Maruti Suzuki Ertiga ZDi Bought: Ownership Review

Last Weekend we had been to a trip and would like to share few details.

Places Visited:
- Bhimashankar,
- Shivneri Fort
- Lenyadri Ganpati Mandir
- Ozar Ganpati Mandir

People on board : 4 Adults + Luggage

Vehicle: Ertiga VDI

Total Distance Traveled : 605 Kms (Start Kms 8095 – End Kms 8700)

Fuel Efficiency : 20.16 Kms/Ltr (Tank Full Method)[clap]
(Happy to break the 20kms/Ltr mark)

Route Day 1 : Mumbai – Mumbai Pune Expressway – Chakan/Talegaon Highway –
Manchar – Bhimashankar - Manchar

Route Day 2 : Manchar – Narayangaon – Shiveneri Fort – Lenyadri Temple – Ozar
Temple – NarayanGaon – Chakan/Talegaon Highway – Mumbai Pune
Expressway – Mumbai

LUV behaved superbly during the steep roads towards bhimashankar. The breaking system is very good and enjoyed every moment throughout the drive.

Will post few pictures and summary shortly.

Places Visited:
- Bhimashankar,
- Shivneri Fort
- Ozar Ganpati Mandir

Expressway – Mumbai

LUV behaved superbly during the steep roads towards bhimashankar. The breaking system is very good and enjoyed every moment throughout the drive.

20.16 Kms/Ltr its awesomeeee dude

I recently got Rear view camera installed and the LCD screen is on top of the rear view mirror.

I find the LCD screen shaking/ vibrating even on smooth roads any pointers to this

this is bound to happen
the shake is normal & obvious ,may be you have to check the leg like rubber structure which acts like a bridge between mirror and windshield to reduce the shake

Places Visited:
- Bhimashankar,
- Shivneri Fort
- Ozar Ganpati Mandir

Expressway – Mumbai

20.16 is super mileage.. We did a long trip in the weekend too - but could manage only around 18kmpl.. But for consistent 100 - 120kmph speeds with 4Adults + 1Kid + loads of luggage, I have no complaints.. [:)]

Yes...with speed of 100 - 120 kmph mileage of 18kmpl is great.[clap] If we keep the speed to 70 - 90kmph with 5th gear we can breach the 20kmpl mark. My 3rd service is due shortly as odo has clocked 8700Kms so just 1300Kms to go for 3rd servicing. Not sure if the mileage will increase further after 3rd service which includes oil change.

I insisted (Mineral) Oil and Oil filter change in 5000kms itself. After oil change I am noticing 0.5 kmpl increase in mileage, but the engine runs much smoother. Considering another oil change in 10k, which is scheduled interval. May be I would go for synthetic or semi-synthetic - yet to decide.

I understand Maruti provides us an option to choose between mineral (10,000kms oil change interval) & synthetic oil (15,000kms oil change interval). If I opt for synthetic either I need to go premature oil change at 20,000 or take the car for extra service at 25,000kms.

Not sure if this is being discussed in another thread - any thoughts from forum on above?

I had 1st service of my Ertiga 3 days back. Please let me know if it is important to install AC air filter. I saw in the thread that it is not default provided by the Maruti and needs to be purchased as an accessory.

This should have been provided as standard accessory by Maruti. It should be useful one especially if you have small kids or allergy prone people. Even other wise, it costs just 300 bucks and is worth it in urban conditions.

Thread Starter #1,737
Did Chd-Manali-Rohtang-Koksar on Ertiga with 6 adults, and even I was surprised how easily it climbed upto Rohtang and handled one of the worst roads in India (Marhi to Rohtang) so easily that its floor didn't touch the ground even once, whereas a Linea & Innova before me were struggling to get through.
I was shocked to see that Linea was stuck in between the slush and wasn't able to move until all passengers moved out of the vehicle and there was also a Cruze, of what I heard very loud scrapping sound MANY times on the way, I wonder if it made back to Manali safely.

Wishing to go for a Light and Sound upgrade.

So, one of my local mechanics offered a Real-tek cutout (i haven't even heard abt it..!) with phillips 100/90 bulbs for Rs 1300, 6 months warranty. Another mechanic offers the same of all phillips cutout and bulb for 1900.

Also, wanted to know, if I can add new horns to my existing setup or need to replace my OEM with the market ones ? Again, the mech showed me something Skoda-like horns for Rs 850, but insisted on replacing OEM horns.

So, one of my local mechanics offered a Real-tek cutout (i haven't even heard abt it..!) with phillips 100/90 bulbs for Rs 1300, 6 months warranty. Another mechanic offers the same of all phillips cutout and bulb for 1900.

Also, wanted to know, if I can add new horns to my existing setup or need to replace my OEM with the market ones ? Again, the mech showed me something Skoda-like horns for Rs 850, but insisted on replacing OEM horns.
True.

They always try to sell lesser-known brand citing lot of reasons. When I went for upgrading bulbs for my Ertiga I was also suggested some unknown brand, which was indeed 100 - 200 bucks more expensive than 'Roots'. They should get bigger margins in such brands. It is not advisable to take chances with electrical components even if offered at lower price. My recommendation would be to insist on known brands like Philips, Hella or Roots.

For horns again, all the famous brands like Hella, Roots, Bosch also might cost around the same. Local ones may not last long..

HI Rohit,

If you bought 3 & 4th year warranty then please stay away from this setup (100/90 bulbs & relay). You may lose your warranty. Even i know & experienced the poor low beam of Ertiga. I have discussed this thing with Maruti A*S*S and they strictly suggested no electrical upgradation.

You may go for Philps or NB + bulb with stock wattage.

If you really not bother about warranty then there is always an option for Projector + HID which is the best & neat upgrade.

OEM horn is more than adequate . But for highway its need a Skoda like horn.

But i suggest , please check with warranty paper / Maruti A*S*S before any electrical / mechanical upgradation.