Maruti Suzuki Vitara Brezza Drive Review

It is possible that the ICE Unit isn't HD compatible. You can re-size / enhance the videos using various platforms available on the net and then try playing it.

But resizing takes away its both AV quality.
Even aftermarket Touchscreen ICE from brands like Pioneer, Sony Xplod plays HD format files, but in today's era of HD smartphones, tablets & other devices this is a serious overlook when at the other hand this device offers Apple carplay platform.

Exactly man, I saw and sat inside the Brezza in person and for me at least it felt far cheaper than the Ecosport, I got a feeling like I am in a beefed up Wagon R, not even a beefed up Swift
The doors etc felt wafer thin, some what thinner than new Figo/Aspire, level of built quality which is way below par for the compact SUV class norm[frustration]

With over 1800 dealers across our nation and with over 30 years of being in India Maruti has taken the customers trust too much and has started to play with customer for their benefits as well
Its high time the new BNCAP and useless rules like banning of 10+ year old diesels be banned for better safety and green norms
Btw, Vitara Brezza is the first Indian car to confirm Indian crash safety norms, which are going to come into play in 2017.
As everybody here bashes out Vitara Brezza, one simple question i wanna ask !
If not Vitara Brezza, then which car/compact suv at this price point you can get with good reliability, fuel efficiency & AfSS service support !
Now don't say EcoSport. Its no where near a match to Vitara Brezza in above virtues or the factor which an average middle class buyer seeks from a Compact SUV which drives & handles like a car & have ownership experience like of a car with an added SUV-like feel, which one everyday needs.

Creta is a segment above & atleast ₹3-4 lacs expensive.
Duster 85 ! Yes, probably
Reasons & logic please.

Thread Starter #47

But resizing takes away its both AV quality.
Even aftermarket Touchscreen ICE from brands like Pioneer, Sony Xplod plays HD format files, but in today's era of HD smartphones, tablets & other devices this is a serious overlook when at the other hand this device offers Apple carplay platform.
I feel you may also check with ASC/Dealer on this. There maybe some sort of upgrade / alternative available for this to make HD videos play on the ICE Unit.

Btw, Vitara Brezza is the first Indian car to confirm Indian crash safety norms, which are going to come into play in 2017.
As everybody here bashes out Vitara Brezza, one simple question i wanna ask !
If not Vitara Brezza, then which car/compact suv at this price point you can get with good reliability, fuel efficiency & AfSS service support !
Now don't say EcoSport. Its no where near a match to Vitara Brezza in above virtues or the factor which an average middle class buyer seeks from a Compact SUV which drives & handles like a car & have ownership experience like of a car with an added SUV-like feel, which one everyday needs.

Creta is a segment above & atleast ₹3-4 lacs expensive.
Duster 85 ! Yes, probably
Reasons & logic please.
Why cant I say Ecosport ?
Apart from reliability which too isnt half bad as it used to be with models like Ikon,Mondeo,etc
The Ecosport is a far far better product than Brezza
Maruti said it passed crash test,but nobody tested it and hence until a test is done I wont believe a single thing that ugly brand says as even today they are selling more than 50k structurally weak cars like Alto,Wagon R,Swift,..every month even after being heavily criticized from NCAP,.that shows a lot about Maruti, they give **** value to Indian lives

And if you still think Ford is cut throat in service, check Ford service calculator from their website, I thonk Ford is getting more and more transparent with each day

Regarding the vehicles mileage,please do check out TAIs Ecosport forum, You will see the Ecosportsaverage mileage is between 16-20 kmpl despite having more Power and weight than Brezza, so dont fall for ARAI $#%&

Regarding quality, and how it drives, since I havent driven Brezza I dont comment, but I dont think Maruti can hold a candle to Ford, in this department,

See I am sure its Marutis fame and past glory thats running the brand, not their products,if I am to take a Maruti by some condition it will be the S Cross 1.6 only, no other Maruti is good, in fact all other Maruti felt below par to me, even my 6 year old Figo felt more solid and substantial than the 6 mont old Brezza in built,plastic quality, etc..

Apart from reliability which too isnt half bad as it used to be with models like Ikon,Mondeo,etc
Maruti said it passed crash test,but nobody tested it and hence until a test is done I wont believe a single thing that ugly brand says as even today they are selling more than 50k structurally weak cars like Alto,Wagon R,Swift,..every month even after being heavily criticized from NCAP,.that shows a lot about Maruti, they give **** value to Indian lives

And if you still think Ford is cut throat in service, check Ford service calculator from their website, I thonk Ford is getting more and more transparent with each day

Regarding the vehicles mileage,please do check out TAIs Ecosport forum, You will see the Ecosportsaverage mileage is between 16-20 kmpl despite having more Power and weight than Brezza, so dont fall for ARAI $#%&

Regarding quality, and how it drives, since I havent driven Brezza I dont comment, but I dont think Maruti can hold a candle to Ford, in this department,

See I am sure its Marutis fame and past glory thats running the brand, not their products,if I am to take a Maruti by some condition it will be the S Cross 1.6 only, no other Maruti is good, in fact all other Maruti felt below par to me, even my 6 year old Figo felt more solid and substantial than the 6 mont old Brezza in built,plastic quality, etc..
Well written I am in same league. If ones priority is safety Ecosport wins hand down. Even after being old enough Ecosport truely wins IMO. I don't think any other Compact SUV offer 6 airbags.

Disclaimer - This is my perspective, No offence to owners

Mods please delete the post if it is irrelevant.

Control your anger friend. I can understand you don't like Maruti Suzuki but turning into such only evokes more & more negativity towards it & i know its not that bad as Sales figures are not that baseless too, they speak population's acceptability towards the product & that's too if it has some substance. And India isn't only market where unsafe/below safe standard cars are sold & its not Maruti Suzuki which sells unsafe cars in the world. There are many other brands which do sell unsafe Zero-star rated cars like Hyundai, Renault & others, and this happens in many major car markets abroad too.
Yes, this doesn't means i'm in favour of unsafe cars, however it does mean that we have to explore out the options & make the best out of it.
Neither i'm the proud owner of Vitara Brezza nor i have booked one yet but i'm judging the product with zero biasness, only rating it as per its qualitative aspects & aspects we need in our daily life if we own that car.
How Vitara Brezza strucks the right chord over Ecosport, is written below.

Well written I am in same league. If ones priority is safety Ecosport wins hand down. Even after being old enough Ecosport truely wins IMO. I don't think any other Compact SUV offer 6 airbags.

Disclaimer - This is my perspective, No offence to owners

Mods please delete the post if it is irrelevant.
Vitara Brezza handles much better than EcoSport, in an almost car like manner. Drive both these at 80+ speeds & you'll come to know about the difference. Ecosport has much prominent Body roll, not so convincing cornering stability due to narrow track & is prone to topple much easily than Brezza as it has relatively higher centre of gravity & there are much more cases reported of the latter than any other Compact SUVs. So, how you can convince me for EcoSport when aspects points towards different direction.

By these virtues, I see Vitara Brezza as a most practical option among Compact SUVs.

IMO, A simpler sober drive is much better than a scary drive always.

Control your anger friend. I can understand you don't like Maruti Suzuki but turning into such only evokes more & more negativity towards it & i know its not that bad as Sales figures are not that baseless too, they speak population's acceptability towards the product & that's too if it has some substance. And India isn't only market where unsafe/below safe standard cars are sold & its not Maruti Suzuki which sells unsafe cars in the world. There are many other brands which do sell unsafe Zero-star rated cars like Hyundai, Renault & others, and this happens in many major car markets abroad too.
Yes, this doesn't means i'm in favour of unsafe cars, however it does mean that we have to explore out the options & make the best out of it.
Neither i'm the proud owner of Vitara Brezza nor i have booked one yet but i'm judging the product with zero biasness, only rating it as per its qualitative aspects & aspects we need in our daily life if we own that car.

Vitara Brezza handles much better than EcoSport, in an almost car like manner. Drive both these at 80+ speeds & you'll come to know about the difference. Ecosport has much prominent Body roll, not so convincing cornering stability due to narrow track & is prone to topple much easily than Brezza as it has relatively higher centre of gravity & there are much more cases reported of the latter than any other Compact SUVs. So, how you can convince me for EcoSport when aspects points towards different direction.

By these virtues, I see Vitara Brezza as a most practical option among Compact SUVs.

There is 1 real reason Maruti is big and selling well in India, thats its popularity since the 1980s, its always the early bird that picks the best, Maruti set its foot in India back in 1976 I think and I am a person who is a big fan of the old Marutis since the era of Zen,1000s,Gypsies, but post 2003 Maruti havent seen any development
I have had a Maruti 800 and a Zen MPFI both having done more than 90k kms with fair share of troubles, but then I knew it, If I have some trouble I have 3 major service networks and 2 local workshops within a vicinity of 5 kms to mend my car, that confidence is immense and thats what sells Maruti more than its products strengths
I know a friend who owns a 2012 Swift VDi, he said he bougt SWift on advertised 27 kmpl mileage and the best he has ever got so far is 25 kmpl at 80-85 kmph cruise, guess what a 100 HP Ecosport too can do it but the marketing which is too strong for Maruti compared too others because of such wide dealer networks has cannibalized other brands chance
Old Marutis and new Marutis are good and reliable specially petrols, I am one who respects that nature of Maruti, small efficient and reliable petrol cars is a Marutis strong point, I give credit to them for that
I also give credit to Maruti for their ability to control this 1800+ dealers from being not too harsh with customers like other brands are at times

Regarding Ecosport vs Brezza here is my take
Engine 1.5l TDCi > 1.3 MJD
Refinement Ecosport > Brezza
Built quality Ecosport > Brezza
Turbo lag Ecosport > Brezza
Safety Ecosport > Brezza
Cabin insulation Ecosport > Brezza
Interior Ecosport > Brezza
Space Ecosport < Brezza
Ride quality Ecosport = Brezza
Handling Ecosport = Brezza
Comfort Ecosport > Brezza
Features Ecosport < Brezza
Price Ecosport < Brezza

Now why I give ride quality and handling high marks for Brezza is because I havent driven it and just dont believe the toppling stories, almost everybody know it was a made up story
Ford EcoSport Toppled by Reviewer - Emergency Assist Dhamaka - Page 6 - Team-BHP
You can check this out for prof, its humane error somebody deliberately overdid it with Ecosport or someone became overconfident with the machine, I say even Brezza wont hold a straight line or would crash on such hard driving, so leave such foolish criticisms aside
Ford EcoSport registered least number of problems, ranked highest in SUVs: Survey | The Indian Express
See this is Ecosoprts state as of now and it got the highest rank for 3 years in a row
Check this review out, Specifically mentions, its not the best CSUV of the 3 in test
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=thM_PEHQZLM
Handling and ride wise
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XRDf5SLwdLg
Here also
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nMcIKWbnwig
We see the Brezza just manages to catch up with Ecosport but the larger service network and so called peace of mind is whats gaining numbers, nit the product alone which is in between the case for the Ecosport

And Marutis handling advantage solely is due to the 215 section tires, put something like that in Ecosport the Brezza will be seen no where[evil]

And I am not angry, I started at TAI back in 2013, I have never been such a hater of Maruti back then too , by 2010 itself I knew that more than 90% Marutis selling in India are death machines on 4 wheels with pathetic structural integrity and 0 focus on safety, now its 2016, 6 years have passed and even today Maruti is having 0 focus on safety , all they do is fight back GNCAP with foolish reasons,
on average every month Maruti sells over 50k unsafe cars ,so lets take a math, since 2010, 50k*12 =600k
Now its 2016 so 600k*6=36,00,000 ie 36 lakhs unsafe cars sold by Maruti so far despite almost all European and even Japanes giants brands moving with strong safe cars by 2010 itself
Remember Maruti has just 1 country to serve and thats INIDA, Ford,VW,Skoda all could have competed against Maruti by building such pathetic plastic match boxes, but they wont, they are concerned about customer safety unlike Maruti,Honda,Hyundai

Maruti is more concerned about milking India customers rather than their developement[frustration]
I have even more bigger reasons and some that could do serious harm to Maruti, but I wont disclose all those as I have given a glimpse on that previously in the Brezza thread, I dont want to risk some one else job and safety for making a controversy about the pathetic Maruti brand[cry]

Whoever is supporting Maruti must know that, whatever presence they have in Indian market is not because of any quality. If in 1983 ,India had taken VW,they will be in that position now. But VW didn't have a small engine that time to give (Yes,you heard it right, in 1983, VW didn't have a small engine, to cater to govt of India) . At the same time, Suzuki was never a player in bigger engines,nor bigger cars. That is why we got Maruti 800,which was 2 decades old by technology in 1983. The maximum they did in the year 2000 was 1.3 L and later 1.6,which surprisingly was also in the Busas.

Did they get any technology after that? Any acquisitions ? They didn't develop anything till the Swift in 2005 and engine remained the same. In 2011 they tweaked the 1.3 L engine . Yeah, Suzuki was eating Indian customer's money.

Altogether Suzuki is non existent in any truck/SUV domain in other part of the world. What is Breeza? Swift given muscles. The reason why they didn't come up with a petrol version is that the Swift sales will hit.

If we think rational and linear,we can see lots of cheating by Maruti. If you go by the comparisons given by those TV people and Magazines,you will not reach anywhere.The biggest ads are given by Maruti.

I am a Maruti customer for the last 10 years.Exactly know the methodology and strategy as how they work.

There is 1 real reason Maruti is big and selling well in India, thats its popularity since the 1980s, its always the early bird that picks the best, Maruti set its foot in India back in 1976 I think and I am a person who is a big fan of the old Marutis since the era of Zen,1000s,Gypsies, but post 2003 Maruti havent seen any development
I have had a Maruti 800 and a Zen MPFI both having done more than 90k kms with fair share of troubles, but then I knew it, If I have some trouble I have 3 major service networks and 2 local workshops within a vicinity of 5 kms to mend my car, that confidence is immense and thats what sells Maruti more than its products strengths
I know a friend who owns a 2012 Swift VDi, he said he bougt SWift on advertised 27 kmpl mileage and the best he has ever got so far is 25 kmpl at 80-85 kmph cruise, guess what a 100 HP Ecosport too can do it but the marketing which is too strong for Maruti compared too others because of such wide dealer networks has cannibalized other brands chance
Old Marutis and new Marutis are good and reliable specially petrols, I am one who respects that nature of Maruti, small efficient and reliable petrol cars is a Marutis strong point, I give credit to them for that
I also give credit to Maruti for their ability to control this 1800+ dealers from being not too harsh with customers like other brands are at times

Regarding Ecosport vs Brezza here is my take
Engine 1.5l TDCi > 1.3 MJD
Refinement Ecosport > Brezza
Built quality Ecosport > Brezza
Turbo lag Ecosport > Brezza
Safety Ecosport > Brezza
Cabin insulation Ecosport > Brezza
Interior Ecosport > Brezza
Space Ecosport < Brezza
Ride quality Ecosport = Brezza
Handling Ecosport = Brezza
Comfort Ecosport > Brezza
Features Ecosport < Brezza
Price Ecosport < Brezza

Now why I give ride quality and handling high marks for Brezza is because I havent driven it and just dont believe the toppling stories, almost everybody know it was a made up story
Ford EcoSport Toppled by Reviewer - Emergency Assist Dhamaka - Page 6 - Team-BHP
You can check this out for prof, its humane error somebody deliberately overdid it with Ecosport or someone became overconfident with the machine, I say even Brezza wont hold a straight line or would crash on such hard driving, so leave such foolish criticisms aside
Ford EcoSport registered least number of problems, ranked highest in SUVs: Survey | The Indian Express
See this is Ecosoprts state as of now and it got the highest rank for 3 years in a row
Check this review out, Specifically mentions, its not the best CSUV of the 3 in test
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=thM_PEHQZLM
Handling and ride wise
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XRDf5SLwdLg
Here also
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nMcIKWbnwig
We see the Brezza just manages to catch up with Ecosport but the larger service network and so called peace of mind is whats gaining numbers, nit the product alone which is in between the case for the Ecosport

And Marutis handling advantage solely is due to the 215 section tires, put something like that in Ecosport the Brezza will be seen no where[evil]

And I am not angry, I started at TAI back in 2013, I have never been such a hater of Maruti back then too , by 2010 itself I knew that more than 90% Marutis selling in India are death machines on 4 wheels with pathetic structural integrity and 0 focus on safety, now its 2016, 6 years have passed and even today Maruti is having 0 focus on safety , all they do is fight back GNCAP with foolish reasons,
on average every month Maruti sells over 50k unsafe cars ,so lets take a math, since 2010, 50k*12 =600k
Now its 2016 so 600k*6=36,00,000 ie 36 lakhs unsafe cars sold by Maruti so far despite almost all European and even Japanes giants brands moving with strong safe cars by 2010 itself
Remember Maruti has just 1 country to serve and thats INIDA, Ford,VW,Skoda all could have competed against Maruti by building such pathetic plastic match boxes, but they wont, they are concerned about customer safety unlike Maruti,Honda,Hyundai

Maruti is more concerned about milking India customers rather than their developement[frustration]
I have even more bigger reasons and some that could do serious harm to Maruti, but I wont disclose all those as I have given a glimpse on that previously in the Brezza thread, I dont want to risk some one else job and safety for making a controversy about the pathetic Maruti brand[cry]
Haha. Though i read reviews but i make judgment by reviewing myself too. Same is the shared fact of toppling over too, a friend of my brother has toppled his EcoSport twice & that's too at not so much high speeds.
And believe it or not, Stability aspect isn't by Wider tyres alone it together a combination of many technical aspects, if you still don't believe then try driving EcoSport with a size more wider than Vitara Brezza, then you might come across more spoiled characteristics not handling alone.
These aspects are decided/adjusted while R&D stage, not much can be altered after that until you opt for massive updates to its technical components but that too will negativity impact in the long run.

I appreciate all the Safety move any manufacturer takes in India, infact i'm keen on these aspects since Opel Astra days.
One thing i clearly want to share that, I'm much more keen on Safety aspects in my car than an average Indian buyer is.
Even 4 years ago i've opted for ZDi variant over VDi because it has ABS & Airbags. I too have deferred my Tiago buying decision now, just because of its suspected Passenger Airbag design defect which is vulnerable to its windshield as i've discussed at Tiago thread here.

Whoever is supporting Maruti must know that, whatever presence they have in Indian market is not because of any quality. If in 1983 ,India had taken VW,they will be in that position now. But VW didn't have a small engine that time to give (Yes,you heard it right, in 1983, VW didn't have a small engine, to cater to govt of India) . At the same time, Suzuki was never a player in bigger engines,nor bigger cars. That is why we got Maruti 800,which was 2 decades old by technology in 1983. The maximum they did in the year 2000 was 1.3 L and later 1.6,which surprisingly was also in the Busas.

Did they get any technology after that? Any acquisitions ? They didn't develop anything till the Swift in 2005 and engine remained the same. In 2011 they tweaked the 1.3 L engine . Yeah, Suzuki was eating Indian customer's money.

Altogether Suzuki is non existent in any truck/SUV domain in other part of the world. What is Breeza? Swift given muscles. The reason why they didn't come up with a petrol version is that the Swift sales will hit.

If we think rational and linear,we can see lots of cheating by Maruti. If you go by the comparisons given by those TV people and Magazines,you will not reach anywhere.The biggest ads are given by Maruti.

I am a Maruti customer for the last 10 years.Exactly know the methodology and strategy as how they work.
I do own 2 Maruti Suzuki cars now & overall its my 3rd Maruti Suzuki car since 1997. I do know their nerve too.
So, staying on-topic & not moving to Swift or other issues, lets discuss the concerned topic which is just Vitara Brezza or EcoSport !
I've shared my set of knowledge & you all have shared your own part.
A small sharing of facts & figures;
-Who introduced VARIABLE VALVE TIMING for mass market, when even Toyota refrained to use. Its Maruti Suzuki.
-Who introduced 1.6 Multijet Diesel engine when even its original manufacturer avoided it. Its Maruti Suzuki.
-Which manufacturer introduced the convenience of Automatic in budget hatchback range. Its Maruti Suzuki for coming up with Celerio AGS first.
-Which car manufacturer provided Automatic climate control first in a hatchback. Its Maruti Suzuki as they introduced in Swift ZXi in 2005.
-Standard across the range Projector headlamps in sedan segment. Its Maruti Suzuki.

Similarly, there are many other such facts associated with Maruti Suzuki. One best thing, they always introduce a new thing to be accessible to all, unlike others.
But still don't know why people tend to overlook, maybe they see too much of them & that's too often, manybe that's why.
One more thing, the people who bash Maruti Suzuki, mostly own atleast one.

Haha. Though i read reviews but i make judgment by reviewing myself too. Same is the shared fact of toppling over too, a friend of my brother has toppled his EcoSport twice & that's too at not so much high speeds.
And believe it or not, Stability aspect isn't by Wider tyres alone it together a combination of many technical aspects, if you still don't believe then try driving EcoSport with a size more wider than Vitara Brezza, then you might come across more spoiled characteristics not handling alone.
These aspects are decided/adjusted while R&D stage, not much can be altered after that until you opt for massive updates to its technical components but that too will negativity impact in the long run.

I appreciate all the Safety move any manufacturer takes in India, infact i'm keen on these aspects since Opel Astra days.
One thing i clearly want to share that, I'm much more keen on Safety aspects in my car than an average Indian buyer is.
Even 4 years ago i've opted for ZDi variant over VDi because it has ABS & Airbags. I too have deferred my Tiago buying decision now, just because of its suspected Passenger Airbag design defect which is vulnerable to its windshield as i've discussed at Tiago thread here.

I do own 2 Maruti Suzuki cars now & overall its my 3rd Maruti Suzuki car since 1997. I do know their nerve too.
So, staying on-topic & not moving to Swift or other issues, lets discuss the concerned topic which is just Vitara Brezza or EcoSport !
I've shared my set of knowledge & you all have shared your own part.
-Who introduced VARIABLE VALVE TIMING for mass market, when even Toyota refrained to use. Its Maruti Suzuki.
-Who introduced 1.6 Multijet Diesel engine when even its original manufacturer avoided it. Its Maruti Suzuki.
-Which manufacturer introduced the convenience of Automatic in budget hatchback range. Its Maruti Suzuki for coming up with Celerio AGS first.
-Which car manufacturer provided Automatic climate control first in a hatchback. Its Maruti Suzuki as they introduced in Swift ZXi in 2005.
-Standard across the range Projector headlamps in sedan segment. Its Maruti Suzuki.

Similarly, there are many other such facts associated with Maruti Suzuki. One best thing, they always introduce a new thing to be accessible to all, unlike others.
But still don't know why people tend to overlook, maybe they see too much of them & that's too often, manybe that's why.
One more thing, the people who bash Maruti Suzuki, mostly own atleast one.
Well I hope your cousin is fine even after toppling Ecosport twice
I have tried Ecosoprt at more than 120 kmph and even at 120 kmph a sudden change in direction or a sudden anti lock didnt even more the Ecosport a bit from its proceeding line
I agree that the Duster is more stable so are the sedans than Ecosport
High CG cars needs wide front track and less engine weight up front to topple and at least for me Ecosport is not even 10% as notorious as you are saying, I mean the driver must be BORN CRAZY to topple Ecosport or there must be some kind of collision to have the car toppled,
And do remember that Ecosport ha sold over 150k cars by now and frankly I havent heard more than 5 incidents of toppling including the one you have told now
I havent driven Brezza sure but I have driven Ecosport and I drive a Ford Figo now, I should say Indias best handling hatchback and Suzuki not just here but globally havent even dreamed of making such a high dynamic quality car, its extremely stable and is rock solid and from Figo I believe I have s a pretty good ability to benchmark a cars turn in,turn in under steer, mid corner stability,exit characteristics,straight line stability, change of direction, front end bite,rear end stability and movement, braking stability,ABC pedal feel,steering communication,ability of car to mask under steer,body roll and shift stability, free body rotation, etc
I am a hardcore car lover, I like all cars that handle good with substance and safety, so keep the toppling argument to yourself, its pure blunder.

Now Ecosports weakness in handling department are
1. Brake dive
2. Fish tailing while hard braking
3. Body roll is noticeable
4. stiffer rear end means bouncy back so mid corner bumps can upset the composure
5. Steering lacks feedback compared to Figo/Fiesta
6. Diesels heavier front end more prone to under steer than sedans hatch backs etc
7. ABS has some calibration issue, allows lock ups

And regarding what Suzuki has achieved, its achieved Indian customers more than any technology,
One thing Suzuki forgot while giving Indian customer Automatic Climate Control is SAFETY
While Ford,VW,Toyota too to an extent focused on safety and driving nature and quality of built,ride,handling,NVH,.. of cars MSIL was busy marketing with mileage numbers which in fact is blunder because even Fords TDCi and VW TDi and Toyotas D4D too were practically as efficient or more efficient than DDis engines,
Regarding small petrol engines I agree MSIL is very good, the K series and Kappa of Hyundai are excellent engines, but the catch is 0 safety, 0 focus on ride ,handling,driving dynamics etc and built quality is simply pathetic

Regarding multi jet itself its not MSIL tech and I found MJD best to drive in Tatas than Marutis by a huge margin, Marutis are terrible, notorious turbo lag, and then all of a sudden "whooosh" and the power comes in a rush post 2000 rpm, pathetic, and FIAT didnt introduce 1.6 MJD for a reason, they still dont have a car big enough to have the MJD other than the Linea and it will be a gamble to launch 1.6 MJD because the brand has way less roots in India than even Ford and VW and Toyota that our Maruti hypnotized population will go with "kitna deti hai" and can easily kill of Fiats hard effort,
Less said is best, I see over 2 lakhs discount on S Cross 1.6 MJD, so what does that mean man?Fiat could have packed up with 1.6 Multi jet launch here.

Regarding pricing I still think Maruti is playing cards
eg; Maruti Dzire/swift
Instant Free New Car Price Quote - CarWale
Just check this out the Figo with 6 airbags, SYNC 3 and all features the crappy Swift has and has more power and torque and is light years better than Swift in every measurable way is cheaper than Swift, so is the case of Aspire,Bolt,Zest,
So dont fool people, MARUTI IS OVERPRICED
Since 2010 almost all cars competing with Maruti have very competitive or better price tags than Maruti, but the 1800+ dealers and the wrong stigma that all Marutis are good still keeps buyers stick to it, its not the quality of product or value that the product offers that sell it,
However one may try to praise Maruti its no where near as good as Toyota,Ford,VW,...

Answers to some questions.
NO....Answer lies here.Viki link
Again a NO. Link here
Mistaken, it is an AMT not a full fledged Automatic.
What a great thing? Do we really need that?
Another hype.

I am answering these questions, just because these are the way hypes are created and Maruti sells . Maruti had become just that .A hype Company. Celerio AMT is being called an Automatic.If you want to see the greatness, ask a TrueValue guy to buy your Celerio AMT,he will not buy that or you will be given dirt cheap price.

At the same time regarding security, Hyundai came up with disc brakes,ABS,EBD etc. even with Santro. There was a car called Matiz. In 1998 that car was declared the most secured car ,where was maruti. In Zen. When was disc brakes introduced in Maruti? Even in Swift VXi there was no ABS till 2015.

It is almost known to everyone that Maruti,in the process of making cheap cars had never thought about security. Breeza,may look good but basically you cannot call it an SUV.It doesn't have any off roading capability , if it have it is just that of a maruti 800.

Again a NO. Link here
Another hype.

I am answering these questions, just because these are the way hypes are created and Maruti sells . Maruti had become just that .A hype Company. Celerio AMT is being called an Automatic.If you want to see the greatness, ask a TrueValue guy to buy your Celerio AMT,he will not buy that or you will be given dirt cheap price.

At the same time regarding security, Hyundai came up with disc brakes,ABS,EBD etc. even with Santro. There was a car called Matiz. In 1998 that car was declared the most secured car ,where was maruti. In Zen. When was disc brakes introduced in Maruti? Even in Swift VXi there was no ABS till 2015.

It is almost known to everyone that Maruti,in the process of making cheap cars had never thought about security. Breeza,may look good but basically you cannot call it an SUV.It doesn't have any off roading capability , if it have it is just that of a maruti 800.
Ha ha well said man,
Thanks for sharing that extra information,
Had no clue about these info, I thought VVT was Maruti only stuff,

Also one thing I have noticed is Toyotas 1.5 NA engine even without any magic easily can give 11-12 kmpl in city and 17+ highway, I think thats a better achievement than what Maruti got .

Also Maruti can easily give Indians their 1.6 VVT engines used in Swift Sport etc in Sedans like Ciaz, but just look at what they have for us again a pathetic 1.4,
Ford,Honda,Toyota all give bigger more powerful 1.5 and 1.6l engines,but nobody cares, everybody is just talking about MSILs small motors and how good they are,
The competition has moved leaps and bounds ahead of MSIL, its a pity that the general Indian public got stuck with this Maruti spell, even Toyota is not able to do anything significant here in India,
I havent seen a single nation where Toyota has struggled this much, Maruti is too dominant here in India, all I can do is advice a potential buyer the benefits of brands like Toyota,VW,Ford etc over this cheaters brand Maruti, now final decision is in buyers hand,

I wont go far and say Brezza is worse and far inferior to Ecosport infact its a good CSUV, something that is not over the top prized like Swifr,Ritz,Dzire, etc

But the best Maruti money can buy is undoubtedly the S Cross 1.6 and sadly it looks hedious and utilotarian,
Brezza is a good attempt by MSIL, still not better than Ecosport but the move has made sense, its sad to see Ecosport the parent who started this innovation being let down by a ptoduct like Brezza just because the brand Maruti is more popular, but in another hand,competition improves the breed, the new 2017 Ecosport is going to be be much much better than thr current one and will widen the Brezza to Ecosport gap far ahead,
As we all know sales say just half the story of the real products and brand,

For some spice, Ford won the 24 hrs of Le Mans with their new Ford GT, there was a whole lot of critocism that Ford cannot win the 24 hrs Le Mans race against likes of Ferrari 488 GTB with 4.0 TT v8, Porsches 4.0 flat 6 and Aston Martins 4.8l v8 and Chevys big 5.4 l v8, guess what Ford won against all of them with a puny 3.5l TT v6 and 500 horse power,
Ford just showed that its v6 is superior to even a Ferrari v8,
Its even more impressive when one considers the fact that Ford won the race with 24 pit stops as opposed to 22 if Ferrari and Astons and Chevys, the lead gap was over 60s,
Yes its some boasting, Ford is way ahead of the game masters of downsized turbo petrols,
All ecoboost owners be proud,
Well have Maruti or even Suzuki been in any major world stage atleast, guess NO[lol]

You have uttered the words which are there in my mind, excellent. As you said in other post MSIL introduced many other new technologies in Indian market.

-suryaputhra,

Well I hope your cousin is fine even after toppling Ecosport twice
I have tried Ecosoprt at more than 120 kmph and even at 120 kmph a sudden change in direction or a sudden anti lock didnt even more the Ecosport a bit from its proceeding line
I agree that the Duster is more stable so are the sedans than Ecosport
High CG cars needs wide front track and less engine weight up front to topple and at least for me Ecosport is not even 10% as notorious as you are saying, I mean the driver must be BORN CRAZY to topple Ecosport or there must be some kind of collision to have the car toppled,
And do remember that Ecosport ha sold over 150k cars by now and frankly I havent heard more than 5 incidents of toppling including the one you have told now
I havent driven Brezza sure but I have driven Ecosport and I drive a Ford Figo now, I should say Indias best handling hatchback and Suzuki not just here but globally havent even dreamed of making such a high dynamic quality car, its extremely stable and is rock solid and from Figo I believe I have s a pretty good ability to benchmark a cars turn in,turn in under steer, mid corner stability,exit characteristics,straight line stability, change of direction, front end bite,rear end stability and movement, braking stability,ABC pedal feel,steering communication,ability of car to mask under steer,body roll and shift stability, free body rotation, etc
I am a hardcore car lover, I like all cars that handle good with substance and safety, so keep the toppling argument to yourself, its pure blunder.

Now Ecosports weakness in handling department are
1. Brake dive
2. Fish tailing while hard braking
3. Body roll is noticeable
4. stiffer rear end means bouncy back so mid corner bumps can upset the composure
5. Steering lacks feedback compared to Figo/Fiesta
6. Diesels heavier front end more prone to under steer than sedans hatch backs etc
7. ABS has some calibration issue, allows lock ups

And regarding what Suzuki has achieved, its achieved Indian customers more than any technology,
One thing Suzuki forgot while giving Indian customer Automatic Climate Control is SAFETY
While Ford,VW,Toyota too to an extent focused on safety and driving nature and quality of built,ride,handling,NVH,.. of cars MSIL was busy marketing with mileage numbers which in fact is blunder because even Fords TDCi and VW TDi and Toyotas D4D too were practically as efficient or more efficient than DDis engines,
Regarding small petrol engines I agree MSIL is very good, the K series and Kappa of Hyundai are excellent engines, but the catch is 0 safety, 0 focus on ride ,handling,driving dynamics etc and built quality is simply pathetic

Regarding multi jet itself its not MSIL tech and I found MJD best to drive in Tatas than Marutis by a huge margin, Marutis are terrible, notorious turbo lag, and then all of a sudden "whooosh" and the power comes in a rush post 2000 rpm, pathetic, and FIAT didnt introduce 1.6 MJD for a reason, they still dont have a car big enough to have the MJD other than the Linea and it will be a gamble to launch 1.6 MJD because the brand has way less roots in India than even Ford and VW and Toyota that our Maruti hypnotized population will go with "kitna deti hai" and can easily kill of Fiats hard effort,
Less said is best, I see over 2 lakhs discount on S Cross 1.6 MJD, so what does that mean man?Fiat could have packed up with 1.6 Multi jet launch here.
Its Vitara Brezza vs Ford EcoSport not Ford Figo vs Maruti Swift. Its totally a baseless comparison that Figo is better than so EcoSport is ought to be better than Vitara Brezza too. Lol
The case i told i EcoSport is a not an extreme case but i know a daily drive car has to be a safe enough to be driven under various routine conditions & if a product is vulnerable to something then it is its trait not someone's fault.
Regarding, SCross & its 1.6 DDiS engine, its a slow seller but as per Maruti Suzuki standards not as per other companies. Still it has sold decent volumes so far.
Segment demanded 1.6 Multijet engine & company gave, but Fiat didn't, even it could have given Linea a new lease of life in India but they didn't did it. Fiat fans demanded, wished a lot at various forums but a Big NO.
Its a product which is average(as customers perceive but actually it is not) but not the engine itself. If Maruti Suzuki localize it by few percent & introduce it in Ciaz & Ertiga, i can bet they will turn out into another success story.

Now coming to S-Cross sales & discounts, Pushing its sales with discounts is another aspect its not because of its engine but because of its premium or so called Over pricing which was done initially as it was NEXA product as well as segment standards, Maruti Suzuki themselves admitted pricing mistake hence even refunded price balance cheques to the S-Cross customers. Did Ford did this after slashing over a lacs of rupees price of EcoSport !

Again a NO. Link here
Another hype.

Correct you facts & figures first. These are the technologies they have introduced in India not somewhere else.
C'mon you're saying what they did for India & when i'm presenting the facts, you're not accepting it.
To add some more & i forgot to mention, the SHVS tech, i think you must be aware of it.
Maruti Suzuki introduced it for us & giving its high benefits to the customers i.e High fuel efficiency for Ciaz, ever heard of 28kmpl from any full fleged sedan. Yes it gives, seen its pic of Avg fuel economy at some forum & in real world it gives 24-25kmpl+ on highways very easily.

Hyundai came up with disc brakes & ABS later on in a Santro ! OMG. Lol
That mean you haven't driven Maruti 800 by then. It always came with Disc brakes setup at front.
Swift VXi with ABS ! Why so ?
When they have already provided it in ZXi variant from day1 of its launch, why cry over VXi, when it is not as their provided specification list/chart.

Ha ha well said man,
Thanks for sharing that extra information,
Had no clue about these info, I thought VVT was Maruti only stuff,

Also one thing I have noticed is Toyotas 1.5 NA engine even without any magic easily can give 11-12 kmpl in city and 17+ highway, I think thats a better achievement than what Maruti got .

Also Maruti can easily give Indians their 1.6 VVT engines used in Swift Sport etc in Sedans like Ciaz, but just look at what they have for us again a pathetic 1.4,
Ford,Honda,Toyota all give bigger more powerful 1.5 and 1.6l engines,but nobody cares, everybody is just talking about MSILs small motors and how good they are,
The competition has moved leaps and bounds ahead of MSIL, its a pity that the general Indian public got stuck with this Maruti spell, even Toyota is not able to do anything significant here in India,
I havent seen a single nation where Toyota has struggled this much, Maruti is too dominant here in India, all I can do is advice a potential buyer the benefits of brands like Toyota,VW,Ford etc over this cheaters brand Maruti, now final decision is in buyers hand,

I wont go far and say Brezza is worse and far inferior to Ecosport infact its a good CSUV, something that is not over the top prized like Swifr,Ritz,Dzire, etc

But the best Maruti money can buy is undoubtedly the S Cross 1.6 and sadly it looks hedious and utilotarian,
Brezza is a good attempt by MSIL, still not better than Ecosport but the move has made sense, its sad to see Ecosport the parent who started this innovation being let down by a ptoduct like Brezza just because the brand Maruti is more popular, but in another hand,competition improves the breed, the new 2017 Ecosport is going to be be much much better than thr current one and will widen the Brezza to Ecosport gap far ahead,
As we all know sales say just half the story of the real products and brand,

For some spice, Ford won the 24 hrs of Le Mans with their new Ford GT, there was a whole lot of critocism that Ford cannot win the 24 hrs Le Mans race against likes of Ferrari 488 GTB with 4.0 TT v8, Porsches 4.0 flat 6 and Aston Martins 4.8l v8 and Chevys big 5.4 l v8, guess what Ford won against all of them with a puny 3.5l TT v6 and 500 horse power,
Ford just showed that its v6 is superior to even a Ferrari v8,
Its even more impressive when one considers the fact that Ford won the race with 24 pit stops as opposed to 22 if Ferrari and Astons and Chevys, the lead gap was over 60s,
Yes its some boasting, Ford is way ahead of the game masters of downsized turbo petrols,
All ecoboost owners be proud,
Well have Maruti or even Suzuki been in any major world stage atleast, guess NO[lol]
Although no comparison, but still if you wanna compare Toyota NA engine vs Maruti Suzuki K-Series VVT engine. Toyota engines are poor at NVH & K-series engines excel at it. My friend Swift Dzire VVT gives 18-20kmpl+ very easily during its Highway & mild foothills side driving. Even Honda i-VTEC in their lightest Brio hatchback claims nearly 18kmpl while you must be aware of K-Series figures well.
Comparison point lost as all those are irrelevant to discuss here as they're not related to our ongoing discussed subject here.

Its Vitara Brezza vs Ford EcoSport not Ford Figo vs Maruti Swift. Its totally a baseless comparison that Figo is better than so EcoSport is ought to be better than Vitara Brezza too. Lol
The case i told i EcoSport is a not an extreme case but i know a daily drive car has to be a safe enough to be driven under various routine conditions & if a product is vulnerable to something then it is its trait not someone's fault.
Regarding, SCross & its 1.6 DDiS engine, its a slow seller but as per Maruti Suzuki standards not as per other companies. Still it has sold decent volumes so far.
Segment demanded 1.6 Multijet engine & company gave, but Fiat didn't, even it could have given Linea a new lease of life in India but they didn't did it. Fiat fans demanded, wished a lot at various forums but a Big NO.
Its a product which is average(as customers perceive but actually it is not) but not the engine itself. If Maruti Suzuki localize it by few percent & introduce it in Ciaz & Ertiga, i can bet they will turn out into another success story.

Now coming to S-Cross sales & discounts, Pushing its sales with discounts is another aspect its not because of its engine but because of its premium or so called Over pricing which was done initially as it was NEXA product as well as segment standards, Maruti Suzuki themselves admitted pricing mistake hence even refunded price balance cheques to the S-Cross customers. Did Ford did this after slashing over a lacs of rupees price of EcoSport !
Correct you facts & figures first. These are the technologies they have introduced in India not somewhere else.
C'mon you're saying what they did for India & when i'm presenting the facts, you're not accepting it.
To add some more & i forgot to mention, the SHVS tech, i think you must be aware of it.
Maruti Suzuki introduced it for us & giving its high benefits to the customers i.e High fuel efficiency for Ciaz, ever heard of 28kmpl from any full fleged sedan. Yes it gives, seen its pic of Avg fuel economy at some forum & in real world it gives 24-25kmpl+ on highways very easily.

Hyundai came up with disc brakes & ABS later on in a Santro ! OMG. Lol
That mean you haven't driven Maruti 800 by then. It always came with Disc brakes setup at front.
Swift VXi with ABS ! Why so ?
When they have already provided it in ZXi variant from day1 of its launch, why cry over VXi, when it is not as their provided specification list/chart.

Although no comparison, but still if you wanna compare Toyota NA engine vs Maruti Suzuki K-Series VVT engine. Toyota engines are poor at NVH & K-series engines excel at it. My friend Swift Dzire VVT gives 18-20kmpl+ very easily during its Highway & mild foothills side driving. Even Honda i-VTEC in their lightest Brio hatchback claims nearly 18kmpl while you must be aware of K-Series figures well.
Comparison point lost as all those are irrelevant to discuss here as they're not related to our ongoing discussed subject here.
See I am perfectly confident and after being with over 500 pages of Ecosport thread in TAI and more in a some other threads I am 100% sure Ecosport is R&D stable, its dynamics still is better than Brezza, its stability aint great but its much much better and more than what a regular SUV buyer needs and wants, if you still want more info on this count you can always ask about your queries to over 100 Ecosport owners in TAI itself and make things clear, Ecosports stability is top notch, any lunatic can topple a high CG vehicle so there is no point in saying Ecosport is unstable and its R&D is weak, in fact Fords R& D is ages better than pathetic Marutis

Regarding 1.6 MJD engine, I challenge Maruti to give 1.6 MJD in the Ciaz, will they do it, NO, I challenge Maruti to give 1.6 MJD in a Brezza, will they do it NO, do you know why? because they dont want to give customers good engines, they want to milk Indians with their 1.3 more and more
S Cross 1.6 is getting discounted because Maruti has a success quotient based on sales numbers, not on quality, so the S Cross sol less ie under 3000 units a month which means failure, so they reduced the price, and pity on such pathetic tricks
Sure Ecosport too did the same and no refunds, Ford India works 80% independent, so the gain they make out here with just over 280 outlets is no way enough to repay the customers,
Think of it this way,
IF FORD HAVE NOT HAD LAUNCHED ECOSPORT HERE IN INDIA,MARUTI WOULDNT HAVE LAUNCHED BREZZA AND S CROSS HERE IN INDIA, so Ford is the brand that made the move and MARUTI just followed like a copy cat, and the S Cross failed to defeat the Ecosport so there came the price cut and the new Brezza, so naturally Ford will have to act to get going otherwise Maruti hypnotized Indians will destroy Ecosport, so they had no choice but to cut price and eventually the customer benefits, thanks Maruti for being a slow coach and taking 3 years to build an Ecosport rival
Please dont be a victim to false advertising, Any diesel engine can do 25+ kmpl, just drive it sensibly
http://www.theautomotiveindia.com/f.../12733-ford-ecosport-review-pictures-515.html
Just check out this thread, Ecosport with 90/100 HP 1.5 diesel and over 140 kg heavier than Brezza and higher GC and CG, and despite all this check out the mileage figures posted by users as opposed to claimed 23.xx kmpl, Ford dosent need a Hybrid to crack 25 kmpl in real world, neither does Toyota,VW, as well
And here is the killer deal
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CC2yTfj4k1w
The Figo which is far far far more powerful and one of the fastest car in India under 10 lakhs did a world record, it dosent have a hybrid or some small engine, now beat that Maruti, performance+mileage,[lol]
Now keep on saying Maruti introduced VVT, ACC etc, but they didnt do the basics, THE STRUCTURAL STABILITY, all MSIL cars probably the Brezzza and S Cross are exceptions are made of inferior sheet metal, while other brands like Toyota,Ford,VW focused on those things Maruti was busy milking an average Indians lust for money, they have 0 care for customers life, and even if Brezza and S Cross is safe think about it, Maruti is nearly 10 years old in bringing proper safety to the stream, such a pity.
And Toyota is unrefined,I say you havent driven the Toyota petrol cars, its as refined as Marutis while being more powerful and bigger in displacement means more torque and much much better to drive when car is loaded, Maruti counters that lack of torque by using pathetic light weight steel which is so damn useless that a 5 year old can bend the MSIL cars doors,body structure,such is the pity of MSIL.

When India has only options amby and fiat, MUL gave a cars like M800, good AC cars like Esteem and Iconic ZEN, I know people using these cars even after 2 lakh km. Friends my request please follow polite and harmoniums language.

-suryaputhra