Movie Reviews!

I watched Talvar recently, can't say much about it as its made on highly sensitive subject still in terms of acting, every member of the main star cast has given a stellar act. The narration and story has been enacted in a flawless manner. 10/10 for acting & narration.

Mumbai-Pune-Mumbai 2
Language: Marathi

Many a times we reach theaters to watch sequel of any movie keeping in mind the earlier version. But again, many times it won’t match the original theme. "Mumbai-Pune-Mumbai 2" is also somewhat in same lines with earlier version. The film has enough elements for the target audience and the fans of two lead actors. As earlier version even this part also comes with full of puns on Mumbaikar's and Punekar's. The film portraits a lively and joyful families where all members are actively involved in marriage arrangement of lead actors.

Few scenes in the movie where viewers (married one) will feel the scene taken right out of real life and portrayed on the big screen with a real charm. The movie is having its own color tone. All throughout, you’ll find the use of bright and vibrant colors, which give the otherwise plain scenes an upbeat look.

A special mention is about "Prashant Damale". It was really nice to see him after long time on screen, he has portrayed himself as a lead actor’s father. Loved his easy acting skills and comedy timings as usual. Also the cherry on the top is when he sings "Mala Sanga Sukh Mhanje Nakki Kay Asta".

One more supporting character named "Arnav" in the film played by "Angad Mhaskar" was notable. Though he appears in this film for short while but his acting skills are notable. The way he shows different expressions on his face without much dialogues is commendable.

All in all, the film is a worthy watch, as it offers family entertainment combined with emotion filled drama.

I am going to rate it as 4 out of 5.

I watched "Pyaar ka Punchnama 2" some time back and would give it 3.5 out of 5 stars.

The movie has a sequel of Pyaar ka Punchnama and the storyline is based on the same "Love-Cheat-Realisation with fun in between" theme. The first half isn't much exciting and it is the second half where the story gets involving and sensible. The first half focuses on comedy over the actual happenings in one's life but the second half shows a much sensible and actual image of life. Acting was good by the male actors but the female actors (except Ruchika/Chiku) were not deeply involved in the story and felt fake in some scenes. The characters of Gogo and Chauka are extremely entertaining, though Thakur is more on the serious side. There are so many funny scenes and dialogues that can keep one involved even after the interval. But on another note, there is nothing special in the movie. It is as we would expect it, no twists and tricks, it is quite boring also for those looking for over-the-top involvement and entertainment. There is not much to be learnt or felt in the movie, no real lessons or teachings but it is entertaining thanks to correct amount of humour at correct places. The censored abuses also make up for the sad ending (eventually all the guys break up with their girls) and the modified (matte black, projectors, etc.) Duster of Gogo keeps the enthusiast in us happy. It is worth watching.

Overall, a fun movie which actually has nothing to be learnt except "Mom's love is unconditional". [lol]

Saw PRDP(Prem Ratan Dhan Payo) on Monday.Movie is OK typical Rajshri movies type.But,as a Salman Khan fan,I feel Bajrangi Bhaijaan is much better than PRDP.

What I like is:

+Salman Khan acting
+Sonam Kapoor glamour
+Football scene in second half
+Cars like Jag XK-R,Benz,BMW were put in the movie

What I didn't like is:

-Movie running time-But some scenes got cut

My rating is 3/5 due to Salman Khan.Btw,this movie has crossed ₹200cr recently.

Movie: Tamasha
Language: Hindi

The trailer itself plays a clear spoiler, the protagonists faking their identities (God knows why?) and having a good time in the picturesque landscapes of Corsica in each other's company. Then comes the much obvious separation, what happens next in their lives after that leads the story forward. Terrific performance by the lead pair, probably their career bests. Yet you can find glimpses of "Yeh Jawani hai deewani", "Love aaj kal" and few other movies of Imtiaz Ali in it.

Tamasha_(film_poster).jpg

The lucky charm of Imtiaz ali from his directorial team is there in this movie as well in a small role(Remember the receptionist of "Hotel decent" from Jab we met?). The narration is too long winded sometimes and the over-emphasis given to establish the "an average man living a robot like life", "longings of heart obscured by brain driven decisions" and the long story telling & theater scenes makes it a tad boring at times. If you take the cosmetics out, down under its the same story as any other Imtiaz Ali movie. In the past the director have been criticized the most for this "same story" thing and he proudly accepts this as a conscious take from his end.

In a recent interview AR Rahman had said he don't want his music to be bigger than a movie. This movie proves his point. His music blends well with the narration and collectively sets a mood to it. Overall its worth a watch for the beautiful corsica scenes (It will make you plan a trip in mind), the performance by the lead pair and above all its a feel good movie.

Overall Rating: 7/10

Movie: Tamasha
Language: Hindi

The trailer itself plays a clear spoiler, the protagonists faking their identities (God knows why?) and having a good time in the picturesque landscapes of Corsica in each other's company...
Probably the best movie I saw this year. Sadly the work of team has gone unnoticed. Ranbir's acting, imtiaz's story telling and rehman's music all have gone down the drain.
Bollywood these days works on the hype of salman Khan, daru party songs, vulgarity only I guess.

RIP talent.

Last night saw "Masaan". A brilliant movie. A movie about lives of 4 ordinary people.

People who say Bollywood can produce only **** movies please go and watch this movie. You will be surprised to find a beautiful high quality piece of art from Bollywood. It shows the true image of a small town society. Mind you this movie is not pretty. It can make you uncomfortable coz it shows the reality. While watching this movie you will feel sadness / anger / haplessness. Acting from Richa Chadda, Saurabh Chaudhary & Sanjay Mishra is awesome. BTW this year “Masaan” won FIPRESCI Prize at canes and after watching this movie I can say that this movie really deserves.

A must watch for all who love meaningful movies.

Bajirao Mastani- A "fictorical" extravaganza

image.jpeg

The film begins with a disclaimer stating the movie was made in consultation with historians however the incidents may not be historically correct and are modified to suit the cinematic experience. The creative leaps from history is very well justified by this. Leaving all that behind its mesmerizing to see a historical drama being told in typical Bhansali style with such opulent sets and terrific performances by the actors in it. The very first scenes of the grand maratha durbar itself is a feast to the eyes. By now the story thread is already known to almost all who watches tv. Ranveer singh is convincing as the undefeated maratha army chief. Deepika looks stunning and so is Priyanka chopra though her character shades in the movie is perplexing and keeps changing. I think there aren't enough scenes to establish the depth of relationships between the lead characters in a convincing manner. Another actor worth mentioning is the gracefully aged Milind soman, who is equally good with his looks and acting. Tanvi Azmi's bald widow character will give you memories of Jodha Akbar and you might wonder why such elderly women with gray character shades looked the same in that era irrespective of their religion.

The music of the movie is pleasing to the ears. But IMO makers could have done without Pinga and more importantly Malhari (This song is a total misfit for a period movie IMO) songs as they look out of place in the narration. They could have used it for promotional purposes alone as pinga looks good in isolation as a song video. The BGM is worth mentioning and this piece can give you serious thrills in the theatre. The gaps of years in the storyline is not clearly identifiable and often confusing for the viewer. The director have incorporated some lines in marathi to give some scenes a better impact. Its worth a watch if you enjoy watching intense love stories or period dramas with all those horses, elephants and sword fighting, and likes Bhansali's style of film making in particular. Overall rating 8/10.

Friends, Saw Wazir today. Well executed story with superb acting by Amitabh Sir, Farhan and Aditi. The screenplay and photography is great and the music is quite good too. The song Tere Bin reminds of Parneeta movie's Piyu Bole that was picturized on Saif & Vidya. A action packed thriller with John Abraham in guest appearance. 4.5/5 for acting and story.

I saw bajirao masthani and prdp. No doubt both the movies were good. I felt prdp had better story. And acting done marvelously by ranbeer Singh, priyanka chopra and deepika padkone

Movie- The Giver
Language - English

Has anyone watched THE GIVER (2014)?
It is based on the 1993 dystopian novel by Lois Lowry. The movie is a social-science fiction drama, which will make you look at the present reality in a different way.
After 'the ruins', they build a new community based on some unique and rather strange rules aiming to preserve humanity and prevent any form of future conflicts. Differences aren't allowed and each aspect of the community and a person's life is regulated.

The movie is in black and white for the most part. Why? Watch and find it out for yourself, I don't want to spoil it for you. There is a reason.

What if you never had memories of the past, no emotions, no freedom of choice? All you do is follow the rules, obey the 'Elders', trust the system and rely. There are no other living beings other than humans and again the population is controlled. Would you like to follow your dreams or be assigned a task for the rest of your life?

I especially love the starting scene where Jonas rides his bike looking up at the trees.

I'd rate it 4/5.

Did anyone see Dilwale?I heard its average as per reviews and my friends.But,I heard that Bajirao Mastani is better.
Have seen Dilwale Twice and Bajirao Mastani once.

Dilwale: If you want to see one of the worst modified 5 series BMW, go watch Dilwale. If you want an extra dose of DC's creation, go and watch Dilwale. If you love Vintage beauties and supercars like Chrysler, Mustang then go an watch Dilwale. And If you are a hardcore Kajol admirer you should definitely go for Dilwale. Also, the new actress, Kriti Sanon has done a decent job.[clap] 4/5 for Cars, Kajol and Gerua!!

Bajirao Mastani: Apart from king-size sets and period drama, my eyes were literally and obviously stuck on Deepika Padukone. Priyanka Chopra was ok. Music wise Bajirao's 2 songs I liked, Pinga and Malhaari. 4/5 for Deepika and Ranveer's acting and the picturization.

Police Story by Jackie Chan-The story is about a Hong Kong police officer Ka-Kui(Jackie)who arrested a drug dealer Chu Tao which involves scene of cars jumping from the hill.Then the drug dealers try to escape and jumps into a moving bus,Ka Kui does the same and catchs the drug dealer.Watch the below video to find out the next scenes.
EDIT-See the first 10 minutes scene to see the car scene.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UDTfTDkjEfk

^^Found this in IMDB Baahubali Trivia [:D]. BTW I liked how they choreographed the war scenes and the graphics incorporated in those scenes. The appearance and accessories of the opposing barbarian army is also portrayed very convincingly otherwise it would have fallen to school fancy dress standards.
Guys, yesterday I watched Hercules, the 2014 hollywood movie in Sony Pix. I didn't know Baahubali was heavily 'inspired' by this movie. The war sequences, the chariot fixed with a slaying wheel, pattern formation using shields by soldiers for defense, the barbarian tribe and their appearance and what not. Now I wish to take back all the nice things I said about Baahubali's war scenes.h