Maruti Suzuki Baleno Hatchback: Technical Issues & Solutions

I am facing little trouble shifting to first and revrse gear every now and then ...maybe i dont press full clutch ... any one else facing the same issue?

I have been following this thread since the time I decided on buying the Baleno.
Suryaputra, thanks alot for sharing information in this forum. It helps a lot. I really appreciate your helping nature. I am yet to book the Baleno. Will update once I book the car.

The front right tyre (Apollo Alnac 4G) of my Baleno strangely got punctured 4 days back. It has got a weird sidewall cut ...
MASS refused to replace the tyre giving several nonsense reasons like 'if vendor refuse to replace these parts we can't do anything', 'tyre, battery wagairah ka koi replacement nahi hota'. Now a bad coincidence was that my car had a small accident because of a moron autowalla and left fender got damaged and doors also got some ugly dents. I claimed for insurance and asked the MASS, I want the tyre replaced whether you do it, apollo does it or insurance guys do it. They put it under claim but insurance surveyor rejected the claim for tyre saying this kind of sidewall cut is not possible in an accident and it was a tyre problem or rim impact damage. apollo inspector had said the same thing that it was a rim impact damage. Now since service station guys have simply refused to replace the tyre, I have filed a complaint with NEXA customer care. Is there anything else I can do.
On a side note, I bought a Maruti as my first car as I saw people singing praise of Maruti service all over the web but my real experience was really far from it - both at the time of purchase and later at workshop. I don't know if it was just this particular service station or it is normal but I am really frustrated with their unprofessional service standards and attitude.

I am facing little trouble shifting to first and revrse gear every now and then ...maybe i dont press full clutch ... any one else facing the same issue?
The 1st and reverse dont have syncronysers but are sliding gears. Hence the issue. Its another example of MS cost cutting. Everytime your car refuses to go into 1st, let go of clutch, the depress & try again. It seems to work.

Regarding service, as i wrote on other threads, MS response is pathetic even after posting issues on their facebook page & registering formal complaints. Its a issue all of us Baleno owners woth problems are facing

Left wheel moving out of vertical at full steering lock is due to suspension geometry & normal for all cars

Ameyam

I have been following this thread since the time I decided on buying the Baleno.
Suryaputra, thanks alot for sharing information in this forum. It helps a lot. I really appreciate your helping nature. I am yet to book the Baleno. Will update once I book the car.
Thanks, I have got baleno service manual, any time any technical help pls ask me. Congrats on your new car. Tomorrow I am writing on wheel alignment and balancing.

Do the zeta variant has reverse camera?I saw the chrome with camera on video and can they upgrade headlight to projectors,do the provide the projector headlight assembly?

The 1st and reverse dont have syncronysers but are sliding gears. Hence the issue. Its another example of MS cost cutting. Everytime your car refuses to go into 1st, let go of clutch, the depress & try again. It seems to work.

Regarding service, as i wrote on other threads, MS response is pathetic even after posting issues on their facebook page & registering formal complaints. Its a issue all of us Baleno owners woth problems are facing

Left wheel moving out of vertical at full steering lock is due to suspension geometry & normal for all cars

Ameyam
Baleno has got 1st gear sync, without sync rings constant mesh synchronizer gear box will not work, reverse gear will not have always sync ring in any gear box. baleno gear box parts picture attached. Part no 34 is the 1 gear sync ring.

suryaputhra

Well, tell me if your car goes into 1st in one go or does it get stuck uite often. I reported this at service and they told me the 1st gear was a sliding gear and didnt have a syncroniser. Now I need to get that book

Ameyam

Well, tell me if your car goes into 1st in one go or does it get stuck uite often. I reported this at service and they told me the 1st gear was a sliding gear and didnt have a syncroniser. Now I need to get that book

Ameyam
I had gone through service manual of baleno there is a procedure how to de assemble and re assemble 1st gear synch, actually they have upgraded 1st gear synch ring and hub to world-class level, it is very new sync ring and hub assembly. After reading baleno transmission in the service manual I felt quite happy technically. This first gear synch ring and hub assembly is called "high speed first gear synch assembly" as mentioned in service manual. It is to accommodate 1.0L booster jet engine which has got excess torque and speeds. This lower grade engines, parts sharing between different engines and designs between cars may be the main culprit.

Well, l dont really care what they have used, it just needs to work.

I had complained to the Nexa helpline in December and then repeated the complaint towards the end of December after I had that bouncy road trip. Then, having received no response, I had given up on MS. Then this Sunday, I got a email from the western India service manager at Maruti. Reproduced here for reference

"Dear Sir,
As per our many telephonic calls and personal meetings, we have clarified all your queries and concerns in the below mentioned vehicle.

In case you need any further assistance please feel free to get in touch with me,

Mukund menon
Territory service Manager,
Regional office Mumbai,
Maruti Suzuki."

This is effectively saying that all the issues I have are resolved which is not the case. So I reverted back-

"Mr. Mukund,
This complaint was raised way back in mid December 2015. Thanks for the fast response.
While the initial complaints in the first couple of weeks were resolved, few issues i had observed subsequently & raised in 1st service on 6th January 2016 remain as such. I am also updating the things i have done myself to resolve these in absence of any response from you.
1) Car pulling to one side and then to the other- as informed, at speeds over 60kmph or so, car gently drifts to one side. Say it drifts left first & i correct it and bring the wheel to centre. It then drifts to the right. So i correct it & bring the wheel to neutral. It will now drift left again. At the ASC, they found nothing wrong. I again got alignment checked from outside & same issue. I can only surmise that there is slop in the steering servo. A large number of Baleno owners are also reporting the same on various forums
2) bouncy rear ride- the car ride is bouncy in the rear. ASC confirmed this but also tried out other Balenos & informed this was the case in all of them. The checked tyre pressures & rear suspension & found nothing wrong. A lot of other Baleno owners are reporting this also. I finally added RogerAB suspension inserts & those helped a lot. However i am yet to take the car on to the expressway to confirm this
3) clutch setting- car had a lot of jerking in 1st gear in traffic. Had reported to ASC but nothing was done. I finally had the setting done from my trusted mechanic. It better now
4) lights dimming- i noticed that in traffic with headlights on, the lights dim as soon as the engine get loaded such as when the 1st gear is released even with accelerator. I have found out that the Baleno's alternator (484200m60p40 part number i think) is 50Amps whereas that on the Swift which has the same engine is 70Amp. So, i presume the alternator doesnt develop required current under load leading to the dimming. The car also show a lot of tendancy to brown out with headlights on. To resolve this, i have installed a relay kit with the 55w bulbs & this has reduced the issue but its still there
5) 1st gear issue- the gear box is notchy going into 1st and the stick gets stuck a lot. ASC informed this is because 1st gear doesnt have a syncroniser. A lot if other Baleno users are also reporting this in various auto forums.

Based on the response from your side at & since 1st service, frankly, i has stopped expecting any help to resolve any issues unless there is a major mechanical one as in the 1st week of ownership. Hence i am getting what can be done at my end, done. "

Basically, these guys are awaiting a satisfaction note from me. I was asked to give one to the ASC in December but I told them car would be under observation for a month. Then at 1st service no one asked me for the satisfaction note and I didnt offer one.

Further, when I spoke to the ASC guys regarding the 1st gear syncroniser thing today, they said that since I have replied to MS (and they are in copy), let MS take it up at their end. Thats nice. It means the ASC wants MS to get involved here. Remember, at 1st service, when the ASC told me there was no solution to the bounciness and steering issues, I had reported the issue to MS. Then the same person had told me "we will do something if these problems are reported in a proper way" and I had asked him that if the proper way was for everyone to report the issue at service.
Lets see what response I get form MS now

Ameyam

I am really disappointed with the Maruti/Nexa service. Seems like customers are the last thing they care about. I have had a horrible experience with their service workshop (Bagga Link Delhi). I will leave the smaller problems like me calling them 20 times a day to follow up the work, them not picking phone nor calling back etc.

My car had an accident and front left fender got damaged and both left doors got dents. I claimed insurance and left the car with ASC. Today I went to take the car back (not to mention it was later than when they had promised) and I found that the front left door has been repaired but rear left door is as it was with all the dents. When I asked them they said the insurance surveyor didn't approve the rear door damage. I was like **F. Both doors have dents in a sync, in same line. They approved one and rejected the other. And ASC simply decided not to inform the customer explicitly about this. They had simply informed me "sirji, survey ho gaya hai, unhone bumper de diya hai, fender de diya hai aur door repair ke liye de diya hai. kaam shuru kar diya hai hamne (Sir, the survey is done. They have approved the claim for new bumper, new fender and for the repair of the door. We have started the work on your car)."
My point was that they should have clearly informed me that the claim for the rear door or whatever parts have been rejected. Then I could have talked to the surveyor or thought of some alternative solution. But Bagga Link guys were repeating the same thing that 'we informed you about what was approved'. Surveyor is simply saying that we can't approve the repair of the rear door as it doesn't seem to have been damaged in the same accident. I was really sad to see that they hadn't cared to touch up or even rub/clean 1 or 2 smaller scratches on the body (on the not claimed parts). They downright rejected the existence of common issues mentioned by other Baleno users, like bouncy ride, engine stalling in first gear, steering issue etc.

Complaining to NEXA is just a wastage of time and effort from my experience in past. Don't know what to do.

I am really disappointed with the Maruti/Nexa service.
Complaining to NEXA is just a wastage of time and effort from my experience in past. Don't know what to do.
Satish, Did you speak with Mr. Rajeev? It is terrible the way they have dealt with your concern & car. I think we need to escalate this matter straight to Maruti Suzuki in Vasant Kunj and not to NEXA. I understand, Bagga Link from day 1 has been behaving in a shady manner with you. And with my experience, now, its time that Maruti Suzuki takes note and acts strict on them.