Performance of Maruti Suzuki Vitara Brezza.
This includes:
* Engine Performance and NVH
* Transmission Performance.
* Steering Performance.
* Braking Performance.
* Ride, Suspension and Handling.
* Tyre Performance.
So, coming to the most important aspect of Vitara Brezza i.e how does it perform. Maruti Suzuki has launched the Vitara Brezza with only a DDIS 200 Diesel engine and a 5 speed MT. DDIS 200 translates to the same 1.3 L DDIS engine which has been used in Swift, Dzire, S-Cross et al. The 1.3 L Engine is proven and tested workhorse of the MSIL stable. However, in this segment, giving priority to only FE concerned people, Maruti has played safe.
This C-SUV in the initial pick-up begs for power to be honest and that is where a need for atleast a 1.5 L Diesel mill is felt.
The DDIS 200 is capable of 200 Nm Torque and 66Kw power. Being a 4 cylinder engine it may not disappoint you much but with the kind of weight this car has, Maruti should not have continued with the same old 1.3 L engine. So, moving on, as I said, initial pick-up is weak but once it passes 1800-2000 rpm, it begins to show the performance. I revved this engine till 4500 rpm and the acceleration
did not disappoint me. However, let me also state here, for this type of consistent performance, right gear at right speed and right time is extremely essential. After having driven 1.3L DDIS Powered other cars from Maruti, the one thing I learnt i.e to extract best possible performance from this mill, one has to be really conversant with the gear slotting and speed. Since I drove in busy streets of Mumbai and moderate afternoon traffic, yet with the kind of acceleration it has till 4500 mark, the overtaking was impressive. But, every driver/owner buys a car for different purpose and has different expectations from it. As I am a rather composed, laid back sort of driver, for me the 200 Nm of torque in DDIS is sufficient but for those who want a powerful performance, you'll certainly be left asking for more. The turbo lag is there for performance oriented buyers. Upto 80-85 Km/h this engine performs well but beyond this i.e between 90-110 km/h(
Driven by uncle), Turbo lag is felt to a great deal and one thing I noticed, to ensure smooth driving, my uncle often had to downshift the gears. I am quoting exact words of my uncle "
Gaadi kewal shehr mae nhi highway par bhi chalta hai. Highway wala performance nhi hai isme." (A car is driven not only in city but also on highways. This car does not have highway performance.) My uncle who owns a DDIS 1.3L Dzire says, I am more satisfied with my Dzire. Though in my view, Dzire and Brezza can't be compared but still for a car of this size, a bigger engine would have been a wise move. If Maruti would have come with 1.5L Diesel and priced the top end model cheaper by 1-1.2 Lac from Creta, this would have been a all round performer. Coming to NVH, the DDIS comes with the underhood cladding yet the NVH levels are not as good as Hyundai. NVH is something which needs a bit of re-work on Maruti's part and a slight improvement in it can work wonders for Brezza. The idle NVH was noticeable and in-drive NVH too was on bit of higher side. The cabin insulation is decent enough but I could clearly hear the engine sound.
Speaking of the 5 Speed MT, over here as well, why did Maruti not give a AT/AMT option is beyond understanding. By not giving AT, Maruti somewhat reduces its chances against Creta. Man!! Even TUV 3OO has AMT then why not Brezza? About the performance of 5 Speed MT, it was fine. The gear throws were decent but the slotting and meshing was neither too bad nor very good. Coming to the clutch, the clutch is smooth and has a good travel range. This would surely help in traffic situations. For transmission, I would say, Maruti can certainly do a better job than this. Moving to the steering, the steering did not feel lifeless to me till 80 km/h and its cornering abilities were impressive. The steering feels firm and definitely is confidence inspiring. Overall, the power steering is pretty smooth performer in my view for city traffic.
Braking, I may speak, It is responsive thanks to the ABS and high speed braking does not result in any body roll or even in sharp turns (I made a couple) there is no body roll. The disc brakes in front ensure accurate braking and precise performance. Moving ahead with the ride, handling and suspension setup, this C-SUV gets 198mm GC which tells that its not a low C-SUV. Brezza gets Mc Pherson suspension in front and a torsion beam for rear.
My TD Car had Apollo Alnac 215 Section rubber with 16 inch alloys. The drive was quite pleasant on the roads of Mumbai. Many roads in Mumbai do have breaker, potholes and uneven surface but Brezza took them all sportingly. The GC came in as a big help here. Finally, decent amount of GC combined with good Tyre size, ensured a decent ride and modulated Tyre noise. In this particular C-SUV, I felt that the Apollo Tyres had a good grip on road.
Summing up, In performance front, this C-SUV needs to make tweaks to show its full potential.