My Ambhaari: Mahindra XUV500 Buying & Ownership Experience

Re: My, Yet To Be Named, XUV5OO - Buying and Ownership Experience

Very unfortunate and to be honest its impossible to design an engine bay which would be rat proof - at best the AC ducts that come in to the cabin can be made rat proof.
I dont really think a manufacturer can rat proof the engine bay, its impossible considering cooling requirements, efficiency of various components operating in tandem.

Rats have to find warmth during rainy season and winter, inevitably our cars become a cosy bungalow for them. I use black pepper powder , chilly powder and tobacco generously in the engine bay - but still there are no guarantees really!
Be cautious IR.

Red Chilli, Pepper can be sucked into cabin and it can lead to Sneezy drive.[lol]

Best thing that can be done, is to have a clean surrounding, and plug any holes where one parks the car daily.

the new xuv 500 with lower ground clearance was supposed to come with engine guard.
if that happens to be a solid plate, it could work as rat barrier, couldn't it?

Be cautious IR.

Red Chilli, Pepper can be sucked into cabin and it can lead to Sneezy drive.[lol]

Best thing that can be done, is to have a clean surrounding, and plug any holes where one parks the car daily.
[lol] so far it hasnt, but i like the idea to get rid of unwelcome guests quickly

the new xuv 500 with lower ground clearance was supposed to come with engine guard.
No chance simply, I am afraid!

Are you sure the new XUV 500 with the reduced ground clearance is on the road already. I am waiting to buy the new updated version. Kindly guide me regarding this.

I'm not sure if it's in round yet.you could ask the dealership. however I feel sorry for new owners as 170mm ground clearance is sedan range and our main motto about SUV purchase is gone. just look at road conditions in India! even mighty SUV comes down to 1St. gear on mount speed breakers.

Yep buddy you have made the right point here. Reducing the ground clearance just for the purpose of tax exemption is ridiculous. This is more so when you consider the road conditions in Bangalore. But the lure of owning the beast is too much to resist [:D]

bhvm your understanding of the 170mm ground clearance isnt correct, there is practically no difference, its just a case of being measured at different places(european and indian norms) - check the xuv thread on the news section that has all the information about it.

Yes theres no practical change in GC , M n M just placed an metal engine gaurd ..have checked the new version on D day of my w6.

Hi onlymanoj, Have you got your new updated version in w6 guise. Can the metal guard be seen easily in order to identify that it is in fact the new model. I am booking mine next month probably so I guess i will check the beast for the metal guard the next time I visit the showroom. Thanks anyways. If you have already got the delivery please upload the pictures and share your experience buddy [:)]

^Actually I settled for a old version suspecting the GC almost equal to my ritz , I did ask him to give me a TD of new version but the dealer dint had new version for TD.but he asked me to check old n new vehicle side by side. But im not in a position to take risk with new reduced GC. So I straightway asked him to get me a old version w6.
You can clearly get a view of metal gaurd to the engine compartment.
Many says nothing has changed except a metal gaurd.but the GC on paper is now 160mm just to avoid excise duty.
You better check it in a showroom .
I have added my ownership thread recently, you can check it.if you need I can post underbody pics.
Do update your status..[:)]z

Hey manuman, A very well written review. Keep it up buddy[clap]

^Actually I settled for a old version suspecting the GC almost equal to my ritz , I did ask him to give me a TD of new version but the dealer dint had new version for TD.but he asked me to check old n new vehicle side by side. But im not in a position to take risk with new reduced GC. So I straightway asked him to get me a old version w6.
You can clearly get a view of metal gaurd to the engine compartment.
Many says nothing has changed except a metal gaurd.but the GC on paper is now 160mm just to avoid excise duty.
You better check it in a showroom .
I have added my ownership thread recently, you can check it.if you need I can post underbody pics.
Do update your status..[:)]z
I am planning to check the metal guard this time. Would appreciate if you are able o post the underbody pictures of both the old and the new versions. Thanks for your help.

Thread Starter #72

Back to my rats please [:)]

Was away for couple of weeks on business, hence couldn't update much.

On the rats issue - I am using tobacco leaves for now. When I asked for the same at a local shop, the guy immediately asked me if it is for car and gave me couple of bundles (cost <20 rupees). I believe many are relying on this solution to keep away the rats.

Successful in keeping the rats away thus far. In fact, I haven't faced this problem much except once when the rats bit my RX-100 oil pipe (near the engine, the 2T oil pipe).

But the flip side - the whole basement stinks [anger]. There is some opening from basement to my living room and I could smell the tobacco stink (my nose is very sharp, doesn't help at times).

Until I decide on something permanent, I shall rely on tobacco leaves.

Thread Starter #73

Update from a recent trip to Coorg/Kodagu.

Total distance of ~600KMs - done with ease. Took the NICE road to reach Mysore Road, picked up couple of friends on the way. Couple of pit stops enroute, for breakfast / coffee / return-natures-call. Took nearly 5 hours which is not bad considering couple of town we have to pass thru (no bypass), bad ~15KM stretch between Sri Rangapattanna and Hunsur Road (KRS Road), the brief ghat section near Madikeri, and bad stretch of muddy road the last 10KMs!

Mileage was more than 14KM whilst cruising but by end of trip it came down to 12.9. I think the drive thru the towns, air-condition throughout, and finally the Bangalore city traffic brought down the mileage. I could notice gradual improvement when the XUV is cruising Vs reduction when struck in traffic.

The drive was absolutely smooth. No small/big issues whatsoever. Couple of fellows in my car felt the difference (this was their first time in XUV). Apart from noticing the obvious frills in the car, they could feel the power and smoothness. 2 of them own BMW 3 series so I value their feedback!

The 15KM stretch between Madikeri and Taj Vivanta (that's where I was headed for an official offsite outing) was bad - made for XUV! some steep roads, with extremely bad stretch; no problemo!

Couple of pictures from the trip. First picture is near the Madikeri Golf Course; the second one is the view from Taj Vivanta lobby. It's out of this world! No wonder Coorg is called Scotland of India.

Hi onlymanoj, Have you got your new updated version in w6 guise. Can the metal guard be seen easily in order to identify that it is in fact the new model. I am booking mine next month probably so I guess i will check the beast for the metal guard the next time I visit the showroom. Thanks anyways. If you have already got the delivery please upload the pictures and share your experience buddy [:)]
Hey Guys,

Can anyone confirm if the latest version of XUVs come with metal engine stone guards?
If am not wrong the old vehicles had hard plastic guards and as far as I understand its still made of plastic only.
Please let me know if anybody has any confirmed details on this.

Arvind S.