5 Lac km so far in last 23 years starting from Fiat, Maruti800, Daewoo Matiz, Ford Fusion, Hyundai i10 and finally XUV500, and loved driving each km in them.
I always look at each car as a complete package- their Drive, Handling, Seating, Boot space and most importantly, their rational pricing, and then give my Final verdict.
When I bought Ford Fusion in 2004, ppl laughed at me, saying it was very expensive and from Ford but its overall package told me that it was not at all expensive. In fact, at that price, it was the best VFM car I had ever bought. That experience told me experts are not always Right but mostly Wrong. And same I have found out here after having driven XUV 500 for over 7000km in last 5 mths.
For anybody having a big family of 6-7 ppl, who love to go on long drives few times in a year and who also want a very able vehicle for city drive and of course have a budget of 13-14 lac, XUV 500 is the car to go for.

Hi LOVECARS, I booked my W8 today and I should be getting delivery soon!![:D]

Happy to see that you are delighted with the car.

I was just wondering - how does the car feel on rough roads, once you leave the makhhan-smooth post-CWG roads of Delhi?

Kolkata, where I will be doing most of my driving, is highly potholed and there are speedbreakers everywhere.

@Raj:
My practical exam said "Aria rides and handles better at higher speeds as compared to XUV".
No problem mate. I prefer the ride of the Aria and the handling of the XUV. The Aria seems more plush, but i felt it is lazy around corners. It behaves like a big american van. The XUV felt more eager and chuckable around corners.

Personal opinion.

You may discard this point,no issue but always remember "Excessive responsive and light steering does not enhance handling at higher speeds,instead it makes the handling floaty".
I know. If I dint, I would have bought an i20 over the Punto!

Both the Aria and XUV does not have an excessive light steering. And both does not offer any feedback the way Punto does. so both score the same when it comes to steering feedback. But the steering wheel itself is better in the XUV!

Folks, kindly refrain from arguing and debating as to what should be one's priority while buying a car, and which car is better. Start a new thread or look for already existing ones. This is an "OWNERSHIP REVIEW" thread and now turned into "I KNOW BETTER THAN YOU" thread.

Vibhor (@370Z), such threads need to be moderated. It is spoiling the fun of reading, affecting quality of blogs and the forum.

An excellent thread that started with the owner's opinions about the vehicle has turned into "YOU KNOW NOTHING, ASK ME, I KNOW BETTER THAN YOU".

and now turned into "I KNOW BETTER THAN YOU" thread.

has turned into "YOU KNOW NOTHING, ASK ME, I KNOW BETTER THAN YOU".
I dont see anyone showing such attitude over here.

And anyways, the thread owner itself has stated that this debate (or argument as you call it) can continue -

Come on Vipul, be a sport, there is nothing like spoiling the ownership thread, it's just about getting facts right.........
Not a problem Mukesh, let them discuss, makes it very interesting for someone like me to know that ppl can be so much passionate over dynamics and mechanics of a car.....
Anyways, I will leave it upto the MODS to decide.

No problem mate. I prefer the ride of the Aria and the handling of the XUV. The Aria seems more plush, but i felt it is lazy around corners. It behaves like a big american van. The XUV felt more eager and chuckable around corners.
No doubt,agility favors XUV,but sure footedness would have taken the driving experience to great levels.

I know. If I dint, I would have bought an i20 over the Punto!

Both the Aria and XUV does not have an excessive light steering. And both does not offer any feedback the way Punto does. so both score the same when it comes to steering feedback. But the steering wheel itself is better in the XUV!
Eh,these neutral comments of yours cut my hands and force me to shut my mouth..[lol]
Still,I agree that steering wheel is better in XUV,but what is its use when overall dynamics can't support it to the desired levels?

Folks, kindly refrain from arguing and debating as to what should be one's priority while buying a car, and which car is better. Start a new thread or look for already existing ones. This is an "OWNERSHIP REVIEW" thread and now turned into "I KNOW BETTER THAN YOU" thread.

Vibhor (@370Z), such threads need to be moderated. It is spoiling the fun of reading, affecting quality of blogs and the forum.

An excellent thread that started with the owner's opinions about the vehicle has turned into "YOU KNOW NOTHING, ASK ME, I KNOW BETTER THAN YOU".
Tuteja ji,dhanyawaad.
Have a look at post no. 102.I was also saying exactly same.Don't worry buddy,this is not an everlasting debate.Its just a 3-4 post fight which is about to end up.

I dont see anyone showing such attitude over here.

And anyways, the thread owner itself has stated that this debate (or argument as you call it) can continue -
It looks like Raj 2012 has started gaining the torque it had lost during version revision...[evil]

Anyways, I will leave it upto the MODS to decide.
+100..

Thread Starter #116
Hi LOVECARS, I booked my W8 today and I should be getting delivery soon!![:D]

Happy to see that you are delighted with the car.

I was just wondering - how does the car feel on rough roads, once you leave the makhhan-smooth post-CWG roads of Delhi?

Kolkata, where I will be doing most of my driving, is highly potholed and there are speedbreakers everywhere.
Congrats buddy, U have made the Right choice and believe me, U will love it more once U start driving it.

I have been to Kolkatta a few times and know its roads. They are really bad as one goes deep inside the city but believe me, XUV is going to negotiate all the potholes and speedbreakers very effortlessly for U. Best of luck[:)]

Thread Starter #117
I think most of U are unnecessarily getting sensitive about my Ownership thread. A debate only gets interesting if one gets to hear views and opinions from varied sources, and that is what is happening here.

Their may be Technical inputs from all experts while persons like me, who only Love to drive the cars, without going too much into the technicalities should enjoy listening to their arguments without getting bothered at all.

I can only tell U that XUV500 is a fabulous car which has spurred most top Car companies to eye this 10-15 Lac SUV segment and I can also tell U from my experience of driving XUV for last 5 mths that this should require some real good effort to even think of coming near the standards set by this amazing car, be it Ride, Handling, Steering or Brakes.[clap]

@Lovecars:
Have you heard a sentence "Aag mein ghee daalna"(Adding oil to the fire)?

Since you like debates too much,then should I call for our dear 'The Xover'[evil] here??

Thread Starter #119
@Lovecars:
Have you heard a sentence "Aag mein ghee daalna"(Adding oil to the fire)?

Since you like debates too much,then should I call for our dear 'The Xover'[evil] here??
No, I haven't heard of that.[;)] Come on yaar, get all the Evil of the world out here, I wud luv to listen to it. I already told U about my Ford Fusion experience before, hear it once more.

The day I had bought my Ford Fusion in 2004, I took it to my clinic and it was parked outside. A patient entered and asked me ,"Dr saab, U have bought this car parked outside!"

I said, "yes! Is there any problem!". He replied, "what a terrible mistake U made? U bought Ford's car."

I said, "Which car do U have?" He replied, "I don't have a car, I driver a Scooter."

I said, "Alright, never mind. Tell me, have U ever driven this car or leave it, ever even entered this car." He replied,"No".

Now I was angry, I told him, "what sort of a Fool do U think I am? Don't U think I would have test-drove this car, enquired about Ford, before finally buying this car. Anyways, it's my money I am spending, why should I buy a car of your choice?"

By now, he was truly embarrassed and I also thought it was time to call it a day.[;)]

^^The angry young man you are..:lol!:

Being true,I never expected that you will scold someone this way.From next time onwards I'll mind my words.
In fact,let all the dynamics etc etc go to hell..XUV is the best car in the world..really..[;)]

BTW,I too faced many such people when I bought Laura..
Uncles said "Why Skoda"?
Then they said "You made a blunder by buying one in petrol,it will not sell for even a lakh..no one will buy it".
But now my father is very happy with the car.

GF said "Vipul,Civic looks better"(Her brother in law owns one)
Eh,I myself don't remember how many Civics I have smoked from my TSi,including the one owned by her BIL...but but but..I never said anything.I let my car speak..[:D]