My Dream SUV XUV500

Thread Starter #76
Delhi-Vrindaban trip

One of the prime reason I went for a SUV was that we frequently go to Vrindaban which is around 150km from our house and with 7 members incl. 3 kids and little luggage (just went for 2 days), XUV proves just an ideal companion for the journey.
I don't know how many of U know but there is a route through Sohna road in Gurgaon which U approach from NH24 and it allows one to avoid maddening traffic of Faridabad-Ballabhgarh stretch. I always take this route and it allows me to drive through lush-green fields of Sohna-Palwal stretch and after Palwal, highway till Vrindaban is excellent allowing me to drive my XUV on some real good speeds of around 120km/hr and it felt excellent.
It took us only 2 and a half hour flat to reach Vrindaban from North Delhi with just a tea-break in between. The best part was filling just 1000 Rs diesel which was enough for to and fro journey with some local-sightseeing too.
Can't wait for next trip to my favorite destination, Vrindaban[:)]

cute kids and nice color choice on the car :)

good to see this car

would love to know whats the best part of the car
handling
performance
mileage ?

Thread Starter #80
cute kids and nice color choice on the car :)

good to see this car

would love to know whats the best part of the car
handling
performance
mileage ?
Kids chose this color only bro and Silver is my personal favorite too, all my cars in last 20 years have been Silver only.

Honestly, best part about XUV500 are all 3 u mentioned-Handling, Performance and Mileage.
Handling is very easy- steering, suspension and gears, all are on lighter side, never do u feel u are driving a heavy SUV sort of thing.
Performance is amazing- car never lets u down, be it Acceleration, power or pick-up from zero.
Mileage is a big, big plus- I did to and fro from Delhi to Vrindaban with local drive, totalling around 350km with just 1000 Rs of Diesel and I still have enough to drive another 90 km. Who says Fuel is costly?[;)]

Thread Starter #82
^^Have you sped up the XUV over 120?
If yes,then how much and how you felt it there?
Vipul, I did occassionally go upto 140km and I have even done 160-170 on F1 track at BIC, it felt very good. In fact, if I hadn't felt comfortable at those speeds, I would have never even gone to those marks. But I do agree that one does feel best at max speed of around 110-120 and that too if road conditions and traffic permits.
I do agree that Mahindra has taken word Soft-roader too seriously and have really made the drive look a 'bit floating' at very high speeds and there is a slightest hint of wobble but I believe that is a bit natural considering its tall stance and very light body becoz of monocoque designing.
Still I would give it 9 out of 10 marks at high speeds though one must not drive regularly at those speeds.[:)]

Haha being an SUV,you can never expect her to handle well at high speeds.Rest there is a lot of difference between yours and mine scales.
How?
Because I give Scorpio 4/10,XUV 5/10,Innova 7/10 and Safari 7/10 on handling front at high speeds.

Kids chose this color only bro and Silver is my personal favorite too, all my cars in last 20 years have been Silver only.

Honestly, best part about XUV500 are all 3 u mentioned-Handling, Performance and Mileage.
Handling is very easy- steering, suspension and gears, all are on lighter side, never do u feel u are driving a heavy SUV sort of thing.
Performance is amazing- car never lets u down, be it Acceleration, power or pick-up from zero.
Mileage is a big, big plus- I did to and fro from Delhi to Vrindaban with local drive, totalling around 350km with just 1000 Rs of Diesel and I still have enough to drive another 90 km. Who says Fuel is costly?[;)]
sounds pretty good man

I might go test driveone once its released in australia
thanks for the headsup

Thread Starter #85
Haha being an SUV,you can never expect her to handle well at high speeds.Rest there is a lot of difference between yours and mine scales.
How?
Because I give Scorpio 4/10,XUV 5/10,Innova 7/10 and Safari 7/10 on handling front at high speeds.
Vipul, now even feel like Laughing becoz ur ratings are sounding really Comical[lol]. It seeems your queries and arguements have only one purpose- to run down this beauty[confused].
You say Innova and Safari handle better at high speeds beyond 120 but do U understand that U first need to reach there. With the kind of power they have, you must be knowing it requires hell of an effort to first get to 120km mark . I am sure nobody in Innova wud have ever touched 140 and as for Safari, it wobbles so badly at 80km mark, it wud require a very brave man to test Handling at 120km mark.
As for Scorpio, you just need to go back to history to know how many cars have turned turtle at higher speeds to discourage one from even trying.
Its just no comparison betw. XUV and rest of the cars U are talking. XUV gets 9/10 for the effortless ease with which it does 0-100mark, the nimbleness with which it handles sharp curves at higher speeds and even Braking U so much complain about, is simply superb.

^^
Okay let me think,here is the list of the mark I touched in 'some' SUVs I have drove till date:-
Toyota Innova:About 155..
Tata Safari:About 165..
Mahindra Scorpio:About 160.
Mahindra XUV:About 170..[evil]
Tata Aria:About 165..
Skoda Yeti:About 185..[clap](The only SUV I wanna buy..my hot hot favorite)
Mitsubishi Pajero:About 150..

And in terms of high speed handling I rate only Aria and Yeti over 7..
Aria gets 8 and Yeti gets complete 10/10 from my side.

And amazingly none of these cars took days to reach the mark.
Tata cars are not that much settled at lower speeds but as soon as the speed builds up the ride and handling improves and at about 110-120 kph there is no match to how the Safari and Aria rides and handles(Raj bhai...please help me and pour some experience of yours here.People have started taking me wrong way..maybe thinking that "19 saal ka baccha kya jaane"!!).They roll,but don't turn turtle..Scorpy doesn't roll that much..but turns turtle.

I have already mentioned zillions of times..I have no issue with XUV,I have issue with the way it behaves on steering inputs at those speeds(I have driven one on a full night drive and opened its all the valves very thoroughly).Actually you need to drive some other SUVs too.I'd recommend you to go and TD..Ford Endy,Mitsubishi Pajero(Not Sport),Tata Safari/Aria and Skoda Yeti and I am sure your thoughts are going to change.

Thread Starter #88
^^
Okay let me think,here is the list of the mark I touched in 'some' SUVs I have drove till date:-
Toyota Innova:About 155..
Tata Safari:About 165..
Mahindra Scorpio:About 160.
Mahindra XUV:About 170..[evil]
Tata Aria:About 165..
Skoda Yeti:About 185..[clap](The only SUV I wanna buy..my hot hot favorite)
Mitsubishi Pajero:About 150..

And in terms of high speed handling I rate only Aria and Yeti over 7..
Aria gets 8 and Yeti gets complete 10/10 from my side.

And amazingly none of these cars took days to reach the mark.
Tata cars are not that much settled at lower speeds but as soon as the speed builds up the ride and handling improves and at about 110-120 kph there is not match to how the Safari and Aria irides and handles.They roll,but don't turn turtle..Scorpy doesn't roll that much..but turns turtle.

I have already mentioned zillions of times..I have no issue with XUV,I have issue with the way it behaves on steering inputs at those speeds(I have driven one on a full night drive and opened its all the valves very thoroughly).Actually you need to drive some other SUVs too.I'd recommend you to go and TD..Ford Endy,Mitsubishi Pajero(Not Sport),Tata Safari/Aria and Skoda Yeti and I am sure your thoughts are going to change.
Brother, I had tried Safari, Scorpio, Aria, Yeti, Captiva and Endy before finally going for XUV. And I can tell U, XUV rates above all in most parameters. And there is no better proof than Sales figures its clocking in comparison to all of these.
Endy and Yeti have almost gone out of business since its launch while Aria shedding couple of lacs hasn't helped its cause a wee bit.
As for Safari, it is nowhere even in reckoning. Rest, its personal choice. Now don't tell me that thousands who have booked their cars and are willing to give 2-3 lacs in premium don't go for test drives, owner's experience so far or even forums like this before going for it.
Of course, its not the 'Perfectest piece' of car which has ever been manufactured but even handling at high speeds is not at all a problem as U imagine. I have just returned from a 350 km drive and got the opportunity to drive and test the car at some real high speeds, and I must say, it came out Trumps, a real Cheetah......[clap]

One and all:-
You are the owner,you like the car-I like the car,simple it is.[clap]
Its better we don' spoil the ownership review with out debates.(Else there is a lot to debate)

Vipul, I agree that the high speed ride is the best in the Aria and Safari.

But I personally felt that the handling of the XUV was better than the Aria. the Aria rolls a lot in corners. Scorpio is the worst when it comes to ride and handling.

Overall, for slow speeds, the Aria is good. but at high speeds, I would pick the XUV. Even though the Aria has better ride, I feel the overall ride and handling combo of XUV was better.