Movie Reviews!

This movie deserves Oscar. It comes with English subtitles. Language shouldn't be a barrier for non Marathi members. Do watch and post your reviews here.
Watched Sairat the other day. Though the rural marathi dialect was a little tough for me to catch, I got connected to the narration easily. Nowhere felt like the leading lady, Rinku Rajguru was acting on screen. Her performance looked so natural. Later I came to know she is only a 10th grader and a debutant, I was totally astonished, her character was very mature and she did it like a seasoned actor. She deserved much more than the Jury's special mention in the National Awards!.Its great to see regional movies are coming up with some terrific films which are top-notch in quality. Angry Indian goddesses, Masaan, Titli, Visaranai, Kaaka muttai (Both Tamil), Kammatipadam (Mal) are some other content driven movies that I watched recently and totally blown me away!.

Sairat has done record breaking collection of Rs.80 crore when it comes to Marathi movie. This movie has set higher standards for other marathi movie makers. Sairat has become the first ever Indian film, to record its music at Sony Scoring Studios (earlier known as MGM studios) in Hollywood, LA. The studio has in the past witnessed the music recording of silver screen icons like Gone With the Wind, Ben Hur, Lawrence of Arabia, Schindler’s List and ET. It is known to be favorite for film making legends like Steven Spielberg.

80 cr. is always a dream for most of the Bollywood films where target audience is 1.25 cr, while Marathi movie has a target audience of 15 L.

No wonder, critics in MH have started cribbing about the movie. The actress's real age is bellow 18, though she is showcased as 18 + in the movie. so
1) she should not have been shown in a mini skirt (dream scene of the hero), as consent of minors for such scene is invalid by law irrespective of photo shop status of the scene.

2) She should not have been shown asking a kiss from her boyfriend.

3)She should not have been shown in wet salwaar kurta when she was standing in the well for swimming!

4) She shouldn't have been showcased riding bullet, tractor etc.

On the contrary, no one is criticising the
1)high handedness of rich class & the puppet principal of the college who doesn't care while expelling & putting a red blot on the college leaving certificate of the hero for getting caught in a act of romance at actress's farmhouse.

2) Police officer who tries to arrest the hero & his friends, family under charges of kidnapping & rape, though the plot of elopement was hatched & executed by the actress.

3)Jat Panchayat system of the hero's caste who doesn't allow the matrimonial relationship for the hero's younger sister because her brother eloped with someone.

Anyways, @Nagrajmanjule( director of the movie), wish you 100 cr bussines soon. And many thanks for extending the profit benefits to the actor & actress to the tune of 5 cr INR each,thought the deal was finalised only for Rs 4 L before the release of the film.

Very well said Tornado. The film in itself has given a tight slap on racism and caste differentiation. The first part is actually about the dreams, joy and love while the second part touches real life showing worries, sorrow, anger and adjustment.

One need to forget these critics comment and watch the movie. The first part itself is worth Rs.80 crore, i wish this film should cross Rs.100 crore. Hats off to Nagraj sir for bringing this jewel and showing what really happens within our society.

The film in itself has given a tight slap on racism and caste differentiation. .
I beg to differ with you,
it's rather rich vs poor.
In our country, people hate to get a SIL from poor family irrespective of his worthiness.

In our country, it is not the caste but the money which is needed to digest such murders.

Saw Aligarh. Hats off to Manoj Bajpayee. A fantastic actor. The way he was depicting the character was simply superb. His body language, dialogue delivery, facial expression were class leading. The movie itself is great. I will rate this movie 5/5.

A must watch.

Till today, Sairat does bussines of Rs 90 cr. It is going to come in 4 regional southern languages too
I think its quite unnecessary. This movie should be watched with subtitles in its original form. Its a not-so-uncommon story narrated in a different way. The small nuances and the realistic performances by non-actors makes this movie beautiful, which will be lost when remade.

It also depends on regional sensibilities, for example people in Kerala can't relate to something called honor killing because its not familiar for them. Drishyam is the highest grosser in malayalam cinema (75 crores with even lesser viewership than marathi, that too in 2013) but it didn't make it as big in its hindi remake though the story was of universal appeal.

Rush (2013)
IMDB Rating 8.1/10

Watched Rush (2013) the other day on TV. I was casually watching it and found it interesting and now it found its place in my list of favourites.
The movie is based on real life characters, foe-turned-friends, James Hunt and Niki Lauda, who were Formula1 champions constantly in competition.

Other than dealing with the regular motor sports feud, the movie also have a great human side to it. It portrays the underlying camaraderie
between the 2 drivers who are poles apart in their character and only thing common between them is their passion for what they do and their
hidden mutual admiration besides their on-track rivalry.

Rush_UK_poster.jpeg
Daniel Bruhl and Chris Hemsworth as Lauda and Hunt.

James-Hunt-versus-Niki-Lauda-800.jpg
Niki Lauda and James Hunt in real life.

Niki Lauda: "A wise man can learn more from his enemies than a fool from his friends".
James Hunt: "The closer you are to death, the more alive you feel. It's a wonderful way to live. It's the only way to drive."

These quotes displays how they were as individuals. Niki Lauda is a nerdy, result oriented person who also knows how to tweak his ride to get
the best out of it. On the other hand James hunt is a raw, impulsive, carefree, "life is a party" kind of person who lives everyday like his last.
Their friendship is shown in a very subtle manner yet its is very heart warming. The director Ron Howard truly deserves all the accolades for
the riveting narration and the performances by Chris Hemsworth and Daniel Bruhl were simply top-notch.

My Rating: 5/5

Sultan

Watched "Sultan" yesterday. I would say that it is core love story which is dipped in wrestling game. The dialogues were written based on Salman's personality and have Haryanvi kick in it. As the film is under Yash Raj banner hence expect unnecessary emotional drama in second half. The film moves fast and doesn't give any time to think, hence it took efforts for me to remember what i saw in the film while drafting this review.

Salman has played the role of Sultan in this film and it was already clear from trailers that he is showcased as Desi Wrestler. It feels prissy to see 50 years old Salman doing all sorts of dances, fights, wrestling, emotional and comic scenes. Anushka is well gelled along with Salman but somehow to me she looks a mismatch for the character. The film has some role for Randeep hooda as well which as usual he has done it right. Some songs are nice with Salman style dance in it.

At the end i would say that this film is made only for die hard Salman fans.

Watched Sultan yesterday, quite an engrossing movie, a real contrast to his last year's Bajrangi Bhaijan.
According to pundits it's touching close to 200Cr this weekend collection

Watched Rustom and Happy Bhag Jayegi this time. Rustom I watched last week and Happy Bhag Jayegi today. Both the movies are quite good in their own right.

Rustom: It is a late 50's story of a real life Indian Navy officer. The portrayal by Akshay Kumar as always is remarkable and to the point. Akshay's versatility as an actor is commendable. I mean see his recent movies like Housefull 3, Dishoom and now Rustom. Arjan Bajwa is only there as guest actor but Esha Gupta, Oh MY, she actually is too good in the grey character. Ileana did her part well and gracefully. Music wise, the Atif Aslam song was soothing to the ears and yes, an automobile lover would surely be in for a feast of vintage and classic cars on-screen. Overall, well narrated story with good acting made it a worthwhile watch for me.

Rating: 4/5

Happy Bhag Jayegi:
Watched it today. One word, It is truly hilarious. I am sure our Indian movie buffs would surely like it. I watched it because of humor in it. The movie is made by Mr. Rai who made Tanu Weds Manu franchise. The story is good and characters did their job well. Diana, the lead actress runs away from her marriage to Bagga (Jimmy Shergill) and as always, Jimmy in the entire movie remains unmarried. In comes Ali Fazal, (Remember Joy Lobo from 3 Idiots), he is love interest of Happy but in the movie he is somewhat a miss-fit as his acting in the movie is just like gap-filler. Then comes Abhay Deol, he carried the story forward along with Piyush Mishra (the funny cop Afridi). Abhay Deol did a really good job with the character Bilal Ahmed. There are many laughable punch lines from Jimmy and Piyush Mishra. Another actress who is really well groomed and polished, Momal Sheikh, who plays the role of Abhay's Fiance. She too does her part well but actually, the movie is all about Jimmy Shergill, Abhay Deol and Piyush Mishra. The whole auditorium was filled with laughter and claps while watching the movie. However, with all the plus points, the slightly weak points were: Casting of Ali Fazal & Diana and secondly, the music, it could have been better. For a fun time and light hearted mood this weekend, this movie is a good watch atleast once.

Rating: 3.5/5

Rustom: It is a late 50's story of a real life Indian Navy officer. The portrayal by Akshay Kumar as always is remarkable and to the point. Akshay's versatility as an actor is commendable. I mean see his recent movies like Housefull 3, Dishoom and now Rustom. Arjan Bajwa is only there as guest actor but Esha Gupta, Oh MY, she actually is too good in the grey character. Ileana did her part well and gracefully. Music wise, the Atif Aslam song was soothing to the ears and yes, an automobile lover would surely be in for a feast of vintage and classic cars on-screen. Overall, well narrated story with good acting made it a worthwhile watch for me.

Rating: 4/5

Me too watched it last week. I agree to all the things you said except Esha Gupta, her character made me think am I watching a movie or stage play [lol]. She is shown as a tetchy woman, and she constantly reminds this fact to viewers with her angry face throughout her screentime like a video game character. Akshay Kumar did his part well as usual, so did Illeana. The supporting characters are shown too loud and annoying. The production design is top-notch in most part, but at many places it lacked the 50's feel and appeared to be very contemporary. The graphics used in a scene to show Indian flag waving in the ship in the background was of Shaktiman and CID standard [:D]. They have used Neeraj Pandey's name to bring the crowd to theaters by giving the title as 'Neeraj Pandey's Rustum', where he is only one of the 7 producers. In short it is Nanavati case with some added patriotism drama and songs. Not a must watch film, but choose it over the Hrithik's movie if you are all set to watch a movie this weekend.

Rating: 3/5