My Ambhaari: Mahindra XUV500 Buying & Ownership Experience

Thread Starter #91
Re: My, Yet To Be Named, XUV5OO - Buying and Ownership Experience

Mystery solved!

Refer my post dated 18th April, #88, about intermittent beep in my car. The toll sensor - OBU (On Board Unit) was low on battery which was the cause for intermittent beep. It died down naturally during my Goa trip.

The toll never displayed balance. The toll guys told me it is because the OBU battery is dead, and asked me to come back after couple of weeks for battery replacement. I went back again and again for nearly 2 months now, and last week finally they had some fresh batteries to replace. The guy who replaced the battery was complaining to somebody that despite swapping to a new battery there is some noise. I did not pay much attention due to traffic noise.

But once I got inside my car, the intermittent beep started! I quickly realized what the toll guy was complaining about and relate the toll display / beep issue. Pulled out the OBU to confirm, and it was indeed the culprit! So relieved, it is not the car but the damn toll sensor. [clap]

Thread Starter #92

Returned from a road trip to Hampi recently. Bangalore to Hampi, via Hiriyur, Challakere, Hyatt at JSW in Toranagallu. It was a business trip, and the meetings were planned in Hyatt Palace.

3 XUVs and a Safari, loaded with 14 men, set off from Bangalore around 8AM. Based on feedback from one of the friend who had been to Hyatt just a week ago, we took the Hiriyur~Challakere route (highway 19?) instead of Chitradurga. I believe the road between Sandur and Hyatt (high way 40) was in complete mess, hence we did not take the chance. I am glad we took this route because the roads were superb! Though it is a 2 lane road, the width and the road surface was fantastic.

I like to call myself 'safe' driver, which means I was slower than other cars for most part the trip. Never the less, I was driving at an average 100KMph whilst my buddies much higher. Unmarked speed brakes (hump) near junction / villages, was the only issue. I could see my buddies literally fly over some of the speed brakes; at times I had to apply sudden brake when I noticed the speed brakes. Whilst enroute to Hyatt, we missed the Hubli-Karwar bypass (highway 63), instead went thru some industrial area. The roads were in absolute shambles. I have never ever driven in such bad road in my life. They were not pot holes but craters, the one visible to naked eyes even from moon (please try it [;)])

Through out this bad patch of roads, the sudden brakes, hopping over humps, overtaking fellow XUV owner, not even once did I face any problem. I can't think of putting XUV thru better test. Loaded car, AC on, good road / bad road, bad driving (my friends!).... what else can one ask for?

Exact 350KM - door to door, covered in 4.5 hours, average 12.9KM mileage (one of the XUV showed 14KM mileage on average!).

Thread Starter #93

Some pictures from the trip. Before you ask - 'No, I did not drink and drive; but my friends did enjoy a beer/two during the smooth ride'. [:)]

@Gurrala / @bhvm – I am yet to decide on the name. If you guys followed the thread, I have taken this car on company car lease scheme. Not sure if I will own this car after 3 years. Hence, I am hesitant to name the car. Once you name the car (or anything you love), you develop an emotional attachment. And then you can’t let it go! That’s my experience. BTW, by no means I drive the car or take care of the car, thinking I don’t own it. Till the last day I own this, I will treat it with love and respect.
I am falling in love with this car. This car is a keeper! Very likely, I'll retain this car even after lease expires. [:D]
Don't you think then it's high time that you give name to your "yet to be named" XUV500 car.

Hey hi. The last Black XUV is AWD right? Did you get to drive it as well? if yes did you experience any change in the driving manner?

Thread Starter #96

@dhoom9: I completely agree - need to find a name. Last time when I struggled to find the name of a girl, I named her Anamika! I don't think I can do that to my car. That girl is my wiffy now btw [:D]

@Dheeraj: True, its a AWD car - purple color though. That's my boss' car! so did not want to take it on a terrain to test AWD. I don't think he has tested it either; he is not a 4x4 kind of person.

My car is still doing pretty well btw. Due to my out-station travel and other constraints, I drive my car less now. The odo shows only 17K after 17 months. Will wait for ~20K before I get 3rd service done. Any different thoughts?

Thread Starter #97

Update after 3rd service - at 18500 KM. It was 21 months and I haven't crossed 20K KMs, but decided to get the 3rd service done (Nov '14). I have been busy professionally, with lot of travel and client visit. One of the reason why I haven't driven my car much (still <19K as I write this). Since my car is on company lease, did not want to delay beyond the prescribed period of 20 months and cause warranty issue. Hence decided to get it done.

Pretty standard stuff -
1. Transmission oil change
2. Brake pads change - both front and back (wasn't bad, but couldn't wait till next service)
3. Engine Oil and filter change
4. System software upgrade
and other standard stuff at 3rd service.

General inspection did not reveal any concern. Usual tyre rotation (every 5K?), fasteners tightening, washing/cleaning, etc., were carried out. The total bill came to around 14K. Unfortunately, the computer was down hence I did not get a bill; the RM promised to mail me the same but did not.

I am facing couple of niggling problems -
1. The front left-tyre usual shows low pressure. when I check the pressure level (at a local puncture shop), it shows just couple of PSIs low. Is the senor truly that sensitive? Anyway, I plan to get the thorough check done for any puncture.
2. The instrument cluster cover makes some nagging sound. I forgot to discuss this with RM and get it fixed. But shall do so sooner than my next service. It is really irritating.
3. Faced issue with my audio, all of sudden, after I reformatted my USB drive to copy new songs. Every time I restart the car, the audio would start from 1st song. I even tried switching off the system before I turned off the car ignition. Tried reformatting the USB pen drive, tried a new system, etc. Being an engineer, I felt I have tried enough.

Thankfully, during the 3rd service the system software was upgraded. Voila! The problem solved. [clap] Though RM did not agree that the issue was related to software ("It was working fine prior to upgrade, for a year, isn't it??"), I believe it was the software. Anyway, all is well that ends well.

Next, there are minor scratches on the car - the front corners, rear bumper, so on. The lease company has promised to fix this at their cost (that's why I pay them premium). Shall update after that.

All in all - extremely happy with the car in almost every aspect. Just over a year to go to complete my lease term; saving funds to make sure I buy this car and live happily together ever after [lol]

was brake pad change mandatory at just 20k?
ass. said brake pads usually do over 40k kmz. my thunderbolt has 32k kms on odo with factory brake pads. working fine.

I dont think the brake pad change is mandatory in any service interval, they are meant to be changed only when they have been worn out.

By the wat what was the cost of the brake pads?

Thread Starter #100

@bhvm: as @kinshuk.arya mentioned, brake pad need not be changed unless there is need. My brakes were ok, and the RM too in fact mentioned that the brakes are good for another couple of thousand KMs, but I dont take chances with Brake and Horn (the two "must be in top shape condition" Indian roads [:D]). Hence decided to change it.

The brake pad costed me around rupees 4500 if am not wrong. As I wrote, the RM is yet to mail me the final invoice.

Forgot to update - my left-front tire pressure sensor seems to be having some problem. For the last 2 months, tiretronics is showing low pressure. When I manually check (at a neighborhood tire shop - nitrogen filled), the pressure is around 28~30 whilst I expect it to be 32 for front (and 30 PSI for rear tires). Refilled couple of times, including deflating the tire completely and inflating it to 32 PSI. But the issue persists - I see the warning message on my infotainment.

Any one has come across this?

@bhvm: as @kinshuk.arya mentioned, brake pad need not be changed unless there is need. My brakes were ok, and the RM too in fact mentioned that the brakes are good for another couple of thousand KMs, but I dont take chances with Brake and Horn (the two "must be in top shape condition" Indian roads [:D]). Hence decided to change it.

Forgot to update - my left-front tire pressure sensor seems to be having some problem. For the last 2 months, tiretronics is showing low pressure. When I manually check (at a neighborhood tire shop - nitrogen filled), the pressure is around 28~30 whilst I expect it to be 32 for front (and 30 PSI for rear tires). Refilled couple of times, including deflating the tire completely and inflating it to 32 PSI. But the issue persists - I see the warning message on my infotainment.

Any one has come across this?
Once, the thunderbolt shows a LOW PRESSURE for the spare tyre. Thankfully I spotted a mahindra ASS on the way. I guess they "TAUGHT" the system (some TPMS learning thingy) and checked all the wheels too. No problems since then.

I dont think the brakes will suddenly vanish! and XUV has a innovative brake wear sensor too!

Thread Starter #102

Back after few months!

The business trips took me to US and UK, and I hardly drove my vehicle; driving in these countries is not new to me, but the snow storm in US posed real challenge. That's for some other day...

My XUV, just crossed 21K on the ODO. The car starts instantly, even though it is idle for weeks together! Shows that batter is in good health.

The tire pressure issue is fixed now. Apparently, the tire had a puncture (right on the spot where I had a puncture earlier; perhaps bad work resulting in repeated puncture). Fixing the puncture cleared the warning message.

Some niggle which needs fixing -
When I go on rough roads, I hear squeaking sound in the dashboard, right above the steering wheel.
The sprinkler on bonnet is clogged, needs some cleaning.
The infotainment has constant warning about 'impending service'. I serviced before 20K, but now that I crossed 20K, the system is reminding me about the service. The SA should have reset it during service, but perhaps forgot; silly issue.

Planning to go on a short vacation before I get busy again. Will post a thread on the trip soon.

Thread Starter #103

Back again almost after 6 months. Again, my frequent travel overseas is not helping me put on KMs. And off late I am taking public transport which is a convenient option for me to commute to office.

However, in the past few months I made few long trips. On vacation to Kerala (Wayanad)~Coorg, Hampi, on business to Chennai, so on, helped me cross 27,000KM yesterday.

ZERO issues to report, from my last update (except one puncture).

In general, I was little apprehensive before the long trips, for no reason actually! Though I felt I should visit service center for some basic checks, could not. Carried out few checks myself – such as, tire pressure of all the wheels including spare wheel, windshield washer fluid refill, and engine oil level. That’s it! Thankfully, did not face absolutely any problem during any of these trips. I do not take many breaks and drive at decent~consistent speed. For example, during the 350KM trips I took just one Coffee/lunch break. One of the reason is the comfort of the car, and good roads; which means no fatigue.

I have recently switched to Shell diesel; the average has improved marginally in city drive. But during the recent long trips, I have witnessed mileage as high as 15+ KM! Considering I am usually above 100KMh speed on the long trips, this is an amazing mileage for me.

Once whilst filling the diesel at Shell, the staff volunteered to check my engine oil level and advised me that the oil level is low hence I need to top-up with shell engine oil. Thankfully I did not oblige. Once I returned home, I searched about engine oil, oil level, synthetic oil Vs Mahindra Maximile, etc. Good that I did give in to the staff’s recommendation, ‘coz you cannot just top-up and mix Regular Vs Synthetic engine oils. I hope Shell staff is trained on the same, and not just up-selling their products.

As I write, another 3 months to go to complete my 3 year car lease period! The leasing company has indicated I need to pay around 8 Lacs.

Any idea, anyone, what is the market price for a 3 year old well maintained XUV?

Thread Starter #104

Well, firstly, the car is mine now! Went with 'buy back' option from the leasing company, paying 9.98 lakhs (shall discuss the pros/cons of car leasing later).

Secondly, now that the car is mine, I wish to name my car - AMBHARI. Ambhari means "A howdah; the seat or throne on an elephant's back hoda; A king's ride!". ಅಂಬಾರಿ in Kannada, अम्बारी in Hindhi; I think it is the same pronunciation / meaning in other Indian languages as well.

How do I change the title of my thread? I have a name for my car now :-)

Hi Manuman, I want your feedback and review about the new XUV5OO Because i am planning to take New Age XUV5OO W10 FWD.[:)]