Maruti Suzuki's New Sedan: Ciaz (Codenamed YL1)

tension..panic as D day nears!![confused]:confused:Am i making right choice? is this the right million rupees sedan for me? having goose bumps like a soon to be bridesmaid!

also went for a TD of city yesterday..[pig]

tension..panic as D day nears!!Am i making right choice? is this the right million rupees sedan for me? having goose bumps like a soon to be bridesmaid!

also went for a TD of city yesterday.
We live only once! We love only once!:biggrin: and you'll buy this Ciaz! ONLY ONCE!! Go for it! Its actually worth every penny spent.

Common buddy; MAKE WAY FOR THE CIAZ[glasses]

Ciaz has Good Year Tyre as OEM Prasanth.

Thanks for reply

I have already booked Ciaz Vdi way back before its official launch to replace my ritz but later i was in big dilemma to choose between city and Ciaz. Eventhough Maruti had offered me Zdi of my colour choice from a different city but gave me 2days time to decide,i let the offer to go off as i kept my decision to buy on ciaz for a while.
I will keep my car for atleast 6-7yrs from now.
Ciaz ticking most boxes but not ticking Most important boxes ie Looks and pseudo premium brand[;)] .
City is not ticking boxes like ride comfort,Noise levels and of course its costlier.
I got a very sick feeling that Car will outdate very quickly and resale value could be very low also even if want to exchange.
I have seen very few ciaz vehicles on roads till now.

As my parents are old,low seating my be trouble some for them,so my family did look for other options in altogether different category of comapct suv like Duster.
Right now i am admist of choosing one among three cars ciaz,city and duster.

I am not exchanging my ritz instead keeping it for my sister so i want to swap OEM tyres of new car be it ciaz or city to my ritz upgrade the tyres of new car.

Please advise regarding ciaz vs city

I have already booked Ciaz Vdi way back before its official launch to replace my ritz but later i was in big dilemma to choose between city and Ciaz. Eventhough Maruti had offered me Zdi of my colour choice from a different city but gave me 2days time to decide,i let the offer to go off as i kept my decision to buy on ciaz for a while.
Ciaz and City have an eternal rivalry. Zdi Ciaz was/ is a good choice since 1.3 DDis is way more settled and examined over a period of time by buyers than the i-Dtec of Honda.

I will keep my car for atleast 6-7yrs from now.
Maruti is proven to be reliable in the long term. I am myself owning a 8.5 year old Esteem Vxi.

Ciaz ticking most boxes but not ticking Most important boxes ie Looks and pseudo premium brand.
City is not ticking boxes like ride comfort,Noise levels and of course its costlier.
See Prasanth, looks are subjective, however, in the sea of razor sharp designs Ciaz has a balanced look and yes Maruti has made an effort to promote Ciaz as a luxury sedan.

City on the other hand lacks ride since it is under-Tyre-ed and the NVH levels are too on the higher side no doubts. As for the cost, Owning and Maintaining a City in the long run is definitely expensive since the spares of Honda are way more costly than Maruti.

I got a very sick feeling that Car will outdate very quickly and resale value could be very low also even if want to exchange.
I have seen very few ciaz vehicles on roads till now.
See I'll tell you, any car that you keep for more than 4 years in today's time shall depreciate enormously reason being that model sells more than mileage. As a fact, whether its a Ciaz or City, you can't expect a premium over them when you intend to sell either of them. The life span of a car in Indian auto-industry is not more than 7 years until the car is exceptionally good in technical terms. Neither Ciaz nor City can ever fulfill this criteria.

As of Road Presence, Maruti is rolling out Ciaz, and gradually the road presence of the same shall improve. Do you know, in my town, City Automatic has waiting of 4 months.

As my parents are old,low seating my be trouble some for them,so my family did look for other options in altogether different category of comapct suv like Duster.
If low seating is an issue, then I would say, have a look on Linea also. Duster on the other hand is plainly a 5 seater. Otherwise, If you have checked on Duster then for easy ingress and egress do check out Eco-sport.

Right now i am admist of choosing one among three cars ciaz,city and duster.
City = Another face-lift by Honda of an existing product.

Ciaz = Totally new offering by Maruti with more features than City at a more competitive price.

Duster = Ecosport looks more contemporary than Duster. Though both can seat 5 comfortably. Duster is Costly than Ecosport. My neighbor bought an Ecosport Titanium for 11 Lac whereas Duster Top end costs about 12+ Lacs over here.

I am not exchanging my ritz instead keeping it for my sister so i want to swap OEM tyres of new car be it ciaz or city to my ritz upgrade the tyres of new car.
Does Ritz have 15" Tyre? It would be a good idea to swap tyre but do check on the rim size first. In Ciaz you may immediately not require Tyre upgrade however, in City, Tyre upgrade is a major necessity.

Please advise regarding ciaz vs city
I own a City too (2011 1st Gen Ivtec) still will give my vote to Ciaz mainly because its premium offering at a very reasonable price and reasonable maintenance in long term.

^ thanks for detailed reply akash
"I own a City too (2011 1st Gen Ivtec) still will give my vote to Ciaz mainly because its premium offering at a very reasonable price and reasonable maintenance in long term."
Can you enlighten premium offering of ciaz
also do u have idea regarding backseat underthigh support between city vs ciaz.
I want my parents a comfort ride. I am of opinion City backseat is more premium presence (may be subjective), But leg room is more in ciaz
Ecosport has very less legroom ,its almost like swift . Except for SUV tag,Duster or Ecosport are letdown in my opinion. Backseat is worst place in those cars. Underthigh support in duster is like sitting on park bench with recline.
Again these compact SUV checking my list only for easy ingress or engress. and priced higher side for what they offer.
Will Ciaz will be too low for ingress compared to ritz??? Do u have idea about this?
I didnt remember the ciaz ingress while i checked the car.Front seat though is not too low for me. may it was height adjusted at that time.

Does Ritz have 15" Tyre? It would be a good idea to swap tyre but do check on the rim size first. In Ciaz you may immediately not require Tyre upgrade however, in City, Tyre upgrade is a major necessity.

if we change the rim,does it make big difference?
I think ritz can fit 15".
do rims cost more?

its premium offering "
Can you enlighten premium offering of ciaz
also do u have idea regarding backseat underthigh support between city vs ciaz. I want my parents a comfort ride. I am of opinion City backseat is more premium presence (may be subjective), But leg room is more in ciaz
Here is the Official Ciaz Product Book. It includes all the details and benefits of Ciaz over other C-Segment Sedans.

Again these compact SUV checking my list only for easy ingress or engress. and priced higher side for what they offer.
In your car truly that's the only point for considering a mini-suv.

Will Ciaz will be too low for ingress compared to ritz??? Do u have idea about this?
I didnt remember the ciaz ingress while i checked the car.Front seat though is not too low for me. may it was height adjusted at that time.
Ciaz comes with a GC of 170mm which is 5mm more than City and Ritz there being a Tall-boyish design does have good ingress and egress but you cannot compare both since both are from different segments and serve different purposes dear.

if we change the rim,does it make big difference?
I think ritz can fit 15". do rims cost more?
Since City and Ciaz have 15" Tyre so just as pre-caution do check whether the 15" Tyre can fit well on it's rim or not. Obviously, you can't fit a 15" Tyre on a 13" rim dear.

If you want a well packaged midsize sedan, then the Ciaz is a good package.
Since you are in a dilemma to choose between an SUV and sedan regarding ingress / egress,I would like to suggest you the Ertiga, just in case because it has more space and flexibility than duster and almost similar height. Also being cheaper offering almost similar equipment levels with better quality. As far as I saw the duster is around 3 lacs costlier than the Ertiga. Moreover a facelift Ertiga is around the corner with significant equipment upgrades. Also you get the same engine package as the Ciaz. Of course you will miss the extra equipment and quality of the Ciaz though.

Ciaz and City have an eternal rivalry. Zdi Ciaz was/ is a good choice since 1.3 DDis is way more settled and examined over a period of time by buyers than the i-Dtec of Honda.
Definitely 1.3 DDis is a way more settled engine. However, 1.5 i-DTEC from Honda is not bad either. Both have their own characteristics and the preference will rest with individuals.

Maruti is proven to be reliable in the long term. I am myself owning a 8.5 year old Esteem Vxi.
Now, Honda is equally reliable if not more. I dont own a Honda car, but I know many who own 10-12 year own Hondas and vouch for its reliability. I would say its even here.

See Prasanth, looks are subjective, however, in the sea of razor sharp designs Ciaz has a balanced look and yes Maruti has made an effort to promote Ciaz as a luxury sedan.
Yes, definitely looks are subjective. But why do I feel you are canvasing for Ciaz here? You might find the looks balanced, but why do you want to convince others? Especially when looks are purely subjective??

City on the other hand lacks ride since it is under-Tyre-ed and the NVH levels are too on the higher side no doubts. As for the cost, Owning and Maintaining a City in the long run is definitely expensive since the spares of Honda are way more costly than Maruti.
Agreed that City is under-tyred and NVH is not as good as Ciaz's. But I did not find the ride to be that bad. I have tried in both front and back seats and I feel the ride is adequate. Now comes the myth and perception. Maruti is not as cheap to maintain as projected. I own one and I can definitely say, its comparable to most other brands.

See I'll tell you, any car that you keep for more than 4 years in today's time shall depreciate enormously reason being that model sells more than mileage. As a fact, whether its a Ciaz or City, you can't expect a premium over them when you intend to sell either of them. The life span of a car in Indian auto-industry is not more than 7 years until the car is exceptionally good in technical terms. Neither Ciaz nor City can ever fulfill this criteria.
Totally agreed. Every word is true!!!

As of Road Presence, Maruti is rolling out Ciaz, and gradually the road presence of the same shall improve. Do you know, in my town, City Automatic has waiting of 4 months.
Let us agree. Ciaz is somehow lacking the road presence and it has not set the charts on fire either. Have seen very few on the road and it does not command a respect a City or Rapid commands.

If low seating is an issue, then I would say, have a look on Linea also. Duster on the other hand is plainly a 5 seater. Otherwise, If you have checked on Duster then for easy ingress and egress do check out Eco-sport.
If low seating is an issue, City will only be slightly better than Ciaz. Ciaz I felt has poorer under-thigh support due to its lower seating.

City = Another face-lift by Honda of an existing product.

Ciaz = Totally new offering by Maruti with more features than City at a more competitive price.
Totally wrong sir. City was not a mere face-lift. It is an entirely new generation product based on the new Jazz platform. The exterior design had some similarity with the previous generation, but the underlying chassis and every panel in it is totally new. Just like the Ciaz is.

I own a City too (2011 1st Gen Ivtec) still will give my vote to Ciaz mainly because its premium offering at a very reasonable price and reasonable maintenance in long term.
Nothing wrong. I agree that Cias is a premium offering and very comparable to City and has a lower price too. Maintenance wise I dont see much of a difference. But may be I am wrong.

is the Official Ciaz Product Book. It includes all the details and benefits of Ciaz over other C-Segment Sedans.
Sir, dont tell me you are so naive. City's official product book will also state its benefits over other C-Segment Sedans. I guess we should go with our own judgement rather than by what an official pamphlet says.

Sorry if you do not agree with my comments. But I guess I had to post this because I felt some of your comments were slightly biased towards one of the products. Let us evaluate objectively and provide a fair picture, something this forum is known for [:)]

I dont own a Honda car, but I know many who own 10-12 year own Hondas and vouch for its reliability.
Vignesh, There can't be a comparison on the mechnical/ technical reliability of Vtec Gen Honda and I-vtec Gen Honda. The 1st gen Honda Cars in India like the Z Type one were definitely more reliable and strong than Ivtec gen Honda.

But why do I feel you are canvasing for Ciaz here? You might find the looks balanced, but why do you want to convince others? Especially when looks are purely subjective??
Definitely, I am not convincing him dear since neither I am working for Honda nor for Maruti, I simply stated my view on the Ciaz's looks. Final decision will be his only. I'll still congratulate him with same affection irrespective of whether he gets a Ciaz or City.

City is under-tyred and NVH is not as good as Ciaz's. But I did not find the ride to be that bad. I have tried in both front and back seats and I feel the ride is adequate.
Comparatively, If the City also used 185 Section Tyre like Ciaz, then the ride could have been equal/ better than present.

Now comes the myth and perception. Maruti is not as cheap to maintain as projected. I own one and I can definitely say, its comparable to most other brands.
Actually, A Maruti can be repaired in every place by a FNG too without hassle (though ASC is good) but I personally feel other car brands need specialized attention.

Let us agree. Ciaz is somehow lacking the road presence and it has not set the charts on fire either. Have seen very few on the road and it does not command a respect a City or Rapid commands.
Vignesh, there is a slight difference in this respect, We are talking of road presence of a established product i.e Honda City and a much newer product i.e Maruti Ciaz. I do not go by sales numbers always. To establish a new product over a period of time, it requires a lot more than just fulfilling back-log. Road Presence of a car also depends on customers perception. Ciaz is running a heavy back-log is one, Maruti faced issue of going for advanced booking without showing the car and there wasn't even a TD car at many places, Ciaz when launched had clutch recall. All these factors definitely had an impact on Ciaz's road presence. OEM can rectify their product's fault but they can't immediately change customer perception. But, Surely, Maruti will not leave any stone unturn-ed.

If low seating is an issue, City will only be slightly better than Ciaz.
Ya, rear seat of City is good.

Totally wrong sir. City was not a mere face-lift. It is an entirely new generation product based on the new Jazz platform. The exterior design had some similarity with the previous generation, but the underlying chassis and every panel in it is totally new. Just like the Ciaz is.
It could be that just like Z Type Honda City later came out as City ZX then came 1st Gen IVtec but Honda is just stretching the "CITY" product too far now. Its my personal thought. Where as Ciaz, is totally new, even product's name is also new. Maruti in this case has not a re-engineered the SX4 Sedan.

Maintenance wise I dont see much of a difference. But may be I am wrong.
Maruti Spares even of those models that are not manufactured now cost really less in comparison to Honda dear.

Sir, dont tell me you are so naive. City's official product book will also state its benefits over other C-Segment Sedans.
Of-Course it will. And honestly, if had the product book of CITY, then for the benefit of all I would have surely uploaded it here.

I guess we should go with our own judgement rather than by what an official pamphlet says.
Certainly, Own judgement does not pay heed to sugar coated facts.

Sorry if you do not agree with my comments. But I guess I had to post this because I felt some of your comments were slightly biased towards one of the products. Let us evaluate objectively and provide a fair picture, something this forum is known for
Don't be sorry dear, this is the beauty of an unbiased automotive forum. I wasn't being biased to Ciaz. I had just placed my thoughts over it. Prasanth is very much going to evaluate the pros and cons and take the decision there after.

It could be that just like Z Type Honda City later came out as City ZX then came 1st Gen IVtec but Honda is just stretching the "CITY" product too far now. Its my personal thought. Where as Ciaz, is totally new, even product's name is also new. Maruti in this case has not a re-engineered the SX4 Sedan.
Brands never let go off the products that has good recall value. Think of Corolla, Camry, Beetle, Golf, CRV, Civic, Accord, Elantra, Sonata. There are 100s of such cars which have seen a lot of generations and still are a success in the market. On the same lines, I do not think Honda is stretching City too far.

The truth however is Maruti is doing all tricks to give a hit model in C Segment sedan. Baleno didnt do well, hence they named the next gen model as SX4. SX4 also did not do much wonders, hence they come up with Ciaz. Is Maruti stretching Swift or Alto products too far?? No, right. Why do you think Maruti name an unrelated Estilo as "Zen Estilo"?? To make use of the Zen brand, right??

Brands never let go off the products that has good recall value On the same lines, I do not think Honda is stretching City too far.
Correct, but after a certain point, I as an individual will start to feel sick of driving the same drive-train.

The truth however is Maruti is doing all tricks to give a hit model in C Segment sedan. Baleno didnt do well, hence they named the next gen model as SX4. SX4 also did not do much wonders, hence they come up with Ciaz.
I don't think there is any harm. Its a known fact that after Kizashi miserably failed for Maruti it has left with no option but to compete in MPV, Hatch, C, and Sub-4m-Segments. As it is there is no proper SUV at present with Maruti. SX4 did better than Baleno and in due course, who know, Ciaz may over take SX4.

Is Maruti stretching Swift or Alto products too far?? No, right. Why do you think Maruti name an unrelated Estilo as "Zen Estilo"?? To make use of the Zen brand, right??
Over here there is one thing to be considered i.e segment's recall value, Maruti can play around safely with price bracket of 2.5 to 3.5 Lac. VW, FORD, HONDA, Toyota don't have anything to offer as a hatch in this price limit. Hyundai on other hand has Eon D Lite + that falls in this bracket. But in terms of brand-recall, Alto fares better than Hyundai Eon. Hence, to retain their mass-customers they can work out a face-lift safely. However, same can't be about C Segment. We have plethora of cars in C-Segment.

Estilo could not sell since, Maruti made an initial mistake rather blunder of discontinuing the Zen for it. People still swear by Zen's performance. Hence, to reach a break even Maruti made an attempt to sell it by attaching "Zen". Still due to perceptions of people, Zen Estilo did not click.

Correct, but after a certain point, I as an individual will start to feel sick of driving the same drive-train.
Individual choice, I would say. Some might prefer sticking to a tried and tested brand / name rather than going into unknown territories and I guess that will form the majority. No wonder Corolla, Camry, Civic, etc are still very successful even after so many generations.

I don't think there is any harm. Its a known fact that after Kizashi miserably failed for Maruti it has left with no option but to compete in MPV, Hatch, C, and Sub-4m-Segments. As it is there is no proper SUV at present with Maruti. SX4 did better than Baleno and in due course, who know, Ciaz may over take SX4.
No harm. The point I was trying to make is that usually manufacturers choose to move away from a badge / brand only if it is not doing well. City is doing extremely well and Honda have no reason to move away from that. If they did, they will be losing a lot of advantage and will have to do a lot of hard work to build a new brand.

Over here there is one thing to be considered i.e segment's recall value, Maruti can play around safely with price bracket of 2.5 to 3.5 Lac. VW, FORD, HONDA, Toyota don't have anything to offer as a hatch in this price limit. Hyundai on other hand has Eon D Lite + that falls in this bracket. But in terms of brand-recall, Alto fares better than Hyundai Eon. Hence, to retain their mass-customers they can work out a face-lift safely. However, same can't be about C Segment. We have plethora of cars in C-Segment.
Exactly my point - "Recall value". In my opinion, segment does not matter for this point. Be it the 2.5 lakh Alto or an S-Class crossing a crore. Building a legacy is very very difficult and once u have built it, live with it. This is something every manufacturer is and will be trying.

I guess we are moving away from the topic here. Let us, as responsible members of this forum, stick to Ciaz. Peace!!!